Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Home office gear, compared spec by spec.

Label Makers and Shredders

Best Hole Punch for Cardstock (2026): 4 Picks Compared

Hole punches for cardstock compared by sheet capacity, hole size and build, with more picks for tags, badges and heavier card.

Best Hole Punch for Cardstock (2026): 4 Picks Compared

A stack of cardstock waits beside the binder, and finding the best hole punch for cardstock starts with matching the tool to the material, because the wrong punch turns a tidy job into torn edges and ragged holes. We compared hole punches by sheet capacity, hole size, build, grip and warranty term, using only what each listing publishes, and added more picks for tags and badges.

OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Swingline 74017
    Best Overall Swingline 74017: 20 sheet capacity, solid metal body, hinged chip compartment Check price on Amazon
  • LYHLYA T-Slot Punch
    Best T-Slot LYHLYA T-Slot Punch: T-slot holes in cardstock and plastic, visible blade edge Check price on Amazon
  • CNTVO 2-Pack
    Best Two-Pack CNTVO 2-Pack: Two sizes in one pack, soft grip, 8 to 10 sheet capacity Check price on Amazon
  • MoHern 2-Pack
    Best Value MoHern 2-Pack: Two hole sizes for paper, leather and tags, 6 sheet capacity Check price on Amazon

The picks

Swingline 74017

Swingline 74017

Swingline9.7/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A solid metal plier punch that cuts a ¼ in hole through 20 sheets with a single press and keeps the chips in a hinged compartment.

Pros

  • 20 sheet capacity is the highest stated here
  • Solid metal body with a slim plier handle that needs less manual force
  • Hinged compartment holds punched chips for tidy disposal
  • 1-year limited warranty is the only stated warranty term here

Cons

  • Only one hole size, while the two-packs offer two sizes
  • Spec table lists an item weight of 22.68 g, which does not match a solid metal tool
  • No soft grip is stated, unlike the CNTVO
  • No bench or desktop base is stated
Detailed Review

Swingline lists the 74017 as a handheld single hole punch in solid metal with a slim plier handle, a ¼ in hole and a 20 sheet capacity, plus a hinged compartment that holds punched chips until you tip them into a waste basket. The listing states reduced effort and a 1-year limited warranty. One figure to treat with care: the spec table lists an item weight of 22.68 g, which does not fit a solid metal punch, so trust the build description over that weight.

Who it's for: someone punching thick stacks of cardstock and paper who wants the highest stated capacity here and a tidy chip compartment. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a second hole size or a T-slot shape.

Its Office Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 22/25, value 21/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 3/5: 83 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Sheet capacity20 sheets
Hole size¼ in
MaterialMetal
Warranty1-year limited

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Hinged chip compartment holds punched chips; slim plier handle needs less manual force, so safety scores 5 of 10. 1-year limited warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Follow the manual. Assemble and use the product as the maker describes, stay under any stated capacity, and read the manual before first use.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

LYHLYA T-Slot Punch

LYHLYA T-Slot Punch

LYHLYA9.6/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A heavy-duty handheld T-slot punch with a visible blade edge for cardstock, cardboard, plastic and PVC.

Pros

  • Visible blade edge lets you place T-slot holes exactly
  • Forged cold-rolled sheet metal with a zinc alloy punch head
  • Spring-assisted press action reduces hand strain
  • Punches cardstock, cardboard, plastic and PVC, not just paper

Cons

  • Spec table lists a 0.25 in pin hole diameter, which does not describe a T-slot
  • No warranty term is stated
  • Single slot shape only; no round hole option in this punch
  • No scrap collection compartment is stated
Detailed Review

LYHLYA lists a handheld T-slot punch with a clear-view blade edge, forged cold-rolled sheet metal and a zinc alloy punch head, spring-assisted press action and burr-free cuts in cardstock, cardboard, plastic and PVC. The listing states a 10 sheet capacity and dimensions of 6 by 2.5 by 1.5 in. One mismatch: the spec table lists a 0.25 in pin hole diameter, which describes a round hole rather than a T-slot, so trust the title and bullets on the slot shape.

Who it's for: someone punching badge slots, hanging tags and retail displays in cardstock and plastic. Who should skip it: anyone who needs round holes for binder rings.

Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 76 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Hole shapeT-slot
MaterialZinc alloy head
Sheet capacity10 sheets
Dimensions6 by 2.5 by 1.5 in

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Visible blade edge for precise placement; spring-assisted press action; burr-free cuts stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Follow the manual. Assemble and use the product as the maker describes, stay under any stated capacity, and read the manual before first use.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

CNTVO 2-Pack

CNTVO 2-Pack

CNTVO9.5/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A two-pack of soft-grip single hole punches in 1/4 inch and 1/8 inch sizes with a scrap collection slot.

