Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Home office gear, compared spec by spec.

Bookshelves and File Cabinets

Best File Box for Classroom (2026): 5 Picks Compared

5 file boxes for classrooms compared by material, size, capacity and lids, from stackable plastic boxes to collapsible cardboard boxes.

Best File Box for Classroom (2026): 5 Picks Compared

A teacher who carries lesson plans between rooms wants the best file box for classroom use to keep papers upright and together. The boxes were compared by material, size, capacity and lids, using only what each listing publishes. The group spans a stackable plastic box, collapsible cardboard boxes, a clear acrylic box and a title-only box kept last.

OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • IRIS USA 35 Qt File Box
    Best Overall IRIS USA 35 Qt File Box: Letter and legal folders, stackable, 4-pack. Check price on Amazon
  • Oterri Collapsible File Box
    Best Collapsible Oterri Collapsible File Box: Collapsible cardboard box, steel handles, 2-pack. Check price on Amazon
  • Sbanmao Acrylic File Box
    Best Clear Design Sbanmao Acrylic File Box: Clear acrylic with bamboo edges, carry handles. Check price on Amazon
  • Aosric Colored File Box
    Best Color Set Aosric Colored File Box: 6 colored boxes, holds up to 30 folders. Check price on Amazon
  • Huolewa File Organizer Box
    Lidded Box Huolewa File Organizer Box: File organizer box with lid, collapsible. Check price on Amazon

The picks

IRIS USA 35 Qt File Box

IRIS USA 35 Qt File Box

IRIS USA9.6/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A plastic file box with a lid, built-in file ledges for letter and legal folders, in a 4-pack that stacks for classroom storage.

Pros

  • Built-in file ledges fit letter and legal size folders
  • Stackable grooved lid and base save space in cabinets and closets
  • Snap closure with lift-off lid, water resistant
  • No assembly required

Cons

  • No lock, per the spec table
  • Opaque design hides contents, so labels matter
  • Maximum weight recommendation of 20 pounds limits heavier loads
  • Only the pearl color is listed
Detailed Review

The listing states a plastic file box, 18.13 by 14.13 by 10.75 inches, with built-in file ledges for letter and legal size folders, a snap closure with a lift-off lid, a grooved lid and base for stacking, a 35 quart storage volume, a 2.1 pound item weight and a maximum weight recommendation of 20 pounds, in a 4-pack. It states BPA free polypropylene, water resistant material and no assembly required, pitched for lesson plans, worksheets, student records and classroom forms. No contradiction in size or capacity was found.

Who it's for: a teacher who wants lidded, stackable boxes for lesson plans and classroom files. Who should skip it: a teacher who wants to see contents without opening the box.

Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 22/25, value 21/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 80 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Dimensions18.13 by 14.13 by 10.75 inches
Storage volume35 quarts
MaterialPlastic, BPA free
Maximum weight20 pounds

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Grooved lid and base for stacking, so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Anchor it. Anchor tall bookshelves and file cabinets to the wall with the supplied hardware or an anti-tip kit, load the lowest shelves and drawers first, and open one drawer at a time.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Oterri Collapsible File Box

Oterri Collapsible File Box

Oterri9.6/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A collapsible cardboard file box with stainless steel handles and label stickers, in a 2-pack for letter-size folders.

Pros

  • Stainless steel handles for carrying
  • Label stickers included
  • Collapsible and foldable, folds in 30 seconds
  • 12-month warranty stated

Cons

  • Not water resistant, per the spec table
  • Folders not included
  • Cardboard, not a rigid plastic box
  • 1 compartment only
Detailed Review

The listing states a cardboard file box, 12.2 by 5.3 by 9.8 inches, with stainless steel handles, label stickers included, a 30 liter capacity and a 16 ounce item weight, in a 2-pack for letter-size folders, with folders not included. It states a reinforced corrugated core, a collapsible and foldable form that folds in 30 seconds, recycled material and a 12-month warranty. No contradiction in size or capacity was found.

Who it's for: a teacher who wants light, collapsible boxes for letter folders between rooms. Who should skip it: a teacher who wants a lidded plastic box or legal-size folders.

Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 3/5: 75 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Dimensions12.2 by 5.3 by 9.8 inches
Storage volume30 liters
MaterialCardboard, recycled
HandlesStainless steel

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. 12-month warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Anchor it. Anchor tall bookshelves and file cabinets to the wall with the supplied hardware or an anti-tip kit, load the lowest shelves and drawers first, and open one drawer at a time.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Sbanmao Acrylic File Box

Sbanmao Acrylic File Box

Sbanmao9.4/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A clear acrylic file box with bamboo edges and base, built-in carry handles, for letter-size files on a desk.

