Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Home office gear, compared spec by spec.

Keyboards and Keyboard Trays

Best Tactile Keyboard Switches (2026)

Best tactile keyboard switches: five tactile switch sets compared on feel, force, pins, pre-lubing and warranty.

Best Tactile Keyboard Switches (2026)

It is mid-morning and the home office is quiet except for the typing. Each keystroke lands with a small, definite bump instead of sliding straight down, and the fingers know the key fired without looking at the screen. That bump is the whole reason tactile switches exist.

This is the best tactile keyboard switches roundup: five tactile switch sets compared on feel, stated specs, pack size and warranty, scored for the home office.

OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • EPOMAKER Silent Tactile
    Top Pick EPOMAKER Silent Tactile: Silent tactile 5-pin set, pre-lubed, with the only 1-year warranty here. Check price on Amazon
  • Baby Kangaroo 2.0
    Heavy Tactile Baby Kangaroo 2.0: 59gf heavy tactile with dual-stage spring and 80M keystroke life. Check price on Amazon
  • Akko Cilantro Tactile
    Crisp Pick Akko Cilantro Tactile: Pre-lubed 5-pin tactile with early bump at 36gf, 45 pieces. Check price on Amazon
  • G Pro 3.0 Brown 108
    Full Board G Pro 3.0 Brown 108: 108 pre-lubed tactile switches at 55gf, one buy for full-size. Check price on Amazon

The picks

EPOMAKER Silent Tactile

EPOMAKER Silent Tactile

EPOMAKER9.7/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 35-piece factory pre-lubed 5-pin silent tactile switch set with LED slots and 1-year warranty.

Pros

  • Silent tactile design
  • Factory pre-lubed
  • 1-year warranty stated
  • 60M keystroke life stated

Cons

  • Operating force not stated
  • No puller stated
  • Incompatible with low-profile boards
  • 35-pack only
Detailed Review

The EPOMAKER set is the quiet pick: 35 factory pre-lubed 5-pin silent tactile switches with shock absorption for whisper-quiet typing, a POM stem with machined grooves that redistribute lubricant each press, and LED slots for backlit builds. The listing states a 60-million-keystroke life and MX-compatible stems for most hot-swappable boards.

It states no operating force and no puller, and rules out low-profile, optical and magnetic boards. The 1-year warranty is the strongest term here. Who it's for: shared spaces and late-night typing. Who should skip it: anyone wanting a stated actuation force.

Its Office Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 22/25, value 21/25, safety not scored (non-powered gear) and warranty 3/5: 76 of 90 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Pins5-pin
LubingFactory pre-lubed
Pack35
Life60M keystrokes

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. 1 Year Warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Fit the desk first. Check the stated size against your desk depth and keyboard tray, and charge or pair as the manual describes. No keyboard, mouse or wrist rest prevents or treats injury.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Baby Kangaroo 2.0

Baby Kangaroo 2.0

GATERON9.7/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 35-piece heavy tactile 5-pin switch set, pre-lubed, with 59gf force and 80M keystroke life.

Pros

  • Heavy tactile 59gf feel
  • Factory pre-lubed
  • 80M keystroke life stated
  • Dual-stage spring

Cons

  • 1-month warranty is short
  • 35-pack only
  • No puller stated
  • Heaviest force here
Detailed Review

The Baby Kangaroo 2.0 is the deliberate pick: a heavy tactile 5-pin set at 59 plus or minus 8gf operating force with a 22 mm dual-stage gold-plated spring, POM stem, and transparent top housing for even LED light. The listing states factory pre-lubing and an 80-million-keystroke life, with 35 switches in a tray that doubles as a lubing station.

The warranty is only 1 month, the shortest stated term here, and the force is the heaviest of the five. Who it's for: typists who want an unmistakable bump. Who should skip it: light-touch typists.

Its Office Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 22/25, value 20/25, safety not scored (non-powered gear) and warranty 2/5: 76 of 90 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Pins5-pin
Force59±8gf
Pack35
Life80M keystrokes

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. 1 Month. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.

Fit the desk first. Check the stated size against your desk depth and keyboard tray, and charge or pair as the manual describes. No keyboard, mouse or wrist rest prevents or treats injury.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Akko Cilantro Tactile

Akko Cilantro Tactile

Akko9.7/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 45-piece pre-lubed 5-pin tactile switch set with early bump, 36gf force and LED slots.

Pros

  • Early tactile bump
  • Factory pre-lubed
  • 36gf light force
  • 60M keystroke life stated

Cons

  • No warranty stated
  • No puller included
  • 36gf may feel light
  • 45-pack only
Detailed Review

The Akko Cilantro is the crisp pick: a 45-piece pre-lubed 5-pin tactile set with an early bump at the top of the press and strong tactile feedback, built on HMX's latest mould for stability. The listing states 36gf operating force, a 60-million-keystroke life, LED slots with SMD compatibility, and a standard MX stem for most keycap sets.

