When the video call starts and the webcam light is dim, the cable clutter behind the desk is the last thing anyone wants to deal with, and the best desk grommet with ethernet is the fitting that routes power and network cables through a neat hole. We compared desk grommets by hole size, material, outlets, USB charging, surge protection and warranty, using only what each listing publishes. Only some of the listings state a network port, so this guide separates plain cable holes from powered grommets and names where ethernet actually appears.
OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall HEZI 100W Power Grommet: 100W USB-C, 5 outlets, 4 USB and 1200J surge protection Check price on Amazon
Best Metal Rannb Rectangle Metal 2-Pack: Aluminum alloy rectangle grommet in a 2-pack Check price on Amazon
Best Plastic XIOGZAXI 3.15 Inch 2-Pack: 3.15 inch ABS grommet with a soft rubber base, 2-pack Check price on Amazon
Recessed Power Grommet VILONG 2 Inch Power Grommet: 2 inch recessed power grommet with 20W USB-C Check price on Amazon
8-Piece Grommet Set XIOGZAXI 8-Piece 2 Inch Set: 2 inch grommet set with a hole saw Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Office Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | VILONG 2 Inch Power Grommet | 9.8/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | HEZI 100W Power Grommet | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | XIOGZAXI 8-Piece Grommet Set | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | Rannb Rectangle Metal 2-Pack | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | XIOGZAXI 3.15 Inch 2-Pack | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |

VILONG 2 Inch Power Grommet
A 2 in recessed grommet with 20W USB-C charging and a 6 ft cord, ETL listed, suited to conference tables and workstations.
Pros
- 20W USB-C PD fast charging
- ETL listed
- Flush mount with locking ring
- 6 ft extension cord
Cons
- 2 ports only
- Black only
- 3.2 ounces, very light build
- ABS enclosure
Detailed Review
The VILONG 2 in is the neat recessed pick: a flush mount with a locking ring, 20W USB-C PD fast charging and ETL listing, with a 6 ft cord. The compact 2 in hole suits conference tables and workstations.
It has 2 ports only, so pair it with a second unit for heavy setups. The 1 year manufacturer warranty matches the lineup.
Its Office Score of 9.8/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 25/25, value 25/25, safety 10/10 and warranty 3/5: 89 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. ETL listed, so safety scores 10 of 10. 1 year manufacturer. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

HEZI 100W Power Grommet
A flush-mount power grommet with 5 outlets, 4 USB ports and 100W USB-C, for desks that need power and charging at the surface.
Pros
- 100W USB-C plus 18W USB-A for charging at the desk
- 5 outlets split across both sides of the desk
- 1200J surge protection with an on/off switch
- Fits a 4 inch grommet hole with a 6 ft cord
Cons
- Bullets name one USB-A and two USB-C ports while the spec table lists 4 USB ports
- No ethernet port is stated
- USB-C2 is limited to 30W while USB-C1 reaches 100W
- Recessed mount needs a 4 inch hole cut or existing
Detailed Review
HEZI lists a flush-mount power grommet with 5 outlets split across both sides, 4 USB ports, 100W PD GaN USB-C, 18W USB-A, a 6 ft extension cord, a 45 degree flat plug, 15A 125V 60Hz 1500W output, 1200J surge protection, an on/off switch and a 1 year warranty. The bullets name one USB-A port and two USB-C ports, while the spec table lists 4 total USB ports, so one USB port is not described in the bullets.
Who it's for: desks that need outlets and charging at the surface, with surge protection built in. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a wired network jack, since no ethernet port is stated.
Its Office Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 9/10 and warranty 2/5: 83 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Hole | 4 inch |
|---|---|
| Power | 100W USB-C, 18W USB-A |
| Outlets | 5 outlets, 4 USB |
| Surge | 1200J |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 24 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. 1200J surge protection, recessed output and on/off switch are stated, so safety scores 9 of 10. 1 Year warranty is stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.
Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

XIOGZAXI 8-Piece Grommet Set
For a full workstation that needs many pass-throughs plus the hole saw to cut them.
Pros
- Eight grommets plus a 2 in hole saw in one box.
- Threaded outer surface will not loosen after installation.
- Soft rubber base will not fray cables passing through.
- 24-hour after-sales response is stated.
Cons
- The spec table lists Black/White while the title and bullets describe black grommets.
- No cable ties are included for bundling behind the desk.
- No warranty term is stated in the listing.
- ABS bodies will not match the feel of metal grommets.
Detailed Review
The XIOGZAXI set lists 8 black grommets at 2 in (50 mm) diameter, 2.36 in overall diameter, 0.74 in height and a 1.57 in through-hole, plus a 2 in hole saw with an M42 high-speed steel edge. The outer cord cover is ABS, the internal base is soft rubber, and the cover is removable for threading cables. One inconsistency: the spec table lists the colour as Black/White while the title and bullets say black, so expect black.
