Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Home office gear, compared spec by spec.

Label Makers and Shredders

Best Binding Machine for Paper Books (2026): 5 Compared

Comb and thermal binding machines for paper books compared by punch capacity, binding capacity, margins and included spines, from comb binders to a no-preheat thermal binder.

Best Binding Machine for Paper Books (2026): 5 Compared

A stack of loose pages on a home desk waits for a cover, and the best binding machine for paper books turns that stack into a book you can shelve. This guide compared comb binding machines and a thermal binding machine for paper books, using only what each listing publishes: punch capacity, binding capacity, margin settings, included spines and stated safety features. The picks below cover manual punch-and-bind machines and a no-preheat thermal binder, ranked by those stated specs.

OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • BEMPUS Thermal Binder
    Best Overall BEMPUS Thermal Binder: Thermal binding with no preheat, air cooling and overheating protection. Check price on Amazon
  • MAKEASY Comb Binder
    Best Comb Binder MAKEASY Comb Binder: 21-hole comb binding for Letter, A4 and A5 with 100 spines included. Check price on Amazon
  • Binditek Comb Binder
    Best Adjustable Margin Binditek Comb Binder: Margin settings at 2mm, 3mm, 4mm and 5mm plus a waste drawer. Check price on Amazon
  • OFFNOVA Comb Binder
    Best Dual-Arm OFFNOVA Comb Binder: Fully assembled dual-arm binder with 100 spines and a comb protector. Check price on Amazon
  • MYFULLY Comb Binder
    Best Starter Kit MYFULLY Comb Binder: 100 black and white comb spines included for Letter, A4 and A5. Check price on Amazon

The picks

BEMPUS Thermal Binder

BEMPUS Thermal Binder

BEMPUS9.6/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A thermal binder that binds documents without punching, with no preheat time, air cooling and overheating protection for A4, A5 and Letter sizes.

Pros

  • Binds up to 450-500 sheets without punching
  • 700W heating with no preheat time
  • Air cooling system for quick cooling
  • Overheating protection that powers the machine down

Cons

  • Thermal binding only, no comb or coil option
  • Binding covers are not stated as included
  • Cooling takes 2-3 minutes per document
  • No warranty term is stated
Detailed Review

The BEMPUS listing describes a thermal binding machine that binds up to 450-500 sheets with 700W heating, no preheat time, a digital touch panel and an air cooling system, for A4, A5 and Letter sizes. The listing states overheating protection that powers the machine down if the internal temperature gets too high, and directs the user to cool each document for 2-3 minutes. Binding covers are not stated as included, so covers must come from elsewhere.

Who it's for: home offices and classrooms that want bound books without punching holes. Who should skip it: buyers who want a comb binder for documents that change often.

Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 77 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
BindingThermal
Capacity450-500 sheets
Power700W
Weight4.41 pounds

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Overheating protection that powers the machine down if the internal temperature gets too high, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Shredder and printer safety. Keep hair, ties, jewelry, children and pets away from the feed slot, use the safety lock, unplug when not in use, and give printers and adapters room to vent.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

MAKEASY Comb Binder

MAKEASY Comb Binder

MAKEASY9.5/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 21-hole comb binder for Letter, A4 and A5 paper with included comb spines and an adjustable edge guide.

Pros

  • 21-hole punch for Letter, A4 and A5 paper
  • Binds up to 400 sheets with 2 inch comb spines
  • 100 comb spines included in the box
  • Metal construction with an adjustable edge guide from 3mm to 5mm

Cons

  • Included spines cover 50-60 sheets; 2 inch spines are not included
  • Punches 10-12 sheets per pass
  • No waste compartment is stated
  • No warranty term is stated
Detailed Review

The MAKEASY listing describes a 21-hole comb binding machine for Letter size (19 holes), A4 size (21 holes) and A5 size (15 holes), with an edge guide from 3mm to 5mm and a curved handle. It punches 10-12 sheets per pass and binds up to 400 sheets with 2 inch comb spines, which are not included; the included 3/8 inch spines cover 50-60 sheets. The listing states a metal build and dimensions of 16.9 x 7.1 x 12.4 inches.

