Tax forms, school letters and insurance papers pile up on the kitchen table, and the hunt for the best file cabinet for paperwork starts with a simple question: where does each paper live so it can be found again. We compared four file cabinets by drawer count, locks, mobility, paper sizes and storage form, using only what each listing publishes.
OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Triple Lock DEVAISE 3-Drawer Wood: Three drawers with individual locks, 5 casters and 150 lb capacity Check price on Amazon
Best Portable Set ZICOTO Organizer Set: Set of 2 collapsible linen boxes with lid, handles and slide rails Check price on Amazon
Three-Drawer Vertical STAPLES 3-Drawer: Three-drawer vertical cabinet for letter-size files, lockable Check price on Amazon
Two-Drawer Printer Stand OPNICE 2-Drawer: Two-drawer cabinet with a printer stand top and pen holders Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Office Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | DEVAISE 3-Drawer Wood | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | STAPLES ST52154 | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | OPNICE 2-Drawer Printer Stand | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | ZICOTO Organizer Set | 9.4/10 | Buy on Amazon |

DEVAISE 3-Drawer Wood
A three-drawer wood filing cabinet with an individual lock per drawer, full-extension slides on the deep bottom drawers, 5 casters with an anti-tip center wheel, and a 150 lb stated capacity.
Pros
- Independent locks for each of the three drawers keep papers separate
- Two deep bottom drawers with full-extension slides reach the very back
- 5-caster system with a dedicated anti-tip center wheel for balance
- 150 lb stated weight capacity maximum with a printer-stand top
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- At 44.7 lb it is the heaviest unit here
- Style name rounds the size to 16 by 16 by 31 in, differing from the spec table
- Top drawer holds only up to 11 lbs
Detailed Review
DEVAISE lists a three-drawer wood filing cabinet with an individual lock for each drawer, customizable hanging rails for letter and A4 folders, and full-extension slides on the two deep bottom drawers. The listing states a 150 lb weight capacity maximum, a 44.7 lb item weight, dimensions of 16.2 in deep, 15.8 in wide and 30.8 in high, a 5-caster system with a dedicated anti-tip center wheel, and a top drawer holding up to 11 lbs. One rounding difference: the style name gives the size as 16 by 16 by 31 in, while the spec table gives 16.2 by 15.8 by 30.8 in; the spec table figures are used here. No warranty term appears in the listing.
Who it's for: someone who mixes business and personal papers in one cabinet and wants a lock per drawer plus a printer-stand top. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a stated warranty term, a lighter cabinet, or a lockable box that moves between rooms.
Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 0/5: 79 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Drawers | 3 |
|---|---|
| Locks | 3 individual locks |
| Weight capacity | 150 lb |
| Dimensions | 16.2 in deep, 15.8 in wide, 30.8 in high |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 24 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. 3 individual drawer locks and a dedicated anti-tip center wheel, so safety scores 8 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Anchor it. Anchor tall bookshelves and file cabinets to the wall with the supplied hardware or an anti-tip kit, load the lowest shelves and drawers first, and open one drawer at a time.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

STAPLES ST52154
A charcoal 3-drawer vertical file cabinet with a keyed lock and precision ball-bearing drawer glides for letter-size hanging files.
Pros
- Precision ball-bearing glides for smooth drawer action
- Keyed lock keeps documents secure
- Letter-size hanging files in all 3 drawers
- Partially assembled out of the box
Cons
- No weight capacity is stated
- No warranty term is stated
- Letter size only; no legal or A4 folders named
- 18.9 in depth is the deepest footprint here
Detailed Review
Staples lists a charcoal 3-drawer vertical file cabinet with a keyed lock, precision ball-bearing drawer glides and letter-size hanging files. The cabinet measures 14.3 by 18.9 by 26.8 in and arrives partially assembled with assembly instructions included. One contradiction: the title calls it a mobile rolling cabinet while the spec table lists a pedestal base, so treat the mobility as unclear. The listing states no weight capacity and no warranty term.
Who it's for: someone who wants smooth ball-bearing drawers and a lock for letter files. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a stated weight capacity or legal-size folders.
Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 27/35, build 19/25, value 19/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 70 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Footprint | 14.3 x 18.9 x 26.8 in |
|---|---|
| Drawers | 3 |
| File size | Letter |
| Lock | Keyed |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Keyed lock and ball-bearing drawer glides stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Anchor it. Anchor tall bookshelves and file cabinets to the wall with the supplied hardware or an anti-tip kit, load the lowest shelves and drawers first, and open one drawer at a time.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

OPNICE 2-Drawer Printer Stand
A fabric-drawer cabinet with a wood printer top, 2 pen holders and lockable swivel casters for a home office.
