The best document holder plastic is the one that matches how your papers live: flat in envelopes for travel, or lidded in boxes for the shelf. Picture a desk at tax time, the receipts in one pile, the school forms in another, and no folder in sight. We compared four plastic document holders by pack size, closure, capacity and warranty, using only what each listing publishes. Color coding by envelope color and label pockets can turn a stack of look-alike papers into a filing system you can read at a glance.
OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall Mr. Pen String-Tie Envelopes: 6 pack, expands 1-1/4 in, durable clear plastic Check price on Amazon
Best Envelopes Hutou Snap Envelopes: 6 colors, snap button, 200-page capacity Check price on Amazon
Best Box 4-Pack iBune Organizer Box: Food-grade PP, 2 snap latches, 4 pack Check price on Amazon
Best Single Box Co-link File Box: 2-liter box, stackable, moisture-proof Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Office Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Mr. Pen String-Tie Envelopes | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | Hutou Snap Envelopes | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | iBune Organizer Box | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | Co-link File Box | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |

Mr. Pen String-Tie Envelopes
Six clear expandable poly envelopes with string-tie closure and 1-1/4 in expansion for letter and A4 papers.
Pros
- Durable clear plastic keeps contents visible while secured by the string tie
- 6 pack in assorted translucent colors
- 1-1/4 in expansion for thicker stacks
- Fits letter and A4 size papers
Cons
- Spec table lists unit count 1 against the 6-pack title
- String tie is slower than a snap
- No label pocket is stated
- No dimensions beyond letter/A4 fit are stated
Detailed Review
Mr. Pen lists 6 clear expandable poly envelopes in assorted translucent colors with string-tie closure, each fitting letter and A4 papers with 1-1/4 in of expansion for thicker stacks of reports, handouts and project files. The clear plastic keeps contents visible for quick identification. The spec table lists a unit count of 1 against the 6-pack title.
Who it's for: someone who wants expandable color-coded envelopes for letter and A4 papers. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a snap closure or stated dimensions.
The assorted translucent colors organize files by subject, project, client, class or category, adding a color-coded look to the filing system.
Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 77 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Pack | 6 envelopes |
|---|---|
| Expansion | 1-1/4 in |
| Fits | Letter/A4 |
| Closure | String tie |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. String-tie closure keeps contents secure and visible, so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Anchor it. Anchor tall bookshelves and file cabinets to the wall with the supplied hardware or an anti-tip kit, load the lowest shelves and drawers first, and open one drawer at a time.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Hutou Snap Envelopes
Six PP plastic envelopes in 6 colors with snap buttons and label pockets for letter and A4 papers.
Pros
- 6 assorted colors for color coding
- Snap button with label pocket
- 200-page fastener capacity stated
- 13.25 x 9.25 in fits letter and A4
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- No expansion is stated
- Snap only, no string backup
- Transparent colors show contents to others
Detailed Review
Hutou lists 6 clear document folders in transparent blue, green, yellow, purple, pink and red, in durable PP plastic sized 13.25 x 9.25 in for letter and A4 papers. Each folder has a snap button and a label pocket for classifying documents, with a stated fastener capacity of 200 pages. No warranty term is stated.
Who it's for: someone who wants color-coded snap envelopes with label pockets. Who should skip it: anyone who needs expansion room or a stated warranty.
The see-through design keeps contents visible without opening the envelopes, and the outside mini label pocket helps classify and identify documents.
Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 77 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Pack | 6 folders |
|---|---|
| Size | 13.25 x 9.25 in |
| Capacity | 200 pages |
| Closure | Snap button |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Snap-button closure with label pocket for document ID, so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Anchor it. Anchor tall bookshelves and file cabinets to the wall with the supplied hardware or an anti-tip kit, load the lowest shelves and drawers first, and open one drawer at a time.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

iBune Organizer Box
Four food-grade PP plastic boxes with two snap-shut latches, inner size 12.2 x 8.9 x 0.7 in for A4 and letter papers.
