Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Home office gear, compared spec by spec.

Audio, Power and Connectivity

Best Extension Cord with Flat Plug: 5 Cords Compared

Five flat-plug extension cords compared by outlet count, wire gauge, plug profile, stated electrical ratings and warranty term, scored on what each listing publishes.

Best Extension Cord with Flat Plug: 5 Cords Compared

The best extension cord with flat plug is the cord that disappears behind the desk, because a plug that sticks out from the wall decides where the furniture goes. On a morning call from the kitchen table, the difference between a standard plug and a flat one is whether the desk hugs the wall or floats in the middle of the room. We compared five flat-plug extension cords by outlet count, wire gauge, plug profile, stated electrical ratings and warranty terms, using only what each listing publishes.

OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • GE 3-Outlet Flat Cord
    Best Overall GE 3-Outlet Flat Cord: 3 grounded outlets, UL listed, limited-lifetime warranty Check price on Amazon
  • CABOCASA 3-Outlet Flat Cord
    Best Outlet Cover CABOCASA 3-Outlet Flat Cord: ETL listed with a detachable cover that conceals the outlets Check price on Amazon
  • LitStar 3-Outlet Flat Cord
    Slimmest Plug LitStar 3-Outlet Flat Cord: 0.35 in plug, V-0 flame-retardant housing, 18-month warranty Check price on Amazon
  • Huanchain 14-Gauge Cord
    Best Heavy-Duty Huanchain 14-Gauge Cord: 14 AWG, 15A and 1875W, ETL listed for indoor and outdoor Check price on Amazon
  • Amazon Basics 2-Prong Cord
    Best Two-Pack Amazon Basics 2-Prong Cord: Two 3-ft cords for small electronics, 13A and 1625W Check price on Amazon

The picks

GE 3-Outlet Flat Cord

GE 3-Outlet Flat Cord

GE9.7/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 3-ft flat-plug cord that turns one grounded outlet into three, with an angled plug, 16 AWG conductors and a UL listing, backed by a limited-lifetime warranty.

Pros

  • Three grounded outlets from one wall outlet
  • Angled flat plug lets furniture sit close to the wall without covering the second outlet
  • UL listed for indoor use, 125V, 13A and 1625W per the title and bullets
  • Limited-lifetime warranty stated

Cons

  • Spec table lists 20A and 2500W, which conflict with the bullets' 13A and 1625W
  • Spec table says 2-pack while the other fields describe one cord
  • Indoor use only; not water resistant
  • Short 3-ft reach limits placement options
Detailed Review

GE lists the 69869 as a 3-ft, 16-gauge flat extension cord with three grounded outlets, an angled flat plug and a UL listing for dry indoor locations, rated 125V, 13A and 1625W per the title and bullets. The spec table contradicts this: it lists the amperage as 20A and the wattage as 2500W, and it lists a 2-pack size while the rest of the listing describes a single cord with a unit count of 1. The title and bullets are more specific, so we trust them, and the cord is scored as a 13-amp, 1625-watt cord.

Who it's for: someone who needs three grounded outlets behind a desk or media center with furniture close to the wall. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a longer cord or a stated outdoor rating.

Its Office Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 5/5: 83 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Outlets3 grounded
Length3 ft
Wire gauge16 AWG
Rating125V, 13A, 1625W

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. UL listed; 125V, 13A and 1625W stated in the title and bullets, so safety scores 7 of 10. Limited-lifetime warranty, so warranty scores 5 of 5. See How We Pick.

Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

CABOCASA 3-Outlet Flat Cord

CABOCASA 3-Outlet Flat Cord

CABOCASA9.7/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 3-ft flat-plug cord with three grounded outlets, an ultra-thin plug, a detachable outlet cover and an ETL listing, with a 1-year warranty.

