Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Home office gear, compared spec by spec.

Webcams and Ring Lights

Best Ring Light for Cutting Hair (2026): 5 Compared

Five ring lights for cutting hair compared by ring size, brightness modes, mounting and warranty, from an 18-inch tripod kit to portable clip-ons.

Best Ring Light for Cutting Hair (2026): 5 Compared

A home haircut usually happens in front of a bathroom mirror under a single dim ceiling light, and that is when the missed spots happen. The best ring light for cutting hair throws even, shadowless light right where the scissors are. We compared five ring lights by size, brightness modes, color temperature range, mounting and warranty, using only what each listing publishes. Every figure below comes from the listings, not from our own measurements. A dim room forces you to tilt your head into awkward angles just to see the line you are cutting.

OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • UBeesize 12in Desk Ring Light
    Best Overall UBeesize 12in Desk Ring Light: 12in ring, 30 light combos, adjustable arm and phone holder Check price on Amazon
  • NEEWER RL-18 Ring Light Kit
    Best Large Kit NEEWER 18in Ring Light Kit: 55W 18-inch ring light kit with tripod Check price on Amazon
  • TODI 12in
    Best Tripod Value TODI 12in Ring Light Tripod: 12in ring light with 63in tripod Check price on Amazon
  • XINBAOHONG Clip-on Ring Light
    Best Clip-On XINBAOHONG Clip-on Ring Light: 40-LED clip-on light with 3 brightness modes, USB rechargeable Check price on Amazon
  • Kimwood Clip Ring Light
    Best for Laptop Kimwood Clip-on Ring Light: Clip-on ring light for phone and laptop Check price on Amazon

The picks

TODI 12in

TODI 12in

TODI9.6/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 12-inch ring light with a 63-inch tripod that detaches into a selfie stick, with remote.

Pros

  • 12-inch ring
  • 63-inch tripod
  • Detachable selfie stick
  • Wireless selfie remote

Cons

  • 1-year warranty
  • 12-inch ring is mid-size
  • USB powered only
  • Detachable parts to lose
Detailed Review

TODI lists a 12-inch ring light with 3 color modes and 10 brightness levels from 10 to 100 percent, an arched lampshade and a 63-inch aluminum tripod. The listing states a detachable stand that doubles as a selfie stick, a 360-degree rotating phone holder and a 5V USB cable with selfie remote. The listing states a 1-year warranty.

Who it's for: sellers who want a ring light that doubles as a selfie stick. Who should skip it: anyone who wants the tallest tripod or the biggest ring.

The 2-in-1 design folds to a table tripod or unfolds to stand on the floor, per the listing, and the arched shade keeps the light even and balanced.

Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 22/25, value 20/25, safety not scored (non-powered gear) and warranty 3/5: 73 of 90 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Ring12 in
Tripod18 to 63 in
Modes2-in-1 selfie stick
Warranty1 year

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 17 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. 1-year warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Lamps near paper and water. Use the supplied adapter, keep the lamp head away from paper, curtains and drinks, and treat flicker-free and brightness figures as the maker's claims.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

UBeesize 12in Desk Ring Light

UBeesize 12in Desk Ring Light

UBeesize9.5/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 12-inch desk ring light with 30 lighting combinations, an adjustable arm and a phone holder, for cutting hair at a desk or counter.

Pros

  • 30 lighting combinations: 3 color temps from 3000K to 6500K times 10 brightness levels
  • Extendable arm from 22 to 29 inches with 180-degree tilt and 360-degree rotation
  • Weighted anti-slip base with detachable phone holder for 2 to 4 inch devices
  • 1 year manufacturer warranty is stated

Cons

  • USB-powered only; the 5V adapter is not included
  • Not water resistant, per the listing
  • Desk stand, not a floor tripod, so it needs a counter
  • No battery option for use away from USB power
Detailed Review

UBeesize lists a 12-inch ring light on a desk stand with a detachable phone holder that fits 2 to 4 inch devices. The listing gives 30 lighting combinations from 3 color temperatures (3000K to 6500K) times 10 brightness levels, an extendable arm from 22 to 29 inches, 180 degrees of vertical tilt and 360 degrees of horizontal rotation. The base is weighted and anti-slip, and the light runs on USB power from a laptop, power bank or 5V adapter (not included). The spec table gives a 5 by 5 by 41 inch footprint and a 1 year manufacturer warranty.

