Shredded paper piles up fast, and a bin that lifts off the top means tipping the whole machine to empty it. A pull out bin slides free like a drawer, so you can dump the confetti without wrestling the shredder. The best paper shredder with pull out bin pairs that convenience with the cut and capacity your office needs. We compared five paper shredders by cut type, sheet capacity, bin and safety features, using only what each listing publishes.
OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall Staples 10-Sheet Micro-Cut: 10-sheet micro-cut, anti-jam, 5-gal bin Check price on Amazon
Best Value Amazon Basics Micro Cut: 8-sheet micro-cut, P-4, 4-gal pull out bin Check price on Amazon
Auto Feed Amazon Basics 200-Sheet: 200-sheet auto feed, cross-cut Check price on Amazon
Simple Pick BONSEN 8-Sheet S3101: 8-sheet cross cut Check price on Amazon
Extra Pick Fellowes Powershred 12: 12-sheet cross-cut Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Office Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Staples 10-Sheet Micro-Cut | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | Amazon Basics Micro Cut | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | BONSEN S3101 | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | Fellowes 12-Sheet Shredder | 9.4/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | Amazon Basics 200-Sheet | 9.4/10 | Buy on Amazon |

Staples 10-Sheet Micro-Cut
A 10-sheet micro-cut shredder cutting 4.3mm x 13mm pieces, with anti-jam, auto reverse, overload protection and a 5-gal bin.
Pros
- 10-sheet capacity, the highest stated per-pass
- Anti-jam with auto reverse
- 5-gal bin
- Overload protection and bin-full indicator
Cons
- No pull out bin is stated
- 16 pounds own weight
- No run time is stated
- No warranty term is stated
Detailed Review
Staples lists this as a 10-sheet micro-cut shredder that cuts paper into 4.3mm x 13mm pieces, handling paper, credit cards, standard staples and small paper clips. It includes auto start/stop, auto reverse, overload protection, a blue ready LED and a red bin-full indicator, with a 5-gal bin. The listing states 16 pounds and 13.8 x 9.4 x 18.5 in dimensions.
Who it's for: home offices that shred daily and want anti-jam features. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a stated pull out bin; the listing names none.
Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 22/25, value 21/25, safety 3/10 and warranty 0/5: 78 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Cut type | Micro-cut |
|---|---|
| Sheet capacity | 10 sheets |
| Bin | 5-gal |
| Warranty | Not stated |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 18 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Auto Reverse, Overload Protection, so safety scores 3 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Shredder and printer safety. Keep hair, ties, jewelry, children and pets away from the feed slot, use the safety lock, unplug when not in use, and give printers and adapters room to vent.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Amazon Basics Micro Cut
An 8-sheet micro-cut shredder meeting P-4 standards, with a 4-gallon pull out bin on caster wheels and CD and credit card shredding.
Pros
- P-4 micro-cut security
- 4-gallon pull out bin on caster wheels
- Destroys CDs, DVDs and credit cards
- No need to remove staples or small paper clips
Cons
- 5 minutes on / 30 minutes off duty cycle
- 8 sheets per pass
- 65 db noise
- No warranty term is stated
Detailed Review
Amazon Basics lists this as a high-security micro-cut shredder cutting 0.2 x 0.5 inches (4.5 x 12 mm), meeting P-4 standards. It shreds up to 8 sheets of 20-pound bond paper plus CDs, DVDs and credit cards (not metal), runs 5 minutes on and 30 minutes off with auto shut-off, and has a 4-gallon pull out bin on caster wheels. The listing states 65 db, 13.19 x 9.06 x 18.27 in and 6.45 kg.
Who it's for: security-conscious shredding with easy bin emptying. Who should skip it: anyone who needs long continuous run times; the duty cycle is short.
Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 3/10 and warranty 0/5: 77 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Cut type | Micro-cut |
|---|---|
| Sheet capacity | 8 sheets |
| Bin | 4-gallon pull out |
| Warranty | Not stated |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 18 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Auto shut-off, overheat and overload indicators, so safety scores 3 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Shredder and printer safety. Keep hair, ties, jewelry, children and pets away from the feed slot, use the safety lock, unplug when not in use, and give printers and adapters room to vent.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- 8 sheets per pass with cross-cut P-4 security, per the listing
- 5-minute run time with up to 230 sheets per session, per the listing
- ETL listed with anti-jam system, per the listing
- 4-gallon bin holds over 210 shredded sheets, per the listing
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- 30-minute cool-down is mid-range
- 4.13 kg item weight with no pound figure
- No bin window is stated
Detailed Review
The S3101 takes 8 sheets per pass into cross-cut P-4 particles, clearing up to 230 sheets in its 5-minute run time with a 30-minute cool-down. The 4-gallon bin holds over 210 shredded sheets, per the listing.