Pros

  • ETL listed with 13A, 125V and 1625W ratings stated
  • Detachable cover conceals the outlets for a clean look
  • Ultra-thin flat plug fits behind furniture without bending the cord
  • 1-year warranty stated

Cons

  • Downward cord direction fixes how the cord exits the plug
  • Indoor use only, per the title
  • Heavier than the LitStar at 8 ounces
  • Only one cord in the box
Detailed Review

CABOCASA lists a 3-ft flat plug extension cord with three grounded outlets, rated 13A, 125V and 1625W, with an ETL listing. The plug is ultra-thin so furniture sits flush to the wall, and a detachable ultra-thin cover conceals the outlets when they are not in use. The cord runs downward from the plug, which keeps the run tidy behind a nightstand or desk but fixes the exit direction. The listing states an 8-ounce weight, a 36-inch length and a 1-year warranty.

Who it's for: someone who wants a tidy behind-furniture cord whose outlets hide behind a cover. Who should skip it: anyone who needs the cord to exit the plug in a different direction.

Its Office Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 82 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Outlets3 grounded
Length3 ft
PlugUltra-thin flat, downward cord
Rating125V, 13A, 1625W

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. ETL listed; 13A, 125V and 1625W stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 1 year. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

LitStar 3-Outlet Flat Cord

LitStar 3-Outlet Flat Cord

LitStar9.6/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 3-ft white flat-plug cord with a 0.35-inch low-profile plug, three grounded outlets in a front-and-rear layout, V-0 flame-retardant housing and an 18-month warranty.

Pros

  • 0.35 in plug profile is the slimmest stated here
  • V-0 flame-retardant PC housing stated
  • 18-month warranty is longer than the other stated terms
  • Rear-facing third outlet takes a plug without covering the front two

Cons

  • No UL or ETL listing stated
  • Indoor use only; not water resistant
  • 16 AWG conductors are thinner than the huanchain's 14 AWG
  • Only one cord in the box
Detailed Review

LitStar lists a 3-ft white flat plug extension cord with three grounded outlets, two front-facing and one rear-facing, rated 13A and 1625W at 125V. The plug profile is 0.35 in, the slimmest stated in this group, and the housing is V-0 flame-retardant PC with 16/3 AWG copper conductors in PVC insulation. The listing states an 18-month warranty, a 30-day exchange or refund and a 5.28-ounce weight. No UL or ETL listing is stated.

Who it's for: someone fitting a cord behind a TV or sliding door where every fraction of an inch matters. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a stated UL or ETL listing.

Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 6/10 and warranty 4/5: 80 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Plug profile0.35 in
Outlets3 grounded, 2 front + 1 rear
Wire gauge16/3 AWG
Rating125V, 13A, 1625W

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. V-0 flame-retardant PC housing stated, so safety scores 6 of 10. 18 Months. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.

Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Huanchain 14-Gauge Cord

Huanchain 14-Gauge Cord

huanchain9.6/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 6-ft black flat-plug cord in 14 AWG with one grounded outlet, 15A and 1875W ratings, an ETL listing and indoor/outdoor use, but no stated warranty term.

Pros

  • 14 AWG is the thickest conductor here, rated 15A and 1875W
  • ETL listed, with a stated 2500V factory voltage check and stated overload figure
  • Rated for indoor and outdoor use; water resistant
  • 6-ft length reaches distant outlets

Cons

  • Only one outlet
  • Warranty field states "No", so warranty scores zero
  • Water resistance stated but no IP rating given
  • Durability figures are the maker's own stated figures
Detailed Review

Huanchain lists a 6-ft black flat plug extension cord in 14 AWG, rated 15A and 1875W at 125V with an ETL listing and SJTW jacketing. The plug is low profile, the cord is flexible vinyl with a long strain relief, and the listing claims a 65000-bend endurance and a 2500V factory voltage check. Use is stated for home, workshop and outdoor, and the cord is listed as water resistant with no IP rating. It has one outlet, and the warranty field states "No".

Who it's for: someone running a single higher-draw tool or appliance where 14 AWG and a longer reach matter. Who should skip it: anyone who needs multiple outlets or a written warranty.

Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 22/25, value 19/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 0/5: 81 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Wire gauge14 AWG
Length72 inches
Rating125V, 15A, 1875W
UseIndoor and outdoor

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. ETL listed; SJTW jacketing, 15A and 1875W stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Amazon Basics 2-Prong Cord

Amazon Basics 2-Prong Cord

Amazon Basics9.4/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 2-pack of 3-ft white flat-plug cords with two 2-prong outlets each, rated 13A and 1625W, with no stated certification or warranty.

