The best power strip with timer is the strip that stops you from babysitting the schedule: the lamp, the charger or the tank light clicks on and off by itself while you get on with the day. We compared 4 timer power strips by outlet count, timer type and steps, cord length, safety certifications and warranty, using only what each listing publishes.
OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall DEWENWILS 8-Outlet Timer: 8 outlets, 4 timed plus 4 always on, UL listed, 1 year warranty Check price on Amazon
Best Surge Protection TESSAN 8-Outlet Timer: 900J surge protection, 4 timed plus 4 always on, 15-minute steps Check price on Amazon
Best Simple Woods 8-Outlet Timer: 8 outlets with a built-in mechanical timer, grounded outlets Check price on Amazon
Smart Pick Kasa Smart HS300: 6 smart outlets and 3 USB ports for app-controlled timing Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Office Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | DEWENWILS 8-Outlet Timer | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | TESSAN 8-Outlet Timer | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | Kasa HS300 | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | Woods 8-Outlet Timer | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |

DEWENWILS 8-Outlet Timer
An 8-outlet timer power strip with 4 timed and 4 always-on outlets, a mechanical 24-hour timer, UL listing and a 6 ft flat-plug cord.
Pros
- 4 timed plus 4 always-on outlets cover scheduled and constant loads
- UL listed with overload protection at 15A, 125V, 1875W
- Timer sets in 30-minute steps on a 24-hour repeating cycle
- Flat plug and 6 ft 14/3 cord fit behind furniture
Cons
- Plastic enclosure rather than metal
- Mechanical pins rather than a digital display
- 9.6 in long body needs a clear spot on the wall or desk
- Indoor use only
Detailed Review
DEWENWILS lists an 8-outlet timer strip, 9.6 by 3.1 in, with 4 timed and 4 always-on outlets on a mechanical timer that repeats every 24 hours in 30-minute steps. The listing states UL approval, overload protection and a 15A, 125V, 1875W, 60 Hz electrical spec on a 14/3 cord, plus a 6 ft flat plug that fits behind furniture and 4 hanging holes on the back. The enclosure is plastic and the item weighs 1.4 lb. The listing states a 1 Year Warranty.
Who it's for: someone who wants 4 outlets on a schedule and 4 always on, with a UL mark on the strip. Who should skip it: anyone who needs stated surge joules or a digital timer display.
Its Office Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 9/10 and warranty 3/5: 86 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Outlets | 8 (4 timed, 4 always on) |
|---|---|
| Electrical | 15A, 125V, 1875W, 60 Hz |
| Cord | 6 ft, flat plug, 14/3 |
| Warranty | 1 year |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. UL listed with overload protection is stated, so safety scores 9 of 10. 1 Year Warranty is stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

TESSAN 8-Outlet Timer
An 8-outlet timer strip with 900J surge protection, 4 timed and 4 always-on outlets, a 15-minute-step timer dial and a 4 ft cord.
Pros
- 900J surge protection is stated
- 4 timed plus 4 always-on outlets with separate timer and main switches
- Timer dial sets in 15-minute steps
- 45-degree flat plug and 2 mounting holes for wall or desk side
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- 4 ft cord is shorter than the DEWENWILS 6 ft cord
- 2-pin plug type rather than 3-pin grounded
- Mechanical timer rather than digital
Detailed Review
TESSAN lists an 8-outlet timer strip with 4 timed and 4 always-on outlets, a mechanical timer dial that sets in 15-minute steps, and 900J surge protection. The listing states a 4 ft cord with a 45-degree right-angle flat plug, a timer switch and a main power switch that control the 2 outlet rows separately, and 2 mounting holes for wall or desk-side mounting. The enclosure is listed as metal, plastic and rubber. No warranty term is stated, so warranty scores zero.
Who it's for: someone who wants surge protection plus a timer on the same strip for an aquarium or home office. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a warranty term or a longer cord.
Its Office Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 0/5: 82 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Outlets | 8 (4 timed, 4 always on) |
|---|---|
| Surge protection | 900J |
| Timer | Mechanical, 15-minute steps |
| Cord | 4 ft, flat plug |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. 900J surge protection is stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Kasa HS300
A smart strip with 6 individually controlled outlets, 3 USB ports, energy monitoring and ETL certified surge protection.
