The best keyboard for investment banking is quiet, full-size and boring, because nobody on a trading floor wants to hear your keyboard. On a 9 a.m. call with the laptop running everything off one hub, a silent keyboard keeps you out of trouble. We compared five keyboards by stated noise, battery, layout and extras, using only what each listing publishes.
OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall Logitech MK540 Combo: 36-month battery, quiet, palm rest, spill-resistant Check price on Amazon
Best Premium Logitech MX Keys S: Backlit, Smart Actions, 3-device pairing Check price on Amazon
Best Battery HP 230 Wireless Keyboard: 16-month battery, quiet, low-profile Check price on Amazon
Best Wired Amazon Basics Wired Keyboard: Full-size 105 keys, media keys, USB Check price on Amazon
Best Silent Combo RECCAZR Wireless Combo: Silent membrane, tilt legs, 2.4G Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Office Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Logitech MK540 Combo | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | Logitech MX Keys S | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | HP 230 Wireless Keyboard | 9.4/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | Amazon Basics Wired Keyboard | 9.4/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | RECCAZR Wireless Combo | 9.4/10 | Buy on Amazon |

Logitech MK540 Combo
A quiet wireless keyboard and mouse combo with a palm rest, spill resistance and a stated 36-month battery.
Pros
- 36-month keyboard and 18-month mouse battery stated
- Quiet typing with integrated palm rest stated
- Spill-resistant design with adjustable tilt legs
- Unifying receiver with 33 ft range stated
Cons
- Membrane keys, not mechanical
- No backlighting is stated
- Combo only; no keyboard-only option stated
- Only a 1-year limited hardware warranty is stated
Detailed Review
Logitech lists the MK540 as a full-size wireless keyboard and mouse combo with quiet typing, an integrated palm rest, a spill-resistant design and adjustable tilt legs. The listing states up to 36 months of keyboard battery and 18 months for the mouse, with a Unifying receiver at up to 33 ft. The keyboard is membrane with media hotkeys. A 1-year limited hardware warranty is stated.
Who it's for: bankers who want the longest stated battery with a palm rest and a mouse in one box. Who should skip it: anyone who needs backlighting.
Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 74 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Battery | 36 months |
|---|---|
| Keys | 104 |
| Type | Wireless combo |
| Extras | Palm rest |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 17 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No FCC or other safety listing is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Fit the desk first. Check the stated size against your desk depth and keyboard tray, and charge or pair as the manual describes. No keyboard, mouse or wrist rest prevents or treats injury.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Logitech MX Keys S
A low-profile wireless keyboard with backlighting, Smart Actions and 3-device pairing.
Pros
- Backlit keys that adapt to the environment stated
- Smart Actions shortcuts via Logi Options+ stated
- Pairs up to 3 devices over Bluetooth
- Quiet fluid typing experience stated
Cons
- 10 days per charge with backlighting on
- No number pad variant stated here
- Pale grey only
- Only a 1-year limited hardware warranty is stated
Detailed Review
Logitech lists the MX Keys S as a low-profile wireless keyboard with spherically-dished keys, backlit illumination that adapts to the environment and Smart Actions shortcuts through Logi Options+. The listing states pairing with up to 3 devices over Bluetooth or the Logi Bolt receiver, and USB-C recharging for up to 10 days, or 5 months with backlighting off. It is pale grey. A 1-year limited hardware warranty is stated.
Who it's for: multi-device users who want backlighting and shortcuts. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a number pad or the longest battery.
Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 72 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Battery | 10 days, 5 months |
|---|---|
| Keys | 104 |
| Type | Wireless |
| Extras | Backlit |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 17 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No FCC or other safety listing is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Fit the desk first. Check the stated size against your desk depth and keyboard tray, and charge or pair as the manual describes. No keyboard, mouse or wrist rest prevents or treats injury.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

HP 230 Wireless Keyboard
A low-profile wireless keyboard with quiet keys, a number pad and a stated 16-month battery.
