Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Home office gear, compared spec by spec.

Label Makers and Shredders

Best Electric Hole Punch (2026): 5 Punches Compared

Five electric hole punches compared by sheet capacity, hole diameter, jam handling and power source for binder filing at home, school and the office.

Best Electric Hole Punch (2026): 5 Punches Compared

The stack of printouts beside the binder is waiting for the best electric hole punch before the morning call starts, and filing by hand would slow the whole job down. An electric punch lines the pages up with a guide and drives the heads through the stack with a press of a button. We compared electric hole punches by sheet capacity, hole count and diameter, jam handling, power source and warranty term, using only what each listing publishes.

OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Swingline 74535 Punch
    Best Overall Swingline 74535 Punch: 28-sheet capacity with jam reverse and a touch screen Check price on Amazon
  • Officemate 90115 Punch
    Best High Capacity Officemate 90115 Punch: Switches between 2-hole and 3-hole punching at 30 sheets Check price on Amazon
  • VEYETTE 8311 Punch Black
    Best Commercial VEYETTE 8311 Punch Black: 30-sheet commercial punch with adapter and scrap drawer Check price on Amazon
  • Bostitch EHP20-GRY
    Best Dual Loading Bostitch EHP20-GRY: Dual vertical or horizontal loading with jam-free auto-reverse Check price on Amazon
  • AFMAT HP07 Punch
    Best Portable AFMAT HP07 Punch: Light 1.7 pound punch with adapter or battery power Check price on Amazon

The picks

Swingline 74535 Punch

Swingline 74535 Punch

Swingline9.7/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

An electric 3-hole punch with a 28-sheet capacity, auto jam reverse and a capacitive touch screen in a black and silver body.

Pros

  • 28-sheet capacity with precise 9/32 inch holes
  • Auto jam reverse keeps high-volume punching moving
  • Capacitive touch screen with a built-in vertical paper guide
  • Built-in plastic chip tray slides out for emptying

Cons

  • Fixed punch heads cannot switch to 2-hole punching
  • Largest footprint here at 16.5 by 10 inches
  • No battery option is stated, electric operation only
  • Metal build at 6.3 pounds is heavy to move
Detailed Review

Swingline lists an electric 3-hole punch with a 28-sheet capacity, precise 9/32 inch holes and fixed punch heads. The maker states auto jam reverse keeps punching trouble-free, a capacitive touch screen starts each punch, and a built-in vertical paper guide lines pages up. The built-in plastic chip tray slides in and out of the base to hold paper scraps. The listing states a metal build at 6.3 pounds, with dimensions of 16.5 by 10 by 6 inches.

Who it's for: offices that punch high volumes and want jam handling with a touch screen. Who should skip it: anyone who needs 2-hole punching or battery power.

Its Office Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 22/25, value 21/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 0/5: 83 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Capacity28 sheets
Hole diameter9/32 in
OperationElectric, capacitive touch screen
Dimensions16.5 by 10 by 6 in

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Auto jam reverse and built-in plastic chip tray stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Shredder and printer safety. Keep hair, ties, jewelry, children and pets away from the feed slot, use the safety lock, unplug when not in use, and give printers and adapters room to vent.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Officemate 90115 Punch

Officemate 90115 Punch

Officemate9.6/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

An electric punch that switches between 2-hole and 3-hole punching with a 30-sheet capacity and a removable chip tray.

Pros

  • Switches between 2-hole and 3-hole punching with a button press
  • 30-sheet capacity suits high-volume document preparation
  • Reverse function and high-capacity tray help clear blockages
  • Recycled plastic components in a workplace-friendly build

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • No hole diameter is stated
  • Title gives Gray/Black while the spec table adds Green
  • 7.6 pounds is the heaviest weight stated here
Detailed Review

Officemate lists an electric 2 to 3 hole punch with a 30-sheet capacity, an integrated guide and a removable chip tray. The maker states the punch switches between two-hole and three-hole punching with the push of a button, and that the reverse feature assists in clearing paper blockages. The listing states recycled plastic components and dimensions of 16.93 by 8.35 by 5.98 inches at 7.6 pounds. Inside the listing, the title gives Gray/Black while the spec table lists Black/Gray/Green, so this review uses the title colors.

