A thumb rest changes how a gaming mouse feels over long sessions: it gives your thumb a parking spot instead of dragging along the desk. We compared five picks for the best gaming mouse with thumb rest by sensor DPI, programmable buttons, battery life, weight tuning and warranty term, using only what each listing publishes.
OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Top Sensor Razer Basilisk V3 Pro 35K: 35000 DPI sensor Gen-2, 140 hr battery, 13 customizable controls Check price on Amazon
Triple Connectivity Corsair Dark CORE RGB PRO: Sub-1ms wireless, Bluetooth and USB wired, 18000 DPI, side grips Check price on Amazon
Adjustable Weight Corsair NIGHTSWORD RGB: 119 to 141g tunable weight, 120 balance configurations, 10 buttons Check price on Amazon
Most Buttons SOLAKAKA SM809 Pro: 16 programmable buttons, 24000 DPI, 350 hr battery, tri-mode wireless Check price on Amazon
Also Consider Logitech G502 Lightspeed: 11 programmable buttons, POWERPLAY compatible, on-board memory Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Office Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Razer Basilisk V3 Pro 35K | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | Logitech G502 | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | Corsair Dark CORE RGB PRO | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | Corsair NIGHTSWORD RGB | 9.4/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | SOLAKAKA SM809 Pro | 9.4/10 | Buy on Amazon |

Razer Basilisk V3 Pro 35K
The Basilisk V3 Pro 35K leads on sensor ceiling at 35K DPI with 1-DPI step adjustments, plus a configurable HyperScroll tilt wheel and 13 customizable controls. The listing states up to 140 hours on HyperSpeed wireless and a 2 Year Manufacturer warranty.
Pros
- Highest sensor ceiling here: 35K DPI Gen-2 with 1-DPI step adjustments
- 13 customizable controls including the multi-function trigger
- Up to 140 hours on HyperSpeed wireless per the listing
- 2 Year Manufacturer warranty stated
Cons
- Heaviest at 0.43 kg with no stated weight adjustment
- 8000 Hz polling needs a dock or dongle sold separately
- No thumb rest stated in the listing
- Wireless only; no wired mode stated
Detailed Review
The listing positions this as the sensor-first pick: 35K DPI with 1-DPI steps, a configurable HyperScroll tilt wheel and 13 controls. The 140-hour battery figure is the second-longest stated here.
The warranty is a stated 2 Year Manufacturer term. No thumb rest is stated, so palm-grip buyers should weigh the sensor lead against the ergonomic unknown.
Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 33/35, build 21/25, value 19/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 3/5: 76 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Sensor | 35K DPI optical Gen-2 |
|---|---|
| Buttons | 13 customizable controls |
| Battery | Up to 140 hours |
| Weight | 0.43 kg |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No FCC or other safety listing is stated, so safety scores zero. 2 Year Manufacturer. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Fit the desk first. Check the stated size against your desk depth and keyboard tray, and charge or pair as the manual describes. No keyboard, mouse or wrist rest prevents or treats injury.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Logitech G502
The Logitech G502 Lightspeed wireless gaming mouse with HERO 25K sensor, 11 buttons and 60-hour battery.
Pros
- HERO 25K sensor
- 11 buttons
- Adjustable weights
- 60-hour battery
Cons
- PowerPlay sold separately
- Warranty by request
- Black only
- 12.96 ounces stated
Detailed Review
The listing states a wireless gaming mouse with the HERO 25K sensor at 100 to 25,600 max dpi, Logitech G ultra-fast wireless, 11 customizable buttons, hyper fast scroll wheel, adjustable weights, POWERPLAY compatibility and on-board memory. It lists a 60-hour battery average life and states the warranty can be requested from customer service.
Who it is for: precision players wanting max dpi. Who should skip it: anyone wanting a stated warranty term.
Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 34/35, build 22/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 77 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Sensor | HERO 25K |
|---|---|
| DPI | 100-25,600 |
| Buttons | 11 |
| Battery | 60 hr |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No FCC or other safety listing is stated, so safety scores zero. Warranty can be requested from customer service. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 0 of 5. See How We Pick.
Fit the desk first. Check the stated size against your desk depth and keyboard tray, and charge or pair as the manual describes. No keyboard, mouse or wrist rest prevents or treats injury.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Corsair Dark CORE RGB PRO
The Dark CORE RGB PRO connects three ways: sub-1ms SLIPSTREAM wireless, Bluetooth and USB wired. The title states a thumb rest, the listing states 18,000 DPI with 1-DPI steps and a 2-year warranty.
Pros
- Three connection modes: sub-1ms wireless, Bluetooth, USB wired
- Thumb rest stated in the title
- Two interchangeable side grips for a tailored fit
- 2 years warranty stated
Cons
- Lowest stated battery: 50 hours
- Only 8 programmable buttons, fewest here
- 18000 DPI is the lowest sensor ceiling
- No stated weight
Detailed Review
This is the connectivity pick: sub-1ms SLIPSTREAM wireless, Bluetooth and USB wired in one mouse, with a USB-C connector and onboard memory. The 18,000 DPI sensor adjusts in 1-DPI steps.