Pros
- 16-month battery stated on 2 included AAA
- Low-profile quiet chiclet keys stated
- 12 one-press shortcut keys with number pad
- 17.32 x 5.76 x 1.09 in, a slim full-size
Cons
- No backlighting is stated
- Not stated as water resistant
- No palm rest is stated
- Only an HP standard one-year limited warranty is stated
Detailed Review
HP lists the 230 as a low-profile wireless keyboard with quiet chiclet keys, a numeric keypad and 12 shortcut keys, at 17.32 x 5.76 x 1.09 in. The listing states up to 16 months of battery on 2 included AAA batteries and lag-free wireless for desktop or laptop. It is black. An HP standard one-year limited warranty is stated.
Who it's for: anyone who wants a slim quiet keyboard with a long battery term. Who should skip it: anyone who needs backlighting or a palm rest.
Its Office Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 68 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Battery | 16 months |
|---|---|
| Keys | 105 |
| Type | Wireless |
| Extras | 12 shortcuts |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 17 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No FCC or other safety listing is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Fit the desk first. Check the stated size against your desk depth and keyboard tray, and charge or pair as the manual describes. No keyboard, mouse or wrist rest prevents or treats injury.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Amazon Basics Wired Keyboard
A full-size wired membrane keyboard with media hotkeys and USB plug-and-play.
Pros
- Full-size 105 keys with media hotkeys stated
- Wired USB with simple installation stated
- Membrane keys for quiet office typing
- 17.4 x 5 x 1.1 in, a standard full-size
Cons
- Corded only; no wireless option
- No backlighting is stated
- Windows-focused compatibility
- No warranty term is stated
Detailed Review
Amazon Basics lists a full-size wired keyboard with 105 keys, media hotkeys for volume, mute and calculator, and USB plug-and-play. The listing states a standard QWERTY layout with membrane keys, compatibility across Windows versions, and a black finish at 17.4 x 5 x 1.1 in. No warranty term is stated.
Who it's for: anyone who wants a simple corded keyboard with no batteries to manage. Who should skip it: anyone who needs wireless or backlighting.
Its Office Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 27/35, build 19/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 66 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Battery | Corded |
|---|---|
| Keys | 105 |
| Type | Wired |
| Extras | Media keys |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 17 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No FCC or other safety listing is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Fit the desk first. Check the stated size against your desk depth and keyboard tray, and charge or pair as the manual describes. No keyboard, mouse or wrist rest prevents or treats injury.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- Silent structure stated for keyboard and mouse
- Adjustable tilt legs stated for wrist comfort
- Full-size with number pad and 12 multimedia keys
- Auto-sleep mode stated to save power
Cons
- No battery term is stated
- Avocado green may not suit every office
- One shared nano receiver for both devices
- Only a one-year warranty is stated
Detailed Review
RECCAZR lists a wireless keyboard and mouse combo in avocado green with a silent membrane structure, full-size layout with number pad and 12 multimedia keys, and adjustable tilt legs. The listing states a 33 ft range on one shared nano receiver, auto-sleep power saving and plug-and-play with no software. The keyboard takes 2 AA batteries with no term stated. A one-year warranty is stated.
Who it's for: open-plan workers who want stated silence for keyboard and mouse. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a stated battery term.
Its Office Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 27/35, build 19/25, value 19/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 65 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Battery | Not stated |
|---|---|
| Keys | 104 |
| Type | Wireless combo |
| Extras | Silent |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 17 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No FCC or other safety listing is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Fit the desk first. Check the stated size against your desk depth and keyboard tray, and charge or pair as the manual describes. No keyboard, mouse or wrist rest prevents or treats injury.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Compare the picks
| Keyboard | Office Score | Type | Battery | Keys | Extras | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Logitech MK540 Combo | 9.5/10 | Wireless combo | 36 months | 104 | Palm rest, spill-resistant | View on Amazon |
| Logitech MX Keys S | 9.5/10 | Wireless | 10 days / 5 months | 104 | Backlit, Smart Actions | View on Amazon |
| HP 230 Wireless Keyboard | 9.4/10 | Wireless | 16 months | 105 | 12 shortcuts | View on Amazon |
| Amazon Basics Wired Keyboard | 9.4/10 | Wired | Corded | 105 | Media keys | View on Amazon |
| RECCAZR Wireless Combo | 9.4/10 | Wireless combo | Not stated | 104 | Silent, tilt legs | View on Amazon |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 17 October 2026. Four of the five state a battery term; none state a warranty term.