Who it's for: offices that file both 2-hole and 3-hole documents at volume. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a stated hole diameter or a warranty term.

Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 79 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Capacity30 sheets
Hole count2 or 3 holes
PowerAC adapter
Dimensions16.93 by 8.35 by 5.98 in

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Reverse function and removable high-capacity chip tray stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Shredder and printer safety. Keep hair, ties, jewelry, children and pets away from the feed slot, use the safety lock, unplug when not in use, and give printers and adapters room to vent.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

VEYETTE 8311 Punch Black

VEYETTE 8311 Punch Black

VEYETTE9.6/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A heavy duty commercial electric 3-hole punch with a 30-sheet capacity, an adapter and a drawer for paper scraps.

Pros

  • 30-sheet capacity with an adjustable paper guide
  • Adapter included in the package for power
  • Drawer for paper scraps keeps the desk clean
  • Commercial build for office, school and studio use

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • Spec table lists material as Paper, which reads as a listing error
  • Bullets describe a gray covering while title and spec table state Black
  • No jam-reverse feature is stated
Detailed Review

VEYETTE lists a heavy duty commercial electric 3-hole punch with a 30-sheet capacity and an adjustable paper guide. The maker states an adapter is included in the package for power and a drawer holds paper scraps to keep the desk clean. The listing states a 7.1 millimeter hole diameter, dimensions of 15 by 3 by 7 inches and a weight of 6.6 pounds. Inside the listing, the bullets describe a sleek gray covering while the title and spec table state Black, and the spec table lists the material type as Paper, which reads as a listing error; this review uses the title color and states no material.

Who it's for: offices and schools that want a 30-sheet commercial punch with an adapter. Who should skip it: anyone who needs jam-reverse handling or a stated warranty term.

Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 76 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Capacity30 sheets
Hole diameter7.1 mm
PowerAdapter included
Dimensions15 by 3 by 7 in

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Drawer for paper scraps stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Shredder and printer safety. Keep hair, ties, jewelry, children and pets away from the feed slot, use the safety lock, unplug when not in use, and give printers and adapters room to vent.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Bostitch EHP20-GRY

Bostitch EHP20-GRY

Bostitch9.5/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A heavy duty electric 3-hole punch with dual vertical or horizontal loading, high carbon steel punches and jam-free auto-reverse.

Pros

  • Dual loading from vertical or horizontal orientation saves desk space
  • High carbon steel punches make precise 9/32 inch holes
  • Jam-free auto-reverse if a punch does not complete its cycle
  • AC adapter or 6 AA batteries for use anywhere

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • 20-sheet capacity is below the 30-sheet punches here
  • No dimensions are stated
  • No chip tray is stated
Detailed Review

Bostitch lists an electric 3-hole punch with a 20-sheet capacity, high carbon steel punches and dual paper loading. The maker states precise 9/32 inch (about 7 millimeter) holes, a 120V AC adapter or 6 AA batteries for power, and jam-free auto-reverse if a punch does not complete its cycle. The spec table lists vertical or horizontal punch orientation and alloy steel construction at 0.89 kilograms. No dimensions and no warranty term are stated.

Who it's for: desks that need flexible loading and jam-free punching at moderate volume. Who should skip it: anyone who needs 30-sheet capacity or a stated warranty term.

Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 19/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 74 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Capacity20 sheets
Hole diameter9/32 in (about 7 mm)
Power120V AC adapter or 6 AA batteries
OrientationVertical or Horizontal

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Jam-free auto-reverse stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Shredder and printer safety. Keep hair, ties, jewelry, children and pets away from the feed slot, use the safety lock, unplug when not in use, and give printers and adapters room to vent.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

AFMAT HP07 Punch

AFMAT HP07 Punch

AFMAT9.4/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A portable electric 3-hole punch with a 20-sheet capacity, an adjustable paper guide and AC or battery power at 1.7 pounds.

