A whiteboard marker dies at the worst moment: mid-presentation, mid-lesson, mid-brainstorm. The best refillable whiteboard markers solve that by taking more ink instead of a trip to the supply closet. We compared five refillable markers by ink system, nib, capacity and value, using only what each listing states.
OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall Direct Liquid: Direct liquid ink, 4g capacity, visible gauge. Check price on Amazon
Best Nib Gersoniel 12mm: 12 mm nib, refillable, 4-pack. Check price on Amazon
Spare Pick EXPO 12-Count Chisel: Refillable marker. Check price on Amazon
Backup Pick Amazon Basics 12-Pack: Refillable marker. Check price on Amazon
Extra Pick Crayola Take Note 12: Refillable marker. Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Office Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Direct Liquid | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | EXPO 12-Count Chisel | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | Gersoniel 12mm | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | Crayola Take Note 12 | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | Amazon Basics 12-Pack | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |

Direct Liquid
A direct liquid ink whiteboard marker with 4g high capacity, visible gauge and skip-free flow.
Pros
- Direct liquid stated
- 4g capacity stated
- Visible gauge stated
- No shaking stated
Cons
- No nib figure stated
- No pack count stated
- No warranty stated
- No refill size stated
Detailed Review
The listing states direct liquid ink for consistent, skip-free writing with no shaking, vibrant uniform color from first to last drop, and a 4g high-capacity reservoir with a visible gauge for high-frequency use. No warranty term is stated, so warranty scores zero.
Who it's for: classrooms and heavy use. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a stated nib size.
Its Office Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 22/25, value 21/25, safety not scored (non-powered gear) and warranty 0/5: 75 of 90 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Ink | Direct liquid |
|---|---|
| Capacity | 4g |
| Gauge | Visible |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Follow the manual. Assemble and use the product as the maker describes, stay under any stated capacity, and read the manual before first use.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

EXPO 12-Count Chisel
The classic 12-color chisel-tip set with low-odor ink and a stated 2-year manufacturer warranty.
Pros
- 2-year manufacturer warranty stated
- Non-toxic and washable stated
- 12 assorted colors with chisel tip versatility
- Water-based ink, low odor
Cons
- Line size is listed as 0.5 months, which is not a length
- Rectangular body shape is bulkier than the cylindrical sets
- No ink level indicator is stated
- 4.2 oz set weight with no per-marker figure
Detailed Review
EXPO lists this 12-count set with low-odor ink, assorted colors and a versatile chisel tip for multiple line widths. The spec table states a water ink base, non-toxic and washable features, a 4.2 oz item weight and a 2-year manufacturer warranty. One oddity: the line size field reads 0.5 months, which is not a length, so treat the line width as not clearly stated.
Who it's for: a teacher who wants the classic classroom set with a written warranty and washable ink. Who should skip it: anyone who wants an ink level indicator or a slimmer barrel.
Its Office Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 81 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Tip | Chisel |
|---|---|
| Count | 12 |
| Ink | Water, low odor |
| Warranty | 2-year manufacturer |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 18 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Non-toxic and washable stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 2 year manufacturer warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Follow the manual. Assemble and use the product as the maker describes, stay under any stated capacity, and read the manual before first use.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- 12mm nib stated
- Refillable stated
- 4-pack stated
- Indoor/outdoor stated
Cons
- Cotton system fades
- 12mm only
- No warranty stated
- No capacity stated
Detailed Review
Gersoniel lists a 4-pack of wide dry erase markers with 12 mm nibs for thick lines visible from a distance, and a refillable design: unscrew the lid and pour ink into the barrel. No warranty term is stated, so warranty scores zero.
Who it's for: presentations. Who should skip it: anyone who wants direct liquid ink.
Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety not scored (non-powered gear) and warranty 0/5: 72 of 90 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Nib | 12 mm |
|---|---|
| Pack | 4 |
| System | Cotton refill |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Follow the manual. Assemble and use the product as the maker describes, stay under any stated capacity, and read the manual before first use.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Crayola Take Note 12
A 12-count chisel-tip set with an ink level indicator and non-toxic ink that washes from skin and clothing.