No warranty term is stated and no switch opener is included. Who it's for: fast typists wanting a light, crisp tactile. Who should skip it: anyone wanting a stated warranty.

Its Office Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 22/25, value 21/25, safety not scored (non-powered gear) and warranty 0/5: 75 of 90 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Pins5-pin
Force36gf
Pack45
Life60M keystrokes

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Fit the desk first. Check the stated size against your desk depth and keyboard tray, and charge or pair as the manual describes. No keyboard, mouse or wrist rest prevents or treats injury.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

G Pro 3.0 Brown 108

G Pro 3.0 Brown 108

Zjmehty9.6/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 108-piece pre-lubed 3-pin tactile brown switch set with 55gf force and 100M cycle life.

Pros

  • 108-piece full-board pack
  • Factory pre-lubed
  • 100M cycle life stated
  • Pin-enhanced 3-pin design

Cons

  • Spec table says Linear/3-pin
  • No warranty stated
  • No puller included
  • 108-pack may overshoot
Detailed Review

The G Pro 3.0 Brown is the full-board pick: 108 pre-lubed 3-pin tactile switches at 55gf operating force with 4 mm total travel, a three-layer pin design the listing says resists bending, and a stated 100-million-cycle life. The transparent top cover suits RGB boards, and each switch ships separately in a PVC box.

Note the spec table's Type field reads Linear/3-pin against the title and bullets' Tactile; trust the title. No warranty is stated. Who it's for: one buy covering a full-size board. Who should skip it: small-board builds.

Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety not scored (non-powered gear) and warranty 0/5: 72 of 90 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Pins3-pin
Force55gf
Pack108
Life100M cycles

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Fit the desk first. Check the stated size against your desk depth and keyboard tray, and charge or pair as the manual describes. No keyboard, mouse or wrist rest prevents or treats injury.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

OUTEMU Blue 20-Pack

OUTEMU Blue 20-Pack

Granvela9.6/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 20-pack of 3-pin tactile clicky blue switches with puller, 60gf actuation and 50M life.

Pros

  • Tactile clicky feedback
  • Switch puller included
  • 50M click life stated
  • Fits MX standard boards

Cons

  • No pre-lubing stated
  • No warranty stated
  • Spec table says Linear style
  • 20-pack needs multiples
Detailed Review

The OUTEMU Blue is the clicky pick: a 20-pack of 3-pin tactile clicky switches with 60 plus or minus 15gf actuation, 80 plus or minus 15gf bottom-out, 2.0 plus or minus 0.6 mm pre-travel and 4 plus or minus 0.4 mm total travel, for MX-standard hot-swappable boards. The title includes a switch puller, though the included-components field says keycap puller.

Note the spec table's Switch Style reads Linear against the title's Tactile Clicky; trust the title. No pre-lubing or warranty is stated. Who it's for: clicky fans on a budget of patience. Who should skip it: shared offices.

Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety not scored (non-powered gear) and warranty 0/5: 71 of 90 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Pins3-pin
Actuation60±15gf
Pack20
Life50M clicks

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Fit the desk first. Check the stated size against your desk depth and keyboard tray, and charge or pair as the manual describes. No keyboard, mouse or wrist rest prevents or treats injury.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

Compare the picks

Switch Score Pins Actuation (listed) Pack Amazon
EPOMAKER Silent Tactile 9.7/10 5-pin Not stated 35 View on Amazon
Baby Kangaroo 2.0 9.7/10 5-pin 59±8gf 35 View on Amazon
Akko Cilantro Tactile 9.7/10 5-pin 36gf 45 View on Amazon
G Pro 3.0 Brown 108 9.6/10 3-pin 55gf 108 View on Amazon
OUTEMU Blue 20-Pack 9.6/10 3-pin 60±15gf 20 View on Amazon

Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 22 October 2026. Where a listing states a figure two ways, the table follows the title and bullets.

How we scored them

Each switch set is scored on performance, build, value, safety and warranty, with the weights published on our How We Pick page. A spec the listing does not publish scores nothing. Two of the five state a warranty term; none states a third-party safety certification.

Product Office Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
EPOMAKER Silent Tactile 9.7 30 22 21 n/a 3
Baby Kangaroo 2.0 9.7 32 22 20 n/a 2
Akko Cilantro Tactile 9.7 32 22 21 n/a 0
G Pro 3.0 Brown 108 9.6 30 21 21 n/a 0
OUTEMU Blue 20-Pack 9.6 29 21 21 n/a 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Safety counts only for powered gear or where the listing states safety features; where it does not apply, the score is taken over the remaining 90 points.