Pros
- Wood top sized for a printer and everyday essentials
- 2 fabric drawers fit A4 and letter folders
- A pen holder on each side for small supplies
- Swivel casters with locks for easy moves
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- Fabric drawers instead of rigid metal
- 6 pounds suggests a light build
- No lock for the drawers
Detailed Review
OPNICE lists 2 fabric drawers that take A4 and letter-size folders, a wood top for a printer, and a pen holder on each side for small office supplies. The cabinet mixes fabric, steel and engineered wood, rides on swivel casters with locks, and the spec table gives a 10.8 by 14.2 by 26.7 inch footprint at 6 pounds. No warranty term appears in the listing.
Who it's for: a home worker who wants a printer stand that also files A4 and letter paperwork. Who should skip it: anyone who needs locking drawers or an all-metal cabinet.
Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 3/10 and warranty 0/5: 73 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Drawers | 2 fabric |
|---|---|
| File sizes | A4, letter |
| Extras | 2 pen holders |
| Item weight | 6 lb |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Lockable swivel casters are stated, so safety scores 3 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Anchor it. Anchor tall bookshelves and file cabinets to the wall with the supplied hardware or an anti-tip kit, load the lowest shelves and drawers first, and open one drawer at a time.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

ZICOTO Organizer Set
A set of 2 collapsible linen file boxes with a lid, metal handles, card slots and slide rails, for legal and letter size folders.
Pros
- Set of 2 boxes for sorting papers into two groups
- Collapsible linen boxes fold flat when not in use
- Metal handles with card slots and slide rails for easy access
- Reinforced bottom keeps each box stable on a shelf
Cons
- No lock is stated
- No warranty term is stated
- Not water resistant, per the spec table
- Linen boxes rather than a locking drawer cabinet
Detailed Review
ZICOTO lists a set of 2 collapsible linen file boxes with a lift-off lid, metal handles, card slots and slide rails, sized 15.4 by 12.4 by 10 in with a capacity of 1909.6 cubic inches. The listing states the boxes suit legal and letter size folders, stack on shelves or in a storeroom, and fold flat when not in use, with an easy-to-clean linen exterior in ivory. One oddity: the spec table lists the recommended use as arts and crafts, while the bullets describe paperwork, letters and hanging files; the bullets match the title, so the paperwork reading is used here. No lock or warranty term appears in the listing.
Who it's for: someone who wants portable, stackable boxes for papers that move between rooms or into storage. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a lock, a stated warranty term, or a wheeled drawer cabinet.
Its Office Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 69 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Boxes | Set of 2 |
|---|---|
| Size | 15.4 by 12.4 by 10 in |
| Capacity | 1909.6 cubic inches |
| Material | Linen, ivory |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 24 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Anchor it. Anchor tall bookshelves and file cabinets to the wall with the supplied hardware or an anti-tip kit, load the lowest shelves and drawers first, and open one drawer at a time.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
SISESOL 2-Drawer MetalNarrow metal two-drawer cabinet with a lock for letter, A4 and legal files.Check on Amazon
Compare the picks
| File Cabinet | Office Score | Storage | Lock | Size | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DEVAISE 3-Drawer Wood | 9.6/10 | 3 drawers | 3 individual locks | 15.8 in wide, 30.8 in high | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| ZICOTO Organizer Set | 9.4/10 | 2 boxes | Not stated | 15.4 by 12.4 by 10 in | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| STAPLES 3-Drawer | 9.5/10 | 3 drawers | Lockable | Not stated | Not stated | |
| OPNICE 2-Drawer | 9.5/10 | 2 drawers | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 24 October 2026. None of the four state a warranty term; two state a lock.
How we scored them
The Office Score weighs performance (drawer count, paper sizes, mobility and storage form), build (materials and item weight), value for the stated specs, safety and warranty. For a file cabinet, safety means a stated drawer lock or an anti-tip feature; the DEVAISE states both and the STAPLES states a lock, while the other two state neither. None of the four state a warranty term, so warranty scores zero across the group. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Office Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DEVAISE 3-Drawer Wood | 9.6 | 30 | 21 | 20 | 8 | 0 |
| ZICOTO Organizer Set | 9.4 | 28 | 20 | 21 | 0 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best file cabinet for paperwork
Locks: one lock or a lock per drawer
Locking matters most when papers must stay separate. The DEVAISE gives each of its three drawers an individual lock, so granting access to one drawer never opens the others, which suits a household that mixes business contracts with personal items. The STAPLES states a lockable cabinet without further detail, and the ZICOTO and OPNICE state no lock at all. If every paper in the cabinet is equally private, a single lock covers the need; if business and personal papers share one cabinet, a lock per drawer keeps them apart.
