Soldering is close-range work, and the best desk lamp for soldering pairs magnification with a light source that renders small joints clearly. We compared four desk lamps: LED magnifiers, a swing-arm clamp lamp and a 3-in-1 CFL.
OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall Dylviw LED Magnifying Lamp: 5x glass lens, 1500 lm, 3 modes and 1-year warranty Check price on Amazon
Best Reach DXOVEEN Clamp Desk Lamp: 34.5 in swing arm with ETL bulb and 1-year warranty Check price on Amazon
Best Versatile OttLite 24W 3-in-1 Craft Lamp: 3-in-1 floor, table or clamp with 2x magnifier Check price on Amazon
Best Value SE 3.5X Magnifier Table Lamp: 3.5x glass lens with gooseneck and heavy base Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Office Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Dylviw LED Magnifying Lamp | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | DXOVEEN Clamp Desk Lamp | 9.4/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | OttLite 24W 3-in-1 Craft Lamp | 9.4/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | SE 3.5X Magnifier Table Lamp | 9.4/10 | Buy on Amazon |
Pros
- 5x real glass lens, 4.3 in distortion-free
- 72 LEDs with 1500 lm and 3 color modes
- Stand and clamp included
- Soldering stated as a use case
Cons
- No ETL or UL mark is stated
- 15 in tall may crowd small benches
- No floor option
- Modes are manual only
Detailed Review
The Dylviw is the soldering pick: a 4.3 in real glass lens at 5x magnification, ringed by 72 LEDs at 10W and 1500 lumens with 3 color modes, white, warm and cool. The listing names soldering among the tasks, and the lamp works as a stand or clamp lamp with a 1-year warranty.
Who it's for: bench soldering and repair. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a CFL or a floor lamp.
Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 33/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 3/5: 76 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Magnifier | 5x glass |
|---|---|
| LEDs | 72 |
| Lumens | 1500 lm |
| Warranty | 1 year |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. 1 year warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Lamps near paper and water. Use the supplied adapter, keep the lamp head away from paper, curtains and drinks, and treat flicker-free and brightness figures as the maker's claims.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- 34.5 in swing arm extension
- 360-degree adjustable arm
- ETL certified A19 bulb, E26/E27 replaceable
- 60 in power cable and 1-year warranty
Cons
- No magnification
- Clamp-only, no base option
- Single light source
- One bulb, no color modes stated
Detailed Review
The DXOVEEN is the reach pick: a clamp-on LED desk lamp with a foldable swing arm extending to 34.5 in and 360-degree adjustment. The listing pairs it with an A19 bulb that is ETL certified, in an E26/E27 base that is easy to replace, with a 60 in power cable and a 1-year manufacturer warranty.
Who it's for: wide benches that need light where the work is. Who should skip it: anyone who needs magnification.
Its Office Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 24/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 3/5: 68 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Arm | 34.5 in |
|---|---|
| Bulb | A19 LED |
| Base | Clamp |
| Warranty | 1 year |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. 1 year manufacturer. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Lamps near paper and water. Use the supplied adapter, keep the lamp head away from paper, curtains and drinks, and treat flicker-free and brightness figures as the maker's claims.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- 3-in-1: floor, table or clamp-on
- 2x optical magnifier with 4x spot viewer
- Long flexible arms
- Hands-free clip for patterns
Cons
- CFL, not LED
- No warranty term is stated
- Floor form is tall at up to 59.5 in
- No color modes stated
Detailed Review
The OttLite is the versatile pick: a 24W CFL craft lamp that converts between floor, table and clamp-on with the included kit, adjusting from 46 3/4 in to 59 1/2 in as a floor lamp. The listing states a 2x optical-grade illuminated magnifier with a 4x spot viewer, long flexible arms and a hands-free clip. No warranty term is stated.
Who it's for: craft rooms and multi-use benches. Who should skip it: anyone who wants LED.