Who it's for: homeschool and small office users binding Letter, A4 and A5 documents. Who should skip it: buyers who need more than 400 sheets in one book or a thermal finish.

Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 72 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
BindingComb
Holes21
Max binding400 sheets
Weight8.15 pounds

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Shredder and printer safety. Keep hair, ties, jewelry, children and pets away from the feed slot, use the safety lock, unplug when not in use, and give printers and adapters room to vent.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Binditek Comb Binder

Binditek Comb Binder

Binditek9.5/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 19-hole comb binder for Letter and smaller sizes with an adjustable margin, a waste drawer and included comb spines.

Pros

  • 450-sheet maximum binding capacity
  • Adjustable margin at 2mm, 3mm, 4mm and 5mm
  • Drawer-type waste compartment for paper scraps
  • 100 comb spines included in the box

Cons

  • Title figure of 145 sheets does not match the bullets: included spines cover up to 90 sheets
  • Spec table lists Plastic while the bullets describe a cast iron base
  • Punches 10-12 sheets per pass
  • No warranty term is stated
Detailed Review

The Binditek listing describes a 19-hole comb binding machine for Letter size, with an adjustable margin at 2mm, 3mm, 4mm and 5mm, a drawer-type waste compartment and a curved handle. It punches 10-12 sheets per pass and binds up to 450 sheets with 2 inch comb spines, which are not included; the included 1/2 inch spines cover up to 90 sheets. Two listing clashes need care: the title figure of 145 sheets does not match the bullets, and the spec table lists Plastic while the bullets describe a cast iron base with an ABS shell. Trust the bullets over the spec table.

Who it's for: buyers who want an adjustable margin and a waste drawer for regular binding. Who should skip it: buyers who want a thermal binder or a stated warranty term.

Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 71 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
BindingComb
Holes19
Max binding450 sheets
Weight8.82 pounds

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Shredder and printer safety. Keep hair, ties, jewelry, children and pets away from the feed slot, use the safety lock, unplug when not in use, and give printers and adapters room to vent.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

OFFNOVA Comb Binder

OFFNOVA Comb Binder

OFFNOVA9.5/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A fully assembled 21-hole comb binder with a dual-arm handle, adjustable margin and included comb spines.

Pros

  • Fully assembled for immediate use
  • Dual-arm handle for punching with less force
  • Adjustable margin at 3mm, 4mm and 5mm
  • 100 comb spines, a comb protector and oil-absorbing paper included

Cons

  • Punches 10-12 sheets per pass
  • 450-sheet binding needs 2 inch spines, not included
  • No waste compartment is stated
  • No warranty term is stated
Detailed Review

The OFFNOVA listing describes a fully assembled 21-hole comb binding machine with a dual-arm handle, an adjustable edge guide at 3mm, 4mm and 5mm, and a cast iron base with a powder-coated surface. It punches 10-12 sheets per pass and binds up to 450 sheets with 2 inch comb spines, which are not included; the box includes 100 comb spines, a comb protector and oil-absorbing paper. The listing states a 7.09 pound weight and dimensions of 17.04 x 11.65 x 7.4 inches.

Who it's for: home and small office users who want a ready-to-use binder with less punching force. Who should skip it: buyers who want a thermal binder or a stated warranty term.

Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 70 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
BindingComb
Holes21
Max binding450 sheets
Weight7.09 pounds

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Shredder and printer safety. Keep hair, ties, jewelry, children and pets away from the feed slot, use the safety lock, unplug when not in use, and give printers and adapters room to vent.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

MYFULLY Comb Binder

MYFULLY Comb Binder

MYFULLY9.4/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 21-hole comb binder for Letter, A4 and A5 paper with a starter kit of comb spines and an adjustable edge guide.