Boxes or drawers for paperwork
Storage form decides how papers move through the house. The ZICOTO is a set of 2 collapsible linen boxes with a lid, metal handles, card slots and slide rails, which stack on shelves or in a storeroom and fold flat when not in use. The DEVAISE is a three-drawer wood cabinet with full-extension slides on the two deep bottom drawers, so papers at the very back stay reachable. Boxes suit papers that move between rooms or into storage, while drawers suit papers that stay in one place and get pulled daily. The OPNICE adds a printer stand top with pen holders, which suits a desk corner that holds both papers and a printer.
Mobility and the under-desk fit
Mobility decides whether the cabinet follows the work or stays put. The DEVAISE glides on a 5-caster system with a dedicated anti-tip center wheel, and the listing describes it as an under-desk drawer that tucks neatly out of the way for legroom. The ZICOTO boxes move by their metal handles and stack where they land, without wheels. Measure the space beside or under a computer desk before ordering: the DEVAISE measures 15.8 in wide and 30.8 in high, while each ZICOTO box measures 15.4 by 12.4 by 10 in. A cabinet that must roll needs casters and an anti-tip feature; a cabinet that stays on a shelf needs handles and a lid instead.
| Cabinet | Storage | Lock | Paper sizes | Size |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DEVAISE 3-Drawer Wood | 3 drawers | 3 individual locks | Letter, A4 | 15.8 in wide, 30.8 in high |
| ZICOTO Organizer Set | 2 boxes | Not stated | Legal, letter | 15.4 by 12.4 by 10 in |
| STAPLES 3-Drawer | 3 drawers | Lockable | Letter | Not stated |
| OPNICE 2-Drawer | 2 drawers | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Figures as stated in each listing. The limited-data picks state no dimensions, so their size cells read as not stated.
Paper sizes: letter, legal and A4
Paper size decides whether folders hang or fold. The DEVAISE fits letter and A4 folders on customizable hanging rails, the ZICOTO suits legal and letter size file boxes, and the STAPLES is a letter-size cabinet. The OPNICE title states no paper size, so its fit is unstated. Check the folders already on hand before ordering: a cabinet that fits letter only will not hold legal folders, and a cabinet with hanging rails needs folders that match the rail. For a cabinet that needs a fresh finish, see our best spray paint for file cabinet.
Setup Notes
- Measure the under-desk space first: the DEVAISE measures 15.8 in wide and 30.8 in high.
- Separate papers by drawer where locks allow: the DEVAISE gives each drawer its own lock.
- Stack boxes on shelves or in a storeroom: the ZICOTO boxes stack and fold flat when not in use.
- Check paper sizes before ordering: letter, legal and A4 appear across this group.
- Keep handles free for moving: the ZICOTO boxes carry metal handles for easy slide access.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which cabinet locks?
The DEVAISE gives each of its three drawers an individual lock, and the STAPLES states a lockable cabinet. The ZICOTO and OPNICE state no lock, so papers in those two sit behind a lid or in a drawer without a lock.
Which cabinet fits under a desk?
The DEVAISE listing describes it as an under-desk drawer that tucks neatly out of the way, on a 5-caster system with an anti-tip center wheel. It measures 15.8 in wide and 30.8 in high, so measure the desk space before ordering. The ZICOTO boxes stack on shelves instead of rolling under a desk.
How many drawers do I need for paperwork?
Three drawers suit papers that must stay separate, since the DEVAISE gives each drawer its own lock for business and personal items. Two boxes suit papers that move between rooms, since the ZICOTO boxes carry handles and stack on shelves. Count the paper groups first, then match the drawer or box count to the groups.
Do any of these cabinets state a warranty?
None of the four state a warranty term, so warranty scores zero across the group. The DEVAISE includes clear diagrams for setup and the ZICOTO describes a durable reinforced bottom, but neither statement is a warranty term.
What paper sizes do these cabinets hold?
The DEVAISE fits letter and A4 folders, the ZICOTO suits legal and letter size boxes, and the STAPLES is a letter-size cabinet. The OPNICE title states no paper size, so its fit is unstated in the listing data.
Related guides
See every bookshelves and file cabinets guide and all office machines and storage guides. Also see our best spray paint for file cabinet.
More picks: desk organizers and whiteboards, computer desks, bookshelves and file cabinets.