Pros
- Ink level indicator on each marker
- Washes from skin and most washable clothing stated
- Non-toxic stated, all ages
- Broad chisel tip for thick or thin lines
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- Line size stated as 2mm and above, less precise than the BIC bullet
- Surface recommendation lists cardboard and wood, odd for dry erase
- No low-odor claim is stated
Detailed Review
Crayola lists the Take Note set as twelve broad-line chisel-tip dry erase markers with vibrant colors and an ink level indicator on each marker. The spec table states a water ink base, non-toxic ink, a 2mm and above line size and washability from skin and most washable clothing. No warranty term appears in the listing.
Who it's for: a teacher who wants to see ink levels at a glance and easy cleanup from skin and clothing. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a written warranty or a fine precise tip.
Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 76 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Tip | Chisel, broad |
|---|---|
| Count | 12 |
| Ink | Water |
| Feature | Ink level indicator |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 18 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Non-toxic stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Follow the manual. Assemble and use the product as the maker describes, stay under any stated capacity, and read the manual before first use.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Amazon Basics 12-Pack
A 12-pack of low-odor chisel-tip markers in assorted colors with a hybrid ink base.
Pros
- 12 assorted colors including light blue and light green
- Low-odor ink stated
- Chisel tip for thick and thin lines
- 0.7mm line size stated
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- Spec table gives two different dimension figures
- No non-toxic statement
- No ink level indicator
Detailed Review
Amazon Basics lists this 12-pack with low-odor ink, assorted colors and a chisel tip for thick and thin lines, on a hybrid ink base with a stated 0.7mm line size. One contradiction: the spec table gives two different dimension figures, 5 by 0.63 by 0.63 in and 0.78 by 0.78 by 0.78 in, so treat the pack dimensions as not clearly stated. No warranty term and no non-toxic statement appear in the listing.
Who it's for: a teacher who wants a full color range in one low-odor pack without paying for extras. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a non-toxic statement or a written warranty.
Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 19/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 75 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Tip | Chisel |
|---|---|
| Count | 12 |
| Ink | Hybrid, low odor |
| Line | 0.7mm |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 18 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Low-odor ink stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Follow the manual. Assemble and use the product as the maker describes, stay under any stated capacity, and read the manual before first use.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Compare the picks
| Marker | Shop Score | Ink System | Nib | Pack | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Direct Liquid | 9.7/10 | Direct liquid | Not stated | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| Gersoniel 12mm | 9.6/10 | Cotton refill | 12 mm | 4-pack | View on Amazon |
| EXPO 12-Count Chisel | 9.7/10 | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| Amazon Basics 12-Pack | 9.5/10 | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| Crayola Take Note 12 | 9.6/10 | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | View on Amazon |
22 October 2026
Specifications are manufacturer rated. No listing here states a concrete warranty term.
How we scored them
Each marker is scored on performance, build, value, safety and warranty, using only what the listing publishes. The weights are on our How We Pick page.
| Product | Office Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Direct Liquid | 9.7 | 32 | 22 | 21 | n/a | 0 |
| Gersoniel 12mm | 9.6 | 30 | 21 | 21 | n/a | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Safety counts only for powered gear or where the listing states safety features; where it does not apply, the score is taken over the remaining 90 points.
How to choose the best refillable whiteboard markers
Ink system: direct liquid vs cotton refill
Two systems here: direct liquid ink (B0FY2K1ZLH) and cotton refill (B09QLR4KL7). The direct liquid listing states consistent, skip-free writing with no shaking, vibrant color from the first drop to the last, and a visible gauge. The cotton refill listing states you unscrew the lid on the other end and pour ink into the barrel when it runs out. Direct liquid gives even flow until empty; cotton refills are the classic system. For high-frequency classroom use, the direct liquid’s visible gauge tells you when a refill is due.
Nib size and line width
The Gersoniel listing states a 12 mm nib for extra thick lines visible from a distance. The direct liquid listing states no nib figure. For a conference room, a thick line reads from the back row; for a desk whiteboard, a finer line suits small writing. The listings do not state chisel versus bullet tips, so buy the line width, not the tip shape.
Ink capacity
The direct liquid listing states 4g high-capacity ink. The Gersoniel is a 4-pack of markers with cotton refills. Capacity is the running cost: a refillable marker with more ink per fill means fewer refills per semester. The listings do not state refill bottle sizes, so compare the marker capacity figures directly.