Pros

  • Two cords in the pack for two rooms or two desks
  • 13A and 1625W rating stated for small electronics
  • Plugs fit standard 2- or 3-prong wall outlets
  • Lowest stated weight here at 5.92 ounces

Cons

  • Two-prong outlets, not grounded
  • No UL or ETL listing stated
  • No warranty term stated
  • Only two outlets per cord
Detailed Review

Amazon Basics lists a 2-pack of 3-ft white flat plug extension cords, each with two 2-prong outlets, rated 13A and 1625W at 125V. The plugs connect to standard 2- or 3-prong wall outlets, and the listing positions the cords for small electronics and devices with 2-prong plugs. The item weight is stated as 5.92 ounces per cord. The listing states no certification and no warranty term.

Who it's for: someone who wants two short cords for lamps and chargers in tight spots. Who should skip it: anyone who needs grounded outlets or a stated listing certification.

Its Office Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 19/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 68 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Pack2 cords
Outlets2, 2-prong
Length3 feet
Rating125V, 13A, 1625W

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. No UL 1449 listing or joule rating is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

  • LitStar 6-Ft Black Flat CordLitStar 6-Ft Black Flat CordThe 6-ft black version of the LitStar 3-outlet cord for longer runs.Check on Amazon
  • LitStar 6-Ft White Flat CordLitStar 6-Ft White Flat CordSame 3-outlet layout in white, with 6 ft of reach.Check on Amazon
  • SUPERDANNY Surge Flat CordSUPERDANNY Surge Flat CordFlat plug with 4 AC outlets, 4 USB ports and surge protection.Check on Amazon

Compare the picks

Cord Office Score Outlets Length Rating Plug Warranty Amazon
GE 3-Outlet Flat Cord 9.7/10 3 grounded 3 ft 125V, 13A, 1625W Angled flat plug Limited-lifetime View on Amazon
CABOCASA 3-Outlet Flat Cord 9.7/10 3 grounded 3 ft 125V, 13A, 1625W Ultra-thin flat plug 1 year View on Amazon
LitStar 3-Outlet Flat Cord 9.6/10 3 grounded 3 ft 125V, 13A, 1625W 0.35 in flat plug 18 months View on Amazon
Huanchain 14-Gauge Cord 9.6/10 1 grounded 6 ft 125V, 15A, 1875W Low-profile flat plug Not stated View on Amazon
Amazon Basics 2-Prong Cord 9.4/10 2, 2-prong 3 ft 125V, 13A, 1625W Flat plug Not stated View on Amazon

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 23 October 2026. Three of the five state a third-party listing: the GE is UL listed, and the CABOCASA and huanchain are ETL listed. Three state a warranty term: limited-lifetime, 1 year and 18 months.

How we scored them

The Office Score weighs performance (outlet count, wire gauge and plug layout), build (housing, cord jacket and strain relief), value for the stated specs, safety and warranty. For an extension cord, safety means a stated UL or ETL listing or a stated flame-retardant rating; the GE, CABOCASA, huanchain and LitStar state one, and the Amazon Basics does not. Three listings state a warranty term: the GE at limited lifetime, the CABOCASA at 1 year and the LitStar at 18 months. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Office Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
GE 3-Outlet Flat Cord 9.7 29 21 21 7 5
CABOCASA 3-Outlet Flat Cord 9.7 30 21 21 7 3
LitStar 3-Outlet Flat Cord 9.6 29 21 20 6 4
Huanchain 14-Gauge Cord 9.6 32 22 19 8 0
Amazon Basics 2-Prong Cord 9.4 28 19 21 0 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best extension cord with flat plug

Count the outlets before the cord length

Start with how many things need power at that spot. The GE, CABOCASA and LitStar each turn one outlet into three grounded ones, the huanchain gives a single grounded outlet for one higher-draw device, and each Amazon Basics cord gives two 2-prong outlets for small electronics. A 2-pack like the Amazon Basics covers two rooms, while a single 6-ft cord like the huanchain reaches one distant outlet. If a cord shorter than 3 ft is what you need, our mini extension cord roundup covers even shorter options.