Pros
- 4 pack of boxes
- Food-grade PP plastic
- Two snap-shut latches per box
- Inner 12.2 x 8.9 x 0.7 in fits A4 and 8.5 x 11 in
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- 2 lb item weight
- White only
- 0.7 in inner depth limits stack height
Detailed Review
iBune lists a 4-pack of plastic paper organizer boxes in food-grade PP plastic, with an inner size of 12.2 x 8.9 x 0.7 in and an external size of 12.52 x 9.45 x 0.94 in, fitting A4 and 8.5 x 11 in papers. Two snap-shut latches close each box tightly, the listing rates them water resistant, and no assembly is required. The boxes also suit photos, stamps, craft supplies and small electronics. No warranty term is stated.
Who it's for: someone who wants lidded boxes for papers, crafts and photos. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a stated warranty or deeper boxes.
Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 75 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Pack | 4 boxes |
|---|---|
| Inner size | 12.2 x 8.9 x 0.7 in |
| Fits | 8.5x11/A4 |
| Closure | 2 snap latches |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Two snap-shut latches close tightly; water resistant, so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Anchor it. Anchor tall bookshelves and file cabinets to the wall with the supplied hardware or an anti-tip kit, load the lowest shelves and drawers first, and open one drawer at a time.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Co-link File Box
A single PP plastic file box with flip-top closure, 2-liter capacity and stackable design for A4 documents.
Pros
- 2-liter capacity stated
- Stackable design
- Moisture-proof and anti-dust, per the listing
- Inner 11.8 x 8.3 x 0.8 in
Cons
- Single piece, not a multi-pack
- No warranty term is stated
- 9.5 oz weight
- Hinges may need reseating if they fall off, per the listing
Detailed Review
Co-link lists a single A4 file organizer box in PP plastic, with an outer size of 12.1 x 9.1 x 0.8 in and an inner size of 11.8 x 8.3 x 0.8 in, holding 2 liters. It has a flip-top hinge closure and a stackable rectangular shape, and the listing calls it moisture-proof and anti-dust with good sealing for carrying important documents. No warranty term is stated.
Who it's for: someone who wants one stackable dust-resistant box for A4 documents. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a multi-pack or a stated warranty.
Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 27/35, build 20/25, value 19/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 71 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Capacity | 2 liters |
|---|---|
| Inner | 11.8 x 8.3 x 0.8 in |
| Closure | Flip top |
| Design | Stackable |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Moisture-proof and anti-dust with good sealing, per the listing, so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Anchor it. Anchor tall bookshelves and file cabinets to the wall with the supplied hardware or an anti-tip kit, load the lowest shelves and drawers first, and open one drawer at a time.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Compare the picks
| Document holder | Office Score | Pack | Fits | Closure | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mr. Pen String-Tie Envelopes | 9.6/10 | 6 pack | Letter/A4 | String tie | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| Hutou Snap Envelopes | 9.6/10 | 6 pack | Letter/A4 | Snap button | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| iBune Organizer Box | 9.6/10 | 4 pack | 8.5×11/A4 | 2 snap latches | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| Co-link File Box | 9.5/10 | 1 pc | A4 | Flip top | Not stated | View on Amazon |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 22 October 2026. All four fit letter and A4 papers; only one states a warranty term.
How we scored them
The Office Score weighs performance (pack size, capacity and paper fit), build (materials and closure design), value for the stated specs, safety and warranty. For a document holder, safety means contents stay put: secure closures, tight latches and sealed boxes. Three listings state one of these; none of the four states a warranty term. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Office Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mr. Pen String-Tie Envelopes | 9.6 | 30 | 21 | 21 | 5 | 0 |
| Hutou Snap Envelopes | 9.6 | 30 | 21 | 21 | 5 | 0 |
| iBune Organizer Box | 9.6 | 29 | 21 | 20 | 5 | 0 |
| Co-link File Box | 9.5 | 27 | 20 | 19 | 5 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best document holder plastic
Envelopes or boxes
Envelopes travel flat and sort fast. The Hutou set gives 6 snap-button envelopes in 6 colors with label pockets, and the Mr. Pen set gives 6 string-tie envelopes with 1-1/4 in of expansion for thicker stacks. Boxes protect better on a shelf: the iBune 4-pack closes with two snap-shut latches each, and the single Co-link box holds 2 liters with a flip-top hinge. Where you use them matters too. The Hutou envelopes suit school, home, work, office travel and business trips, while the Mr. Pen envelopes are listed for backpacks, desks, filing cabinets and classrooms. The iBune boxes double as board game storage, and the Co-link box is listed for business negotiations carrying important documents. For more storage ideas, see our desk organizers and whiteboards guides.