Who it's for: someone cutting hair at a desk or counter who wants adjustable, even light plus a phone holder for tutorials. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a floor-standing tripod or battery power away from USB.

Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 2/5: 75 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Ring size12 in
Light modes3 color temps (3000K-6500K) x 10 brightness
Arm22-29 in extendable, 180-degree tilt, 360-degree rotation
Warranty1 year manufacturer

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 17 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. 1 year manufacturer warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.

Light and privacy. Use the supplied adapter for ring lights, keep lights and cords away from drinks and paper, and cover or unplug a webcam when it is not in use.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

NEEWER RL-18 Ring Light Kit

NEEWER RL-18 Ring Light Kit

NEEWER9.6/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 55W 18-inch ring light with 95 CRI and bi-color filters; skip it for compact travel.

Pros

  • 55W with 240 LEDs and 5,500 lux at 0.5m, per the listing
  • 95 CRI with 0-100% dimming for true colors
  • Snap-on filters for 3200K and 5600K temperatures
  • 61-inch aluminum alloy tripod with Bluetooth remote

Cons

  • 18 inches; the largest and least portable here
  • No RGB color modes
  • Not water resistant, per the spec table
  • Tripod height shorter than the 73-inch models
Detailed Review

NEEWER lists the RL-18 as an 18-inch, 55-watt ring light with 240 LEDs, 5,500 lux at 0.5 meters, 0 to 100 percent dimming and 95 CRI. Snap-on orange and white filters switch between 3200K and 5600K color temperatures. The kit includes a 61-inch aluminum alloy tripod stand, an RT107 Bluetooth remote with up to 32.8 feet of range, a cold shoe ball head adapter and a phone holder that rotates 360 degrees between landscape and portrait. A 1-year manufacturer warranty is stated.

Who it's for: vloggers, streamers and video creators who want the brightest, most color-accurate light here. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a compact travel light or RGB color effects.

Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 33/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 2/5: 76 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Size18 in
Power55W
CRI95
Tripod61 in
Warranty1 Year

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 17 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. No UL or ETL listing is stated, so safety scores zero. 1 Year. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.

Lamps near paper and water. Use the supplied adapter, keep the lamp head away from paper, curtains and drinks, and treat flicker-free and brightness figures as the maker's claims.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Kimwood Clip Ring Light

Kimwood Clip Ring Light

Kimwood9.4/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

For simple clip-on lighting: 60 LEDs with 3 color modes and 5 brightness levels.

Pros

  • 60 LEDs with a 1.38-inch clip for phones, tablets and laptops
  • 3 color modes with 5 brightness levels
  • 3-foot USB cable allows use while charging
  • Small at 4.88 by 3.82 by 1.42 inches

Cons

  • 600mAh battery lasts 2.5 hours
  • 5 brightness levels, the fewest here
  • No CRI figure is stated
  • No color temperature range is stated
Detailed Review

Kimwood lists the RL15 as a 60-LED clip-on light with 3 dimmable color modes and 5 brightness levels, a 1.38-inch clip for phones, tablets, laptops and makeup mirrors, and a 600mAh battery lasting 2.5 hours. The 3-foot USB charging cable allows use while charging, and the light measures 4.88 by 3.82 by 1.42 inches. The spec table lists a 1 year warranty.

Who it's for: casual users who want a simple clip light. Who should skip it: anyone wanting stated CRI or temperature ranges, and anyone needing more than 2.5 hours away from a charger.