How we scored them
The Office Score weighs performance (noise level, battery and layout), build (keys, materials and extras), value for the stated specs, safety and warranty. For a banking desk, performance starts with quiet: every pick here states quiet or silent typing, with the MK540 adding a 36-month battery and a palm rest. No listing states a warranty term or a safety certification, so those scores are zero across the board. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Office Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Logitech MK540 Combo | 9.5 | 32 | 21 | 21 | 0 | 0 |
| Logitech MX Keys S | 9.5 | 30 | 21 | 21 | 0 | 0 |
| HP 230 Wireless Keyboard | 9.4 | 28 | 20 | 20 | 0 | 0 |
| Amazon Basics Wired Keyboard | 9.4 | 27 | 19 | 20 | 0 | 0 |
| RECCAZR Wireless Combo | 9.4 | 27 | 19 | 19 | 0 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best keyboard for investment banking
Quiet first
All five state quiet or silent typing: membrane keys on the Amazon Basics, MK540 and RECCAZR, a quieter fluid typing experience on the MX Keys S, and a silent structure on the RECCAZR combo. On an open floor, the silent-stated picks matter most.
Battery and power
The MK540 states up to 36 months for the keyboard and 18 for the mouse. The HP 230 states up to 16 months on 2 included AAA batteries. The MX Keys S recharges over USB-C for up to 10 days, or 5 months with backlighting off. The Amazon Basics is corded USB. The RECCAZR states no battery term.
Full-size with number pad
All five are full-size with a number pad, which spreadsheet work needs. The MK540 and RECCAZR are combos that include a mouse. The MK540 adds an integrated palm rest and spill resistance; the MX Keys S adds backlighting and Smart Actions shortcuts.
| Keyboard | Type | Battery (stated) | Keys | Extras |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Logitech MK540 Combo | Wireless combo | 36 months | 104 | Palm rest, spill-resistant |
| Logitech MX Keys S | Wireless | 10 days, 5 months no backlight | 104 | Backlit, Smart Actions |
| HP 230 | Wireless | 16 months | 105 | 12 shortcuts |
| Amazon Basics | Wired | Corded | 105 | Media keys |
| RECCAZR Combo | Wireless combo | Not stated | 104 | Silent, tilt legs |
Three more options
Three more options from the same listings did not make the ranked picks: another Logitech keyboard, another RECCAZR combo and a SOLAKAKA keyboard.
Setup Notes
- Check the batteries: the MK540 states up to 36 months, the HP 16 months on 2 AAA, and the MX Keys S recharges over USB-C.
- Pair the wireless: the MX Keys S pairs up to 3 devices over Bluetooth; the combos share one USB receiver.
- Use the tilt legs: the RECCAZR and MK540 state adjustable tilt legs for wrist comfort.
- Keep it dry: the MK540 states a spill-resistant design; the HP does not state water resistance.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which of these is the quietest?
All five state quiet or silent typing. The RECCAZR states a silent structure for both keyboard and mouse.
Which has the longest battery life?
The MK540, at up to 36 months for the keyboard and 18 months for the mouse, per its listing.
Which are keyboard and mouse combos?
The MK540 and the RECCAZR, both including a wireless mouse.
Which is backlit?
The MX Keys S, with backlit keys that light up as hands approach, per its listing.
Related guides
See every keyboard guide and all computer peripherals guides. Also see our mechanical keyboard for newbies picks. Also see our wrist rest for keyboard picks.
More picks: keyboards, mechanical keyboard for newbies and wrist rest for keyboard.





