Finding the best home paper shredder for the money means comparing cut type, sheet capacity, runtime and warranty against what each listing actually states. We compared five shredders by those factors, using only what each listing publishes.
OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall VidaTeco 14-Sheet Shredder: 14-sheet, 60-min, ETL, 1 year Check price on Amazon
Best Auto-Feed BONSEN 320-Sheet Shredder: 320-sheet, P-5, 60-min Check price on Amazon
Best 120-Sheet Bonsaii 120-Sheet Shredder: 120 autofeed, 30-min, 62dB Check price on Amazon
Best Strip Cut Aurora AU800SD: 8-sheet, no basket, 1 year Check price on Amazon
Best Compact Woolsche 5-Sheet Shredder: 5-sheet, P-4, 58dB Check price on Amazon
Compare the shredders
| Shredder | Kit Score | Cut | Sheet capacity | Runtime | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| VidaTeco 14-Sheet Shredder | 9.6/10 | Micro Cut P-4 | 14 sheets | 60 min | 1 Year | View on Amazon |
| BONSEN 320-Sheet Shredder | 9.5/10 | Micro Cut P-5 | 320 autofeed | 60 min | 1 Year | View on Amazon |
| Bonsaii 120-Sheet Shredder | 9.5/10 | Micro Cut P-4 | 120 autofeed | 30 min | 1 Year | View on Amazon |
| Aurora AU800SD | 9.3/10 | Strip Cut | 8 sheets | Not stated | 1 Year | View on Amazon |
| Woolsche 5-Sheet Shredder | 9.3/10 | Cross Cut P-4 | 5 sheets | 5 min | Not stated | View on Amazon |
Shredder details as published on each listing, collected 18 October 2026. Four of the five state a warranty term; one states none.
The picks
| # | Product | Office Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | VidaTeco 14-Sheet Shredder | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | BONSEN 320-Sheet Shredder | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | Bonsaii 120-Sheet Shredder | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | Aurora AU800SD | 9.3/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | Woolsche 5-Sheet Shredder | 9.3/10 | Buy on Amazon |

VidaTeco 14-Sheet Shredder
A 14-sheet micro-cut shredder with 60-minute runtime, ETL and a 1-year warranty.
Pros
- 60-minute runtime stated
- ETL certification stated
- P-4 micro-cut stated
- 1-year limited warranty stated
Cons
- 14 sheets per pass, not autofeed
- 19.4 pounds is heavy
- Bulky 20.6-inch height
- Black color only listed
Detailed Review
VidaTeco lists this micro-cut shredder with 14-sheet capacity, P-4 security turning paper into 0.16 by 0.47 inch particles, and 60 minutes of continuous shredding. The listing states 58 dB, a 5.3-gallon bin with casters, ETL certification, auto-reverse anti-jam, and a 1-year limited warranty. The unit weighs 19.4 pounds.
Who it's for: anyone wanting the longest runtime with a stated certification. Who should skip it: anyone needing autofeed.
Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 20/25, value 19/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 3/5: 77 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Cut | Micro Cut P-4 |
|---|---|
| Capacity | 14 sheets |
| Runtime | 60 min |
| Warranty | 1 year |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 18 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. The listing states the shredder is ETL certified., so safety scores 5 of 10. The listing states a 1-year limited warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Shredder and printer safety. Keep hair, ties, jewelry, children and pets away from the feed slot, use the safety lock, unplug when not in use, and give printers and adapters room to vent.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

BONSEN 320-Sheet Shredder
A 320-sheet autofeed micro-cut shredder with P-5 security and a 1-year term.
Pros
- 320-sheet autofeed stated
- P-5 micro-cut stated
- 60-minute runtime stated
- 58 dB stated
Cons
- 38.4 pounds is the heaviest
- Large 20.12-inch height
- Bulky for small desks
- Silvery color only listed
Detailed Review
BONSEN lists this auto-feed shredder with 320-sheet autofeed capacity, P-5 micro-cut security turning a page into 3,013 pieces, and 60 minutes non-stop. The listing states 58 dB, an 8.1-gallon bin with casters, a 10-sheet manual slot, auto-reverse, and a 1-year term. The unit weighs 38.4 pounds.
Who it's for: anyone shredding bulk stacks unattended. Who should skip it: small desks, where it is too heavy.
Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 3/5: 75 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Cut | Micro Cut P-5 |
|---|---|
| Autofeed | 320 sheets |
| Runtime | 60 min |
| Bin | 8.1 gal |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 18 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. The spec table lists a 1 year warranty description. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Shredder and printer safety. Keep hair, ties, jewelry, children and pets away from the feed slot, use the safety lock, unplug when not in use, and give printers and adapters room to vent.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Bonsaii 120-Sheet Shredder
A 120-sheet autofeed micro-cut shredder with 30-minute runtime and casters.
Pros
- 120-sheet autofeed stated
- P-4 micro-cut stated
- 62 dB stated
- 1-year term stated
Cons
- 62 dB is the loudest
- 30-minute auto runtime only
- 19.7 pounds is heavy
- No certification stated
Detailed Review
bonsaii lists the C233-B with 120-sheet automatic shredding, 12-sheet manual capacity, and P-4 micro-cut at 4 by 12 mm. The listing states 30 minutes auto and 10 minutes manual runtime, 62 dB, a 6-gallon bin with casters, jam-proof design, and a 1-year term. The unit weighs 19.7 pounds.
Who it's for: anyone wanting mid-size autofeed with casters. Who should skip it: anyone wanting 60-minute runtime.
Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 20/25, value 19/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 3/5: 72 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Cut | Micro Cut P-4 |
|---|---|
| Autofeed | 120 sheets |
| Runtime | 30 min auto |
| Bin | 6 gal |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 18 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. The spec table lists a 1 year warranty description. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Shredder and printer safety. Keep hair, ties, jewelry, children and pets away from the feed slot, use the safety lock, unplug when not in use, and give printers and adapters room to vent.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- 8-sheet strip cut stated
- Shreds cards and CDs stated
- Jam remover stated
- 1-year limited warranty stated
Cons
- Strip cut is lowest security
- No wastebasket included
- 8 sheets per pass only
- No runtime stated
Detailed Review
Aurora lists the AU800SD as an 8-sheet strip-cut shredder without a wastebasket, fitting over most baskets with an extendable arm. The listing states credit card and CD shredding, thermal and overheat protection, a jam remover with manual reverse, auto start and stop, and a 1-year limited warranty. The unit weighs 4.6 pounds.
Who it's for: anyone wanting a simple no-basket strip cutter. Who should skip it: anyone needing high security.
Its Office Score of 9.3/10 comes from performance 24/35, build 18/25, value 18/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 3/5: 63 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Cut | Strip Cut |
|---|---|
| Capacity | 8 sheets |
| Basket | None |
| Warranty | 1 year |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 18 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. The spec table lists a 1 year limited warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Shredder and printer safety. Keep hair, ties, jewelry, children and pets away from the feed slot, use the safety lock, unplug when not in use, and give printers and adapters room to vent.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- P-4 security stated
- 58 dB stated
- Jam proof stated
- 2.38-gallon basket stated
Cons
- No concrete warranty term stated
- 5 sheets per pass only
- 5-minute non-stop shredding
- 2.38-gallon bin is smallest
Detailed Review
woolsche lists this desktop shredder with 5-sheet cross-cut capacity, P-4 security, and a 2.38-gallon basket. The listing states 58 dB, a 4-mode control switch, auto shredding for up to 5 minutes, and overheat protection shutting down after 30 minutes. The spec table warranty field is unclear, so no term is stated.
Who it's for: anyone wanting a compact desktop shredder. Who should skip it: anyone wanting a stated warranty term.
Its Office Score of 9.3/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 19/25, value 19/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 64 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Cut | Cross Cut P-4 |
|---|---|
| Capacity | 5 sheets |
| Noise | 58 dB |
| Bin | 2.38 gal |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 18 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Shredder and printer safety. Keep hair, ties, jewelry, children and pets away from the feed slot, use the safety lock, unplug when not in use, and give printers and adapters room to vent.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
woolsche Paper Shredder for Home,10-SheetCheck on Amazon
Locksworth 8-Sheet Micro Cut ShredderCheck on Amazon
Suntiko 14 Sheet Home Office Cross CutCheck on Amazon
How we scored them
The Kit Score weighs performance (cut, capacity, runtime), build (bin, weight), value, safety and warranty. The VidaTeco lists ETL certification with a 1-year warranty; the BONSEN lists P-5 micro-cut with a 1-year term. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Office Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| VidaTeco 14-Sheet Shredder | 9.6 | 30 | 20 | 19 | 5 | 3 |
| BONSEN 320-Sheet Shredder | 9.5 | 32 | 20 | 20 | 0 | 3 |
| Bonsaii 120-Sheet Shredder | 9.5 | 30 | 20 | 19 | 0 | 3 |
| Aurora AU800SD | 9.3 | 24 | 18 | 18 | 0 | 3 |
| Woolsche 5-Sheet Shredder | 9.3 | 26 | 19 | 19 | 0 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best home paper shredder for the money
Compare cut type and security
Cut types here run from strip cut to P-5 micro-cut. The BONSEN lists P-5 micro-cut turning a page into 3,013 pieces. The bonsaii, VidaTeco and woolsche list P-4 security. The Aurora lists strip cut. Higher security suits financial documents; strip cut suits basic disposal. See every label makers and shredders guide for more.
Check autofeed and runtime
The BONSEN lists 320-sheet autofeed with 60 minutes non-stop. The bonsaii lists 120-sheet autofeed with 30 minutes auto and 10 minutes manual. The VidaTeco lists 60 minutes of continuous shredding at 14 sheets per pass. The woolsche lists 5 minutes of non-stop shredding. For big cleanouts, the BONSEN’s 320-sheet feed and the VidaTeco’s 60-minute runtime lead.
Weigh noise, bin and warranty
The woolsche, VidaTeco and BONSEN each list 58 dB; the bonsaii lists 62 dB. Bins run from 2.38 gallons on the woolsche to 8.1 gallons on the BONSEN. Warranty terms: 1 year on the Aurora, bonsaii, VidaTeco and BONSEN; the woolsche spec field is unclear, so no term is stated.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which shredder has autofeed?
The BONSEN lists 320-sheet autofeed and the bonsaii lists 120-sheet autofeed.
Which runs the longest?
The VidaTeco and BONSEN each list 60 minutes of continuous shredding. The bonsaii lists 30 minutes auto.
Which runs quietest?
The woolsche, VidaTeco and BONSEN each list 58 dB. The bonsaii lists 62 dB.
Which has the highest security?
The BONSEN lists P-5 micro-cut. The bonsaii, VidaTeco and woolsche list P-4.
Related guides
See every label makers and shredders guide and all office storage guides.