Pros

  • Two hole sizes, 1/4 inch and 1/8 inch, in one pack
  • Soft non-slip grip for longer punching sessions
  • Scrap collection slot keeps the desktop tidy
  • Metal body rated for 8 to 10 sheets of A4 paper at once

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • Pink is the only color stated
  • Adjustable hole distance is claimed but no adjustment range is stated
  • 10 sheet figure is for A4 paper; no cardstock sheet count is stated
Detailed Review

CNTVO lists a two-pack of single hole punches in 1/4 inch and 1/8 inch sizes with a metal body, a soft non-slip grip and a scrap collection slot, punching 8 to 10 sheets of A4 paper at once. The listing states uses from gift cards and labels to invitations, scrapbooks and cardboard. The spec table lists a sheet count of 10, which sits at the top of the bullets' 8 to 10 range, so use the range as the working figure.

Who it's for: someone who wants two hole sizes with a soft grip for tags, tickets and craft card. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a stated warranty term or a single heavy-duty punch.

Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 27/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 73 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Hole sizes1/4 and 1/8 in
Sheet capacity8 to 10 sheets
MaterialMetal
GripSoft, non-slip

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Soft non-slip grip; scrap collection slot keeps the desktop tidy, so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Follow the manual. Assemble and use the product as the maker describes, stay under any stated capacity, and read the manual before first use.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

MoHern 2-Pack

MoHern 2-Pack

MoHern9.4/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A two-pack of steel single hole punches in 1/4 inch and 1/8 inch sizes for paper, leather, tags and tickets.

Pros

  • Two hole sizes, 1/4 inch and 1/8 inch, in one pack
  • Steel build with a labor-saving mechanical handle
  • Suits paper, leather, greeting cards, scrapbooks, invitations and plastics
  • Compact single punch that is easy to carry

Cons

  • 6 sheet capacity is the lowest stated here
  • No warranty term is stated
  • Spec table mixes punched materials with build material, listing paper and leather as materials
  • Spec table gives a single 0.25 in hole diameter for a two-size kit
Detailed Review

MoHern lists a two-pack of steel single hole punches in 1/4 inch and 1/8 inch sizes with an ergonomic labor-saving handle, a 6 sheet capacity and uses across office, home, school and ticket checkpoints. The listing states paper, leather, greeting cards, scrapbooks, invitations and plastics as materials it punches. Two spec table quirks: the material field lists paper and leather alongside steel, which are materials the punch works on rather than its build, and the pin hole diameter shows a single 0.25 in figure for a two-size kit, so trust the title on the two sizes.

Who it's for: someone who wants two hole sizes in steel for tags, tickets and light craft work. Who should skip it: anyone punching thick stacks, since 6 sheets is the lowest capacity here.

Its Office Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 24/35, build 19/25, value 20/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 68 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Hole sizes1/4 and 1/8 in
Sheet capacity6 sheets
MaterialSteel
Pack2 punches

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Ergonomic labor-saving handle stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Follow the manual. Assemble and use the product as the maker describes, stay under any stated capacity, and read the manual before first use.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

  • TONOS Heavy Duty PunchTONOS Heavy Duty PunchSingle 1/4 in punch for cardstock and crafts with a scrap trayCheck on Amazon
  • Winlion Badge Slot PunchWinlion Badge Slot PunchSlot punch for ID tags and lanyard holes in cardstock and PVCCheck on Amazon

Compare the picks

Hole Punch Office Score Sheet capacity Hole size Material Warranty Amazon
Swingline 74017 9.7/10 20 sheets ¼ in Metal 1-year limited View on Amazon
LYHLYA T-Slot Punch 9.6/10 10 sheets T-slot Zinc alloy head Not stated View on Amazon
CNTVO 2-Pack 9.5/10 8 to 10 sheets 1/4 and 1/8 in Metal Not stated View on Amazon
MoHern 2-Pack 9.4/10 6 sheets 1/4 and 1/8 in Steel Not stated View on Amazon

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 25 October 2026. Only the Swingline states a warranty term; the other listings state no warranty term.