The title states a thumb rest and the listing includes two interchangeable side grips. The 50-hour battery is the lowest stated, so heavy wireless users charge more often.
Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 19/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 3/5: 70 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Sensor | 18000 DPI optical |
|---|---|
| Buttons | 8 programmable |
| Battery | 50 hours |
| Connectivity | Sub-1ms wireless, Bluetooth, USB |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No FCC or other safety listing is stated, so safety scores zero. 2 years. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Fit the desk first. Check the stated size against your desk depth and keyboard tray, and charge or pair as the manual describes. No keyboard, mouse or wrist rest prevents or treats injury.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Corsair NIGHTSWORD RGB
The NIGHTSWORD RGB is the weight-tuning pick: 119g to 141g with 120 weight and balance configurations. The title states a thumb rest, the listing states 18,000 DPI and a 2 year manufacturer warranty.
Pros
- Tunable weight from 119g to 141g with 120 configurations
- Thumb rest stated in the title
- 18,000 DPI with 1-DPI step adjustments
- 2 year manufacturer warranty stated
Cons
- Wired only; no wireless mode
- Software detects center of gravity, adding setup steps
- No stated battery (corded)
- Heaviest at maximum weight setting
Detailed Review
The listing makes weight the story: two sets of weights and six mounting locations for 120 configurations, with software that detects the center of gravity in real time. The contoured shape carries a thumb rest and rubber grips.
Being wired, it never needs charging. The 2 year manufacturer warranty is stated, and the 10 programmable buttons cover macros and remaps.
Its Office Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 27/35, build 20/25, value 18/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 3/5: 68 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Sensor | 18000 DPI optical |
|---|---|
| Buttons | 10 programmable |
| Weight | 119g to 141g tunable |
| Power | Corded electric |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No FCC or other safety listing is stated, so safety scores zero. 2 year manufacturer. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Fit the desk first. Check the stated size against your desk depth and keyboard tray, and charge or pair as the manual describes. No keyboard, mouse or wrist rest prevents or treats injury.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

SOLAKAKA SM809 Pro
The SM809 Pro lists 16 programmable buttons, a 24,000 DPI sensor and a 350-hour battery, the longest stated here. Tri-mode 2.4GHz, BT 5.0 and USB-C wired cover every setup.
Pros
- 16 programmable buttons with macros in onboard memory
- Longest stated battery: 350 hours
- Tri-mode: 2.4GHz, BT 5.0 and USB-C wired
- 4 magnetic side plates swap grip and button layout
Cons
- Warranty Description of 1 with no unit is not a term
- No thumb rest stated
- Web-based configuration needs a browser
- No stated weight
Detailed Review
This is the button-count pick: 16 programmable buttons with profiles in onboard memory, plus 4 magnetic side plates that change grip and layout. The 24,000 DPI sensor is the second-highest ceiling here.
The 350-hour battery is the longest stated. The warranty field reads 1 with no unit, so it scores zero on warranty.
Its Office Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 19/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 70 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Sensor | 24000 DPI optical |
|---|---|
| Buttons | 16 programmable |
| Battery | 350 hours |
| Connectivity | 2.4GHz, BT 5.0, USB-C wired |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No FCC or other safety listing is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Fit the desk first. Check the stated size against your desk depth and keyboard tray, and charge or pair as the manual describes. No keyboard, mouse or wrist rest prevents or treats injury.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
Redragon M602 Gaming MouseCheck on Amazon
Razer Basilisk V3Check on Amazon
Corsair Harpoon v2 Wireless Gaming MouseCheck on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Mouse | Sensor DPI | Buttons | Power | Weight | Connectivity | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Razer Basilisk V3 Pro 35K | 35000 DPI | 13 | 140 hr battery | 0.43 kg | Wireless | 2 Year Manufacturer | View on Amazon |
| Corsair Dark CORE RGB PRO | 18000 DPI | 8 | 50 hr battery | 4 ounces | Sub-1ms wireless, Bluetooth, USB | 2 years | View on Amazon |
| Corsair NIGHTSWORD RGB | 18000 DPI | 10 | Corded electric | 119g | Wired | 2 year manufacturer | View on Amazon |
| SOLAKAKA SM809 Pro | 24000 DPI | 16 | 350 hr battery | Not stated | Tri-mode wireless | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| Logitech G502 Lightspeed | Not stated | 11 | Not stated | Not stated | Wireless | Not stated |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 22 October 2026. Three of the five state a 2-year warranty term; two state a thumb rest in the title.
