The best compact folding desk is the one whose top size, folded thickness and stated weight capacity match the corner it will live in, because a desk that never folds flat is just a desk. We compared five compact folding desks by top dimensions, folded thickness, stated weight capacity, assembly, materials and warranty terms, using only what each listing publishes. Every pick folds for storage, and the group spans 23.6 to 35.8 in in width.
OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall Need 31.5 in Folding Desk: BIFMA-certified frame, 220 lb capacity, lifetime warranty, no assembly. Check price on Amazon
Best Wide Desk TEMI 35.8 in Folding Desk: Widest top at 35.8 in with a drawer and keyboard tray included. Check price on Amazon
Best Slim Fold WOHOMO 31.5 in Folding Desk: Folds to 2.76 in thick with a side hook and 200 lb capacity. Check price on Amazon
Best Deep Desktop Huuger 23.6 in Folding Desk: Deepest desktop at 16.5 in on 18 mm steel legs with X-frame. Check price on Amazon
Best Splash-Proof Top alawooder 31.5 in Folding Desk: Splash-proof top, no assembly, slimmest 2.3 in folded profile. Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Office Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Need 31.5 in Folding Desk | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | TEMI 35.8 in Folding Desk | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | WOHOMO 31.5 in Folding Desk | 9.4/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | Huuger 23.6 in Folding Desk | 9.4/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | alawooder 31.5 in Folding Desk | 9.4/10 | Buy on Amazon |

Need 31.5 in Folding Desk
A 31.5 by 15.7 in folding desk with a BIFMA-certified alloy steel frame, a 220 lb stated capacity and a lifetime warranty, ready with no assembly.
Pros
- BIFMA certification stated, the only one in this group
- 220 lb stated weight capacity, the highest stated here
- Lifetime warranty stated
- No assembly required; unfolds in seconds per the listing
Cons
- Folded thickness is not stated
- No storage: no drawer, shelf or hooks stated
- 17.9 lb item weight, heavier than the WOHOMO and alawooder as stated
- 15.7 in top depth is among the shallowest here
Detailed Review
Need lists this as a 31.5 by 15.7 by 29.9 in folding desk with a P2 particle wood top and an alloy steel frame, with no assembly required. The legs adjust 0.5 to 1 in for uneven floors, the stated capacity is 220 lb, and the listing states BIFMA certification per the US office furniture standard plus a lifetime warranty. The top is 0.75 in thick and the item weight is 17.9 lb.
Who it's for: someone who wants the strongest stated specs in this group and a lifetime warranty in writing. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a stated folded thickness or built-in storage.
Its Office Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 4/5: 83 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Top size | 31.5 x 15.7 x 29.9 in |
|---|---|
| Top | P2 particle wood, 0.75 in thick |
| Frame | Alloy steel, BIFMA certified |
| Weight capacity | 220 lb |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. BIFMA certified per the US office furniture standard, as the listing states, so safety scores 7 of 10. Lifetime. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.
Moving desk, heavy load. Stay under the stated lift or weight capacity, leave slack in every cable, keep children, pets and fingers clear while the desk moves, and treat anti-collision as the maker's claim.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

TEMI 35.8 in Folding Desk
A 35.8 by 15.7 in folding desk with a utility drawer, an included keyboard tray and a 200 lb stated capacity, needing no assembly.
Pros
- Widest top here at 35.8 in
- Utility drawer stated, the only drawer in this group
- Keyboard tray included
- No assembly required; folds to 2.9 in thick
Cons
- Warranty listed only as "Limited" with no term stated
- No safety certification stated
- Drawer dimensions are not stated
- 2.9 in folded profile is the thickest stated here
Detailed Review
TEMI lists a 35.8 by 15.7 by 28.7 in folding desk with a one-piece steel frame, arc-welded joints and high-tension springs, rated for 200 lb. It includes a utility drawer and a keyboard tray, folds to 35.8 by 15.7 by 2.9 in, and needs no assembly. The top is 0.75 in thick and the item weight is listed as 8.07 kg. The warranty type is listed only as "Limited" with no term, so warranty scores zero.