It is ETL listed with a 4-mode switch (Forward, Auto, Off, Reverse) and LED indicators for power and overheat. The anti-jam system and lift-off handle make emptying easy.
Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 0/5: 79 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 17 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. ETL listing and anti-jam system are stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Shredder and printer safety. Keep hair, ties, jewelry, children and pets away from the feed slot, use the safety lock, unplug when not in use, and give printers and adapters room to vent.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Fellowes 12-Sheet Shredder
Fellowes 12-sheet cross-cut shredder with P-4 security, patented safety lock, 20 minute continuous run and 5 gallon pull-out bin.
Pros
- 12 sheets per pass at P-4 security
- Patented safety lock disables the shredder when not in use
- 20 minute continuous run for small jobs
- Shreds staples, paper clips, credit cards and unopened junk mail
Cons
- No concrete warranty term is stated
- 5 gallon bin, the smallest of the five picks
- Bullets list 19.50 x 9.69 x 13.44 in while the spec table lists 13.44 x 9 x 19.69 in
- 17.2 lb weight for a 12-sheet deskside unit
Detailed Review
The Fellowes 12-sheet shredder takes 12 sheets per pass at P-4 security with a 20 minute continuous run. The 5 gallon pull-out bin suits deskside use, and the patented safety lock disables the shredder when not in use. The warranty description says only contact manufacturer, with no concrete term.
Who it is for: a personal deskside shredder for small jobs. Who should skip it: anyone needing big bins or long run times, and note the dimension conflict between bullets and spec table.
Its Office Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 24/35, build 18/25, value 20/25, safety 4/10 and warranty 0/5: 66 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Sheets per pass | 12 |
|---|---|
| Security | P-4 cross-cut, 5/32 x 1-9/16 in particles |
| Run time | 20 minutes |
| Bin | 5 gallons, pull-out |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 17 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Patented Safety Lock, so safety scores 4 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Shredder and printer safety. Keep hair, ties, jewelry, children and pets away from the feed slot, use the safety lock, unplug when not in use, and give printers and adapters room to vent.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Amazon Basics 200-Sheet
Amazon Basics 200-sheet auto feed cross-cut shredder with P-4 security, 60 minute auto run time, anti-jam auto reverse and 8.5 gallon pull-out bin.
Pros
- 200-sheet auto feed tray plus 10-sheet manual slot
- 60 minute auto run time with 45 minute cool down
- P-4 cross-cut with anti-jam auto reverse
- LED indicators for feed error, bin full, door open, overload and overheat
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- 10 sheets manual feed, the lowest manual capacity
- Bullets list 18.35 x 14.02 x 22.83 in while the spec table lists 18.3 x 22.8 x 14 in
- Does not shred metallic credit cards per the important note
Detailed Review
The Amazon Basics AU200XA is the auto feed pick: 200 sheets in the tray and 10 sheets in the manual slot, both at P-4 security. It runs 60 minutes on auto feed or 10 minutes on manual feed before a 45 minute cool down, and the 8.5 gallon pull-out bin has LED indicators for bin full, overload and overheat.
Who it is for: an office clearing archives while doing other work. Who should skip it: anyone wanting a stated warranty, since the listing states none, and note the dimension conflict between bullets and spec table.
Its Office Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 74 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Sheets | 200 auto, 10 manual |
|---|---|
| Security | P-4 cross-cut, 5/32 x 25/32 in particles |
| Run time | 60 min auto, 10 min manual, 45 min cool down |
| Bin | 8.5 gallons |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 17 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Shredder and printer safety. Keep hair, ties, jewelry, children and pets away from the feed slot, use the safety lock, unplug when not in use, and give printers and adapters room to vent.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Compare the picks
| Shredder | Office Score | Cut Type | Sheet Capacity | Bin | Safety | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Staples 10-Sheet Micro-Cut | 9.6/10 | Micro-cut | 10 sheets | 5-gal | Auto Reverse, Overload Protection | View on Amazon |
| Amazon Basics Micro Cut | 9.6/10 | Micro-cut | 8 sheets | 4-gallon pull out | Auto shut-off, indicators | View on Amazon |
| Fellowes Powershred 12 | 9.4/10 | Cross-cut | 12 sheets | Not stated | Not stated | |
| Amazon Basics 200-Sheet | 9.6/10 | Cross-cut | 200-sheet auto feed | Not stated | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| BONSEN 8-Sheet S3101 | 9.6/10 | Cross-cut | 8 sheets | Not stated | Not stated |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 18 October 2026. One of the five states a pull out bin; two state safety features.