How we scored them

The Office Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For a hole punch, safety means contained chips, a grip that stays put and a blade edge you can place exactly; each listing here states chips, grip or blade features of that kind. Only the Swingline states a warranty term, a 1-year limited warranty. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Office Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
Swingline 74017 9.7 32 22 21 5 3
LYHLYA T-Slot Punch 9.6 28 21 20 7 0
CNTVO 2-Pack 9.5 27 20 21 5 0
MoHern 2-Pack 9.4 24 19 20 5 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best hole punch for cardstock

Match sheet capacity to the stack

Sheet capacity is the number that decides whether a punch keeps up with the stack. The Swingline cuts 20 sheets with a single press, the LYHLYA lists 10 sheets, the CNTVO lists 8 to 10 sheets of A4 paper, and the MoHern lists 6 sheets. Cardstock is thicker than copy paper, so a higher stated capacity leaves more margin on a thick stack; the Swingline is the pick when the stack is tall, while the MoHern suits light tagging work where the stack stays thin.

Pick the hole shape for the job

Round holes and T-slots serve different jobs. The Swingline cuts a ¼ in round hole, and the CNTVO and MoHern two-packs each cut 1/4 inch and 1/8 inch round holes, which suit tags and tickets. The LYHLYA cuts a T-slot instead, which suits ID cards, hanging tags and retail displays. If the punched sheets feed a binder system, a label maker for home organization keeps the filed pages findable.

Hole Punch Sheet capacity Hole size Handle
Swingline 74017 20 sheets ¼ in Slim plier handle
LYHLYA T-Slot Punch 10 sheets T-slot Spring-assisted press
CNTVO 2-Pack 8 to 10 sheets 1/4 and 1/8 in Soft non-slip grip
MoHern 2-Pack 6 sheets 1/4 and 1/8 in Ergonomic handle

Figures as stated in each listing. Sheet capacity is the count the maker lists for a single press; hole size is the diameter or slot shape the listing states.

Check the build and the grip

Build decides how the punch holds up to repeated use. The Swingline body is solid metal with a slim plier handle, the LYHLYA uses forged cold-rolled sheet metal with a zinc alloy punch head, and the CNTVO and MoHern use metal and steel bodies. Grip matters on a long run: the CNTVO adds a soft non-slip grip, the MoHern uses an ergonomic labor-saving handle, and the LYHLYA uses a spring-assisted press action. For the offcuts and mis-punches, a paper shredder for home use clears the desk at the end of the session.

Read the warranty line

Only the Swingline states a warranty term, a 1-year limited warranty, and the other listings state no warranty term at all. A warranty term matters less on a simple hand tool than on a desk machine, but it is still the line that separates a maker standing behind the tool from a listing that stays silent. When the warranty line is blank, judge the punch on its stated build and capacity instead.

Setup Notes

  • Check the stated sheet capacity against the thickest stack you punch: 20 sheets on the Swingline, 10 sheets on the LYHLYA, 8 to 10 sheets on the CNTVO and 6 sheets on the MoHern.
  • Measure the hole placement you need before choosing between the 1/4 inch and 1/8 inch round sizes and the T-slot shape.
  • Empty the chip compartment or scrap slot as you work: the Swingline holds chips in a hinged compartment and the CNTVO has a scrap collection slot.
  • Keep the punch on a flat surface with room for the handle travel; the LYHLYA measures 6 by 2.5 by 1.5 in.

Frequently Asked Questions

What sheet capacity do I need for cardstock?

It depends on the stack. The Swingline lists 20 sheets, the LYHLYA lists 10 sheets, the CNTVO lists 8 to 10 sheets of A4 paper and the MoHern lists 6 sheets. Pick a capacity above the thickest stack you punch, and remember the stated counts describe paper.

Which hole size suits tags and tickets?

The CNTVO and MoHern two-packs each cut 1/4 inch and 1/8 inch holes, and both listings name tags and tickets among their uses. The smaller size suits small tags, while the larger size suits standard punching for filing.

What is a T-slot punch for?

A T-slot punch cuts a slot rather than a round hole. The LYHLYA lists ID cards, plastic, cardstock, cardboard and PVC among its materials, with a visible blade edge for exact placement, and names badges and retail hanging displays among its uses.

Do any of these punches state a warranty?

Only the Swingline states a warranty term, a 1-year limited warranty. The LYHLYA, CNTVO and MoHern listings state no warranty term.

Can these punches handle materials beyond paper?

Yes, within what each listing states. The LYHLYA lists cardstock, cardboard, plastic and PVC; the MoHern lists leather, greeting cards and plastics; and the CNTVO lists cardboard, gift cards, labels and invitations. Check the listing for the material you plan to punch before buying.

Swingline 74017
Still deciding? Our top pickSwingline 74017
Check price on Amazon

See every label makers and shredders guide and all office machines and storage guides.

More picks: desk organizers and whiteboards, home office printers, bookshelves and file cabinets.