Refill economics
A refillable marker pays for itself against disposables: the marker body is bought once, ink is bought as refills. The Gersoniel’s pour-into-the-barrel system and the direct liquid’s gauge both aim at the same thing: never throwing away a working marker. For an office that burns through markers, refillable is the economical and lower-waste choice.
Erasability and ghosting
A refillable marker is only as good as its erasability: ink that ghosts forces board cleaner and elbow grease. The listings state no ghosting figures, but the ink system matters: direct liquid ink lays down even color that erases evenly, while a dying cotton marker leaves patchy marks. Erase within the day for the cleanest board; week-old writing ghosts on any board. The listings do not state low-odor or AP certification, so ventilate the room as standard practice.
Board compatibility
Whiteboard markers are for non-porous boards: melamine, porcelain, glass. The Gersoniel listing states glass as a recommended use. Do not use them on paper flip charts or porous surfaces: the ink soaks in and will not erase. For a glass board, any of these work; for an old melamine board that ghosts, a fresh marker helps less than a new board. See our glass whiteboard pick linked above.
Color and visibility
The listings state no color assortments for these picks: check the listing for the colors included before buying a 4-pack. For presentations, black and blue read best at distance; red and green suit diagrams. A 12 mm nib in black is the workhorse; colors are the supporting cast. The listings do not state color counts, so verify in the listing.
Refill process in practice
The Gersoniel refill means unscrewing the end cap and pouring ink into the barrel: do it over a protected surface, because whiteboard ink stains. The direct liquid marker’s visible gauge shows the level, so refills are planned, not emergency. Keep a refill bottle with the markers, not in a separate closet: a refillable marker without ink on hand is a disposable with extra steps. The listings state no refill bottle included, so plan the purchase.
What offices get wrong
The classic mistake is storing markers nib-up: ink settles away from the tip. The second is mixing brands of refill ink: stick to the maker’s ink. The third is the cap: an uncapped marker dries out regardless of system. For the board itself, see our best whiteboard for brainstorming.
Classroom vs conference room
A classroom burns through markers daily: the direct liquid marker’s 4g capacity and visible gauge suit that pace, because the teacher sees the level and refills before the lesson. A conference room uses markers weekly: the Gersoniel 4-pack’s thick 12 mm lines suit occasional big-room presentations. Match the system to the cadence: high-frequency use favors capacity and gauges; occasional use favors line width and pack count.
Waste and sustainability
A disposable marker is plastic thrown away with ink still in the barrel; a refillable marker keeps the body for years. The listings make no environmental claims, but the arithmetic is simple: one body plus refills versus dozens of disposables. For an office with a sustainability policy, refillable markers are an easy win. Keep the refill bottles recyclable per local rules; the listings state no bottle material.
Setup Notes
- Check the nib width against your board size: 12 mm suits room-size boards.
- Store markers horizontally or nib-down so ink stays at the tip.
- Buy the maker’s refill ink for the system you choose; do not mix brands.
- Cap every marker after use: uncapped markers dry out regardless of ink system.
Drying out and revival
An uncapped marker dries in hours; a capped marker lasts months. If a refillable marker writes faintly, refill it: the direct liquid gauge tells you when. Do not soak the nib in water: whiteboard ink is alcohol-based and water ruins the flow. The listings state no revival method, so prevention is the method: cap after every use, store nib-down or horizontal, and refill before the reservoir runs dry. A cotton-core marker run dry can take time to re-saturate after refilling.
When refillable is not worth it
Refillable markers suit frequent users: classrooms, offices, studios. For a home whiteboard used monthly, a disposable lasts years and the refill bottle may dry out before it is used. The listings state no shelf life for refill ink, so buy refills for the pace you actually write at. Honest math: if you finish fewer than a few markers a year, disposables are simpler; above that, refillable wins.
Frequently Asked Questions
How do refillable whiteboard markers work?
The Gersoniel uses a cotton refill you pour ink into; the direct liquid marker takes liquid ink with a visible gauge. Both refill instead of being discarded.
Which nib is best for presentations?
The Gersoniel’s 12 mm nib draws thick lines visible from a distance, per the listing.
Do refillable markers save money?
The marker body is bought once and ink as refills, which beats buying disposables for high-frequency use.
Can I use any refill ink?
Stick to the maker’s ink for the system; the listings do not state cross-brand compatibility.
Do any have a warranty?
No listing here states a concrete warranty term.
Related: our whiteboards hub and our safety notes.