Who it's for: someone who wants the widest top here plus a drawer and keyboard tray with no assembly. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a stated warranty term or a slimmer folded profile.
Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 72 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Top size | 35.8 x 15.7 x 28.7 in |
|---|---|
| Folded size | 35.8 x 15.7 x 2.9 in |
| Weight capacity | 200 lb |
| Storage | Utility drawer, keyboard tray included |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Moving desk, heavy load. Stay under the stated lift or weight capacity, leave slack in every cable, keep children, pets and fingers clear while the desk moves, and treat anti-collision as the maker's claim.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

WOHOMO 31.5 in Folding Desk
A 31.5 by 15.75 in white folding desk that folds to 2.76 in thick, with a 200 lb stated capacity and a side hook for small items.
Pros
- Folds to 2.76 in thick for slim storage
- 200 lb stated weight capacity
- Side hook included for headphones or bags
- Listing claims room for 2 monitors
Cons
- Warranty listed only as "Limited" with no term stated
- No safety certification stated
- Some assembly required, unlike the no-assembly picks
- 0.6 in top is the thinnest stated here
Detailed Review
WOHOMO lists a 31.5 by 15.75 by 29.52 in folding desk in white that folds to 2.76 in thick, with a 200 lb stated capacity and a 15.4 lb item weight. The legs fold on a nylon buckle with triangular support plates, a side hook hangs small items, and the listing claims space for 2 monitors. Assembly is easy with included instructions and tools. The warranty type is listed only as "Limited" with no term, so warranty scores zero.
Who it's for: someone who wants a slim-folding white desk with a hook for accessories. Who should skip it: anyone who needs zero assembly or a stated warranty term.
Its Office Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 69 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Top size | 31.5 x 15.75 x 29.52 in |
|---|---|
| Folded thickness | 2.76 in |
| Weight capacity | 200 lb |
| Top thickness | 0.6 in |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Moving desk, heavy load. Stay under the stated lift or weight capacity, leave slack in every cable, keep children, pets and fingers clear while the desk moves, and treat anti-collision as the maker's claim.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Huuger 23.6 in Folding Desk
A 23.6 by 16.5 in rustic brown folding desk with the deepest desktop here, 18 mm steel legs and an X-frame, folding to 2.76 in thick.
Pros
- Deepest desktop here at 16.5 in
- 18 mm steel legs with X-frame support stated
- Folds to 2.76 in thick
- FSC-certified wood top stated
Cons
- No weight capacity is stated
- No warranty is stated
- No item weight stated
- Assembly takes under 20 minutes per the listing, not zero
Detailed Review
Huuger lists a 23.6 by 16.5 by 29.5 in folding desk in rustic brown with a curved, FSC-certified wood desktop, the deepest top in this group at 16.5 in. The frame uses 18 mm steel legs with X-frame support, and the desk folds to 2.76 in thick for storage behind a door or under a bed. Assembly takes under 20 minutes with the included manual and tools. No weight capacity, item weight or warranty is stated.
Who it's for: someone who wants the deepest desktop here and a warm wood look. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a stated weight capacity or warranty.
Its Office Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 68 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Top size | 23.6 x 16.5 x 29.5 in |
|---|---|
| Folded thickness | 2.76 in |
| Legs | 18 mm steel, X-frame |
| Assembly | Under 20 minutes, tools included |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Moving desk, heavy load. Stay under the stated lift or weight capacity, leave slack in every cable, keep children, pets and fingers clear while the desk moves, and treat anti-collision as the maker's claim.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

alawooder 31.5 in Folding Desk
A 31.5 by 15.7 in folding desk with a splash-proof wood top, no-assembly setup and a 2.3 in folded profile, the slimmest here.