Pros

  • Portable at 1.7 pounds for home, office or meeting rooms
  • AC adapter or 6 AA batteries for power anywhere
  • Adjustable paper guide for precise alignment
  • Push-button start for effortless punching

Cons

  • 20-sheet capacity is below the 30-sheet punches here
  • Bullets and spec table order width and height differently
  • Batteries are not included
  • No jam-reverse or chip tray is stated
Detailed Review

AFMAT lists an electric 3-hole punch with a 20-sheet capacity, an adjustable paper guide and push-button start. The maker states precise 0.28 inch holes, AC adapter or 6 AA battery power, and a portable design for home, office or meeting rooms at 1.7 pounds. Inside the listing, the bullets give 10 by 3.3 by 2.8 inches while the spec table gives 10 by 2.8 by 3.3 inches, so the width and height order differs between the two. The listing states a 1 year warranty from the purchase date.

Who it's for: anyone who wants a light punch to carry between rooms with adapter or battery power. Who should skip it: anyone who needs 30-sheet capacity or stated jam handling.

Its Office Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 27/35, build 19/25, value 19/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 2/5: 67 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Capacity20 sheets
Hole diameter0.28 in
PowerAC adapter or 6 AA batteries
Weight1.7 pounds

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. No safety lock or safety listing is stated, so safety scores zero. We offer 1 year warranty from the purchase date. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.

Shredder and printer safety. Keep hair, ties, jewelry, children and pets away from the feed slot, use the safety lock, unplug when not in use, and give printers and adapters room to vent.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

  • VEYETTE 8311 Punch GrayVEYETTE 8311 Punch GrayGray 30-sheet commercial punch with adapter and scrap drawer for office useCheck on Amazon
  • Bostitch EHP20-BLKBostitch EHP20-BLKBlack 20-sheet dual-loading punch with AC adapter or battery powerCheck on Amazon

Compare the picks

Punch Office Score Sheet capacity Hole count Hole diameter Power Warranty Amazon
Swingline 74535 Punch 9.7/10 28 sheets 3 holes 9/32 in Electric Not stated View on Amazon
Officemate 90115 Punch 9.6/10 30 sheets 2 or 3 holes Not stated AC adapter Not stated View on Amazon
VEYETTE 8311 Punch Black 9.6/10 30 sheets 3 holes 7.1 mm Adapter included Not stated View on Amazon
Bostitch EHP20-GRY 9.5/10 20 sheets 3 holes 9/32 in AC adapter or 6 AA batteries Not stated View on Amazon
AFMAT HP07 Punch 9.4/10 20 sheets 3 holes 0.28 in AC adapter or 6 AA batteries 1 year warranty View on Amazon

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 25 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Office Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For electric hole punches, safety means stated jam handling and scrap containment, such as auto-reverse and chip trays that keep paper scraps off the desk. One of the five listings states a warranty term. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Office Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
Swingline 74535 Punch 9.7 32 22 21 8 0
Officemate 90115 Punch 9.6 30 21 21 7 0
VEYETTE 8311 Punch Black 9.6 29 20 20 7 0
Bostitch EHP20-GRY 9.5 28 19 20 7 0
AFMAT HP07 Punch 9.4 27 19 19 0 2

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best electric hole punch

Sheet capacity and hole size

Sheet capacity decides how often you reload. The two 30-sheet punches in this roundup suit high-volume filing, while the two 20-sheet punches suit smaller desks and lighter stacks. Hole diameter matters for binder fit: most listings here state 9/32 inch holes, with the VEYETTE stating 7.1 millimeters and the AFMAT stating 0.28 inches. Check the binder rings the pages will hang on, then match capacity to the size of the stacks you punch most often.

