A power strip is not automatically a surge protector, and the best surge protector for electronics is the one with a real joule rating, enough outlets and a warranty that means something. We compared four surge protectors on joule rating, outlets, cord, safety marks and warranty, using only what each listing publishes.
OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall CCCEI Heavy Duty Surge Protector: 4800J rating, ETL listed, 2-year warranty, individual switches Check price on Amazon
Best for Many Devices CRST 10-Outlet Metal Protector: 10 outlets, 2800J, 15-ft cord, ETL listed Check price on Amazon
Best with USB Addtam 2-Pack Surge Protector: 5 outlets + 4 USB with 2 USB-C, 1080J, 2-pack Check price on Amazon
Best for Phone Lines Tripp Lite 10-Outlet Protector: 10 outlets, telephone protection, diagnostic LED Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Office Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | CCCEI Heavy Duty Surge Protector | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | CRST 10-Outlet Metal Protector | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | Addtam 2-Pack Surge Protector | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | Tripp Lite 10-Outlet Protector | 9.4/10 | Buy on Amazon |

CCCEI Heavy Duty Surge Protector
A 2-pack heavy-duty surge protector with 4800J rating, individual switches and ETL mark; the pick for maximum surge absorption.
Pros
- 4800J surge rating, the highest here
- ETL listed with metal shell
- 2-year manufacturer warranty
- Individual switches with dedicated overload breaker per outlet
Cons
- 4 outlets is the fewest here
- 4-foot cord is the briefest listed
- Yellow color suits workshops more than offices
- 2-pack may be more than a single desk needs
Detailed Review
The CCCEI listing states a 2-pack heavy-duty surge protector with 4 wide-spaced outlets, individual switches, a dedicated overload circuit breaker, a 12-gauge 4-foot cord rated 15A/125V/1875W, 4800J surge protection, an ETL listing and a 2-year manufacturer warranty. Nothing in the listing contradicts itself.
Who it's for: workshops and garages that want the highest joule rating with per-outlet control. Who should skip it: desk users needing more outlets or a longer cord.
Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 22/25, value 21/25, safety 3/10 and warranty 3/5: 79 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Joule rating | 4800J |
|---|---|
| Outlets | 4 |
| Cord | 4 ft, 12 gauge |
| Certification | ETL listed |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 19 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. ETL listed, so safety scores 3 of 10. 2-year manufacturer warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

CRST 10-Outlet Metal Protector
A 10-outlet metal surge protector with 2800J rating, 15-foot cord and ETL mark; the pick for many devices at distance.
Pros
- 2800J surge rating with ETL listing
- 10 outlets, the most here
- 15-foot heavy-duty grounded cord
- 18-month warranty, longer than the Addtam
Cons
- No USB charging ports
- 3.3 pounds is the heaviest here
- No individual outlet switches
- Black metal suits workshops more than living rooms
Detailed Review
The CRST listing states a 10-outlet extruded aluminum surge protector rated 15A/125V/60Hz/1875W with 2800 joules of surge protection, a 15-foot heavy-duty grounded cord, an ETL listing, a 15A circuit breaker switch, cord holder and hanging hole, weighing 3.3 pounds with an 18-month warranty. Nothing in the listing contradicts itself.
Who it's for: anyone wiring up many devices far from the wall outlet. Who should skip it: buyers wanting USB charging or individual switches.
Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 3/10 and warranty 2/5: 77 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Joule rating | 2800 joules |
|---|---|
| Outlets | 10 |
| Cord | 15 ft, heavy duty |
| Certification | ETL listed |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 19 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. ETL listed, so safety scores 3 of 10. 18-month warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.
Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Addtam 2-Pack Surge Protector
A 2-pack surge protector with 5 outlets, 4 USB ports and 1080J rating; the pick for desks with phones and tablets to charge.
Pros
- 5 outlets plus 4 USB ports with 2 USB-C
- Widely spaced outlets fit big adapters
- 2-pack covers two desks
- 12-month warranty with flat 45-degree plug
Cons
- 1080J is the lowest surge rating here
- No safety mark is stated
- 6-foot cord shorter than the CRST
- 1.7 inch width takes desk space
Detailed Review
The Addtam listing states a 2-pack surge protector with 5 outlets (1875W/15A), 4 USB ports including 2 USB-C at 5V/3.1A total, 1080J surge absorption, a 6-foot 14AWG braided cord with 45-degree flat plug, wall mounting holes and a 12-month warranty, 12.2 x 1.7 inches at 1.8 pounds. Nothing in the listing contradicts itself.
Who it's for: desk workers charging phones, tablets and laptops alongside computers. Who should skip it: buyers wanting the highest joule rating for expensive gear.
Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 2/5: 71 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Joule rating | 1080J |
|---|---|
| Outlets | 5 outlets + 4 USB |
| Cord | 6 ft, 14AWG |
| Certification | Not stated |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 19 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. 12-month warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.
Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Tripp Lite 10-Outlet Protector
A 10-outlet surge protector with telephone line protection and diagnostic LED; the pick for phone and modem lines.
Pros
- 10 outlets with telephone line protection
- Diagnostic LED shows protection status
- Flat right-angle plug saves space behind furniture
- 2 pounds, light for a 10-outlet unit
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- No safety mark is stated
- No cord length is stated
- No USB charging ports
Detailed Review
The Tripp Lite listing states a 10-outlet surge protector with telephone protection, a diagnostic LED, a grounded cord with a space-saving right-angle plug, 120V/15A rating, 2395 joules in its data, weighing 2 pounds in a flat shape. Nothing in the listing contradicts itself.
Who it's for: anyone protecting phone or modem lines alongside computers. Who should skip it: buyers wanting a stated warranty or USB charging.
Its Office Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 68 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Joule rating | 2395 joules |
|---|---|
| Outlets | 10 |
| Line protection | Telephone |
| Certification | Not stated |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 19 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Compare the picks
| Surge protector | Office Score | Joule rating | Outlets | Cord | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CCCEI Heavy Duty Surge Protector | 9.6/10 | 4800J | 4 | 4 ft | 2 years | View on Amazon |
| CRST 10-Outlet Metal Protector | 9.6/10 | 2800J | 10 | 15 ft | 18 months | View on Amazon |
| Addtam 2-Pack Surge Protector | 9.5/10 | 1080J | 5 + 4 USB | 6 ft | 12 months | View on Amazon |
| Tripp Lite 10-Outlet Protector | 9.4/10 | 2395J | 10 | Not stated | Not stated | View on Amazon |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 19 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Office Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For surge protectors, safety means third-party safety marks: the CCCEI and CRST are ETL listed. The Addtam and Tripp Lite state no safety mark. Warranty terms run from 12 months (Addtam) to 2 years (CCCEI). How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Office Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CCCEI Heavy Duty Surge Protector | 9.6 | 30 | 22 | 21 | 3 | 3 |
| CRST 10-Outlet Metal Protector | 9.6 | 30 | 21 | 21 | 3 | 2 |
| Addtam 2-Pack Surge Protector | 9.5 | 29 | 20 | 20 | 0 | 2 |
| Tripp Lite 10-Outlet Protector | 9.4 | 28 | 20 | 20 | 0 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best surge protector for electronics
Read the joule rating
The joule rating is the main number that separates a surge protector from a power strip. The CCCEI lists 4800J, the CRST lists 2800 joules, the Tripp Lite lists 2395 joules in its data, and the Addtam lists 1080J. A higher rating absorbs larger surges. See every surge protectors and cable management guide for more options.
Count outlets and USB
The CRST and Tripp Lite list 10 outlets each, the Addtam lists 5 outlets plus 4 USB ports (2 USB-C), and the CCCEI lists 4 wide-spaced outlets with individual switches. The Addtam’s widely spaced outlets fit big adapters without blocking neighbors, and its 2-pack covers two desks.
Check the cord
The CRST lists a 15-foot heavy-duty grounded cord, the Addtam a 6-foot 14AWG braided cord with a 45-degree flat plug, and the CCCEI a 12-gauge 4-foot cord. The Tripp Lite states no cord length; its flat right-angle plug saves space behind furniture. Match the cord to the distance from your wall outlet.
Look for safety marks and warranty
The CCCEI and CRST are ETL listed; the Addtam and Tripp Lite state no safety mark. Warranties: CCCEI 2 years, CRST 18 months, Addtam 12 months, Tripp Lite none stated.
Frequently Asked Questions
How many joules do I need for electronics?
The picks here range from 1080J (Addtam) to 4800J (CCCEI). A higher joule rating absorbs larger surges; 2000 joules and up suits valuable electronics.
What is the difference between a power strip and a surge protector?
A power strip adds outlets; a surge protector adds surge-absorbing circuitry measured in joules. The CRST, CCCEI and Addtam all list joule ratings; the Tripp Lite lists 2395 joules in its data.
Do I need individual switches?
The CCCEI lists individual switches per outlet with its own overload breaker, so you can cut power to one device without unplugging the rest. The others use one master switch.
Can I wall-mount a surge protector?
The Addtam lists two mounting holes on the back, the CRST a hanging hole and cord holder, and the CCCEI a wall screw mount design. The Tripp Lite states no mounting detail.
What about telephone line protection?
The Tripp Lite TLP1008TEL lists telephone protection with a diagnostic LED, which suits modems and phone lines. The others state no line protection.
Related guides
See every surge protectors and cable management guide and all audio, power and connectivity guides. Also see our best surge protector for expensive electronics. Also see our best surge protector for whole house. Also see our best surge protector for wifi router.
More picks: surge protectors with USB-C ports and surge protectors for wifi routers.