Pros

  • Acrylic body with bamboo edges and base
  • Built-in carry handles with smooth grip, per the listing
  • Fits letter-size and A4-size documents
  • Clear body shows contents at a glance

Cons

  • No lid is stated in the listing
  • Box only; documents and files not included
  • No folder count is stated
  • No warranty term is stated
Detailed Review

The listing states a clear acrylic file box with bamboo edges and base, 14.17 by 12.44 by 9.84 inches, with built-in carry handles, a 1661.81 cubic inch capacity and a 2.84 kg item weight, for letter-size and A4-size documents. The packaging includes only the file box itself, not any documents or files. No contradiction in size or capacity was found.

Who it's for: a teacher who wants a clear desk box that shows its contents. Who should skip it: a teacher who wants a lid or a stated folder count.

Its Office Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 69 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Dimensions14.17 by 12.44 by 9.84 inches
Capacity1661.81 cubic inches
MaterialAcrylic, bamboo
Item weight2.84 kg

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Anchor it. Anchor tall bookshelves and file cabinets to the wall with the supplied hardware or an anti-tip kit, load the lowest shelves and drawers first, and open one drawer at a time.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Aosric Colored File Box

Aosric Colored File Box

Aosric9.4/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A collapsible cardboard file box with plastic handles on both sides, for letter-size hanging folders, in 6 colored boxes.

Pros

  • 6 colored boxes in the listing, per the bullets
  • Holds up to 30 letter-sized hanging file folders
  • Film coating described as resisting water and scratches
  • Plastic handles on both sides

Cons

  • Spec table lists capacity as 30 pages, against 30 folders in the bullets
  • Spec table lists unit count 1, against 6 boxes in the bullets
  • Lidless design, so contents stay open at the top
  • No warranty term is stated
Detailed Review

The listing states a collapsible cardboard file box, 12.2 by 5.1 by 9.6 inches, with plastic handles on both sides, a film coating and a lidless design, for letter-size hanging folders, with a 1.1 kg item weight. The bullets state 6 colored boxes and up to 30 letter-sized hanging file folders, while the spec table lists a unit count of 1 and a capacity of 30 pages, so the bullets are the safer guide on pack and folder counts.

Who it's for: a teacher who wants colored boxes for sorting letter folders on a desk. Who should skip it: a teacher who wants a lid or a consistent pack count in the spec table.

Its Office Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 27/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 67 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Dimensions12.2 by 5.1 by 9.6 inches
CapacityUp to 30 letter-sized hanging folders, per the bullets
MaterialCardboard, film coating
Item weight1.1 kg

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Anchor it. Anchor tall bookshelves and file cabinets to the wall with the supplied hardware or an anti-tip kit, load the lowest shelves and drawers first, and open one drawer at a time.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Huolewa File Organizer Box

Huolewa File Organizer Box

Huolewa9.4/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

Collapsible linen and cardboard file box with slide rails, a label slot and a carry handle.

Pros

  • Smooth PVC slide rails stated
  • Label slot and carry handle stated
  • Folds flat for storage stated
  • Linen fabric over reinforced cardboard stated

Cons

  • Letter size only
  • No lock stated
  • Not water resistant stated
  • No warranty term stated
Detailed Review

Huolewa lists a collapsible file box with a linen fabric outer, reinforced cardboard, smooth PVC slide rails and a hook-and-loop lid. The listing states letter-size fit, a 14.9 by 12.5 by 10.8 in size and a transparent label slot. It is stated as not water resistant, and no lock or warranty term is stated.

Who it's for: a home office that wants an attractive collapsible box for letter files. Who should skip it: anyone needing legal-size folders, water resistance or a warranty term.

Its Office Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 69 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Dimensions14.9 x 12.5 x 10.8 in
MaterialLinen and cardboard
ClosureHook-and-loop lid
Capacity1808.6 cubic inches

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Anchor it. Anchor tall bookshelves and file cabinets to the wall with the supplied hardware or an anti-tip kit, load the lowest shelves and drawers first, and open one drawer at a time.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

  • QILICHZ Wood File BoxQILICHZ Wood File BoxWood and metal file box for letter-size folders on desks and cabinets.Check on Amazon

Compare the picks

File box Office Score Material Size Capacity Warranty Amazon
IRIS USA 35 Qt File Box 9.6/10 Plastic 18.13 by 14.13 by 10.75 inches 35 quarts Not stated View on Amazon
Oterri Collapsible File Box 9.6/10 Cardboard 12.2 by 5.3 by 9.8 inches 30 liters 12-month warranty View on Amazon
Sbanmao Acrylic File Box 9.4/10 Acrylic, bamboo 14.17 by 12.44 by 9.84 inches 1661.81 cubic inches Not stated View on Amazon
Aosric Colored File Box 9.4/10 Cardboard 12.2 by 5.1 by 9.6 inches Up to 30 folders Not stated View on Amazon
Huolewa File Organizer Box 9.4/10 Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated View on Amazon