Punch Capacity Holes Hole size
Swingline 74535 Punch 28 sheets 3 holes 9/32 in
Officemate 90115 Punch 30 sheets 2 or 3 holes Not stated
VEYETTE 8311 Punch Black 30 sheets 3 holes 7.1 mm
Bostitch EHP20-GRY 20 sheets 3 holes 9/32 in
AFMAT HP07 Punch 20 sheets 3 holes 0.28 in

Capacity alone does not settle the choice. A 30-sheet punch with no stated hole diameter, like the Officemate, suits filing where the ring size is already known, while a 28-sheet punch with a stated 9/32 inch hole, like the Swingline, suits buyers who want the diameter on the record. For other desktop paper machines, see our best hole punch machine guide.

Jam handling and scrap trays

Jams slow filing more than capacity does. The Swingline lists auto jam reverse, the Bostitch lists jam-free auto-reverse if a punch does not complete its cycle, and the Officemate lists a reverse function that assists in clearing blockages. The VEYETTE and the AFMAT state no jam-reverse feature, so a misfeed on those punches takes manual clearing. Scrap containment matters just as much: the Swingline, Officemate and VEYETTE each list a chip tray or drawer for paper scraps, while the Bostitch and AFMAT listings state no tray. A tray that slides out for emptying keeps the desk clear between stacks.

Power: adapter or batteries

Power decides where the punch can sit. The AFMAT and the Bostitch run on an AC adapter or 6 AA batteries, so either punch can move to a meeting room or a table without an outlet nearby. The VEYETTE and the Officemate list an AC adapter, and the Swingline lists electric operation without a stated adapter or battery option. Batteries are not included with the AFMAT or the Bostitch, so a battery-powered setup needs cells on hand. Check the outlet distance from the desk before choosing, since an adapter-only punch stays tethered to the wall.

Size, weight and desk fit

Footprint decides whether the punch earns its desk space. The Swingline measures 16.5 by 10 inches and the Officemate measures 16.93 by 8.35 inches, so both need a wide stretch of desk. The VEYETTE measures 15 by 3 inches, a narrower shape for a crowded desk edge. Weight runs from 0.89 kilograms for the Bostitch to 7.6 pounds for the Officemate, with the AFMAT at 1.7 pounds, the lowest weight among the pound-stated punches. A punch that moves between rooms should stay light, while a punch that stays put can be heavier. Once pages are punched, see our best bookshelf for binders guide for filing the finished binders, and our best label maker for office use guide for labeling them.

Setup Notes

  • Check the punch footprint against desk space: the Swingline measures 16.5 by 10 inches, the Officemate measures 16.93 by 8.35 inches, and the VEYETTE measures 15 by 3 inches.
  • Plan power before placing the punch: the AFMAT and Bostitch run on an AC adapter or 6 AA batteries, while the VEYETTE and Officemate list an AC adapter and the Swingline lists electric operation.
  • Set the paper guide before punching: the AFMAT, VEYETTE and Officemate list an adjustable or built-in guide, and the Swingline lists a built-in vertical paper guide.
  • Empty the chip tray or drawer between stacks: the Swingline, Officemate and VEYETTE each list a tray or drawer for paper scraps.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is a 3-hole punch?

A 3-hole punch drives three holes through a stack of pages so the pages hang on a three-ring binder. Every punch in this roundup makes three holes, and the Officemate also switches to two holes with the push of a button.

How do you set up an electric hole punch?

Set the paper guide, insert the stack, and press the button or touch screen to punch. The AFMAT and Bostitch run on an AC adapter or 6 AA batteries, while the VEYETTE and Officemate list an AC adapter.

How wide is a hole punch hole?

The Swingline and Bostitch state 9/32 inch holes, the AFMAT states 0.28 inch holes, and the VEYETTE states 7.1 millimeter holes. The Officemate states no hole diameter.

How do you set a hole punch for 2 or 3 holes?

The Officemate switches between two-hole and three-hole punching with the push of a button, using its integrated guide for consistent hole placement. The other punches in this roundup have fixed three-hole heads.

Swingline 74535 Punch
Still deciding? Our top pickSwingline 74535 Punch
Check price on Amazon

See every label maker and shredder guide and all office machines and storage guides. Also see our best hole punch set. Also see our best paper shredder for teachers. Also see our best label maker for office use.

More picks: hole punch machines, bookshelves for binders, and paper shredders for teachers.