How to choose the best tactile keyboard switches

Tactile, clicky or silent

Tactile means a bump you feel; clicky adds a sound you hear. The OUTEMU Blue is sold as tactile clicky with a crisp click per the bullets, while the EPOMAKER set is the silent tactile option with shock absorption for shared spaces. The Akko Cilantro, G Pro 3.0 Brown and Baby Kangaroo 2.0 are tactile without the click. For a home office with calls all day, silent or plain tactile beats clicky; for a solo room, clicky is a matter of taste.

Operating force

The listings state their forces plainly: 36gf for the Akko Cilantro, 55gf for the G Pro 3.0 Brown, 59 plus or minus 8gf for the Baby Kangaroo 2.0, and 60 plus or minus 15gf actuation with 80 plus or minus 15gf bottom-out for the OUTEMU Blue. Lighter forces tire fingers less over long typing sessions; heavier forces, like the Baby Kangaroo’s heavy tactile design, give a more deliberate keystroke. Match the force to how hard you type, not to what sounds impressive.

3-pin vs 5-pin

The OUTEMU Blue and G Pro 3.0 Brown are 3-pin; the Akko Cilantro, Baby Kangaroo 2.0 and EPOMAKER are 5-pin. Five-pin switches seat more firmly in the plate. Most hot-swappable boards take both, but check the board’s listing before ordering, since 5-pin switches fit 3-pin sockets only if the board’s holes allow it, which this article cannot confirm for your board.

Pre-lubed or not

Four of the five arrive factory lubricated: the Akko Cilantro, G Pro 3.0 Brown, Baby Kangaroo 2.0 and EPOMAKER all state pre-lubed. The OUTEMU Blue listing does not. Pre-lubed switches feel smoother out of the box and skip a weekend of hand lubing, which is real value for a first build.

Pack sizes and spares

Count your board’s keys, then add spares: switches fail and layouts vary. The packs here run 20, 35, 45 and 108. The G Pro 3.0 Brown’s 108-pack covers a full-size board in one buy; the 35-packs suit smaller boards or a partial replacement. Buying the exact key count with zero spares is the classic first-build mistake.

Also considered

Four more sets from the same search did not make the ranked picks. The EBILNVKE blue 80-pack is a clicky 3-pin set with a stated 2-year manufacturer warranty and 50gf operating force. The MELETRIX Chilkey WS is a heavy tactile 5-pin set at 70 plus 10gf with 3.2 mm travel and 35 pieces. The Leezmark blue 120-pack is a clicky 3-pin set rated for fifty million clicks. The GUYEKS Milky Yellow Pro V3 is a pre-lubed 5-pin tactile set in a 72-pack with 55gf operating force and an 80-million-cycle life.

Setup Notes

  • Count the keys on the board and buy that many switches plus a few spares; packs here run from 20 to 108.
  • Check whether the board is hot-swappable before ordering: the OUTEMU listing includes a switch puller, the others do not state one.
  • Match pins to the board: 3-pin and 5-pin sets are both here, and the listings state which is which.
  • Note the LED situation: the Akko, Baby Kangaroo 2.0 and EPOMAKER state LED slots or SMD LED compatibility for backlit boards.
  • Keep the trays and boxes the switches ship in; the Akko and Baby Kangaroo 2.0 packs include plastic trays that double as organizers.

Frequently Asked Questions

What are the best switches for keyboard typing at home?

For a home office, a tactile switch with moderate force and pre-lubing is the easy recommendation: the EPOMAKER silent tactile set if others share the space, the Baby Kangaroo 2.0 for a heavier deliberate bump. This roundup scores the EPOMAKER first.

How do I switch keyboard switches?

On a hot-swappable board, pull the old switch with a switch puller and press the new one in; no soldering. The OUTEMU Blue 20-pack includes a puller per its title. On a soldered board the switches are soldered in, which the OUTEMU spec table lists as its terminal type, and swapping means desoldering.

Are 5-pin switches better than 3-pin?

Five-pin switches have two extra plastic pins that steady them in the plate, so they wobble less. The Akko Cilantro, Baby Kangaroo 2.0 and EPOMAKER are 5-pin here; the OUTEMU Blue and G Pro 3.0 Brown are 3-pin. Either works in a board drilled for it.

Do I need pre-lubed switches?

Not strictly, but it saves work: four of the five here arrive pre-lubed from the factory. The OUTEMU Blue does not state pre-lubing. If the listing does not say pre-lubed, expect a scratchier feel until they break in.

Which of these have a warranty?

The EPOMAKER states a 1-year warranty and the Baby Kangaroo 2.0 a 1-month warranty. The other three state no warranty term.

EPOMAKER Silent Tactile
Still deciding? Our top pickEPOMAKER Silent Tactile
Check price on Amazon

See every keyboard guide and all computer peripherals guides. Also see our best keyboard for home office.