A storm flicker that restarts the router or a vacuum that trips the strip is the moment a surge protector earns its place, and a black strip that blends into the desk is the one that stays plugged in. The best black surge protector is the one whose outlet count, joule rating, cord length and warranty match the gear it guards. We compared five black surge protectors by outlets, USB ports, joule rating, cord, safety certifications and warranty, using only what each listing publishes.
OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall IECOPOWER Power Strip 2-Pack: Two strips, 5 AC outlets and 3 USB ports each, 700 joules Check price on Amazon
Best Warranty GE 6-Outlet Strip: Limited-lifetime warranty, 6 outlets, 800 joules, flat plug Check price on Amazon
Most Outlets JcBlaon 12-in-1 Strip: 8 AC outlets and 4 USB ports, 1050 joules, 5 ft cord Check price on Amazon
Best for Wall Outlets Addtam 9-in-1 Extender: 5 AC outlets and 4 USB ports, 1800 joules, no cord needed Check price on Amazon
2-Pack Pick Amazon Basics 6-Outlet 2-Pack: A 6-outlet surge protector 2-pack, per the title Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Office Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | IECOPOWER Power Strip 2-Pack | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | GE 6-Outlet Strip | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | JcBlaon 12-in-1 Strip | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | Addtam 9-in-1 Extender | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | Amazon Basics 6-Outlet 2PK | 9.3/10 | Buy on Amazon |

IECOPOWER Power Strip 2-Pack
Two black power strips, each with 5 AC outlets and 3 USB ports, a 1250W limit and 700 joules of surge protection.
Pros
- Two strips in one pack, for two desks or two rooms
- 5 AC outlets plus 3 USB ports per strip, with a USB C port
- Smart IC chip adjusts USB charging speed, per the listing
- Mounting holes on the back for wall or under-desk mounting
Cons
- Lowest joule rating in this group, at 700 joules
- Spec table lists 5 ft, 10 ft and 15 ft cord options while the title states 5 ft
- Plastic enclosure, not metal
- Single strip width of 10.3 in needs a long mounting spot
Detailed Review
IECOPOWER lists a 2 pack of black power strips, each with 5 widely spaced AC outlets and 3 USB ports including 1 USB C port, for 8 devices at up to 1250W and 10A. Surge protection is rated at 700 joules, and the power switch adds overload protection that shuts off power when the load is too high. The shell is UL-V0 rated, and the listing states a 5 ft extension cord with a right angle flat plug plus 2 mounting holes on the back. The spec table lists cord options of 5 ft, 10 ft and 15 ft while the title states 5 ft; trust the title and bullets, which say 5 ft.
Who it's for: someone who wants two strips for two spots, with USB charging built in. Who should skip it: a buyer who needs a higher joule rating or a single strip, since this pack holds two strips at 700 joules each.
Its Office Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 20/25, value 22/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 3/5: 83 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Outlets | 5 AC + 3 USB |
|---|---|
| Joules | 700 |
| Cord | 5 ft |
| Wattage | 1250W |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. UL-V0 rated shell with overload protection, so safety scores 8 of 10. 12-month replacement services. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

GE 6-Outlet Strip
A black 6-outlet strip with 800 joules of surge protection, a flat plug, wall mounting and twist-to-close safety covers.
Pros
- Limited-lifetime warranty stated, the longest term in this group
- ETL safety certified with twist-to-close safety covers
- Flat plug fits behind furniture and keeps one outlet accessible
- Rated 125VAC, 15A and 1875W, per the listing
Cons
- No USB ports stated
- Spec table contradicts the bullets on cord length and joules
- PVC enclosure, not metal
- Flat plug keeps one outlet free, but the strip still needs wall space
Detailed Review
GE lists a black 6-outlet surge protector with 800 joules of surge protection, a 4 ft extension cord, a flat plug, keyhole slots for wall or desk mounting, and twist-to-close safety covers for unused outlets. The listing states ETL safety certification, an integrated circuit breaker with a protected indicator light, and ratings of 125VAC, 15A and 1875W. The spec table contradicts the bullets, listing a 10 ft cord and 600 joules; trust the title and bullets, which say 4 ft and 800 joules. The listing states a limited-lifetime warranty.
Who it's for: someone who wants a wall-mountable strip with a long warranty term and covered spare outlets. Who should skip it: a buyer who needs USB charging, since this listing states no USB ports.
Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 4/5: 81 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Outlets | 6 AC |
|---|---|
| Joules | 800 |
| Cord | 4 ft |
| Rating | 125VAC, 15A, 1875W |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. ETL safety certified with twist-to-close safety covers and an integrated circuit breaker, so safety scores 8 of 10. Limited-lifetime warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.
Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

JcBlaon 12-in-1 Strip
A black 12-in-1 strip with 8 AC outlets and 4 USB ports, 1050 joules of surge protection and a 5 ft flat cord.