How we scored them
The Office Score weighs performance (cut type, sheet capacity and features), build (bin, dimensions and weight), value for the stated specs, safety and warranty. For a shredder, safety means stated jam, reverse, overload or shut-off protection: the Staples states auto reverse and overload protection, and the Amazon Basics states auto shut-off with overheat and overload indicators. None of the five state a warranty term. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Office Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Staples 10-Sheet Micro-Cut | 9.6 | 32 | 22 | 21 | 3 | 0 |
| Amazon Basics Micro Cut | 9.6 | 32 | 21 | 21 | 3 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best paper shredder with pull out bin
Pull out bin vs fixed bin
Only one listing here names a pull out bin: the Amazon Basics micro-cut, with a 4-gallon pull out bin on caster wheels and LED indicators for bin full. The Staples lists a 5-gal bin with a red bin-full indicator but does not say it pulls out. The three shorter cards state no bin details at all. If easy emptying is the priority, the stated pull out bin is the deciding feature. See the label makers and shredders category for more office machines.
The bin matters more than it sounds. A shredder that fills mid-session stops your workflow, and a bin you cannot reach means lifting the head off the basket. The Amazon Basics pair of pull out bin plus casters is the only stated answer here; everything else asks you to check its listing.
Micro-cut vs cross-cut
The two full listings are micro-cut: the Staples cuts 4.3mm x 13mm pieces and the Amazon Basics cuts 0.2 x 0.5 inches (4.5 x 12 mm) to P-4 standards. The three shorter cards are cross-cut. Micro-cut gives smaller particles and a higher security level; cross-cut is the everyday standard. For confidential documents, the micro-cut pair leads.
P-4 is worth a word. It is a high security level the Amazon Basics listing states, meaning the particles are small enough for sensitive documents. The Staples states no security level, only the 4.3mm x 13mm particle size. If you shred financial or legal papers, the stated P-4 rating is the safer pick.
Duty cycle and noise
Only the Amazon Basics states a duty cycle: 5 minutes on and 30 minutes off, with auto shut-off if the run time is exceeded. It also states 65 db of noise. The Staples states no run time, so plan around the stated one: short sessions, cool-down breaks, and a bin that slides out fast when the indicator says full. For long sessions, see our best paper shredder for home use under $100.
Noise is the other stated number: 65 db on the Amazon Basics, roughly conversation level. The Staples states no noise figure. In a shared office, the stated figure lets you plan; in a home office, either machine will do.
What else they shred
Both full listings go beyond paper. The Amazon Basics destroys CDs, DVDs and credit cards (one at a time, not metal credit cards). The Staples handles credit cards, standard staples and small paper clips, and the Amazon Basics needs no staple or paper clip removal. If your desk drawer holds old discs and cards, those features save a separate trip. For tougher jobs, see our best heavy duty paper shredder for home office.
Which shredder fits your office
The Staples 10-Sheet Micro-Cut is the top scorer: 10 sheets per pass, anti-jam with auto reverse, a 5-gal bin and the strongest safety feature set stated here. It lacks only a stated pull out bin.
The Amazon Basics High Security Micro Cut is the pull out bin pick: P-4 micro-cut, 4-gallon pull out bin on casters, CD and credit card shredding, and auto shut-off. Its trade is the 5-minute duty cycle.
The three shorter cards trade detail for simplicity: the Fellowes Powershred 12 at 12 sheets per pass, the Amazon Basics 200-sheet auto feed for batch shredding, and the BONSEN 8-sheet S3101 for light work. All three need a listing check before buying.
Setup Notes
- Place the shredder where the bin slides out freely; the Amazon Basics bin pulls out on caster wheels.
- Watch the indicators: bin full on the Staples, power/overheat/overload on the Amazon Basics.
- Respect the stated duty cycle on the Amazon Basics: 5 minutes on, 30 minutes off.
- Keep aerosols away from the shredder, per the Amazon Basics listing.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which shredders have a pull out bin?
Only the Amazon Basics High Security Micro Cut states a 4-gallon pull out bin. The others state no pull out bin.
Which shredders destroy CDs and credit cards?
The Amazon Basics destroys CDs, DVDs and credit cards (not metal). The Staples handles credit cards, staples and small paper clips.
Which shredders state a warranty?
None of the five state a warranty term.
What is the stated duty cycle?
Only the Amazon Basics states one: 5 minutes on and 30 minutes off, with auto shut-off.
Related guides
See every label makers and shredders guide and all office storage guides.
More picks: paper shredder for home use under $100, heavy duty paper shredder for home office, label maker for home organization, portable paper shredder for home use.