Pros

  • 100 comb spines in black and white included
  • 450-sheet maximum binding capacity
  • Adjustable edge guide with 3mm, 4mm and 5mm margins
  • Solid metal housing with non-slip feet and high-leverage arm

Cons

  • Bullets state 6.3 pounds while the spec table states 9.11 pounds
  • Spec table lists Polyvinyl Chloride while the bullets describe a solid metal housing
  • Punches 10-12 sheets per pass
  • No warranty term is stated
Detailed Review

The MYFULLY listing describes a 21-hole comb binding machine for Letter size (19 holes), A4 size (21 holes) and A5 size (15 holes), with an adjustable edge guide at 3mm, 4mm and 5mm and a high-leverage arm. It punches 10-12 sheets per pass and binds up to 450 sheets with 2 inch comb plastic bindings, and the box includes 100 comb spines in black and white. Two listing clashes need care: the bullets state 6.3 pounds while the spec table states 9.11 pounds, and the spec table lists Polyvinyl Chloride while the bullets describe a solid metal housing. Trust the bullets over the spec table.

Who it's for: school and small office users who want a starter kit of spines in two colors. Who should skip it: buyers who want a thermal binder or a stated warranty term.

Its Office Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 19/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 69 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
BindingComb
Holes21
Max binding450 sheets
Weight6.3 pounds

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Shredder and printer safety. Keep hair, ties, jewelry, children and pets away from the feed slot, use the safety lock, unplug when not in use, and give printers and adapters room to vent.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

  • OFFNOVA Thermal BinderOFFNOVA Thermal BinderFor no-preheat thermal binding with air cooling and included covers.Check on Amazon
  • OFFNOVA Comb Binder GrayOFFNOVA Comb Binder GrayFor gray comb binding with a dual-arm handle and adjustable margin.Check on Amazon
  • Loyala Thermal BinderLoyala Thermal BinderFor thermal binding with auto standby and included covers.Check on Amazon
  • Spiral Coil BinderSpiral Coil BinderFor spiral coil binding with an electric coil inserter.Check on Amazon
  • Lumoshine Spiral Coil BinderLumoshine Spiral Coil BinderFor spiral coil binding with electric coil insert and included coils.Check on Amazon

Compare the picks

Binding Machine Office Score Binding Type Max Binding Max Punch Included Spines Amazon
BEMPUS Thermal Binder 9.6/10 Thermal 450-500 sheets Not stated Not stated View on Amazon
MAKEASY Comb Binder 9.5/10 Comb 400 sheets 10-12 sheets 100 spines View on Amazon
Binditek Comb Binder 9.5/10 Comb 450 sheets 10-12 sheets 100 spines View on Amazon
OFFNOVA Comb Binder 9.5/10 Comb 450 sheets 10-12 sheets 100 spines View on Amazon
MYFULLY Comb Binder 9.4/10 Comb 450 sheets 10-12 sheets 100 spines View on Amazon

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 25 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Office Score weighs performance (punch capacity, binding capacity and margin control), build (housing, base and item weight), value for the stated specs, safety and warranty. For a binding machine, safety means a stated protection such as overheating protection or auto shut-off on the listing; only the BEMPUS thermal binder states one. None of the picks states a warranty term. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Office Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
BEMPUS Thermal Binder 9.6 30 20 20 7 0
MAKEASY Comb Binder 9.5 30 21 21 0 0
Binditek Comb Binder 9.5 30 20 21 0 0
OFFNOVA Comb Binder 9.5 29 21 20 0 0
MYFULLY Comb Binder 9.4 29 19 21 0 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best binding machine for paper books

Comb or thermal?