Pros
- Slimmest folded profile here at 2.3 in
- Splash-proof wood top stated
- No assembly required
- 4 height-adjusting anti-slip mats stated
Cons
- Capacity contradiction: title and bullets say 150 lb, spec table says 500 lb
- Warranty listed only as "Limited" with no term stated
- No safety certification stated
- Only white colorway listed
Detailed Review
alawooder lists a 31.5 by 15.7 by 29.1 in folding desk with a splash-proof wood top and a metal frame with ABS connectors, needing no assembly and folding to 2.3 in thick. One contradiction: the title and bullets state a 150 lb capacity while the spec table states 500 lb; the title and bullets win, so it is scored at 150 lb. The top is 0.6 in thick, the item weight is 16 lb, and 4 height-adjusting anti-slip mats are stated. The warranty type is listed only as "Limited" with no term, so warranty scores zero.
Who it's for: someone who wants the slimmest fold here and a wipeable top for crafts or dining. Who should skip it: anyone put off by the capacity contradiction or needing a stated warranty term.
Its Office Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 20/25, value 19/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 65 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Top size | 31.5 x 15.7 x 29.1 in |
|---|---|
| Folded thickness | 2.3 in |
| Weight capacity | 150 lb (title and bullets; spec table says 500 lb) |
| Top | Splash-proof wood, 0.6 in thick |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Moving desk, heavy load. Stay under the stated lift or weight capacity, leave slack in every cable, keep children, pets and fingers clear while the desk moves, and treat anti-collision as the maker's claim.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
WOHOMO Gold 31.5 in Folding DeskFaux marble top with gold legs on the same 31.5 in folding frame.Check on Amazon
VASAGLE 31.5 in Folding DeskFolds to 2.4 in with a one-piece desktop and rounded edges.Check on Amazon
JOYMOOP 31.5 in Folding DeskNo-assembly 150 lb folding desk with a 2-year manufacturer warranty.Check on Amazon
CHOEZON Rolling Folding DeskRolling folding desk with 6 casters, power sockets, USB-A ports and a storage shelf.Check on Amazon
ZENY 39.4 in Folding DeskWidest pick at 39.4 in with a steel frame and 198 lb capacity.Check on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Desk | Office Score | Top size (in) | Folded (in) | Capacity (lb) | Assembly | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Need 31.5 in Folding Desk | 9.7/10 | 31.5 x 15.7 | Not stated | 220 | None | Lifetime | View on Amazon |
| TEMI 35.8 in Folding Desk | 9.5/10 | 35.8 x 15.7 | 2.9 | 200 | None | Limited | View on Amazon |
| WOHOMO 31.5 in Folding Desk | 9.4/10 | 31.5 x 15.75 | 2.76 | 200 | Easy | Limited | View on Amazon |
| Huuger 23.6 in Folding Desk | 9.4/10 | 23.6 x 16.5 | 2.76 | Not stated | Under 20 min | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| alawooder 31.5 in Folding Desk | 9.4/10 | 31.5 x 15.7 | 2.3 | 150 | None | Limited | View on Amazon |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 23 October 2026. One of the five states a warranty term; one states a BIFMA certification.
How we scored them
The Office Score weighs performance (top size, folded thickness, stated capacity, assembly and extras), build (frame and top materials, item weight), value for the stated specs, safety and warranty. For a folding desk, safety means a stated certification such as BIFMA or stated stability hardware; the Need states BIFMA certification and the others state no certification. One listing states a warranty term: the Need at Lifetime. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Office Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Need 31.5 in Folding Desk | 9.7 | 30 | 21 | 21 | 7 | 4 |
| TEMI 35.8 in Folding Desk | 9.5 | 30 | 21 | 21 | 0 | 0 |
| WOHOMO 31.5 in Folding Desk | 9.4 | 29 | 20 | 20 | 0 | 0 |
| Huuger 23.6 in Folding Desk | 9.4 | 28 | 20 | 20 | 0 | 0 |
| alawooder 31.5 in Folding Desk | 9.4 | 26 | 20 | 19 | 0 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best compact folding desk
Measure the corner and the folded footprint
Start with the unfolded top: the TEMI is 35.8 by 15.7 in, the Need, WOHOMO and alawooder are 31.5 in wide, and the Huuger is 23.6 by 16.5 in. Then check where the desk goes when folded: the alawooder folds to 2.3 in thick, the WOHOMO and Huuger to 2.76 in, and the TEMI to 2.9 in, while the Need states no folded thickness. The 2.3 in profile is the slimmest stated here. The best folding desk for small apartment guide covers even tighter spaces.