Its Office Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 18/25, value 19/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 3/5: 68 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Light60 LEDs, 3 modes, 5 brightness
Clip1.38 in clip for phones, tablets, laptops
Battery600mAh, 2.5 h
Cable3 ft USB, use while charging

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 17 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. No UL or ETL listing is stated, so safety scores zero. The spec table lists a 1 year warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Lamps near paper and water. Use the supplied adapter, keep the lamp head away from paper, curtains and drinks, and treat flicker-free and brightness figures as the maker's claims.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

XINBAOHONG Clip-on Ring Light

XINBAOHONG Clip-on Ring Light

XINBAOHONG9.3/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 40-LED clip-on ring light with 3 brightness modes and USB recharging, for portable fill light.

Pros

  • 40 LEDs with 3 brightness modes (low, normal, high)
  • Built-in rechargeable battery, charged over USB
  • Silicone gel grip holds up to 18mm thick
  • 70 gram weight, pocket-size for travel

Cons

  • Small unit at 1.97 inches, not a desk light
  • Not water resistant, per the listing
  • No warranty term is stated
  • Clip-on only; no stand or tripod
Detailed Review

XINBAOHONG lists a clip-on selfie ring light with 40 LEDs and 3 white brightness modes (low, normal, high). The spec table gives a 70 gram weight, a 1.97 by 1.38 by 1.97 inch body, a silicone gel grip that holds up to 18mm thick, and a built-in rechargeable battery charged over USB. The listing says it is not water resistant. One oddity: the spec table lists a 15 centimeter screen size, which does not describe a ring light, so treat the ring diameter as not clearly stated.

Who it's for: someone who wants a pocket-size fill light that clips to a phone for quick trims. Who should skip it: anyone who needs hands-free, room-filling light for a full haircut.

Its Office Score of 9.3/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 19/25, value 19/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 64 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
LEDs40
Brightness3 modes (low, normal, high)
PowerRechargeable battery, USB
Max hold18mm

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 17 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. No FCC or other safety listing is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Light and privacy. Use the supplied adapter for ring lights, keep lights and cords away from drinks and paper, and cover or unplug a webcam when it is not in use.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Compare the picks

Ring Light Office Score Ring size Light modes Mount Warranty Amazon
UBeesize 12in Desk Ring Light 9.5/10 12 in 3 temps x 10 levels Desk stand, phone holder 1 year View on Amazon
NEEWER 18in Ring Light Kit 9.5/10 18 in Not stated Tripod Not stated
TODI 12in Ring Light Tripod 9.6/10 12 in Not stated 63 in tripod Not stated
XINBAOHONG Clip-on Ring Light 9.3/10 1.97 in unit 3 brightness modes Clip-on Not stated View on Amazon
Kimwood Clip-on Ring Light 9.4/10 Not stated Not stated Clip-on Not stated

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 17 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Office Score weighs performance (ring size, brightness modes, color temperature range and mounting), build, value, safety and warranty. For a ring light, safety would mean a stated certification or a guarded electrical design, and none of the five listings names one, so no safety points were given. Only the UBeesize states a warranty term, 1 year manufacturer. The three reused listings state almost nothing beyond their titles, so they score on the title facts alone. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Office Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
UBeesize 12in Desk Ring Light 9.5 32 20 21 0 2
XINBAOHONG Clip-on Ring Light 9.3 26 19 19 0 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best ring light for cutting hair

Ring size sets the coverage

The NEEWER’s 18-inch ring is the largest here and suits lighting a whole head from a tripod. The UBeesize and TODI use 12-inch rings, a common middle ground for desk and tripod use. The XINBAOHONG is a clip-on unit under 2 inches for a phone, and the Kimwood clips to a phone or laptop. Bigger is not always better: a large ring needs floor or desk space, while a clip-on goes in a pocket.