Comb machines punch holes and fit a plastic comb spine, while the thermal binder glues a cover without punching. The MAKEASY, Binditek, OFFNOVA and MYFULLY listings are comb machines that punch and bind in one machine, and the BEMPUS listing is a thermal binder with no preheat time and an air cooling system. A comb binder suits documents that may need pages added later, while a thermal binder suits finished books and proposals. See our electric binding machine picks for more powered options.

Check binding capacity against the book

Maximum binding capacity differs by listing: the MAKEASY listing states 400 sheets, the Binditek, OFFNOVA and MYFULLY listings state 450 sheets, and the BEMPUS listing states 450-500 sheets. Those maximums need 2 inch comb spines, which are not included, while the included spines cover smaller books: the MAKEASY box includes 3/8 inch spines for 50-60 sheets and the Binditek box includes 1/2 inch spines for up to 90 sheets. Match the spine size to the book before ordering, and check whether covers are included, since the BEMPUS listing does not state covers in the box.

Check punch capacity and margins

Every comb listing here punches 10-12 sheets per pass, so thick books need several passes. Margin control also differs: the Binditek listing states margins at 2mm, 3mm, 4mm and 5mm, while the MAKEASY, OFFNOVA and MYFULLY listings state 3mm, 4mm and 5mm. The OFFNOVA listing adds a dual-arm handle for punching with less force, and the Binditek listing adds a drawer-type waste compartment for paper scraps. For small business use, see our binding machine for small business picks.

Check the desk footprint and weight

Binding machines are desk-sized tools with real footprints. The BEMPUS listing states 17.69 x 12.37 x 5.04 inches at 4.41 pounds, the MAKEASY listing states 16.9 x 7.1 x 12.4 inches at 8.15 pounds, and the Binditek listing states 15.91 x 11.61 x 6.81 inches at 8.82 pounds. The OFFNOVA listing states 17.04 x 11.65 x 7.4 inches at 7.09 pounds, and the MYFULLY listing states 14 x 10 x 7 inches. Measure the desk before ordering, and note that the MYFULLY listing disagrees with its own spec table on weight, as the review explains.

Setup Notes

  • Check the desk footprint: the listings state footprints from 14 x 10 inches to 17.69 x 12.37 inches, so measure the desk before ordering.
  • Plan power for the thermal binder: the BEMPUS listing states 700W heating, so keep its outlet clear.
  • Clean punch waste regularly: the Binditek listing states a drawer-type waste compartment and warns that uncleaned scraps can damage the machine.
  • Check the margin setting before punching: the listings state margins from 2mm to 5mm, so set the edge guide to the book’s margin.
  • Confirm the spine size: included spines cover 50-60 sheets or up to 90 sheets, while 2 inch spines are needed for the maximum capacities.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is a comb binding machine?

A comb binding machine punches holes along the edge of a stack of pages and fits a plastic comb spine through the holes. The comb listings here punch and bind in one machine, with the comb spine holding the book together.

How do comb binding machines work?

Align the pages, press the punching lever to punch holes, and insert the comb spine. The listings here punch 10-12 sheets per pass, so a thick book needs several passes before the comb goes in.

How do you use a binding machine for books?

For a comb binder, punch the pages and insert the comb spine. For a thermal binder, place the document in a binding cover, insert it into the slot, and cool it for 2-3 minutes, as the BEMPUS listing directs.

Can a binding machine bind 500 sheets?

The BEMPUS thermal listing states up to 450-500 sheets. The comb listings state up to 400 sheets or 450 sheets, and those maximums need 2 inch comb spines, which are not included.

Do binding machines include comb spines?

The comb listings here each include 100 comb spines in the box. The BEMPUS thermal listing does not state binding covers in the box, so covers must come from elsewhere.

BEMPUS Thermal Binder
Still deciding? Our top pickBEMPUS Thermal Binder
Check price on Amazon

See every label makers and shredders guide and all office machines and storage guides.

More picks: electric binding machine, binding machine for small business and binding machine for teachers.