Folded thickness and top size, side by side
| Desk | Top size (in) | Folded thickness (in) | Item weight (lb) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Need 31.5 in Folding Desk | 31.5 x 15.7 | Not stated | 17.9 |
| TEMI 35.8 in Folding Desk | 35.8 x 15.7 | 2.9 | Not stated |
| WOHOMO 31.5 in Folding Desk | 31.5 x 15.75 | 2.76 | 15.4 |
| Huuger 23.6 in Folding Desk | 23.6 x 16.5 | 2.76 | Not stated |
| alawooder 31.5 in Folding Desk | 31.5 x 15.7 | 2.3 | 16 |
Figures as stated in each listing; the TEMI lists item weight as 8.07 kg. Folded thickness decides storage options, and item weight decides how easily the desk moves between rooms.
Match the capacity to your setup
Stated weight capacity runs from 150 lb on the alawooder (per its title and bullets; the spec table says 500 lb) to 220 lb on the Need, with the WOHOMO and TEMI at 200 lb and the Huuger stating none. Treat each figure as the maker’s claim and leave a margin rather than loading to the limit. If your setup includes a desktop PC and books, the Need’s 220 lb gives the most headroom on paper.
Assembly, drawers and hooks
The Need, TEMI and alawooder need no assembly; the WOHOMO assembles with included tools and the Huuger takes under 20 minutes. Only the TEMI states a drawer, and it includes a keyboard tray; the WOHOMO adds a side hook for headphones or a bag. If you work with a laptop and a notebook, the extras matter: a drawer keeps the folded desk’s top clear. See the best folding desk for home office guide for picks with more storage, and standing desks if you want height adjustment.
Setup Notes
- Measure the unfolded top against your wall space, then the folded thickness against the gap behind your door or under your bed: 2.3 in is the slimmest stated here.
- Plan power before the desk arrives: of the five main picks none states outlets, so count on a nearby wall socket or a power strip. (The more-picks CHOEZON states 2 power sockets and 2 USB-A ports.)
- Check the floor: the Need and TEMI state adjustable leg pads for uneven floors, and the alawooder states 4 anti-slip leveling mats.
- Assembly ranges from none (Need, TEMI, alawooder) to under 20 minutes (Huuger); the WOHOMO ships with instructions and tools.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which compact folding desk has the highest stated weight capacity?
The Need states 220 lb. The WOHOMO and TEMI state 200 lb, the alawooder states 150 lb in its title and bullets, and the Huuger states no capacity.
Which folding desk folds the slimmest?
The alawooder folds to 2.3 in thick. The WOHOMO and Huuger fold to 2.76 in, the TEMI to 2.9 in, and the Need states no folded thickness.
Do any of these desks need assembly?
The Need, TEMI and alawooder need none. The WOHOMO assembles with included tools and instructions, and the Huuger takes under 20 minutes per its listing.
Which pick has a drawer?
Only the TEMI states a utility drawer, and it also includes a keyboard tray.
Is the BIFMA certification important?
BIFMA is a US office furniture standard. The Need states BIFMA certification; the other four state no certification. We report it as the maker’s claim.
Related guides
See every computer desks guide and all desks and desk lighting guides. Also see our best folding desk for home office. Also see our best folding desk for small apartment. Also see our best folding desk for bed.
More picks: standing desks, computer desks, desk lamps.