Pros
- 6 individually controlled smart outlets plus 3 USB ports
- Energy monitoring per outlet in the Kasa app
- ETL certified surge protection
- Voice control with Alexa, Google Assistant and Cortana, no hub required
Cons
- No cord length is stated
- 15A, 1875W total load limit needs planning for heavy gear
- Aluminum enclosure adds weight at 702 g
- No Matter support is stated
Detailed Review
Kasa Smart lists the HS300 with 6 individually controlled smart outlets and 3 USB ports at 5V/2.4A each, energy monitoring per device in the Kasa app, and ETL certified surge protection. It works with Alexa, Google Assistant and Cortana with no hub required, takes 100-125V at 60Hz and 15A, and lists a 15A, 1875W maximum total load. The spec table gives a 14.17 by 2.49 in size, a 702 g weight, an aluminum enclosure and a 2-year warranty.
Who it's for: someone who wants per-outlet control plus energy monitoring on one strip. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a stated cord length or Matter support, since the listing states neither.
Its Office Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 3/5: 85 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| AC outlets | 6 smart |
|---|---|
| USB ports | 3 |
| Surge protection | ETL certified |
| Warranty | 2-year warranty |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. ETL certified surge protection is stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. 2-year warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Power and heat. Use the supplied adapter, treat power delivery wattage and display support as the maker's claims for your laptop model, and give the dock room to vent.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Woods 8-Outlet Timer
An 8-outlet power strip with a built-in mechanical timer, grounded outlets and 15A capacity in a white 13 in body.
Pros
- 8 grounded outlets with a built-in mechanical timer
- 15A max current stated
- Listed for home office, dorm and entertainment use
- Maker describes jobsite-grade build
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- No timer step size or cycle length is stated
- No cord length is stated
- No surge protection figure is stated
Detailed Review
Woods lists an 8-outlet indoor power strip with a built-in mechanical timer, 13 by 2 in, in white with 15A and 120V stated and grounded outlets. The bullets describe the brand's jobsite-grade build in general terms but state no timer step size, no cycle length, no cord length and no surge figure. The enclosure material is listed as Blend. No warranty term is stated, so warranty scores zero.
Who it's for: someone who wants a simple 8-outlet timer strip for a dorm or home office without extra features. Who should skip it: anyone who needs stated timer steps, a cord length or surge protection.
Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 19/25, value 20/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 72 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Outlets | 8, grounded |
|---|---|
| Max current | 15A, 120V |
| Size | 13 x 2 in |
| Timer | Built-in mechanical |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Grounded outlets are stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
DEWENWILS PS-817 Timer8 outlets with 4 timed and 4 always on, UL approved, 6 ft cordCheck on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Power strip | Office Score | Outlets | Timer | Cord | Safety | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DEWENWILS 8-Outlet Timer | 9.7/10 | 8 (4 timed, 4 always on) | Mechanical, 30-minute steps, 24-hour | 6 ft, flat plug | UL listed, overload protection | 1 year | View on Amazon |
| TESSAN 8-Outlet Timer | 9.7/10 | 8 (4 timed, 4 always on) | Mechanical, 15-minute steps | 4 ft, flat plug | 900J surge protection | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| Woods 8-Outlet Timer | 9.5/10 | 8 | Built-in mechanical | Not stated | Grounded outlets | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| Kasa Smart HS300 | 9.7/10 | 6 smart, 3 USB | Smart outlets | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 23 October 2026. 1 of the 4 listings states a warranty term; 3 state a safety certification or feature.