Check the closure
The closure decides how fast you get in and how safe the papers stay. The Mr. Pen uses a string tie, the slowest to open but secure on expanded stacks. The Hutou uses a snap button with a label pocket for quick identification. The iBune uses two snap-shut latches per box, and the Co-link uses a flip-top hinge that the listing says can be put back in place if it falls off. None of the four states a lock. The string tie on the Mr. Pen wraps the envelope shut for expanded stacks, while snap closures favor speed for papers you reach for daily.
Plastic types and what they mean
All four are plastic, but the listings specify different kinds. The Hutou and Co-link use PP plastic, with the Co-link described as durable against abrasion and flexible rather than easy to break. The iBune uses food-grade PP plastic described as thick, solid and not easily deformed. The Mr. Pen envelopes are clear poly plastic. Thicker plastic like the iBune suits boxes that get stacked and moved; lighter envelopes like the Hutou and Mr. Pen suit daily carry.
Mind capacity and the warranty
Stated capacities differ by format. The Hutou lists a 200-page fastener capacity, the Mr. Pen expands 1-1/4 in for thicker document stacks, the Co-link holds 2 liters, and the iBune lists a 15.2 oz capacity. On the fine print, none of the four states a warranty term, so check the listing before relying on them for important documents. Weights tell the same story: the iBune set weighs 2 lbs for 4 boxes, the Co-link box weighs 9.5 oz, and the Hutou folders measure 15.55 x 8.73 x 0.52 in as listed.
| If you need | Look at |
|---|---|
| Thick document stacks | Mr. Pen String-Tie Envelopes, 1-1/4 in expansion |
| Color-coded sorting | Hutou Snap Envelopes, 6 colors, 200-page capacity |
| Lidded box storage | iBune Organizer Box, 4-pack, food-grade PP |
Setup Notes
- Match the holder to the paper: all four fit letter and A4.
- Envelopes (Hutou, Mr. Pen) travel flat in bags; boxes (iBune, Co-link) protect better on a shelf.
- The Co-link box stacks; the iBune boxes need no assembly.
- None of the four states a warranty term, so keep the order confirmation.
- For dust-prone shelves, the Co-link lists moisture-proof and anti-dust sealing.
- For crafts and photos, the iBune boxes hold supplies, stamps and small electronics too.
- For color coding, assign one Hutou or Mr. Pen color per subject, project or client.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is a plastic document holder?
An envelope or box in PP or poly plastic that holds letter and A4 papers. The Hutou and Mr. Pen are envelope sets, six each; the iBune is a 4-pack of lidded boxes and the Co-link is a single lidded box.
How many pages do these hold?
The Hutou lists a 200-page fastener capacity and the Mr. Pen expands 1-1/4 in for thicker stacks. The Co-link holds 2 liters and the iBune lists a 15.2 oz capacity.
Which of these has a warranty?
None of the four states a warranty term, so check the listing before relying on them for important documents.
Snap button or string tie?
The Hutou uses a snap button with a label pocket, the Mr. Pen a string tie, the iBune two snap-shut latches per box, and the Co-link a flip-top hinge.
Are these water resistant?
The iBune is rated water resistant and the Co-link is listed as moisture-proof and anti-dust. The two envelope sets state no water rating.
Which holder is best for travel?
The Hutou envelopes are listed as portable for business trips, the Co-link box for business negotiations, and the Mr. Pen envelopes for backpacks. For checked luggage or rough handling, a lidded box protects better than an envelope.
Related guides
See every desk organizers and whiteboards guide and all office storage guides.
More picks: bookshelves and file cabinets, computer desks, desk mats.




