The best heavy duty paper shredder for home use is the one that eats a month of mail without a jam, because security level P-4 means nothing if the machine quits after ten minutes. We compared five shredders on sheet capacity, cut type, run time, bin size and warranty term, using only what each listing publishes. Here is how they rank for a home office.
OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Autofeed bonsaii 120-Sheet Autofeed: 120-sheet autofeed, micro-cut P-4 and 30 min auto run. Check price on Amazon
Best Warranty Fellowes 14C10 Cross-Cut: 1-year product warranty plus 5-year cutter warranty. Check price on Amazon
Best Compact bonsaii 12-Sheet Micro-Cut: 12-sheet micro-cut with jam-proof overload protection. Check price on Amazon
Best Bulk Staples 150-Sheet Autofeed: 150-sheet autofeed with a 7.4 gal bin. Check price on Amazon
Best Long Run Amazon Basics 24-Sheet Shredder: 24 sheets per pass with a 40 minute run time. Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Office Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | bonsaii 120-Sheet Autofeed | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | Fellowes 14C10 Cross-Cut | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | bonsaii 12-Sheet Micro-Cut | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | Staples 150-Sheet Autofeed | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | Amazon Basics 24-Sheet Shredder | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
Pros
- 120-sheet autofeed plus 12-sheet manual feed
- Micro-cut P-4: 5/32 x 15/32 in particles
- 30 min auto run at 71 in per minute
- 1 year warranty is stated; 5.9 gal bin with casters
Cons
- Manual feed is only 12 sheets
- No overload protection is stated
- 63 dB: noisier than two picks here
- No cutter warranty beyond 1 year is stated
Detailed Review
The bonsaii C233-B is a 120-sheet autofeed micro-cut shredder at P-4 security, turning paper into 5/32 x 15/32 in pieces. The listing states a 30 minutes on/60 minutes off auto cycle at 71 inches per minute, a 12-sheet manual feed for mail, cards and staples, a 5.9-gallon pull-out bin, 360-degree casters, 63 dB noise and a 1 year warranty.
Who it's for: someone who shreds stacks and wants walk-away autofeed. Who should skip it: anyone who needs the longest warranty or the lowest noise rating.
Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 3/5: 81 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Sheet capacity | 120 auto, 12 manual |
|---|---|
| Cut | Micro-cut, P-4 |
| Run time | 30 min auto |
| Warranty | 1 year |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 17 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Jam-Proof stated; no electrical overload protection is stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. 1 year warranty is stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Shredder and printer safety. Keep hair, ties, jewelry, children and pets away from the feed slot, use the safety lock, unplug when not in use, and give printers and adapters room to vent.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Fellowes 14C10 Cross-Cut
For safety and cutter coverage, with a Safety Lock and 5-year cutter warranty.
Pros
- 1-year product and service warranty is stated
- 5-year cutter warranty is stated
- Patented Safety Lock for protection
- Shreds credit cards, paper clips, staples and junk mail
Cons
- Only 14 sheets per pass
- 10 minute run time needs the most frequent cool-downs here
- 5 gal bin is the smallest here
- Cross-cut, not micro-cut
Detailed Review
The Fellowes 14C10 is a 14-sheet cross-cut shredder at P-4 security, producing 5/32 x 1-9/16 in particles. The listing states a 10 minute run time, a 5-gallon pull-out bin, a patented Safety Lock, quiet operation, a 5.17 kg weight and dims of 9.69 x 13.44 x 19.69 in. It states a 1-year product and service warranty plus a 5-year cutter warranty.
Who it's for: someone who wants the longest cutter coverage and a safety lock. Who should skip it: anyone who shreds in bulk or needs long run times.
Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 77 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Sheet capacity | 14 |
|---|---|
| Cut | Cross-cut, P-4 |
| Bin | 5 gal |
| Warranty | 1-year product, 5-year cutter |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 17 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Patented Safety Lock is stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 1-year product and service warranty plus 5-year cutter warranty is stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Shredder and printer safety. Keep hair, ties, jewelry, children and pets away from the feed slot, use the safety lock, unplug when not in use, and give printers and adapters room to vent.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- Micro-cut P-4: 13/64 x 15/32 in particles
- Jam-proof system with overload protection is stated
- 20 minute run time
- 1-year warranty is stated; 4.2 gal bin with casters
Cons
- Only 12 sheets per pass
- Listing states both 70 dB and 60 dB noise
- 4.2 gal bin: smaller than the top picks
- No autofeed is stated
Detailed Review
The bonsaii C266-B is a 12-sheet micro-cut shredder at P-4 security, producing 13/64 x 15/32 in particles. The listing states a 20 minute run time, a jam-proof system with overload protection, a 4.2-gallon pull-out bin, casters and a 1-year warranty. Note: the listing's bullets say 70 dB while its spec table says 60 dB, so noise is unclear.