Its Office Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 70 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Type | 3-in-1 |
|---|---|
| Magnifier | 2x + 4x spot |
| Source | 24W CFL |
| Warranty | Not stated |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No UL or ETL listing is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Lamps near paper and water. Use the supplied adapter, keep the lamp head away from paper, curtains and drinks, and treat flicker-free and brightness figures as the maker's claims.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- 3.5x glass lens, 3.5 in diameter
- 12 in flexible gooseneck
- Heavy stable base
- Cool white fluorescent light
Cons
- Fluorescent, not LED
- No warranty term is stated
- No clamp option
- Compact 7 x 6 x 11 in form
Detailed Review
The SE is the simple pick: a 3.5x glass lens magnifier table lamp with a 12 in flexible gooseneck and a heavy base, in cool white fluorescent. The listing states it suits craftsmen, jewelers and hobbyists working with small parts. No warranty term is stated.
Who it's for: simple magnified bench light. Who should skip it: anyone who wants LED or a clamp mount.
Its Office Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 69 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Magnifier | 3.5x glass |
|---|---|
| Neck | 12 in gooseneck |
| Base | Heavy |
| Warranty | Not stated |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Lamps near paper and water. Use the supplied adapter, keep the lamp head away from paper, curtains and drinks, and treat flicker-free and brightness figures as the maker's claims.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Compare the picks
| Lamp | Office Score | Magnifier | Light source | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dylviw LED Magnifying Lamp | 9.6/10 | 5x glass lens | LED, 1500 lm | 1 year | View on Amazon |
| DXOVEEN Clamp Desk Lamp | 9.4/10 | None | LED A19 | 1 year | View on Amazon |
| OttLite 24W 3-in-1 Craft Lamp | 9.4/10 | 2x + 4x spot | 24W CFL | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| SE 3.5X Magnifier Table Lamp | 9.4/10 | 3.5x glass lens | Fluorescent | Not stated | View on Amazon |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 20 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Office Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For desk lamps, safety means stated certifications the listing actually states; the DXOVEEN states an ETL certified bulb, but none of the four states a lamp-level safety certification, so none earns safety points. Two of the four state a warranty term: 1 year on the Dylviw and the DXOVEEN. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Office Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dylviw LED Magnifying Lamp | 9.6 | 33 | 20 | 20 | 0 | 3 |
| DXOVEEN Clamp Desk Lamp | 9.4 | 24 | 20 | 21 | 0 | 3 |
| OttLite 24W 3-in-1 Craft Lamp | 9.4 | 30 | 20 | 20 | 0 | 0 |
| SE 3.5X Magnifier Table Lamp | 9.4 | 28 | 20 | 21 | 0 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best desk lamp for soldering
Magnification matters most
The Dylviw states 5x on a 4.3 in glass lens; the SE states 3.5x on a 3.5 in lens; the OttLite states 2x with a 4x spot viewer. The DXOVEEN has no magnifier. For soldering, a stated magnifier leads.
Light source and brightness
The Dylviw states 72 LEDs at 1500 lm with 3 color modes; the DXOVEEN states an LED A19; the OttLite states a 24W CFL; the SE states fluorescent. LED gives color modes and dimming.
Mounting
The Dylviw works as a stand or clamp lamp; the DXOVEEN is clamp-only; the OttLite converts between floor, table and clamp; the SE uses a heavy base. Match the mount to the bench.
Reach
The DXOVEEN states a 34.5 in swing arm; the OttLite states long flexible arms; the SE states a 12 in gooseneck. For more task lighting see our best desk lamp for low vision.
Setup Notes
- The Dylviw works as a stand or clamp lamp; the DXOVEEN is clamp-only.
- The OttLite converts between floor, table and clamp with the included kit.
- Only the Dylviw and DXOVEEN state a warranty term.
- Check the bulb base: the DXOVEEN uses replaceable E26/E27 A19 bulbs.
Frequently Asked Questions
Do I need magnification for soldering?
The Dylviw states 5x, the SE 3.5x and the OttLite 2x with a 4x spot viewer; the DXOVEEN has none.
Which are LED?
The Dylviw and DXOVEEN. The OttLite is CFL and the SE is fluorescent.
Which state a warranty term?
The Dylviw and DXOVEEN state 1 year. The OttLite and SE state no warranty term.
Which can clamp to a desk?
The Dylviw, DXOVEEN and OttLite. The SE uses a heavy base.
Related guides
See every best desk lamp for soldering guide and our best desk lamp for your eyes.
More picks: desk lamp for eye strain and desk lamp with USB port.








