A receipt, a contract and a photo pile up on the corner of the desk after a week of errands, and the pile only grows until something digitizes it, so the best usb document scanner is the one that fits the desk, the bag or the drawer and turns paper into files without a setup project. We compared the scanners below by scanner type, resolution, scan speed, connection and warranty term, using only what each listing publishes.
OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall Canon LiDE 400: 4800 dpi scans in 8 seconds over a single USB-C cable Check price on Amazon
Best for Photos Epson V19 II: 4800 dpi with Easy Photo Fix for faded photos Check price on Amazon
Best Portable HP HPPS100: 15 ppm simplex scanning with HP WorkScan software Check price on Amazon
Best Basic Canon LiDE 300: 2400 dpi flatbed with Auto Scan for documents and images Check price on Amazon
Best Wireless Epson ES-60W: Battery wireless scanning at 4 seconds per page with OCR Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Office Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Canon LiDE 400 | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | Epson V19 II | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | HP HPPS100 | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | Canon LiDE 300 | 9.4/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | Epson ES-60W | 9.4/10 | Buy on Amazon |

Canon LiDE 400
A slim flatbed scanner with 4800 dpi resolution, 8 second scans and a single USB-C cable.
Pros
- 4800 x 4800 dpi resolution for detailed photos
- High speed scans in 8 seconds over USB-C
- One cable for data and power
- EZ buttons with auto scan and editable searchable PDFs
Cons
- Flatbed only, with no sheet feeder stated
- No wireless connection stated
- 3.6 pounds for a slim scanner
- Paper sizes limited to the stated sizes
Detailed Review
Canon lists the LiDE 400 as a slim scanner with 4800 x 4800 dpi resolution, high speed scanning in 8 seconds over an included USB Type-C cable that carries data and power. EZ buttons and auto scan mode detect what is being scanned, and built-in PDF buttons scan and save multi-page PDFs that are editable and searchable. Color restore and dust removal are stated for photo enhancement. Paper sizes are 8.27 x 11.69 and 8.50 x 11.69, and weight is 3.6 pounds. A 1-Year Limited Warranty with InstantExchange Program is stated.
Who it's for: photo and document scanning at a desk with one USB-C cable. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a sheet feeder or wireless scanning.
Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 2/5: 76 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Resolution | 4800 x 4800 dpi |
|---|---|
| Speed | 8 seconds |
| Connection | USB Type-C |
| Warranty | 1-Year Limited with InstantExchange |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 24 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. 1-Year Limited Warranty with InstantExchange Program. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.
Shredder and printer safety. Keep hair, ties, jewelry, children and pets away from the feed slot, use the safety lock, unplug when not in use, and give printers and adapters room to vent.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Epson V19 II
A flatbed photo scanner with 4800 dpi resolution, 10 second letter scans and a high-rise lid.
Pros
- 4800 dpi optical resolution for photos and documents
- Letter scans in 10 seconds
- High-rise removable lid for books and thick items
- Easy Photo Fix restores color to faded photos
Cons
- USB connection only, with no wireless stated
- Flatbed only, with no feeder stated
- 3.1 pounds for a compact flatbed
- No OCR software is stated
Detailed Review
Epson lists the Perfection V19 II as a flatbed photo scanner with 4800 dpi optical resolution, scanning up to 8.5 x 11.7 inches and letter-sized documents in 10 seconds. A high-rise removable lid handles books and thick items, and Easy Photo Fix restores color to faded photos with one click. The scanner is USB-powered and weighs 3.1 pounds. A 1-year limited warranty is stated.
Who it's for: photo restoration and book scanning at a home desk. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a feeder or wireless scanning.
Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 2/5: 74 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Resolution | 4800 dpi |
|---|---|
| Speed | 10 seconds letter |
| Lid | High-rise removable |
| Warranty | 1-year limited |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 24 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. 1-year limited warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.
Shredder and printer safety. Keep hair, ties, jewelry, children and pets away from the feed slot, use the safety lock, unplug when not in use, and give printers and adapters room to vent.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

HP HPPS100
A small USB sheetfed scanner with 15 ppm simplex speed, wide paper range and HP WorkScan software.
Pros
- 15 ppm simplex speed, 4 seconds per page
- Paper range from 2 x 2.9 to 8.5 x 14 inches
- USB 2.0 powered with cable included
- HP WorkScan software with auto-scan and size detection
Cons
- Bullets state 1200 dpi while the spec table states 300 dpi
- Weight listed as both 0.8 lbs and 3 ounces
- One-sided scanning only, with no duplex stated
- Single feed only, with no multi-page feeder
Detailed Review
HP lists the HPPS100 as a small USB document and photo scanner with simplex one-sided scanning at 15 ppm, or 4 seconds per page, with HP WorkScan software for Windows and MacOS. Paper sizes range from 2 x 2.9 inches to 8.5 x 14 inches, and output includes PDF and JPG formats. Two wrinkles: the bullets state 1200 dpi while the spec table states 300 dpi, and dimensions list 0.8 lbs while item weight lists 3 ounces, so the bullets win on resolution and the dimensions figure is used here. A 2 Year Limited warranty is stated.
