Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Home office gear, compared spec by spec.

Desk Lamps and Light Bars

Best Desk Lamp for Knitting (2026): 5 Lamps Compared

Five desk lamps compared for knitting: a cordless clamp lamp, a high CRI travel lamp, a metal E26 lamp and two charging-port models.

Best Desk Lamp for Knitting (2026): 5 Lamps Compared

The pattern says knit two together in the dark yarn, the room light says good luck, and the stitches blur into one long shadow. The best desk lamp for knitting puts bright, adjustable light exactly over the work, at an angle that keeps your hands out of their own shade. We compared five lamps on stated brightness control, color quality, mounting, power and warranty, using only what each listing publishes.

OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • ZAPLIT Clamp Desk Lamp
    Best Overall ZAPLIT Clamp Desk Lamp: Clamp lamp with 97 LEDs, 3 colors and 10 brightness levels Check price on Amazon
  • OttLite Recharge LED Lamp
    Best for Color Work OttLite Recharge LED Lamp: ClearSun LEDs with a stated 95+ CRI Check price on Amazon
  • LEPOWER Metal Desk Lamp
    Best Simple Lamp LEPOWER Metal Desk Lamp: All-metal E26 lamp with a 12-month warranty Check price on Amazon
  • Dott Arts DL-701 USB Lamp
    Best with Charging Ports Dott Arts LED Desk Lamp: USB A+C ports with 5 modes and 3 brightness levels Check price on Amazon
  • White crown Touch Desk Lamp
    Best Basic Pick White crown LED Desk Lamp: LED desk lamp with a USB charging port Check price on Amazon

The picks

ZAPLIT Clamp Desk Lamp

ZAPLIT Clamp Desk Lamp

ZAPLIT9.6/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A cordless clamp lamp with 97 LEDs that names knitting in its title, with 3 color modes and 10 brightness levels.

Pros

  • 97 LEDs with flicker-free light stated
  • 3 color modes and 10 brightness levels
  • Clamp mount with a 15.8-inch gooseneck
  • Cordless, with a stated 2000mAh battery

Cons

  • Runtime falls to about 5 hours at maximum brightness
  • Plastic shade and body
  • Battery needs USB-C recharging between long sessions
  • Clamp needs an edge or headboard to grip
Detailed Review

The ZAPLIT is the only lamp here that names knitting in its own title, and the spec backs the claim up: 97 LEDs, three color modes (Warm White, Natural White and Cool White) and 10 brightness levels, so the light can be tuned to pale yarn at noon and dark yarn at night. The clamp grips a desk edge, shelf or headboard, and the 15.8-inch gooseneck bends the head over the work instead of across the room.

The 2000mAh battery is stated to run up to 35 hours on low brightness and about 5 hours on max, and a memory function restores the last setting when it is switched back on. USB-C charging keeps it off the outlet between sessions. The warranty is stated at 2 year, the longest term in this group.

Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 19/25, value 21/25, safety 6/10 and warranty 4/5: 80 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
LEDs97
Battery2000mAh
RuntimeUp to 35 hours on low; about 5 hours on max
Gooseneck15.8-inch
ChargingUSB-C

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Flicker-free illumination stated, so safety scores 6 of 10. 2 year. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.

Lamps near paper and water. Use the supplied adapter, keep the lamp head away from paper, curtains and drinks, and treat flicker-free and brightness figures as the maker's claims.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Dott Arts DL-701 USB Lamp

Dott Arts DL-701 USB Lamp

Dott Arts9.5/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

An 8W foldable touch desk lamp with 5 colors, 3 brightness levels and USB A and C charging ports.

Pros

  • 5 light colors and 3 brightness levels by touch
  • USB A and C charging ports, 5V 2.1A
  • Foldable 230-degree arm with 90-degree base axis
  • Night light mode and 5V 2A adapter included

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • 8 watts, lower output than the brighter picks
  • 3 brightness levels only, no stepless dimming
  • 1.4 pounds, light foldable build
Detailed Review

The listing states an 8W LED desk lamp with 5 light colors and 3 brightness levels, USB A and C charging ports at 5V 2.1A, a foldable 230-degree arm with a 90-degree base axis, a night light mode and a 5V 2A adapter. No warranty term is stated.

Who it's for: device charging and foldable storage in one lamp. Who should skip it: anyone who wants stepless dimming or a stated warranty.

Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 72 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Power8 watts
Modes5 colors, 3 brightness
ChargingUSB A+C, 5V 2.1A
Arm230-degree foldable

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 19 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. No UL or ETL listing is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Lamps near paper and water. Use the supplied adapter, keep the lamp head away from paper, curtains and drinks, and treat flicker-free and brightness figures as the maker's claims.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

LEPOWER Metal Desk Lamp

LEPOWER Metal Desk Lamp

LEPOWER9.4/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

An all-metal E26 desk lamp with a flexible swing arm and a replaceable bulb, for a fixed knitting chair side table.

Pros

  • All-metal shade and base
  • E26 base takes a replaceable A19 bulb
  • Flexible swing arm aims the light
  • 12-month warranty stated

Cons

  • No bulb listed among the included components
  • Single light source with a base switch only
  • No dimming or color settings stated
  • 2.3 pounds, the heaviest stated weight here
Detailed Review

The LEPOWER is the traditional lamp of the group: a metal shade and base, a swing arm, and an E26 socket that takes a standard A19 bulb, so the bulb can be swapped when it dims or when a different color suits the yarn better. The switch sits on the base, and the listing states a heat dissipation design intended to avoid overheating in long sessions.

There are no brightness levels or color modes to set, which keeps it simple and also caps its flexibility: one bulb, one switch. The included components list a power cable and no bulb, so a bulb is a separate purchase. The warranty is stated at 12-month.

Its Office Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 23/35, build 20/25, value 19/25, safety 4/10 and warranty 3/5: 69 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
BaseE26
Wattage6 watts
MaterialMetal
Height14.17 inches
Weight2.3 pounds

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Heat dissipation design stated to avoid overheating, so safety scores 4 of 10. 12-month warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Lamps near paper and water. Use the supplied adapter, keep the lamp head away from paper, curtains and drinks, and treat flicker-free and brightness figures as the maker's claims.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

OttLite Recharge LED Lamp

OttLite Recharge LED Lamp

OttLite9.4/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A rechargeable travel lamp with ClearSun LEDs and a stated 95+ CRI, for knitters who read charts and match colors.

Pros

  • ClearSun LEDs with a stated 95+ CRI for color work
  • Neck extends from 10 to 18.75 inches
  • 3 brightness settings with touch controls
  • Rechargeable and cordless at 1.3 pounds

Cons

  • Warranty stated only as Standard, with no term
  • Runtime per charge not stated in hours
  • Single light source
  • Plastic base and shade
Detailed Review

OttLite states that its ClearSun LED technology is designed to match the spectrum of the sun, with a Color Rendering Index of 95+ against an average of 83 for other lamps, and that it reduces eyestrain by up to 51%. For knitting, that color accuracy is the point: navy and black yarn, or two close shades of a variegated skein, are easier to tell apart under a high CRI light.

The lamp is a travel format: a small base, a flexible neck that extends the height from 10 to 18.75 inches, three brightness settings on touch controls, and a rechargeable battery with a USB cord and adaptor in the box. Runtime per charge is not stated in hours, and the warranty is described only as Standard, with no term given.

Its Office Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 18/25, value 19/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 70 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Height10 to 18.75 inches
CRI95+
Brightness3 settings
PowerRechargeable battery, USB
Weight1.3 pounds

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. ClearSun LEDs with a stated 95+ CRI, so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Lamps near paper and water. Use the supplied adapter, keep the lamp head away from paper, curtains and drinks, and treat flicker-free and brightness figures as the maker's claims.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

White crown Touch Desk Lamp

White crown Touch Desk Lamp

White crown9.3/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 6W touch-control table lamp with 52 LEDs, 5 modes, 5 brightness levels, a USB port, timer and memory function.

Pros

  • Touch controls with memory function
  • 5 lighting modes, 5 brightness levels
  • USB 5V/1A port stated
  • Timer stated

Cons

  • No warranty stated
  • 6W, the lowest stated power here
  • Tabletop base takes desk space
Detailed Review

The White crown is the straightforward pick: 52 LEDs with 5 lighting modes and 5 brightness levels, touch controls with a memory function, and a timer. A 5V/1A USB port is stated for charging.

At 6W it states the lowest power here, and no warranty is stated. The tabletop base is simple but takes desk space.