How we scored them
The Office Score weighs performance (outlet count, timer steps, switches), build (enclosure, cord), value for the stated specs, safety and warranty. For a power strip, safety means a UL listing, a joule figure, overload protection or grounded outlets: 3 listings here state a safety feature; 1 listing states a warranty term, the DEWENWILS at 1 year. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Office Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DEWENWILS 8-Outlet Timer | 9.7 | 32 | 21 | 21 | 9 | 3 |
| TESSAN 8-Outlet Timer | 9.7 | 32 | 21 | 21 | 8 | 0 |
| Woods 8-Outlet Timer | 9.5 | 28 | 19 | 20 | 5 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best power strip with timer
Count timed versus always-on outlets
The DEWENWILS and the TESSAN split their 8 outlets into 4 timed and 4 always-on, so scheduled devices and constant loads share the same strip. The Woods gives you 8 outlets on a built-in mechanical timer with no stated split, and the Kasa lists 6 smart outlets plus 3 USB ports. Decide which of your devices need a schedule and which must never lose power.
| Power strip | Outlets | Timer type | Timer steps |
|---|---|---|---|
| DEWENWILS 8-Outlet Timer | 8 (4 timed, 4 always on) | Mechanical | 30-minute steps, 24-hour cycle |
| TESSAN 8-Outlet Timer | 8 (4 timed, 4 always on) | Mechanical | 15-minute steps |
| Woods 8-Outlet Timer | 8 | Mechanical | Not stated |
| Kasa Smart HS300 | 6 smart, 3 USB | Smart outlets | Not stated |
Figures as stated in each listing. A split strip suits a desk with a lamp on a schedule and a PC that stays on.
Read the safety line before the load
The DEWENWILS states UL approval with overload protection at 15A, 125V and 1875W, the TESSAN states 900J of surge protection, and the Woods states grounded outlets at 15A and 120V. The Kasa title states no electrical spec at all. Add up what you plan to plug in and stay inside the stated limits; a surge protector for a home network covers the networking gear if your strip has no joule figure.
Measure the cord and the mounting spot
Cord length decides where the strip can live: 6 ft on the DEWENWILS with a flat plug, 4 ft on the TESSAN with a 45-degree flat plug, and no stated length on the Woods or the Kasa. The DEWENWILS lists 4 hanging holes on the back and the TESSAN lists 2 mounting holes, so either can go on a wall or a desk side. If the wall outlet sits far from the desk, a power strip for a gaming desk roundup covers longer-cord options.
Warranty and thin listings
Only the DEWENWILS states a warranty term, 1 year. The Woods and TESSAN listings state none, and the Kasa arrives with a title only, so its timer type, electrical specs and warranty cannot be checked here. When a listing is thin, treat the missing specs as missing: buy the strip whose listing actually states what you need.
Setup Notes
- Add up the load before you buy: the DEWENWILS is rated 15A, 125V, 1875W and the Woods 15A at 120V.
- Measure from the wall outlet to the desk: 6 ft on the DEWENWILS and 4 ft on the TESSAN; the other 2 state no cord length.
- Plan which devices need timed outlets: the DEWENWILS and TESSAN give 4 timed plus 4 always-on, while the Woods times the whole strip.
- Use the mounting holes, 4 on the DEWENWILS and 2 on the TESSAN, to keep the strip off the floor.
- The DEWENWILS and TESSAN state flat plugs that fit behind furniture; the TESSAN plug is the 2-pin type.
Frequently Asked Questions
How does a timer power strip work?
A mechanical dial or smart outlet switches outlets on and off on a schedule. The DEWENWILS repeats a 24-hour cycle in 30-minute steps, and the TESSAN dial sets in 15-minute steps.
What is the difference between timed and always-on outlets?
Timed outlets follow the schedule; always-on outlets stay powered. The DEWENWILS and the TESSAN each split 8 outlets into 4 timed and 4 always-on.
Do I need surge protection on a timer strip?
Only the TESSAN here states a surge figure, 900J. If your gear needs surge defense, check the joule figure on the listing before you buy.
Can a timer power strip handle a 15A load?
The DEWENWILS is rated 15A, 125V, 1875W and the Woods 15A at 120V. Add up your devices and stay within the stated limits.
Are flat plugs better behind furniture?
The DEWENWILS and the TESSAN state flat plugs that fit behind furniture. Measure the gap behind your desk before you decide.
Related guides
See every surge protector and cable management guide and all connectivity guides. Also see our best surge protector for home network. Also see our best power strip for gaming desk. Also see our best extension cord with flat plug. Also see our best short extension cord.
More picks: USB-powered LED strip lights, desk lamp with USB, cable management box for a desk, power strip holder.