Who it is for: anyone outfitting several desks or one cable-heavy workstation who wants the saw included. Who should skip it: anyone who needs only one or two grommets, or a metal finish.
Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 22/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 78 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Pack | 8 grommets, 1 hole saw |
|---|---|
| Overall diameter | 2.36 in |
| Through-hole | 1.57 in |
| Height | 0.74 in |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Soft rubber base will not fray cables; threaded body stays put, so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Anchor it. Anchor tall bookshelves and file cabinets to the wall with the supplied hardware or an anti-tip kit, load the lowest shelves and drawers first, and open one drawer at a time.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Rannb Rectangle Metal 2-Pack
A rectangular aluminum alloy cable grommet sold as a 2-pack, for routing computer desk wires through a rectangular hole.
Pros
- Aluminum alloy build with a rust-proof claim
- 2-pack covers two desk holes
- Rectangular 6.3 x 3.1 inch total size
- Mounting size and total size are both published
Cons
- Spec table lists self-adhesive installation while bullets describe drilling or cutting
- No power, USB or ethernet is included
- No warranty term is stated
- No safety listing is stated
Detailed Review
Rannb lists a rectangular aluminum alloy cable grommet with a rust-proof claim, a mounting size of 5.9 x 2.75 x 0.9 inches, a total size of 6.3 x 3.1 x 1 inches and a 2-pack. The spec table lists self-adhesive installation, while the bullets describe drilling or cutting a hole and inserting the grommet, so the mounting method is unclear.
Who it's for: desks with rectangular cable holes that need a metal cover in pairs. Who should skip it: anyone who needs power, USB or a network port at the desk.
Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 72 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Mounting | 5.9 x 2.75 x 0.9 in |
|---|---|
| Total | 6.3 x 3.1 x 1 in |
| Material | Aluminum alloy |
| Pack | 2 pieces |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 24 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Rust-proof aluminum alloy build and indoor use are stated, no electrical listing is stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

XIOGZAXI 3.15 Inch 2-Pack
A round ABS plastic grommet set of 2 with a rubber base, for covering 3.15 inch desk holes and routing cables.
Pros
- 3.15 inch hole with a 2.59 inch through-hole for cable bundles
- Threaded outer surface holds the grommet in place
- Soft rubber base protects cables from fraying
- 2-pack with a removable cable cover
Cons
- Spec table lists size as 2 inches while the title and bullets state 3.15 inches
- No power, USB or ethernet is included
- No warranty term is stated
- ABS plastic rather than metal
Detailed Review
XIOGZAXI lists a round ABS plastic grommet with a 3.15 inch hole diameter, a 3.7 inch overall diameter, a 0.98 inch height, a 2.59 inch through-hole diameter, a threaded outer surface, a soft rubber base and a 2-pack. The spec table lists the size as 2 inches, while the title and bullets state 3.15 inches, so the title and bullets win on size.
Who it's for: round desk holes that need a tidy cover with cable protection. Who should skip it: anyone who needs power, USB or a network port at the desk.
Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 71 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Hole | 3.15 in |
|---|---|
| Overall | 3.7 in |
| Height | 0.98 in |
| Through-hole | 2.59 in |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 24 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Soft rubber base that protects cables and ABS plastic build are stated, no electrical listing is stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
uxcell 3-Pack Rubber GrommetsFor small desk holes, with flexible rubber and a 28mm fit hole.Check on Amazon
PowerTap Pop-Up Power Data CenterFor desks needing power and network, with 3 AC outlets and 2 CAT5e ports.Check on Amazon
Desktop Power Grommet Network PortsFor networked desks, with 2 AC outlets and a PD 20W USB-C port.Check on Amazon
Kable Kontrol Recessed Power GrommetFor offices needing network access, with 3 AC outlets and 1 ethernet port.Check on Amazon
PATIKIL 3.15 Inch Grommet 4-PackFor cable holes, with 4 covers sized at 3.15 inches.Check on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Grommet | Office Score | Hole size | Material | Outlets | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| HEZI 100W Power Grommet | 9.7/10 | 4 inch | Plastic, aluminum shell | 5 outlets, 4 USB | 1 year | View on Amazon |
| Rannb Rectangle Metal 2-Pack | 9.5/10 | 6.3 x 3.1 inch | Aluminum alloy | Not stated | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| XIOGZAXI 3.15 Inch 2-Pack | 9.5/10 | 3.15 inch | ABS plastic | Not stated | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| VILONG 2 Inch Power Grommet | 9.8/10 | 2 inch | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| XIOGZAXI 8-Piece 2 Inch Set | 9.5/10 | 2 inch | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 24 October 2026. A warranty term is stated on the HEZI listing; an ethernet port is stated on none of the main picks.