Pros
- 8 AC outlets plus 4 USB ports, the most connections in this group
- 1.57 in of space between outlets fits bulky adapters
- 1050 joules of surge protection with an overload reset circuit breaker
- 5 ft flat cord slides under furniture, with a wall-mountable slot
Cons
- Title says 4-sided while one bullet line says 3-sided
- Plastic enclosure, not metal
- No certification body stated in the listing
- Single strip, so a second room needs a second purchase
Detailed Review
JcBlaon lists a black strip with 8 wide-spaced AC outlets and 4 USB ports, 2 USB C and 2 USB A, each port charging at up to 5V and 2.4A. Surge protection is rated at 1050 joules, with an overload reset circuit breaker and short-circuit, over-current, overheat and over-voltage protection, plus a green grounded and protected indicator. The cord is a 5 ft flat cord, and a wall-mountable slot on the back allows mounting on walls, desks or cabinet undersides. The title says a 4-sided design while one bullet line says a 3-sided design; trust the title, which says 4-sided.
Who it's for: someone with many adapters who needs wide spacing and USB charging in one strip. Who should skip it: a buyer who wants a stated certification body or a 2-pack, since this listing states neither.
Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 3/5: 81 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Outlets | 8 AC + 4 USB |
|---|---|
| Joules | 1050 |
| Cord | 5 ft |
| Outlet spacing | 1.57 in |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Overload reset circuit breaker with short-circuit, over-current, overheat and over-voltage protection, so safety scores 8 of 10. 1 Year. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Addtam 9-in-1 Extender
A black 3-sided wall outlet extender with 5 AC outlets and 4 USB ports, 1800 joules of surge protection and ETL certification.
Pros
- Highest joule rating in this group, at 1800 joules
- 5 AC outlets on 3 sides with wide space, plus 4 USB ports
- ETL certified with five stated protection types
- Smart charging: USB A ports at 2.4A max and the USB C port at 3A max
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- No cord: the unit must sit at the wall outlet itself
- Single unit, so a second room needs a second purchase
- Black plastic prong may need cutting for some outlets, per the listing
Detailed Review
Addtam lists a black wall outlet extender with 5 AC outlets on 3 sides and 4 USB ports, for 9 connections from one duplex outlet, with 1800 joules of surge protection. Three surge protection circuits are stated, TVS, MOV and GDT, with a response speed of less than 1Ns and a surge protected indicator light. The listing states ETL certification with overload, short-circuit, over-current, over-voltage and overheating protection, plus a fire-resistant casing. Total USB output is 4.5A, with each USB A port at 2.4A max and the USB C port at 3A max. The listing notes that the black plastic prong can be cut off for some outlets.
Who it's for: someone who wants the most protection at a single wall outlet, with USB charging built in. Who should skip it: a buyer who needs a corded strip or a warranty term, since this listing states neither.
Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 9/10 and warranty 0/5: 83 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Outlets | 5 AC + 4 USB |
|---|---|
| Joules | 1800 |
| USB output | 4.5A total |
| Certification | ETL |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. ETL certified with overload, short-circuit, over-current, over-voltage and overheating protection, so safety scores 9 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Amazon Basics 6-Outlet 2PK
A 2-pack of 6-outlet surge strips with 200 joules and a 15A circuit breaker.
Pros
- 2-pack for two locations
- 6 outlets per strip
- 15A circuit breaker stated
- Wall-mount keyholes
Cons
- 200 joules is the lowest rating here
- No warranty term is stated
- No certification is stated
- 2-foot cord is short
Detailed Review
Amazon Basics lists this 2-pack of 6-outlet surge protector strips with a 200 joule 3-line rating, a red LED protection indicator, a 15 amp circuit breaker, and a 2-foot 14 AWG cord. The listing states 1875 watts, 125 volts, and wall-mount keyholes. No certification and no warranty term are stated.
Who it's for: anyone wanting basic protection in two rooms cheaply. Who should skip it: anyone needing a high joule rating or a stated warranty.