Ring light Ring size Mount
NEEWER 18in Ring Light Kit 18 in Tripod
UBeesize 12in Desk Ring Light 12 in Desk stand
TODI 12in Ring Light Tripod 12 in 63 in tripod
XINBAOHONG Clip-on Ring Light 1.97 in unit Clip-on
Kimwood Clip-on Ring Light Not stated Clip-on

Brightness modes and color temperature

The UBeesize lists 30 combinations: 3 color temperatures from 3000K to 6500K times 10 brightness levels, the most control here. The XINBAOHONG lists 3 white brightness modes (low, normal, high). The other three listings state no brightness or temperature figures at all. For haircuts, adjustable brightness matters more than the maximum: you want to dial the light down for detail work near the mirror.

Mount: tripod, desk stand or clip-on

The NEEWER and TODI kits include tripods, with the TODI’s reaching 63 inches for standing use. The UBeesize sits on a weighted desk base with an arm that extends 22 to 29 inches and tilts 180 degrees. The XINBAOHONG and Kimwood clip to a phone or laptop. If you cut hair standing in front of a mirror, a tripod keeps the light at head height; at a desk, the UBeesize arm aims the ring where you need it. See our ring light with stand picks for more stand options.

Power and the fine print

The XINBAOHONG runs on a built-in rechargeable battery over USB, the only battery option here. The UBeesize is USB-powered from a laptop, power bank or 5V adapter, but the adapter is not included. The other three listings state no power details. Only the UBeesize states a warranty term. For video calls between cuts, our ring light for webcam video calls guide covers similar lights.

What the listings don’t tell you

Three of these listings state almost nothing beyond the title, so check the live listing before you buy: confirm the actual ring diameter, the number of brightness steps, and whether a warranty applies. The XINBAOHONG’s spec table lists a 15 centimeter screen size that does not describe a ring light, and the UBeesize is USB-powered with the 5V adapter sold separately. Both the UBeesize and the XINBAOHONG are listed as not water resistant, so keep the light away from the sink.

Setup Notes

  • Measure the space first: the UBeesize lists a 5 by 5 inch desk footprint and a 41 inch height, and the TODI tripod reaches 63 inches.
  • Plan power: the UBeesize runs on USB from a laptop, power bank or 5V adapter (adapter not included); the XINBAOHONG recharges over USB.
  • The XINBAOHONG’s silicone grip holds devices up to 18mm thick; clip it to a phone before the cut, not during.
  • Use the UBeesize’s 180-degree vertical tilt and 360-degree horizontal rotation to aim the ring and avoid mirror glare.

Frequently Asked Questions

What size ring light is best for cutting hair?

It depends on the setup. The NEEWER’s 18-inch ring on a tripod covers a standing haircut, the 12-inch UBeesize and TODI suit desk or tripod use, and the clip-on XINBAOHONG is for close fill light. Match the ring to the distance from the mirror.

Do I need adjustable color temperature?

The UBeesize is the only pick here with a stated range, 3000K to 6500K across 3 color temperatures. The XINBAOHONG lists 3 white brightness modes. The other three state no temperature figures.

Can a ring light run on battery?

The XINBAOHONG has a built-in rechargeable battery charged over USB. The UBeesize is USB-powered and can run from a power bank. The other three listings state no power details.

Which of these ring lights has a warranty?

Only the UBeesize states one: 1 year manufacturer. The other four listings state no warranty term.

Will a clip-on ring light work for haircuts?

The XINBAOHONG and Kimwood clip to a phone or laptop for portable fill light. They suit touch-ups better than full haircuts, where a tripod or desk stand keeps the light steady and hands-free.

Do I need a tripod or a desk stand?

Match the mount to where you cut. A tripod suits standing in front of a mirror, with the TODI reaching 63 inches and the NEEWER bringing an 18-inch ring. A desk stand suits cutting at a counter, where the UBeesize’s 22 to 29 inch arm aims the ring at head height. Clip-ons suit travel and touch-ups only.

TODI 12in
Still deciding? Our top pickTODI 12in
Check price on Amazon

See every webcams and ring lights guide and all computer peripherals guides.

More picks: ring light with stand, ring light for TikTok and ring light for nails.