Who it's for: portable one-sided scanning of invoices, contracts and cards. Who should skip it: anyone who needs duplex scanning or a feeder.
Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 3/5: 71 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Speed | 15 ppm, 4 seconds per page |
|---|---|
| Resolution | 1200 dpi (bullets) |
| Paper range | 2 x 2.9 to 8.5 x 14 inches |
| Warranty | 2 Year Limited |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 24 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. 2 Year Limited. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Shredder and printer safety. Keep hair, ties, jewelry, children and pets away from the feed slot, use the safety lock, unplug when not in use, and give printers and adapters room to vent.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Canon LiDE 300
A USB flatbed scanner with 2400 dpi resolution and Auto Scan Mode for documents and images.
Pros
- 2400 x 2400 dpi optical resolution
- Auto Scan Mode detects what is being scanned
- USB powered at 4.5 watts
- Handles documents, photos, receipts and business cards
Cons
- No scan speed is stated
- Flatbed only, with no feeder stated
- 3.6 pounds, same weight as the LiDE 400
- USB 2.0 cable rather than USB-C
Detailed Review
Canon lists the LiDE 300 as a document scanner with USB connectivity, Auto Scan Mode that detects what is being scanned, and PDF, autoscan, copy and send functions. Resolution is 2400 x 2400 dpi optical, power is 4.5 watts, and media includes photo, receipt, business card and paper. One wrinkle: the built-in media lists a CanoScan LiDE 400 scanner and setup CD, while the title and item type name the LiDE 300, so the title wins here. A 1-Year Limited Warranty is stated.
Who it's for: basic flatbed scanning at a desk over USB. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a stated scan speed or USB-C.
Its Office Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 27/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 2/5: 69 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Resolution | 2400 x 2400 dpi |
|---|---|
| Connection | USB |
| Power | 4.5 watts |
| Warranty | 1-Year Limited |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 24 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No safety lock or safety listing is stated, so safety scores zero. 1-Year Limited Warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.
Shredder and printer safety. Keep hair, ties, jewelry, children and pets away from the feed slot, use the safety lock, unplug when not in use, and give printers and adapters room to vent.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Epson ES-60W
A battery-powered wireless mobile scanner that scans a page in 4 seconds with OCR software.
Pros
- Battery-powered wireless scanning to PC, Mac, iOS and Android
- Single page in 4 seconds
- Scans documents up to 8.5 x 72 inches, plus ID cards and receipts
- Nuance OCR for searchable PDFs and editable Word and Excel files
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- Single-sheet feed only, with no feeder stated
- Operating temperature limited to 41 to 95 °F per the listing
- No scan preview display is stated
Detailed Review
Epson lists the ES-60W as a wireless compact mobile single-sheet-fed scanner with a battery, scanning a single page in 4 seconds to PC, Mac, iOS or Android devices. It switches between USB and battery-powered wireless on its own, with an LCD showing wireless and battery status. ScanSmart software, Nuance OCR for searchable PDFs and editable Word and Excel files, a TWAIN driver and scan to cloud are stated. Paper handling covers documents up to 8.5 x 72 inches, ID cards and receipts. Operating temperature is 41 to 95 °F. No warranty term is stated.
Who it's for: wireless one-page scanning on the move with OCR. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a feeder or a stated warranty term.
Its Office Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 74 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Speed | 4 seconds per page |
|---|---|
| Connection | Wi-Fi, USB |
| Paper | Up to 8.5 x 72 inches |
| Battery | Battery-powered wireless |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 24 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No safety lock or safety listing is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Shredder and printer safety. Keep hair, ties, jewelry, children and pets away from the feed slot, use the safety lock, unplug when not in use, and give printers and adapters room to vent.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
Brother DS-640Compact mobile scanner at up to 16 ppm over USBCheck on Amazon
Canon imageFORMULA R10Portable USB scanner with duplex scanning and 20 sheet feederCheck on Amazon
ScanSnap iX1300 BlackBlack compact wireless scanner with auto and manual feedersCheck on Amazon
Hczrc Portable WandHandheld wand scanner to 900 dpi with included 16G cardCheck on Amazon
AOZBZ Handheld WandHandheld wand scanner with 3 resolution modes to 900 dpiCheck on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Scanner | Office Score | Type | Resolution | Speed | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Canon LiDE 400 | 9.6/10 | Flatbed | 4800 dpi | 8 seconds | 1-Year Limited | View on Amazon |
| Epson V19 II | 9.5/10 | Flatbed | 4800 dpi | 10 seconds | 1-year limited | View on Amazon |
| HP HPPS100 | 9.5/10 | Sheetfed simplex | 1200 dpi | 15 ppm | 2 Year Limited | View on Amazon |
| Canon LiDE 300 | 9.4/10 | Flatbed | 2400 dpi | Not stated | 1-Year Limited | View on Amazon |
| Epson ES-60W | 9.4/10 | Sheetfed mobile | 1200 | 4 seconds per page | Not stated | View on Amazon |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 24 October 2026. Four of the five state a warranty term.