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 25 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Office Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For a file box, safety means stable stacking and a lid that stays shut; only the IRIS box states a grooved lid and base for stacking, so it is the only pick with a safety score. The Oterri is the only pick with a stated warranty term, at 12 months. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Office Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
IRIS USA 35 Qt File Box 9.6 32 22 21 5 0
Oterri Collapsible File Box 9.6 30 21 21 0 3
Sbanmao Acrylic File Box 9.4 28 21 20 0 0
Aosric Colored File Box 9.4 27 20 20 0 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best file box for classroom

Match the box to letter or legal folders

Folder size is the first check, since a box that fits letter folders may not fit legal folders. The IRIS box states built-in file ledges for letter and legal size folders, while the Oterri, Aosric and Sbanmao boxes state letter size, and the Sbanmao box also states A4-size documents. A teacher who files legal-size forms should start with the IRIS box, while a teacher who files only letter-size papers can use any of the picks. For boxes sized for shelves, see file boxes for shelves, and for A4 boxes see file boxes for A4.

Lids, stacking and carrying

Lids and handles decide how a box travels and stores. The IRIS box has a snap closure with a lift-off lid and a grooved lid and base for stacking, while the Oterri box folds flat and carries by stainless steel handles, and the Sbanmao box carries by built-in handles with no lid stated. The Aosric box has a lidless design with plastic handles on both sides, so papers stay open at the top. The table below lines up the full-data picks by material, lid and carrying style.

Box Material Lid Carrying and storage
IRIS USA 35 Qt File Box Plastic Snap lid, lift-off Stackable, built-in handle
Oterri Collapsible File Box Cardboard Opening, no lid stated Collapsible, stainless steel handles
Sbanmao Acrylic File Box Acrylic, bamboo No lid stated Built-in carry handles
Aosric Colored File Box Cardboard Lidless Plastic handles on both sides

Figures as stated in each listing. A lid matters most where boxes stack in a closet or cabinet.

Check the listing twice when counts disagree

One listing disagrees with itself on counts, and the bullets are the safer guide where a spec table disagrees. The Aosric bullets state 6 colored boxes and up to 30 letter-sized hanging file folders, while its spec table lists a unit count of 1 and a capacity of 30 pages. Treat the bullets as the guide on pack and folder counts, and check the listing before ordering if the count matters. For a different organizer shape, see accordion file organizers.

Mind weight and capacity units

Capacities here use different units, so compare like with like and do not convert between them. The IRIS box states 35 quarts, the Oterri box states 30 liters, the Sbanmao box states 1661.81 cubic inches, and the Aosric box states up to 30 folders. Item weights also differ in unit: 2.1 pounds for the IRIS box, 16 ounces for the Oterri box, 1.1 kg for the Aosric box and 2.84 kg for the Sbanmao box. Pick by the unit the listing gives, and check the dimensions against the shelf or cabinet before ordering.

Setup Notes

  • Measure the shelf or cabinet first: the IRIS box measures 18.13 by 14.13 by 10.75 inches, while the Oterri box measures 12.2 by 5.3 by 9.8 inches.
  • Check folder size: letter and legal for the IRIS box, letter size for the Oterri and Aosric boxes, letter and A4 size for the Sbanmao box.
  • Check lid and stacking needs: a snap lid and stacking for the IRIS box, a collapsible form for the Oterri box, a lidless form for the Aosric box.
  • Check warranty: the Oterri box states a 12-month warranty, while the other picks state no warranty term in the listing facts.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which boxes fit legal-size folders?

Only the IRIS box states both letter and legal size folders. The Oterri and Aosric boxes state letter size, and the Sbanmao box states letter-size and A4-size documents.

Do these boxes come with folders?

No. Oterri states folders are not included, Aosric states folders are not included, and Sbanmao states the packaging includes only the file box.

Which boxes stack?

The IRIS box states stackable grooved lid and base. The Oterri and Aosric boxes collapse instead of stacking, per their listings, and the Sbanmao box states no stacking.

Are any of these boxes water resistant?

The IRIS box states water resistant, and the Oterri box states not water resistant. The Aosric bullets describe a film coating that resists water and scratches, while the Sbanmao box states no water resistance figure.

Do any state a warranty?

The Oterri box states a 12-month warranty. The other picks state no warranty term in the listing facts given.

IRIS USA 35 Qt File Box
Still deciding? Our top pickIRIS USA 35 Qt File Box
Check price on Amazon

See every bookshelves and file cabinets guide and all office machines and storage guides.

More picks: desk organizers for binders, storage shelves for small spaces, mail organizers with drawers.