How we scored them
| Product | Office Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Razer Basilisk V3 Pro 35K | 9.6 | 33 | 21 | 19 | 0 | 3 |
| Corsair Dark CORE RGB PRO | 9.5 | 28 | 20 | 19 | 0 | 3 |
| Corsair NIGHTSWORD RGB | 9.4 | 27 | 20 | 18 | 0 | 3 |
| SOLAKAKA SM809 Pro | 9.4 | 30 | 19 | 21 | 0 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best gaming mouse with thumb rest
Sensor DPI and adjustment steps
Sensor ceiling is the headline number, and it spans 18,000 to 35,000 DPI here. The Razer Basilisk V3 Pro 35K lists a 35K DPI optical sensor Gen-2, the SOLAKAKA SM809 Pro lists a 24,000 DPI sensor, and both Corsair mice list 18,000 DPI sensors. What matters more than the ceiling is how finely you can dial it: the Basilisk V3 Pro 35K, the Dark CORE RGB PRO and the NIGHTSWORD RGB all list 1-DPI step adjustments. The Logitech G502 Lightspeed states no sensor figure. Pick the ceiling for your screen resolution and the step size for your aim style; most players land far below the maximum.
Programmable buttons and onboard memory
Button count runs from 8 to 16. The SOLAKAKA SM809 Pro lists 16 programmable buttons with macros stored in onboard memory, so profiles travel with the mouse. The Basilisk V3 Pro 35K lists 13 customizable controls including a multi-function trigger, and the spec table lists 11 buttons. The G502 Lightspeed lists 11 programmable buttons with on-board memory. The NIGHTSWORD RGB lists 10 programmable buttons for macros and key remaps. The Dark CORE RGB PRO lists 8 programmable buttons with onboard memory and two interchangeable side grips. If you play MMO or MOBA titles, the 16-button layout of the SOLAKAKA is the roomiest; for FPS, fewer well-placed buttons win.
Wired versus wireless, and battery life
Four of the five run wireless. The Dark CORE RGB PRO lists three ways to connect: sub-1ms SLIPSTREAM wireless, Bluetooth and USB wired, with a 50-hour battery and a USB-C connector. The Basilisk V3 Pro 35K lists up to 140 hours on HyperSpeed wireless, with an 8000 Hz polling rate available through a dock or dongle sold separately. The SOLAKAKA SM809 Pro lists tri-mode 2.4GHz, BT 5.0 and USB-C wired with a 350-hour battery, the longest stated here. The G502 Lightspeed is wireless with POWERPLAY compatibility and no stated battery figure. The NIGHTSWORD RGB is the only wired pick, corded electric, so it never needs charging. Our best gaming mouse for PC roundup covers more options.
Weight tuning and fit
Weight is adjustable on two of the five. The NIGHTSWORD RGB lists a tunable weight system from 119g to 141g with two sets of weights and six mounting locations for 120 weight and balance configurations. The G502 Lightspeed lists adjustable weights. The Dark CORE RGB PRO lists two interchangeable side grips for a tailored fit. The SOLAKAKA SM809 Pro lists 4 magnetic side plates that swap to adjust grip and button layout. The Basilisk V3 Pro 35K lists a 0.43 kg weight with no stated adjustment. A thumb rest is stated in the titles of the NIGHTSWORD RGB and the Dark CORE RGB PRO; the other listings describe ergonomic shapes without naming a rest. If your grip is palm, the rest and the weight balance matter most; claw grips care more about side grip shape.
Warranty terms
Three listings state a 2-year term. The Basilisk V3 Pro 35K states a 2 Year Manufacturer warranty, the Dark CORE RGB PRO states 2 years, and the NIGHTSWORD RGB states a 2 year manufacturer warranty. The SOLAKAKA lists a Warranty Description of 1 with no unit, so it scores zero on warranty. The G502 Lightspeed states no warranty term. A stated warranty does not make the sensor more accurate, but it is the only promise the maker writes down, so it carries weight when two mice are otherwise close.
Frequently Asked Questions
What makes a mouse good for gaming?
A precise sensor with fine adjustment steps, enough programmable buttons for your games, a connection that does not add lag, and a shape that fits your grip. Battery life matters for wireless picks: 350 hours on the SOLAKAKA, 140 on the Basilisk V3 Pro 35K, 50 on the Dark CORE RGB PRO.
Are wireless mice good for gaming?
The listings say yes when the wireless is purpose-built: sub-1ms SLIPSTREAM on the Dark CORE RGB PRO and HyperSpeed on the Basilisk V3 Pro 35K. The Dark CORE also connects by Bluetooth and USB wired, so a dead battery never ends the session.
What is a thumb rest for on a gaming mouse?
It is a shelf on the left side where your thumb sits, so the thumb stops dragging on the desk and the grip stays consistent. The NIGHTSWORD RGB and Dark CORE RGB PRO titles state a thumb rest; the other listings describe ergonomic shapes without naming one.
How many programmable buttons do I need?
It depends on the games. The SOLAKAKA lists 16 programmable buttons for macro-heavy play, the Basilisk V3 Pro 35K lists 13 controls, and the Dark CORE lists 8. Macros stored in onboard memory, as on the SOLAKAKA, Dark CORE and G502, travel with the mouse to any computer.
Does a mouse pad matter for gaming?
The Basilisk V3 Pro 35K lists tracking on glass, but a consistent pad surface helps every sensor hold a steady reading. Pair any of these mice with a clean, flat pad for the best tracking.
Related guides
See every computer peripherals guide. Also see our best gaming mouse for PC and best gaming mouse for Mac.




