Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Home office gear, compared spec by spec.

Audio, Power and Connectivity

Best Optical Audio Cable (2026): 5 Toslink Picks

Five optical audio cables compared by stated length, jacket material, connectors, certifications and warranty term, from 6 to 10 feet, including CL3 in-wall rated picks.

Best Optical Audio Cable (2026): 5 Toslink Picks

A new soundbar that stays silent after everything is plugged in usually comes down to one cable; the best optical audio cable is a Toslink cable whose connectors, jacket and stated length match the distance between your TV and the sound system. This guide compares five optical audio cables by stated length, jacket, connectors, certifications and warranty, using only what each listing publishes.

OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Monoprice 106270
    Best Overall Monoprice 106270: Lifetime warranty, metal jacket and metal connector heads. Check price on Amazon
  • IVANKY VAB15
    Best for Long Runs IVANKY VAB15: 10 ft Toray-core cable with CL3 rating for in-wall runs. Check price on Amazon
  • KabelDirekt 274
    Best Warranty Term KabelDirekt 274: Stated 36 month warranty with 24K gold connectors. Check price on Amazon
  • Warrky OA11
    Best Braided 6 ft Warrky OA11: Toray core, CL3 rating and 10,000+ bend nylon braid. Check price on Amazon
  • Amazon Basics 7GSW
    Best Basic Amazon Basics 7GSW: Simple 6 ft Toslink with gold-plated connectors. Check price on Amazon

The picks

Monoprice 106270

Monoprice 106270

Monoprice9.5/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 10 ft Toslink cable with a heavy duty mesh metal jacket, square metal connector heads and a stated lifetime warranty.

Pros

  • Stated lifetime warranty, the longest term here
  • Heavy duty mesh metal jacket resists nicks and kinks
  • Square metal connector heads with gold plated ferrule
  • Precision polished fiber tips stated for signal transfer

Cons

  • No stated in-wall rating
  • Title says silver while one spec field names a different product
  • No bend rating is stated
  • Only one length option at 10 ft
Detailed Review

Monoprice lists a 10 ft Toslink cable with a heavy duty mesh metal jacket, square metal connector heads and a gold plated ferrule, with precision polished fiber tips. The jacket has an 8.0 mm outside diameter, and the listing states a lifetime warranty, the only lifetime term here.

One wrinkle: the title says silver while the spec table model name reads as a different product, a wall plate; the title and bullets are trusted. The listing states no in-wall rating. Who it's for: anyone who wants the longest stated warranty and a metal jacket. Who should skip it: anyone who needs an in-wall rating or a shorter cable.

Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 5/5: 74 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Length10 ft
JacketMesh metal, 8.0 mm outside diameter
ConnectorsGold plated ferrule, metal heads
WarrantyLifetime Warranty

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. Lifetime Warranty, so warranty scores 5 of 5. See How We Pick.

Protect your hearing. Keep volume moderate during long calls, take breaks, and treat noise cancelling and battery figures as the maker's claims.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

IVANKY VAB15

IVANKY VAB15

IVANKY9.5/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 10 ft braided Toslink cable with a Toray fiber core, 24K gold connectors, a 16,000 bend rating and a stated CL3 in-wall rating.

Pros

  • Japan Toray original fiber core stated
  • Nylon braided jacket rated for over 16,000 bends
  • CL3 rated for in-wall installation
  • 24K gold-plated connectors with aluminum shell

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • Spec table lists connector gender as female-to-female
  • Grey color only
  • No stated frequency figure
Detailed Review

IVANKY lists a 10 ft Toslink cable with a Japan Toray original fiber core, 24K gold-plated connectors and an aluminum shell. The nylon braided jacket is stated to withstand over 16,000 bends, and the listing states uncompressed PCM and 5.1 to 7.1 surround support including Dolby Digital Plus and DTS-HD. It is CL3 rated for in-wall installation, and removable rubber caps protect the connectors.

One wrinkle: the spec table lists the connector gender as female-to-female while the listing describes standard Toslink connectors; the listing is trusted. No warranty term is stated. Who it's for: in-wall runs and long 10 ft runs where the CL3 rating matters. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a stated warranty term.

Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 33/35, build 22/25, value 20/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 80 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Length10 ft
CoreJapan Toray original fiber
Bend ratingOver 16,000 bends
Connectors24K gold-plated, aluminum shell

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. CL3 rated for in-wall installation stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Protect your hearing. Keep volume moderate during long calls, take breaks, and treat noise cancelling and battery figures as the maker's claims.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

KabelDirekt 274

KabelDirekt 274

KabelDirekt9.5/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 6 ft Toslink cable with 24K gold-plated connectors, a stated 192000 hertz frequency and a 36 month manufacturer warranty.