Its Office Score of 9.3/10 comes from performance 23/35, build 18/25, value 18/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 59 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Outlets | 6 per strip, 2 pack |
|---|---|
| Joules | 200 |
| Cord | 2 ft |
| Breaker | 15A stated |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 18 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No UL, FCC or over-current protection statement is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Power and heat. Use the supplied adapter, treat power delivery wattage and display support as the maker's claims for your laptop model, and give the dock room to vent.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Compare the picks
| Surge protector | Office Score | Outlets | Joules | USB ports | Cord | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| IECOPOWER Power Strip 2-Pack | 9.7/10 | 5 AC | 700 | 3 | 5 ft | 12-month replacement | View on Amazon |
| GE 6-Outlet Strip | 9.6/10 | 6 AC | 800 | 0 | 4 ft | Limited-lifetime | View on Amazon |
| JcBlaon 12-in-1 Strip | 9.6/10 | 8 AC | 1050 | 4 | 5 ft | 1 Year | View on Amazon |
| Addtam 9-in-1 Extender | 9.6/10 | 5 AC | 1800 | 4 | Not stated | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| Amazon Basics 6-Outlet 2-Pack | 9.3/10 | 6 AC | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 25 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Office Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For a surge protector, safety means a stated certification or protection set, such as ETL certification, a UL-V0 rated shell, or overload and short-circuit protection; four of the five listings state one. Three listings state a warranty term: GE with a limited-lifetime warranty, IECOPOWER with 12-month replacement services, and JcBlaon with 1 year. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Office Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| IECOPOWER Power Strip 2-Pack | 9.7 | 30 | 20 | 22 | 8 | 3 |
| GE 6-Outlet Strip | 9.6 | 29 | 20 | 20 | 8 | 4 |
| JcBlaon 12-in-1 Strip | 9.6 | 30 | 20 | 20 | 8 | 3 |
| Addtam 9-in-1 Extender | 9.6 | 32 | 21 | 21 | 9 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best black surge protector
Start with the joule rating and the outlet count
Joule ratings here run from 700 on the IECOPOWER to 1800 on the Addtam, with the GE at 800 and the JcBlaon at 1050. Outlet counts run from 5 AC on the Addtam and IECOPOWER to 6 on the GE and 8 on the JcBlaon, plus USB ports on all but the GE. Count the devices first, then pick a joule rating that covers the most valuable gear on the strip. A strip with a timer suits gear that should not run all day; see our power strip with timer picks for that use.
| Surge protector | AC outlets | USB ports | Joules |
|---|---|---|---|
| IECOPOWER Power Strip 2-Pack | 5 | 3 | 700 |
| GE 6-Outlet Strip | 6 | 0 | 800 |
| JcBlaon 12-in-1 Strip | 8 | 4 | 1050 |
| Addtam 9-in-1 Extender | 5 | 4 | 1800 |
| Amazon Basics 6-Outlet 2-Pack | 6 | Not stated | Not stated |
Figures as stated in each listing. The GE USB count is zero because its listing states no USB ports.
Cord, plug or wall unit
The GE strip states a 4 ft cord with a flat plug that fits behind furniture, while the IECOPOWER and JcBlaon strips state 5 ft cords with flat plugs. The Addtam unit plugs directly into a wall outlet with no cord at all, which suits a spot right beside the desk. Measure from the wall outlet to the desk before buying, and keep the cord run clear of chair wheels and foot traffic. For keeping that run tidy, see our extension cord clips.
Check the safety certifications and the warranty
The Addtam and GE listings state ETL certification, while the IECOPOWER listing states a UL-V0 rated shell and overload protection. The JcBlaon listing states an overload reset circuit breaker plus short-circuit, over-current, overheat and over-voltage protection. Warranty terms differ too: limited-lifetime on the GE, 12-month replacement services on the IECOPOWER, and 1 year on the JcBlaon, while the Addtam and Amazon Basics listings state no warranty term.
Setup Notes
- Measure the cord run: 4 ft on the GE and 5 ft on the IECOPOWER and JcBlaon, while the Addtam plugs straight into the wall.
- Check the plug shape: flat plugs on the GE, IECOPOWER and JcBlaon fit behind furniture, and the Addtam needs a free duplex outlet.
- Count the devices: 5 to 8 AC outlets plus USB ports across these strips, so match the count before buying.
- Mount where it fits: the GE, IECOPOWER and JcBlaon listings state wall mounting, and the JcBlaon also states an under-desk slot.
- Watch the load: the IECOPOWER listing states a 1250W limit, so keep the connected load under that figure.
Frequently Asked Questions
Why use a surge protector?
A surge protector guards connected gear against voltage spikes and surges, and these listings state joule ratings from 700 to 1800 for that job. The Addtam listing states three surge protection circuits, while the GE listing states an integrated circuit breaker and a protected indicator light.
What size surge protector for a TV?
Count the TV setup first: a TV plus a console, a speaker and a lamp needs at least 4 outlets, and every strip here offers 5 to 8 AC outlets. The JcBlaon offers 8 AC outlets with 1.57 in of space between them, which fits bulky adapters beside the TV.
Is a surge protector good for a PC?
Yes, per these listings: surge protection plus overload, short-circuit and over-voltage protection guard a PC against spikes and fluctuations. The IECOPOWER listing adds a smart IC chip that adjusts USB charging speed, and the GE listing states ETL safety certification.
Is an outlet extender a surge protector?
Not always. The Addtam extender is both, with an 1800 joule surge rating and ETL certification, but an extender with no joule rating states no surge protection. Check the joule rating on the listing before treating an extender as a surge protector.
How long is a surge protector cord?
Among these listings, 4 ft on the GE and 5 ft on the IECOPOWER and JcBlaon. The Addtam unit has no cord, since it plugs directly into a wall outlet, and the Amazon Basics listing states no cord length.
Related guides
See every surge protectors and cable management guide and all audio, power and connectivity guides.
More picks: charging station for home office, computer desks and surge protector for desktop computer.