How we scored them
The Office Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For a desk grommet, safety means stated surge protection, recessed outputs, an on/off switch, cable protection and a stated material. A warranty term is stated on the HEZI listing only. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Office Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| HEZI 100W Power Grommet | 9.7 | 30 | 21 | 21 | 9 | 2 |
| Rannb Rectangle Metal 2-Pack | 9.5 | 26 | 21 | 20 | 5 | 0 |
| XIOGZAXI 3.15 Inch 2-Pack | 9.5 | 26 | 20 | 20 | 5 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best desk grommet with ethernet
Hole size decides the fit
Hole size is the first number to check, because a grommet that does not match the hole is useless. The Rannb lists a mounting size of 5.9 x 2.75 x 0.9 inches and a total size of 6.3 x 3.1 x 1 inches, so both figures matter: the mounting size must fit the cut, and the total size must sit flat on the surface. The XIOGZAXI fits a 3.15 inch hole with a 3.7 inch overall diameter, the HEZI fits a 4 inch hole, and the VILONG and the 8-piece XIOGZAXI set are both 2 inch. Measure the existing hole before ordering, and measure the cut you plan to make if there is no hole yet.
Power, USB and surge protection
Only the HEZI provides power at the desk surface. It lists 5 outlets split across both sides, 4 USB ports, 100W USB-C, 18W USB-A, a 6 ft extension cord and a 45 degree flat plug for tight spaces behind furniture. It also lists 15A 125V 60Hz 1500W output with 1200J surge protection and an on/off switch. The Rannb and the XIOGZAXI are plain hole covers: they route cables and protect them, but they add no outlet, no USB port and no surge protection. If the desk already has a power strip underneath, a plain cover is enough; if the goal is charging at the surface, the powered grommet is the only pick here that does it.
| Grommet | Hole | Material | Power |
|---|---|---|---|
| HEZI 100W Power Grommet | 4 inch | Plastic, aluminum shell | 5 outlets, 4 USB |
| Rannb Rectangle Metal 2-Pack | 6.3 x 3.1 inch | Aluminum alloy | Not stated |
| XIOGZAXI 3.15 Inch 2-Pack | 3.15 inch | ABS plastic | Not stated |
Where ethernet actually appears
None of the main picks states an ethernet port, so a buyer who needs a wired network jack at the desk should look at the more picks below. The PowerTap pop-up lists 2 CAT5e RJ45 ports beside 3 AC outlets, and the Kable Kontrol recessed grommet lists 1 ethernet port beside 3 AC outlets. See our best surge protector ethernet for network protection at the wall, and our best ethernet cable for home office for the cable that runs to the jack.
Material and mounting
Material decides how the grommet wears. The Rannb is aluminum alloy with a rust-proof claim, while the XIOGZAXI is ABS plastic with a soft rubber base that protects cables from fraying. Mounting differs too: the Rannb spec table lists self-adhesive installation while its bullets describe drilling or cutting a hole, and the XIOGZAXI uses a threaded outer surface with a screw-in fit. See our best desk grommet with power outlet for more powered options.
Setup Notes
- Measure both the mounting size and the total size before cutting; the Rannb lists a 5.9 x 2.75 inch mounting size and a 6.3 x 3.1 inch total size.
- Match the hole to the grommet: the HEZI fits a 4 inch hole and the XIOGZAXI fits a 3.15 inch hole.
- Plan the cord path: the HEZI includes a 6 ft extension cord and a 45 degree flat plug for tight spaces.
- Keep the rubber base seated so cables do not fray, as the XIOGZAXI listing describes.
Frequently Asked Questions
What size hole does a desk grommet need?
It depends on the grommet. The Rannb lists a mounting size of 5.9 x 2.75 inches, the XIOGZAXI fits a 3.15 inch hole, the HEZI fits a 4 inch hole, and the VILONG and the 8-piece XIOGZAXI set are both 2 inch.
Do any of these grommets include an ethernet port?
None of the main picks states an ethernet port. Among the more picks, the PowerTap lists 2 CAT5e RJ45 ports and the Kable Kontrol lists 1 ethernet port.
Which grommet here provides power and USB charging?
The HEZI lists 5 outlets, 4 USB ports, 100W USB-C, 18W USB-A and 1200J surge protection. The other main picks are plain hole covers with no power stated.
Do any of these grommets state a warranty?
The HEZI states a 1 year warranty. The other main picks state no warranty term.
Can a plain grommet carry a network cable?
A plain grommet only routes cables through the hole; it adds no port. For a built-in port, look at the more picks with network ports.
Related guides
See every surge protectors and cable management guide and all audio, power and connectivity guides. Also see our best plastic desk grommet. Also see our best round desk grommet. Also see our best metal desk grommet.
More picks: docking stations and usb hubs, computer speakers, headsets.




