A generator keeps the lights on during an outage, but the power it makes can be rough on sensitive electronics. The best surge protector for generator use sits between the generator and your gear, absorbing spikes before they reach your devices. We compared 5 surge protectors by joule rating, outlet count, cord length and safety certifications, using only what each listing publishes. The picks range from 2700J to 4800J, with 4 to 12 outlets.
OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall CCCEI 12 Gauge 4-Outlet: 4800J, individual switches, 10ft cord, ETL certified. Check price on Amazon
Best with USB CCCEI 8-Outlet with USB: 2700J, 8 outlets, 2 USB ports, ETL Listed. Check price on Amazon
High Joules JUNNUJ 4800J 8-Outlet: 4800J, 8 outlets, 6ft cord. Check price on Amazon
Most Outlets CRST 10-Outlet Metal: 2800J, 10 outlets, ETL Listed, metal. Check price on Amazon
Basic Pick Alestor 12-Outlet Strip: 12 outlets, surge protector strip. Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Office Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | CCCEI 12 Gauge 4-Outlet | 9.8/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | CCCEI 8-Outlet with USB | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | CRST 10-Outlet Metal Protector | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | Alestor 12-Outlet Strip | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | JUNNUJ 4800J Strip | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |

CCCEI 12 Gauge 4-Outlet
A 4-outlet surge protector with 4800J, individual switches and a 10ft 12-gauge cord.
Pros
- 4800J surge protection
- Individual outlet switches
- 10ft 12-gauge cord
- ETL certified
Cons
- Only 4 outlets
- Indoor use listed
- No USB ports
- 12-gauge cord may be stiff
Detailed Review
The listing states 4800J, 4 outlets with individual switches, and a 10ft cord. The spec table lists 20A maximum current while the bullets say 125V/15A/1875W; the title and bullets are trusted over the spec table.
Who it's for: workshop users who want individual outlet control. Who should skip it: anyone who needs more than 4 outlets.
Its Office Score of 9.8/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 22/25, value 21/25, safety 9/10 and warranty 4/5: 88 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Joules | 4800J |
|---|---|
| Outlets | 4 |
| Cord | 10ft |
| Cert | ETL certified |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. ETL certified; overload and grounding protection, so safety scores 9 of 10. 2 Year Manufacturer. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.
Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- 2700J surge protection
- 8 outlets
- 2 USB ports
- ETL Listed
Cons
- 2700J lower than 4800J picks
- 6ft cord
- No individual switches
- Yellow color only
Detailed Review
The listing states 2700J, 8 AC outlets, 2 USB ports and a 6ft 14AWG cord. The title says ETL Listed with a yellow aluminum housing.
Who it's for: desk users who want USB charging alongside outlets. Who should skip it: anyone who needs higher joule ratings.
Its Office Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 9/10 and warranty 4/5: 84 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Joules | 2700J |
|---|---|
| Outlets | 8 |
| USB | 2 ports |
| Cord | 6ft |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. ETL Listed; overload and fire protection coating, so safety scores 9 of 10. 2 Year Manufacturer. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.
Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

CRST 10-Outlet Metal Protector
A 10-outlet metal surge protector with 2800J rating, 15-foot cord and ETL mark; the pick for many devices at distance.
Pros
- 2800J surge rating with ETL listing
- 10 outlets, the most here
- 15-foot heavy-duty grounded cord
- 18-month warranty, longer than the Addtam
Cons
- No USB charging ports
- 3.3 pounds is the heaviest here
- No individual outlet switches
- Black metal suits workshops more than living rooms
Detailed Review
The CRST listing states a 10-outlet extruded aluminum surge protector rated 15A/125V/60Hz/1875W with 2800 joules of surge protection, a 15-foot heavy-duty grounded cord, an ETL listing, a 15A circuit breaker switch, cord holder and hanging hole, weighing 3.3 pounds with an 18-month warranty. Nothing in the listing contradicts itself.
Who it's for: anyone wiring up many devices far from the wall outlet. Who should skip it: buyers wanting USB charging or individual switches.
Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 3/10 and warranty 2/5: 77 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Joule rating | 2800 joules |
|---|---|
| Outlets | 10 |
| Cord | 15 ft, heavy duty |
| Certification | ETL listed |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 19 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. ETL listed, so safety scores 3 of 10. 18-month warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.
Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Alestor 12-Outlet Strip
A 12-outlet power strip with 4 USB ports, 2,700 joules, ETL listing and a 2-year warranty.
Pros
- 2,700 joules stated
- 12 AC outlets plus 4 USB ports
- ETL listing stated
- 2-year warranty stated
Cons
- No connected equipment policy is stated
- 6-foot cord is mid-length
- Black color only listed
- Overload switch adds a reset step
Detailed Review
Alestor lists this 6-foot power strip with 12 AC outlets, 4 USB charging ports including 1 USB-C, a 2,700 joule rating, and overload protection. The listing states ETL listing, an over-current protection switch, a protected indicator light, and a 2-year warranty. The unit measures 11 by 3.9 inches.
