A stack of handouts waiting for a binder is where the best three hole punch earns its place on a home desk. Sheets that wander or tear make a binder look messy, so the punch has to line up each sheet the same way, every time. We compared these picks by sheet capacity, build, paper guide and chip tray, using only what each listing publishes.
OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall Bostitch EZ Squeeze 40: 40 sheet capacity, all-metal build, paper guide, lifetime warranty stated Check price on Amazon
Best Classic Bostitch Premium 12: Metal build, rubber base, easy-clean tray, lifetime warranty stated Check price on Amazon
Best Low-Effort PaperPro INCourage: 50% less force claim, No-Jam tech, integrated ruler, 3 year warranty Check price on Amazon
Best Adjustable Amazon Basics 30: Adjustable punch head and paper guide, 30 sheets, locking handle Check price on Amazon
Electric Pick VEYETTE Electric 30: Electric punching with adapter, 30 sheet capacity per the title Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Office Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Bostitch EZ Squeeze 40 | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | Bostitch Premium 12 | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | VEYETTE 8311 Punch Black | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | PaperPro INCourage | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | Amazon Basics 30 | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |

Bostitch EZ Squeeze 40
A heavy-duty manual punch that handles up to 40 sheets in a single press, with an all-metal build, an integrated paper guide and a non-slip rubber base.
Pros
- 40 sheet capacity is the highest stated in this group
- All-metal construction for a long working life in busy rooms
- Integrated paper guide keeps every document centered for clean binders
- Removable chip tray and non-slip rubber base for easy cleanup and stability
Cons
- No hole diameter is stated in the listing
- No adjustable punch head is stated, unlike the semi-adjustable Amazon Basics pick
- 3.4 lb weight suits a set spot on the desk rather than a drawer
- Manual operation only, while the VEYETTE pick is the one electric option here
Detailed Review
Bostitch lists the EZ Squeeze 40 as a heavy-duty 3-hole punch that punches up to 40 sheets, with all-metal construction, an integrated paper guide, a removable chip tray and a non-slip rubber base. The spec table states 11.1 by 7.4 by 3.1 in dimensions, a 3.4 lb weight and a Limited Lifetime Warranty. The title, bullets and spec table agree on the 40 sheet capacity and the manual operation, so there is no contradiction to resolve.
Who it's for: a home worker or teacher who punches thick stacks often and wants the highest stated capacity here. Who should skip it: anyone who needs an adjustable punch head or a stated hole diameter.
Its Office Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 22/25, value 21/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 4/5: 84 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Sheet Capacity | 40 sheets |
|---|---|
| Operation | Manual |
| Dimensions | 11.1 by 7.4 by 3.1 in |
| Weight | 3.4 lb |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Non-slip rubber base and removable chip tray are stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. Limited Lifetime Warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.
Follow the manual. Assemble and use the product as the maker describes, stay under any stated capacity, and read the manual before first use.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Bostitch Premium 12
A classic metal 3-hole punch with 12 sheet capacity, a rubber base for desktop protection and an easy-clean chip tray.
Pros
- Durable metal construction for a long working life
- Rubber base protects the desktop and keeps the punch steady
- Easy-clean chip tray prevents mess on the desk
- 0.28 inch hole diameter is stated for standard 3-ring binders
Cons
- 12 sheet capacity is lower than the 30 and 40 sheet picks here
- No paper guide is stated in the listing
- No dimensions are stated in the spec table
- Gray finish only in this listing
Detailed Review
Bostitch lists the Premium 12 as a classic 3-hole punch with 12 sheet capacity, durable metal construction, a rubber base and an easy-clean chip tray. The spec table states a 0.28 inch hole diameter, manual operation and a Limited Lifetime Warranty. The title, bullets and spec table agree on the 12 sheet capacity and the metal build, so there is no contradiction to resolve.
Who it's for: a home worker who punches small piles and wants a simple metal punch with a stated lifetime term. Who should skip it: anyone who punches thick stacks or needs a stated paper guide.
Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 27/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 4/5: 77 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Sheet Capacity | 12 sheets |
|---|---|
| Hole Diameter | 0.28 inches |
| Material | Metal |
| Operation | Manual |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Rubber base for desktop protection and stability is stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. Limited Lifetime Warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.
Follow the manual. Assemble and use the product as the maker describes, stay under any stated capacity, and read the manual before first use.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

VEYETTE 8311 Punch Black
A heavy duty commercial electric 3-hole punch with a 30-sheet capacity, an adapter and a drawer for paper scraps.
Pros
- 30-sheet capacity with an adjustable paper guide
- Adapter included in the package for power
- Drawer for paper scraps keeps the desk clean
- Commercial build for office, school and studio use
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- Spec table lists material as Paper, which reads as a listing error
- Bullets describe a gray covering while title and spec table state Black
- No jam-reverse feature is stated
Detailed Review
VEYETTE lists a heavy duty commercial electric 3-hole punch with a 30-sheet capacity and an adjustable paper guide. The maker states an adapter is included in the package for power and a drawer holds paper scraps to keep the desk clean. The listing states a 7.1 millimeter hole diameter, dimensions of 15 by 3 by 7 inches and a weight of 6.6 pounds. Inside the listing, the bullets describe a sleek gray covering while the title and spec table state Black, and the spec table lists the material type as Paper, which reads as a listing error; this review uses the title color and states no material.
Who it's for: offices and schools that want a 30-sheet commercial punch with an adapter. Who should skip it: anyone who needs jam-reverse handling or a stated warranty term.
Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 76 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Capacity | 30 sheets |
|---|---|
| Hole diameter | 7.1 mm |
| Power | Adapter included |
| Dimensions | 15 by 3 by 7 in |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Drawer for paper scraps stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Shredder and printer safety. Keep hair, ties, jewelry, children and pets away from the feed slot, use the safety lock, unplug when not in use, and give printers and adapters room to vent.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

PaperPro INCourage
A 12 sheet metal punch with EZ Squeeze action claiming 50% less force, No-Jam technology and an integrated ruler.
Pros
- EZ Squeeze action claims 50% less force than a standard punch
- No-Jam technology for smooth punching without jams
- Integrated ruler for convenient measuring at the desk
- Metal construction with a paper guide for hole placement accuracy
Cons
- Spec table disagrees with the title: it lists 10 sheets and 1 hole against 12 sheets and 3 holes
- Color options disagree between spec fields, with assorted colors and no choice stated
- Paper guide is listed as no data in the spec table, though the bullets state one
- 12 sheet capacity is lower than the 30 and 40 sheet picks here
Detailed Review
PaperPro lists the INCourage as a 3-hole punch with 12 sheet capacity, EZ Squeeze action claiming 50% less force, No-Jam technology, metal construction, an integrated ruler, a paper guide and an easy-clean chip tray. The spec table disagrees with the title: it lists a 10 sheet count and a 1 hole count, and it lists the paper guide, metal and ruler as no data. Trusting the title and bullets over the spec table, this is a 12 sheet, 3-hole punch with a paper guide. The spec table also disagrees on color, listing Gray and Blue assorted colors with no choice against Pink, White and Black, and it states a 3 Year warranty, 11 by 3 by 1.6 in dimensions and a 15.2 ounce weight.
Who it's for: a home worker who wants lighter punching effort and a ruler on the punch itself. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a listing whose spec table matches its title, or a higher sheet capacity.
Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 27/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 3/5: 75 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Sheet Capacity | 12 sheets |
|---|---|
| Operation | Manual |
| Warranty | 3 Year |
| Weight | 15.2 ounces |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Locking handle for storage and a paper guide are stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. 3 Year. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Follow the manual. Assemble and use the product as the maker describes, stay under any stated capacity, and read the manual before first use.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Amazon Basics 30
A semi-adjustable 3-hole punch that handles up to 30 sheets, with an adjustable punch head, an adjustable paper guide and a handle that locks down for storage.