Its Office Score of 9.3/10 comes from performance 24/35, build 16/25, value 19/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 59 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Power6W
LEDs52
Modes5 lighting modes, 5 brightness levels
ControlsTouch, memory function, timer
USB5V/1A port
WarrantyNot stated

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 19 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. No UL or ETL listing is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Lamps near paper and water. Use the supplied adapter, keep the lamp head away from paper, curtains and drinks, and treat flicker-free and brightness figures as the maker's claims.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Compare the picks

Lamp Office Score Mount Power Brightness control Warranty Amazon
ZAPLIT Clamp Desk Lamp 9.6/10 Clamp, cordless Battery, 2000mAh 3 colors, 10 levels 2 year View on Amazon
LEPOWER Metal Desk Lamp 9.4/10 Tabletop Corded, E26 bulb Base switch 12-month View on Amazon
OttLite Recharge LED Lamp 9.4/10 Tabletop Battery, USB charge 3 settings No term stated View on Amazon
Dott Arts LED Desk Lamp 9.5/10 Not stated Not stated 5 modes, 3 levels Not stated
White crown LED Desk Lamp 9.3/10 Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 21 October 2026. Two of the five state a warranty term; one states a flicker-free design.

How we scored them

The Office Score weighs performance (brightness levels, color modes, stated color rendering and reach), build (materials, mount and weight), value for the stated specs, safety and warranty. For a lamp used over close work, safety means a stated eye-care or heat feature: the ZAPLIT states flicker-free light, the LEPOWER states a heat dissipation design, and the OttLite states ClearSun LEDs with a 95+ CRI. Two listings state a warranty term: ZAPLIT at 2 year and LEPOWER at 12-month. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Office Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
ZAPLIT Clamp Desk Lamp 9.6 30 19 21 6 4
LEPOWER Metal Desk Lamp 9.4 23 20 19 4 3
OttLite Recharge LED Lamp 9.4 28 18 19 5 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best desk lamp for knitting

Color quality decides dark yarn work

Knitting shows color errors late: a sleeve in the wrong dye lot is a chart-reading and color-matching problem. A stated Color Rendering Index is the figure to look for, and only the OttLite states one, at 95+. Its maker states the ClearSun spectrum is designed to match sunlight. The ZAPLIT answers with choice instead: Warm White, Natural White and Cool White modes, so the light can be shifted when a yarn reads flat under one of them.

Clamp, base or gooseneck reach

Where the lamp sits decides whether the light lands on the stitches or behind your hands. The ZAPLIT clamps to a desk edge or headboard and bends a 15.8-inch gooseneck over the work, which suits a knitting chair with a side table; our best desk lamp with clamp roundup covers that format in depth. The LEPOWER and OttLite stand on the table itself, and the OttLite neck extends from 10 to 18.75 inches, the longest stated reach here.

Brightness levels beat raw brightness claims

None of these listings leads with a lumen figure, so the usable comparison is control: 10 brightness levels on the ZAPLIT, 3 settings on the OttLite, 3 levels across 5 modes on the Dott Arts, and a plain switch on the LEPOWER. More levels means the light can be dropped for pale yarn that glares and raised for dark yarn that swallows light, without moving the lamp.

Cordless freedom, with a runtime figure attached

Two lamps here run on batteries. The ZAPLIT states its runtime plainly: up to 35 hours on low and about 5 hours on max from its 2000mAh battery, so a week of evening sessions is realistic at low settings. The OttLite states a rechargeable battery and USB charging but no hours, so its runtime is the unknown in an otherwise strong spec. For a lamp that never moves, the corded LEPOWER removes the question entirely.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which lamp here is made for knitting by name?

The ZAPLIT title lists knitting among its uses, and its spec fits the work: 97 LEDs, 3 color modes, 10 brightness levels and a clamp that mounts beside a chair or desk.

What does a 95+ CRI mean for yarn?

CRI measures how accurately a light shows color. OttLite states a 95+ CRI for its ClearSun LEDs, against an average of 83 it cites for other lamps, which helps when telling close shades apart.

How long does the cordless ZAPLIT run?

The listing states up to 35 hours on low brightness and about 5 hours on the max setting from its 2000mAh battery, with USB-C charging and a memory function that restores the last setting.

Is a replaceable bulb worth having?

The LEPOWER takes a standard E26 A19 bulb, so the light source can be replaced or changed without replacing the lamp. Note that its included components list a power cable and no bulb.

Do any of these charge a phone?

Two do, on stated data: the Dott Arts lists USB A and C ports, and the White crown lists a USB charging port. The lamp still needs its own power source for the light itself.

ZAPLIT Clamp Desk Lamp
Still deciding? Our top pickZAPLIT Clamp Desk Lamp
Check price on Amazon

Also see our best desk lamp for puzzles. Also see our best desk lamp for writers. Also see our best standing desk for crafts.

More picks: desk lamps and light bars, computer desks, standing desks.