Pros

  • Stated 36 month manufacturer warranty
  • 24K gold-plated connectors stated
  • Stated 192000 hertz frequency
  • Fiber optic cable immune to electrical interference stated

Cons

  • PVC jacket rather than braided or metal
  • No stated in-wall rating
  • 90.72 g is light, which suits some and not others
  • No stated bend rating
Detailed Review

KabelDirekt lists a 6 ft Toslink cable with 24K gold-plated connectors and a fully flexible PVC jacket, stated to be entirely immune to electrical interference. The listing states a frequency of 192000 hertz and a 36 month manufacturer warranty, with F05 Toslink connectors on both ends. It weighs 90.72 g and suits TVs, soundbars, amplifiers and game consoles with a Toslink interface.

The PVC jacket is simpler than the braided or metal jackets here, and no in-wall rating is stated. Who it's for: anyone who wants a stated warranty term on a standard 6 ft cable. Who should skip it: anyone who needs an in-wall rating or a braided jacket.

Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 4/5: 73 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Length6 ft
Frequency192000 hertz (stated)
Connectors24K gold-plated
Warranty36 months manufacturer warranty

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. 36 months manufacturer warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.

Protect your hearing. Keep volume moderate during long calls, take breaks, and treat noise cancelling and battery figures as the maker's claims.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Warrky OA11

Warrky OA11

Warrky9.5/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 6 ft braided Toslink cable with a Toray fiber core, 24K gold connectors, a 10,000 plus bend rating and a stated CL3 in-wall rating.

Pros

  • Japan Toray fiber optic core stated
  • Nylon braided jacket rated for over 10,000 bends
  • CL3 rated for in-wall installation
  • Slim aluminum housing fits tight TV mounts

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • Grey color only
  • No stated frequency figure
  • Velcro strap is a small extra, not a feature
Detailed Review

Warrky lists a 6 ft Toslink cable with a Japanese Toray fiber optic core, 24K gold-plated connectors and a nylon braided jacket stated to withstand over 10,000 bends. The listing states uncompressed PCM, Dolby Digital Plus and DTS-HD support, a slim aluminum housing for tight TV mounts, and a CL3 rating for in-wall installation. Protective caps and a velcro strap are included.

The listing notes the cable transmits audio only, so video still needs an HDMI connection. No warranty term is stated. Who it's for: a 6 ft run to a wall-mounted TV where the slim housing and CL3 rating help. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a stated warranty term.

Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 77 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Length6 ft
CoreJapanese Toray fiber core
Bend ratingOver 10,000 bends
Connectors24K gold-plated

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. CL3 rated for in-wall installation stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Protect your hearing. Keep volume moderate during long calls, take breaks, and treat noise cancelling and battery figures as the maker's claims.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Amazon Basics 7GSW

Amazon Basics 7GSW

Amazon Basics9.4/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A simple 6 ft Toslink cable with gold-plated connectors, buffer tubing and a tangle free PVC exterior.

Pros

  • Simple 6 ft cable for standard TV-to-soundbar runs
  • Gold-plated connectors with buffer tubing stated
  • Tangle free PVC exterior
  • Lightweight at 2.88 ounces

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • No stated in-wall rating
  • No bend rating is stated
  • No stated frequency figure
Detailed Review

Amazon Basics lists a 6 ft Toslink cable with corrosion resistant gold-plated connectors, buffer tubing and a rugged PVC exterior. The listing states multi-channel fiber-optic digital audio output, removable rubber tips that protect the cable when not plugged in, and a tangle free design. It connects sound bars, CD players, Blu-ray players and game consoles to an audio system or TV.

No warranty term, in-wall rating or bend rating is stated, and no frequency figure appears. Who it's for: a basic replacement cable for a standard 6 ft run. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a stated warranty, an in-wall rating or a braided jacket.

Its Office Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 27/35, build 19/25, value 22/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 68 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Length6 ft
ConnectorsGold-plated
Weight2.88 ounces
OuterPVC, tangle free

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Protect your hearing. Keep volume moderate during long calls, take breaks, and treat noise cancelling and battery figures as the maker's claims.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

  • Amazon Basics 3.3 ft CableAmazon Basics 3.3 ft CableA shorter 3.3 ft version of the main pick for tight setups.Check on Amazon
  • KabelDirekt 10 ft CableKabelDirekt 10 ft CableThe same KabelDirekt cable in 10 ft with a 36 month warranty.Check on Amazon
  • KabelDirekt 15 ft CableKabelDirekt 15 ft CableThe longest KabelDirekt option at 15 ft.Check on Amazon
  • AudioQuest Cinnamon 1.5mAudioQuest Cinnamon 1.5mA 1.5 m Toslink cable with a mini-adaptor included.Check on Amazon
  • AudioQuest Carbon 1.5mAudioQuest Carbon 1.5mA 1.5 m carbon fiber-optic cable with polished connectors.Check on Amazon

Compare the picks

Cable Office Score Length Jacket Connectors Extras Warranty Amazon
Monoprice 106270 9.5/10 10 ft Mesh metal Gold plated ferrule Metal connector heads Lifetime View on Amazon
IVANKY VAB15 9.5/10 10 ft Nylon braided 24K gold-plated CL3 in-wall rated Not stated View on Amazon
KabelDirekt 274 9.5/10 6 ft PVC 24K gold-plated 192000 hertz stated 36 months View on Amazon
Warrky OA11 9.5/10 6 ft Nylon braided 24K gold-plated CL3 in-wall rated Not stated View on Amazon
Amazon Basics 7GSW 9.4/10 6 ft PVC Gold-plated Tangle free Not stated View on Amazon

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 23 October 2026. Two cables state a CL3 in-wall rating; two state a warranty term.