Pros
- 30 sheet capacity suits high-volume punching at home or in a classroom
- Adjustable punch head can adjust the hole distance and reduce the number of holes
- Adjustable paper guide adapts to different paper sizes
- Handle locks in the down position for compact storage
Cons
- No warranty term is stated in the listing
- Spec table lists Material Type as Paper while the bullets describe a metal punch head
- 3.8 lb weight is the heaviest stated weight in this group
- No rubber base is stated in the listing
Detailed Review
Amazon Basics lists the Semi-Adjustable 30 as a 3-hole punch that punches up to 30 sheets of standard weight paper, with an adjustable punch head, an adjustable paper guide, an easy-access tray and a handle that locks down for storage. The bullets name letter-size paper at 8.5 x 11 inches and a 6 millimeter hole diameter. The spec table disagrees on material, listing Material Type as Paper while the bullets describe a powerful metal punch head and the included components list metal, so the bullets win and this is a metal-head punch. The spec table states 10.43 by 5.31 by 4.92 in dimensions and a 3.8 lb weight, and it states no warranty term.
Who it's for: a home worker who punches varied paper sizes and wants to adjust the hole count. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a stated warranty term or a lighter punch.
Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 22/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 76 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Sheet Capacity | 30 sheets |
|---|---|
| Operation | Manual |
| Dimensions | 10.43 by 5.31 by 4.92 in |
| Weight | 3.8 lb |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Handle locks in the down position for compact storage, so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Follow the manual. Assemble and use the product as the maker describes, stay under any stated capacity, and read the manual before first use.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
Bostitch 12-Sheet BlackSuits a small desk: classic 12 sheet metal punch with rubber base.Check on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Three Hole Punch | Office Score | Sheet Capacity | Operation | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bostitch EZ Squeeze 40 | 9.7/10 | 40 sheets | Manual | Limited Lifetime Warranty | View on Amazon |
| Bostitch Premium 12 | 9.6/10 | 12 sheets | Manual | Limited Lifetime Warranty | View on Amazon |
| PaperPro INCourage | 9.5/10 | 12 sheets | Manual | 3 Year | View on Amazon |
| Amazon Basics 30 | 9.5/10 | 30 sheets | Manual | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| VEYETTE Electric 30 | 9.6/10 | 30 sheets | Electric | Not stated |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 25 October 2026. Three of the five state a warranty term, and four state a safety feature.
How we scored them
The Office Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For a hole punch, performance means sheet capacity and how the punch head lines up the holes, build means the stated materials and item weight, and value means what the stated specs give for the class. Safety here means a stable base, a handle that locks down for storage, and a chip tray that holds scraps. Three listings state a warranty term: two state a Limited Lifetime Warranty and one states 3 years, while two state no warranty term. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Office Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bostitch EZ Squeeze 40 | 9.7 | 32 | 22 | 21 | 5 | 4 |
| Bostitch Premium 12 | 9.6 | 27 | 21 | 20 | 5 | 4 |
| PaperPro INCourage | 9.5 | 27 | 20 | 20 | 5 | 3 |
| Amazon Basics 30 | 9.5 | 29 | 20 | 22 | 5 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best three hole punch
Match sheet capacity to the stack
Sheet capacity is the first number to check, because it decides how often you stop to split a stack. The Bostitch EZ Squeeze 40 handles up to 40 sheets in a single press, the Amazon Basics 30 and the VEYETTE Electric 30 each handle up to 30 sheets, and the Bostitch Premium 12 and the PaperPro INCourage each handle up to 12 sheets. A 12 sheet punch suits a small pile of handouts, while a 30 or 40 sheet punch suits a full binder refill in one sitting. The Amazon Basics 30 is also the pick that names letter-size paper at 8.5 x 11 inches, so check your paper size against the guide before you buy. A best hole punch for cardstock guide is worth a look if your stacks run thicker than plain paper.