Who it's for: someone who wants micro-cut security with jam protection. Who should skip it: anyone who wants autofeed or a bigger bin.
Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 76 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Sheet capacity | 12 |
|---|---|
| Cut | Micro-cut, P-4 |
| Run time | 20 min |
| Warranty | 1 year |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 17 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Jam-proof system with overload protection is stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 1-year warranty is stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Shredder and printer safety. Keep hair, ties, jewelry, children and pets away from the feed slot, use the safety lock, unplug when not in use, and give printers and adapters room to vent.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- 150-sheet autofeed: the largest tray here
- Micro-cut P-4: 4.3 mm x 12 mm pieces
- About 7 feet of paper per minute
- Auto Start/Stop, Auto Reverse and overload protection are stated
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- No run time is stated
- 29.5 pounds: heavy to move
- No cutter warranty is stated
Detailed Review
The Staples ST62157 is a 150-sheet autofeed micro-cut shredder at P-4 security, producing 4.3 mm x 12 mm pieces. The listing states about 7 feet of paper per minute, a 7.4-gallon pull-out bin, 65 dB noise, Auto Start/Stop, Auto Reverse, overload protection, LED indicators and a 29.5 pound weight. No warranty term and no run time are stated.
Who it's for: someone who shreds the most paper at once. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a stated warranty or a lighter machine.
Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 33/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 82 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Sheet capacity | 150 auto |
|---|---|
| Cut | Micro-cut, P-4 |
| Bin | 7.4 gal |
| Weight | 29.5 lb |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 17 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Auto Start/Stop, Auto Reverse and overload protection are stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Shredder and printer safety. Keep hair, ties, jewelry, children and pets away from the feed slot, use the safety lock, unplug when not in use, and give printers and adapters room to vent.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- 24 sheets per pass: the largest manual feed here
- 40 minute run time: the longest here
- Overheat auto shut-off and anti-jam auto reverse are stated
- 7 gal bin with casters; destroys CDs, cards, staples and clips
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- Cross-cut, not micro-cut
- 31.6 pounds: the heaviest here
- 50 minute cool-down after a full run
Detailed Review
The Amazon Basics AU2440XA is a 24-sheet cross-cut shredder at P-4 security, producing 5/32 x 1-1/2 in confetti pieces. The listing states a 40 minutes on/50 minutes off cycle, overheat auto shut-off, anti-jam auto reverse, LED indicators, an 8.7 in paper-entry width, a 7-gallon pull-out bin, casters and a 31.6 pound weight. It also destroys CDs, DVDs and credit cards, and no warranty term is stated.
Who it's for: someone who wants the longest run time with a big manual feed. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a stated warranty or micro-cut particles.
Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 79 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Sheet capacity | 24 |
|---|---|
| Cut | Cross-cut, P-4 |
| Run time | 40 min |
| Bin | 7 gal |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 17 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Overheat auto shut-off and anti-jam auto reverse are stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Shredder and printer safety. Keep hair, ties, jewelry, children and pets away from the feed slot, use the safety lock, unplug when not in use, and give printers and adapters room to vent.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Compare the picks
| Shredder | Office Score | Sheet capacity | Cut / Security | Bin | Run time | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| bonsaii 120-Sheet Autofeed | 9.6/10 | 120 auto, 12 manual | Micro-cut P-4 | 5.9 gal | 30 min auto | 1 year | View on Amazon |
| Fellowes 14C10 Cross-Cut | 9.6/10 | 14 | Cross-cut P-4 | 5 gal | 10 min | 1-year product, 5-year cutter | View on Amazon |
| bonsaii 12-Sheet Micro-Cut | 9.5/10 | 12 | Micro-cut P-4 | 4.2 gal | 20 min | 1 year | View on Amazon |
| Staples 150-Sheet Autofeed | 9.5/10 | 150 auto | Micro-cut P-4 | 7.4 gal | Not stated | Not stated as a term | View on Amazon |
| Amazon Basics 24-Sheet Shredder | 9.5/10 | 24 | Cross-cut P-4 | 7 gal | 40 min | Not stated as a term | View on Amazon |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 17 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Office Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. Safety for shredders means the stated protections: overload protection, auto shut-off, auto reverse and the Fellowes Safety Lock. Two picks state a warranty term: the bonsaii pads state 1 year each, and the Fellowes states a 1-year product and service warranty plus a 5-year cutter warranty. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Office Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| bonsaii 120-Sheet Autofeed | 9.6 | 32 | 21 | 20 | 5 | 3 |
| Fellowes 14C10 Cross-Cut | 9.6 | 26 | 21 | 20 | 7 | 3 |
| bonsaii 12-Sheet Micro-Cut | 9.5 | 26 | 20 | 20 | 7 | 3 |
| Staples 150-Sheet Autofeed | 9.5 | 33 | 21 | 21 | 7 | 0 |
| Amazon Basics 24-Sheet Shredder | 9.5 | 30 | 21 | 21 | 7 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best heavy duty paper shredder for home use
Sheet capacity and autofeed
Autofeed trays change the job: the Staples loads 150 sheets and the bonsaii C233-B loads 120 sheets, both shredding unattended, while the other three feed manually at 12, 14 or 24 sheets per pass. The bonsaii C233-B also takes 12 sheets manually for cards and staples, and the Staples runs at about 7 feet of paper per minute. If you shred stacks weekly, autofeed is worth the premium; for occasional mail, a manual 24-sheet machine is plenty.