How we scored them

The Office Score weighs performance (stated fiber core, supported formats and bend rating), build (jacket material, connector heads and item weight), value for the stated specs, safety and warranty. For a cable, safety means a stated in-wall rating or certification; two cables here state a CL3 rating, the others do not. Two listings state a warranty term: Monoprice with a lifetime warranty and KabelDirekt with 36 months. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Office Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
Monoprice 106270 9.5 28 21 20 0 5
IVANKY VAB15 9.5 33 22 20 5 0
KabelDirekt 274 9.5 29 20 20 0 4
Warrky OA11 9.5 30 21 21 5 0
Amazon Basics 7GSW 9.4 27 19 22 0 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best optical audio cable

Length and in-wall runs

Three cables here are 6 ft and two are 10 ft. A 6 ft cable suits a TV-to-soundbar run on the same console; a 10 ft cable suits a rack or a wall-mounted TV further away. If the cable runs inside a wall, the listing should state a CL3 rating: the IVANKY and Warrky state one, the others do not.

Connectors and fiber core

Three cables state 24K gold-plated connectors, and the IVANKY and Warrky state a Japan Toray original fiber core. The Monoprice states precision polished fiber tips with a gold plated ferrule. The IVANKY states support for uncompressed PCM and 5.1 to 7.1 surround, including Dolby Digital Plus and DTS-HD, and the Warrky states uncompressed PCM, Dolby Digital Plus and DTS-HD.

Jacket and bend life

The IVANKY and Warrky state nylon braided jackets, rated for over 16,000 and 10,000 plus bends respectively. The Monoprice states a heavy duty mesh metal jacket with an 8.0 mm outside diameter, and the Amazon Basics and KabelDirekt state PVC exteriors. A braided or metal jacket matters most behind a tight TV mount where the cable bends hard.

Warranty

Only two listings state a warranty term. Monoprice states a lifetime warranty, and KabelDirekt states a 36 month manufacturer warranty. The IVANKY, Warrky and Amazon Basics listings state no warranty term. For a cable that lives behind a wall, the warranty is the part of the listing worth reading twice.

Cable Length Jacket Connectors Warranty
Monoprice 106270 10 ft Mesh metal Gold plated ferrule Lifetime
IVANKY VAB15 10 ft Nylon braided 24K gold-plated Not stated
KabelDirekt 274 6 ft PVC 24K gold-plated 36 months
Warrky OA11 6 ft Nylon braided 24K gold-plated Not stated
Amazon Basics 7GSW 6 ft PVC Gold-plated Not stated

Figures as stated in each listing. Pair the cable with a speaker upgrade in the computer speakers guides, and browse the full audio, power and connectivity range.

Frequently Asked Questions

What length optical audio cable do I need?

A 6 ft cable covers a TV-to-soundbar run on the same console, which is why three cables here are 6 ft. The IVANKY and Monoprice are 10 ft for racks or wall-mounted TVs further away. Measure the run before you buy, since a short cable under tension pulls connectors loose.

Do I need a CL3 rated cable?

Only for in-wall runs. The IVANKY and Warrky state a CL3 rating for in-wall installation; the other three state none. For a cable that stays outside the wall, the rating does not matter.

Which cables state a warranty?

Monoprice states a lifetime warranty, and KabelDirekt states a 36 month manufacturer warranty. The IVANKY, Warrky and Amazon Basics listings state no warranty term.

Do I need to remove the protective caps?

Yes. The Amazon Basics, IVANKY and Warrky listings all state removable rubber caps or protective caps that protect the connectors from dust when not plugged in. Remove them before connecting, or the cable will not seat.

What audio formats do these cables support?

The IVANKY states uncompressed PCM and 5.1 to 7.1 surround sound, including Dolby Digital Plus, DTS-HD High Resolution and LPCM. The Warrky states uncompressed PCM, Dolby Digital Plus, DTS-HD and 5.1/7.1 surround. The other listings state multi-channel digital audio without naming formats.

Monoprice 106270
Still deciding? Our top pickMonoprice 106270
Check price on Amazon

See every Computer Speakers guide and all Audio, Power and Connectivity guides.

More picks: headsets, docking stations and USB hubs, computer speakers.