Manual or electric
Four of these picks are manual and one is electric. The VEYETTE Electric 30 is the only pick that runs on power, and its title states an adapter is included, so plan a nearby outlet for it. The manual picks need no power at all, and each one trades force for control: the PaperPro INCourage claims 50% less force with its EZ Squeeze action, while the Bostitch EZ Squeeze 40 leans on a heavy-duty head for its 40 sheet capacity. If the punch will live in a shared room, the manual picks also stay silent, which matters on calls. See our best electric hole punch guide for more powered options.
Guides, trays and storage
A paper guide is what keeps holes in the same place from sheet to sheet. The Bostitch EZ Squeeze 40 states an integrated paper guide, the Amazon Basics 30 states an adjustable paper guide that adapts to different paper sizes, and the PaperPro INCourage states a paper guide for hole placement accuracy. Chip trays matter just as much: the Bostitch Premium 12 states an easy-clean chip tray, the Bostitch EZ Squeeze 40 states a removable chip tray, and the Amazon Basics 30 states an easy-access tray for removing scraps. For storage, the Amazon Basics 30 handle locks in the down position and the PaperPro INCourage states a locking handle, while the Bostitch Premium 12 and the Bostitch EZ Squeeze 40 state a rubber base that keeps the punch from sliding on the desk. More options sit in our label maker and shredder guides.
Read the warranty line, not the headline
Only three listings state a warranty term. The Bostitch EZ Squeeze 40 and the Bostitch Premium 12 each state a Limited Lifetime Warranty, and the PaperPro INCourage states 3 years. The Amazon Basics 30 and the VEYETTE Electric 30 state no warranty term at all, so a broken head on either one is a new purchase, not a claim. A lifetime term is worth more than a vague promise of support, and a dated term like 3 years at least gives a clear window. Check the table below before you decide how much the warranty line matters to you.
| Three Hole Punch | Sheet Capacity | Warranty |
|---|---|---|
| Bostitch EZ Squeeze 40 | 40 sheets | Limited Lifetime Warranty |
| Bostitch Premium 12 | 12 sheets | Limited Lifetime Warranty |
| PaperPro INCourage | 12 sheets | 3 Year |
| Amazon Basics 30 | 30 sheets | Not stated |
| VEYETTE Electric 30 | 30 sheets | Not stated |
Figures as stated in each listing. Warranty terms are quoted from the spec table or title of each listing.
Setup Notes
- Measure the desk footprint against the stated dimensions: the Bostitch EZ Squeeze 40 states 11.1 by 7.4 by 3.1 in and the Amazon Basics 30 states 10.43 by 5.31 by 4.92 in.
- Check the paper size against the guide: the Amazon Basics 30 names letter-size paper at 8.5 x 11 inches.
- Plan power only for the electric pick: the VEYETTE Electric 30 title states an adapter is included, while the manual picks need no outlet.
- Leave room to empty the chip tray: the Bostitch Premium 12, the Bostitch EZ Squeeze 40 and the Amazon Basics 30 each state a tray for scraps.
- No assembly details are stated for any pick, so expect the punch to arrive ready to use.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is a hole punch?
A hole punch is a desk tool that cuts round holes in paper so sheets fit in a binder. The picks here cut 3 holes in the classic configuration for a standard 3-ring binder.
How does a hole punch work?
Paper slides under the punch head against the paper guide, the handle presses the heads through the stack, and the scraps fall into the chip tray. A locking handle holds the punch closed for storage on the picks that state one.
How do you punch holes in paper for a binder?
Line the sheets up against the paper guide so every sheet sits the same way, press the handle down in one smooth motion, then check that the holes line up with the binder rings before punching the rest of the stack. On the Amazon Basics 30, the adjustable punch head can also reduce the number of holes as needed.
Related guides
See every label maker and shredder guide and all office machines and storage guides. Also see our best electric hole punch guide and our best hole punch for cardstock guide.
More picks: best hole punch machine, best hole punch set and best paper shredder for teachers.