Cut type and security level
All five list security level P-4. Three are micro-cut: the bonsaii C233-B turns paper into 5/32 x 15/32 in pieces, the bonsaii C266-B into 13/64 x 15/32 in particles, and the Staples into 4.3 mm x 12 mm pieces. The Amazon Basics and Fellowes are cross-cut, with the Amazon Basics producing 5/32 x 1-1/2 in confetti and the Fellowes 5/32 x 1-9/16 in particles. Every pick shreds credit cards, staples and paper clips; the Amazon Basics and bonsaii C266-B also take CDs. See the label makers and shredders category for more.
| Pick | Sheet capacity | Run time | Bin | Stated warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| bonsaii 120-Sheet Autofeed | 120 auto, 12 manual | 30 min auto | 5.9 gal | 1 year |
| Fellowes 14C10 Cross-Cut | 14 | 10 min | 5 gal | 1-year product, 5-year cutter |
| bonsaii 12-Sheet Micro-Cut | 12 | 20 min | 4.2 gal | 1 year |
| Staples 150-Sheet Autofeed | 150 auto | Not stated | 7.4 gal | Not stated as a term |
| Amazon Basics 24-Sheet Shredder | 24 | 40 min | 7 gal | Not stated as a term |
Run time, noise and warranty
Run time ranges from 10 minutes on the Fellowes to 40 minutes on the Amazon Basics, with the bonsaii C233-B rated 30 minutes on in autofeed mode. Noise is stated as 63 dB for the C233-B, 65 dB for the Staples, and 60 dB for the C266-B in its spec table, though that listing’s bullets also say 70 dB. On warranty, the Fellowes leads with 1-year product and service plus a 5-year cutter warranty, and both bonsaii models state 1 year; the Amazon Basics and Staples listings state no term.
Setup Notes
- Respect the run and cool-down times: the Amazon Basics needs 50 minutes off after 40 on, and the C233-B needs 60 minutes off after 30 on in autofeed mode.
- Never spray aerosols near the shredder and do not feed metallic credit cards, per the Amazon Basics and bonsaii listings.
- Empty the pull-out bin before the fill line: 5.9 to 7.4 gallons here, with the Fellowes bin holding over 250 sheets.
- Use the casters on the bonsaii models and the Amazon Basics to wheel the machine out of the way; the two heaviest picks weigh 29.5 and 31.6 pounds per their listings.
Frequently Asked Questions
What does P-4 security level mean?
P-4 is the security level all five listings claim, meaning paper is reduced to small particles rather than strips. The micro-cut picks list particle sizes down to about 4 x 12 mm.
Can these shredders destroy credit cards and CDs?
All five list credit cards, staples and paper clips. The Amazon Basics and bonsaii C266-B also list CDs, and the Fellowes lists unopened junk mail.
How long can I shred before a cool-down?
The Amazon Basics runs 40 minutes, the bonsaii C233-B 30 minutes in autofeed mode, the bonsaii C266-B 20 minutes, and the Fellowes 10 minutes. The Staples listing states no run time.
Which shredder has the longest warranty?
The Fellowes states a 1-year product and service warranty plus a 5-year cutter warranty. Both bonsaii models state 1 year; the Amazon Basics and Staples listings state no term.
Are autofeed shredders worth it for home use?
If you shred in bulk, yes: the Staples takes 150 sheets and the bonsaii C233-B takes 120 sheets unattended. For occasional use, a 12 to 24 sheet manual machine costs less desk time than the price gap.
Related guides
See every label makers and shredders guide and all office storage guides. Also see our best paper shredder for home use picks.
More picks: home paper shredders, heavy duty shredders and label makers and shredders.