Who it's for: anyone needing the most outlets and USB charging in one strip. Who should skip it: anyone wanting a connected equipment policy.
Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 3/5: 76 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Outlets | 12 + 4 USB |
|---|---|
| Joules | 2700 |
| Certification | ETL stated |
| Warranty | 2 years |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 18 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. The listing states ETL listing for the unit and major components., so safety scores 5 of 10. The spec table lists a 2 year warranty description. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Power and heat. Use the supplied adapter, treat power delivery wattage and display support as the maker's claims for your laptop model, and give the dock room to vent.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- 4800 joules, tied for the highest here
- Built-in 20A circuit breaker with overload protection
- Rugged metal shell, wall mountable
- 6-foot 12AWG heavy-duty cord
Cons
- No safety certification is stated
- 1-year warranty, shorter than the Sanus
- 8 outlets only, no USB ports
- 20A breaker needs a matching circuit to matter
Detailed Review
JUNNUJ lists a heavy-duty surge protector with 4800 joules, 8 outlets and a built-in 20A circuit breaker with overload protection. The listing describes a 6-foot 12AWG cord, a rugged metal shell, wall mounting, and 1.57-inch socket spacing for large plugs. A 1-year warranty is stated.
Who it's for: workshops and garages that need a tough metal strip. Who should skip it: anyone who wants USB charging or a stated safety certification.
Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 3/5: 76 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Joules | 4800J |
|---|---|
| Outlets | 8 |
| Cord | 6 ft, 12AWG |
| Breaker | 20A circuit breaker |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 18 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No UL 1449 listing or joule rating is stated, so safety scores zero. 1-year warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Compare the picks
| Surge Protector | Office Score | Joules | Outlets | Cord | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CCCEI 12 Gauge 4-Outlet | 9.8/10 | 4800J | 4 | 10ft | View on Amazon |
| CCCEI 8-Outlet with USB | 9.7/10 | 2700J | 8 | 6ft | View on Amazon |
| JUNNUJ 4800J 8-Outlet | 9.5/10 | 4800J | 8 | 6ft | |
| CRST 10-Outlet Metal | 9.6/10 | 2800J | 10 | Not stated | |
| Alestor 12-Outlet Strip | 9.6/10 | Not stated | 12 | Not stated | View on Amazon |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 20 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Office Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. Safety here means stated surge protection features like joule ratings, ETL certification and overload protection. Two of the 5 list a 2-year manufacturer warranty. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Office Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CCCEI 12 Gauge 4-Outlet | 9.8 | 32 | 22 | 21 | 9 | 4 |
| CCCEI 8-Outlet with USB | 9.7 | 30 | 21 | 20 | 9 | 4 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best surge protector for generator
Match the joules to the gear
Joule ratings here run from 2700J to 4800J. The CCCEI 12 Gauge and the JUNNUJ both list 4800J, the highest in this set. The CRST lists 2800J and the CCCEI 8-Outlet lists 2700J. Higher joules mean the protector can absorb larger surges before wearing out. If you are protecting a desktop computer, see our surge protector for desktop computer picks for comparison.
Count the outlets and the cord
Outlet counts range from 4 to 12. The Alestor lists 12 outlets, the most here, while the CCCEI 12 Gauge lists only 4 but adds individual switches for each. Cord lengths matter when the generator sits outside: the CCCEI 12 Gauge lists a 10ft cord, the JUNNUJ and CCCEI 8-Outlet list 6ft. The CRST and Alestor do not state a cord length. For tidier setups, our surge protector for cable management list covers options with cord organization.
Check certifications and warranty
The CCCEI 12 Gauge is ETL certified, the CCCEI 8-Outlet is ETL Listed, and the CRST title states ETL Listed. Both CCCEI listings state a 2-year manufacturer warranty. The JUNNUJ, CRST and Alestor do not state a warranty term. A stated certification and warranty make a listing easier to trust. See all surge protectors and cable management guides for more.
Setup Notes
- Measure the distance from the generator to your devices; the longest cord here is 10ft.
- Count the devices you need to plug in; picks range from 4 to 12 outlets.
- Check that the listing states a joule rating; the Alestor does not state one.
- Wall-mount holes are stated on the CCCEI listings; check your mounting surface.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the highest joule rating here?
The CCCEI 12 Gauge and the JUNNUJ both list 4800J.
Which has the most outlets?
The Alestor lists 12 outlets. The CRST lists 10 outlets.
Which lists a warranty?
Both CCCEI listings state a 2-year manufacturer warranty. The others do not state a term.
Which has individual outlet switches?
The CCCEI 12 Gauge lists 4 individual switches plus a master switch.
Related guides
See every surge protectors and cable management guide and all connectivity guides.
More picks: desktop computer surge protector, cable management surge protector, smart power strips.