Match the gauge and rating to the load

Wire gauge decides how much current a cord carries. The huanchain states 14 AWG with a 15A and 1875W rating, while the GE and LitStar state 16 AWG with 13A and 1625W, and the CABOCASA and Amazon Basics state the same 13A and 1625W rating without a stated gauge. Thicker wire, the lower gauge number, handles more current, so the 14 AWG cord suits the heaviest draw here. Whatever you plug in, keep the total under the stated rating. For a desk full of gear that needs extra outlets, see our power strip for gaming desk picks.

Cord Wire gauge Rating Length
GE 3-Outlet Flat Cord 16 AWG 125V, 13A, 1625W 3 ft
CABOCASA 3-Outlet Flat Cord Not stated 125V, 13A, 1625W 3 ft
LitStar 3-Outlet Flat Cord 16/3 AWG 125V, 13A, 1625W 3 ft
Huanchain 14-Gauge Cord 14 AWG 125V, 15A, 1875W 72 inches
Amazon Basics 2-Prong Cord Not stated 125V, 13A, 1625W 3 feet

Figures as stated in each listing. The GE rating follows the title and bullets, which state 13A and 1625W, not the spec table’s 20A and 2500W.

Mind the plug profile and which way the cord exits

A flat plug only helps if the cord leaves it in the right direction. The LitStar plug is 0.35 in tall, the slimmest stated here, and its rear-facing third outlet takes a plug without covering the front two. The GE angles its plug so the second wall outlet stays open, while the CABOCASA cord exits downward with a detachable cover that hides the outlets. Picture where the furniture sits first: a downward exit suits a nightstand, an angled plug suits a shared duplex outlet. Our surge protectors and cable management guides cover the rest of the run behind the desk.

Look for a listing mark and a written warranty

Three cords state a third-party listing: UL on the GE, ETL on the CABOCASA and huanchain, plus a V-0 flame-retardant housing on the LitStar. We report each as the maker’s claim. Warranties are thinner: the GE states a limited-lifetime term, the CABOCASA states 1 year and the LitStar states 18 months, while the huanchain and Amazon Basics state no warranty term. A written term beats a vague promise when a plug loosens or a housing cracks.

Setup Notes

  • Measure the run from the outlet to the desk first, then choose between the 3-ft cords and the 6-ft huanchain.
  • Count the plugs you need: three cords here give three grounded outlets, the huanchain gives one, and each Amazon Basics cord gives two 2-prong outlets.
  • Keep the total draw under the stated rating: 15A and 1875W on the huanchain, 13A and 1625W on the other four.
  • Check the cord exit: the CABOCASA runs downward and the GE angles aside, so pick the one that clears your furniture.
  • The LitStar plug stands 0.35 in tall, so leave at least that much clearance behind the furniture.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can these cords power a space heater or a large appliance?

Four of these cords are rated 13A and 1625W and the huanchain is rated 15A and 1875W. Compare the appliance’s stated draw with the cord’s stated rating and stay under it; the listings give no guidance beyond those ratings.

Which of these cords can be used outdoors?

Only the huanchain: its listing states indoor and outdoor use with water resistance. The GE, CABOCASA, LitStar and Amazon Basics are all stated as indoor cords.

Which cord has the slimmest plug?

The LitStar states a 0.35 in plug profile, the slimmest figure in this group. The GE and CABOCASA describe their plugs as flat or ultra-thin without a stated measurement.

What do the UL and ETL marks on these listings mean?

They are third-party safety listings the makers state for their cords: UL on the GE and ETL on the CABOCASA and huanchain. We report them as the maker’s claim and do not verify them.

Which cord comes with the longest warranty?

The GE states a limited-lifetime warranty, which outlasts the LitStar’s 18 months and the CABOCASA’s 1 year. The huanchain and Amazon Basics state no warranty term.

GE 3-Outlet Flat Cord
Still deciding? Our top pickGE 3-Outlet Flat Cord
Check price on Amazon

See every Audio, Power and Connectivity guide. Also see our best mini extension cord picks and our surge protectors with ethernet roundup.

More picks: power strips for gaming desks, power strip holders, cable management boxes for desks.