How we scored them
The Office Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For scanners, safety means stated protective features; none are stated here, so safety is zero for all five. Four of the five state a warranty term. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Office Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Canon LiDE 400 | 9.6 | 32 | 21 | 21 | 0 | 2 |
| Epson V19 II | 9.5 | 30 | 21 | 21 | 0 | 2 |
| HP HPPS100 | 9.5 | 28 | 20 | 20 | 0 | 3 |
| Canon LiDE 300 | 9.4 | 27 | 20 | 20 | 0 | 2 |
| Epson ES-60W | 9.4 | 32 | 21 | 21 | 0 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best usb document scanner
Flatbed or sheetfed
Flatbeds suit photos, books and thick items, while sheetfed models suit single pages on the move. The LiDE 400, LiDE 300 and V19 II are flatbeds, with the V19 II high-rise lid lifting for books. The HP HPPS100 and the ES-60W are single-sheet models for a bag or briefcase, and the portable printer for travel guide covers the same pack-light logic.
Resolution for photos vs documents
Resolution runs from 1200 on the ES-60W to 4800 dpi on the LiDE 400 and V19 II, with the LiDE 300 at 2400 x 2400 dpi. The HP bullets state 1200 dpi while its spec table states 300 dpi, so check the listing note in its review. For photo work, the 4800 dpi flatbeds lead; for plain documents, any resolution here covers the page.
USB, USB-C or wireless
Only the ES-60W scans wirelessly, switching between USB and battery-powered wireless on its own. The LiDE 400 uses a single USB-C cable for data and power, while the LiDE 300, V19 II and HP use USB connections. A spare USB printer cable keeps a USB scanner working when the included cable is short.
Speed in seconds or pages per minute
Speed is stated two ways here. The ES-60W and the HP scan a page in 4 seconds, the LiDE 400 scans in 8 seconds and the V19 II scans a letter in 10 seconds, while the HP also states 15 ppm. The LiDE 300 states no speed, so compare it on resolution and features instead.
| Scanner | Type | Resolution | Speed |
|---|---|---|---|
| Canon LiDE 400 | Flatbed | 4800 dpi | 8 seconds |
| Epson V19 II | Flatbed | 4800 dpi | 10 seconds |
| HP HPPS100 | Sheetfed simplex | 1200 dpi | 15 ppm |
| Canon LiDE 300 | Flatbed | 2400 dpi | Not stated |
| Epson ES-60W | Sheetfed mobile | 1200 | 4 seconds per page |
Setup Notes
- Measure desk space: the LiDE 300 is 14.5 x 9.9 x 1.7 inches and the V19 II is 9.9 x 9.9 x 1.5 inches.
- Keep a USB port free: the LiDE 400 uses one USB-C cable for data and power, and the HP uses USB 2.0 with cable included.
- The ES-60W runs on battery or USB; check the LCD for wireless and battery status before a scanning run.
- The V19 II lid lifts for books; leave clearance above the scanner for thick items.
- Check system requirements: the listings state Windows 7 as a minimum.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which scanner here is wireless?
The Epson ES-60W scans wirelessly to PC, Mac, iOS and Android devices, and switches between USB and battery-powered wireless on its own. The other four list USB connections only.
Which scanner is fastest?
The ES-60W and the HP both scan a page in 4 seconds. The LiDE 400 scans in 8 seconds and the V19 II scans a letter in 10 seconds. The LiDE 300 states no speed.
Which scanners handle photos?
The LiDE 400 and V19 II offer 4800 dpi for photos, and the LiDE 300 offers 2400 x 2400 dpi. The HP lists photo media, while the ES-60W lists paper and receipt media.
Do these scanners need software installed?
The HP uses HP WorkScan software for Windows and MacOS, and the ES-60W uses Epson ScanSmart software. The LiDE models include a setup CD, and no installation-free claim is stated for them.
Which scanners state a warranty?
Four state a term: the LiDE 300 and LiDE 400 at 1-Year Limited, the V19 II at 1-year limited, and the HP at 2 Year Limited. The ES-60W states no warranty term.
Related guides
See every home office printer guide and all office machines and storage guides. Also see our best USB printer cable, best portable printer for travel and best printer stand for home office.
More picks: printers, label makers and shredders, desk organizers.




