Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Home office gear, compared spec by spec.

Desk Lamps and Light Bars

Best Desk Lamp for Eye Health (2026): 5 Compared

Five desk lamps compared by stated brightness, color temperature range, CRI, flicker and glare features, adjustability and warranty term.

Best Desk Lamp for Eye Health (2026): 5 Compared

The best desk lamp for eye health is the one that gives you steady, adjustable light without glare, because harsh overhead lighting and a dim desk corner make long sessions harder than they need to be. We compared five desk lamps by stated brightness, color temperature range, CRI, flicker and glare features, adjustability and warranty term, using only what each listing publishes.

OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Omorepa 4-Bar Gooseneck
    Best Overall Omorepa 4-Bar Gooseneck: 24W, 4-bar design to 34.2 in, RA over 90, 3-year warranty. Check price on Amazon
  • hansang Wireless Charger Lamp
    Best Charger hansang Wireless Charger Lamp: 10W wireless charger, 1000 lumens, 3000K to 5000K, 2-year term. Check price on Amazon
  • hooga Tri-Color Lamp
    Best Low Blue hooga Tri-Color Lamp: Amber 1600K and red modes, rechargeable, 2-year warranty. Check price on Amazon
  • Honeywell HJ1BK
    Best CRI Honeywell HJ1BK: 1200LM, CRI 97 or higher, flicker-free, 4 color temperatures. Check price on Amazon
  • Caromolly Light Therapy Lamp
    Best Therapy Caromolly Light Therapy Lamp: 10,000 lux UV-free, 3 color temperatures, 1-year warranty. Check price on Amazon

The picks

Omorepa 4-Bar Gooseneck

Omorepa 4-Bar Gooseneck

Omorepa9.6/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 24W four-bar gooseneck lamp reaching 34.2 in with RA over 90 and a 3-year warranty.

Pros

  • 4 light bars extend up to 34.2 in with separate control
  • 360-degree gooseneck with multi-angle adjustments
  • RA over 90 with flicker-free uniform illumination
  • 3-year warranty stated in the bullets, the longest term

Cons

  • Bullets state a 3-year warranty while the spec table states 2 years; we trust the bullets
  • No color temperatures are stated in the listing
  • No dimming range is stated in the listing
  • 24W is the highest stated wattage, using the most power
Detailed Review

The Omorepa is the coverage pick: the listing describes 4 light bars extending up to 34.2 in, each controlled separately, on a 360-degree gooseneck with side heads swinging 297 degrees up and down plus 270 degrees left and right. The 24W lamp states RA over 90 with flicker-free uniform illumination, and the auxiliary lights flip upward for ambient light.

The bullets state a 3-year warranty with lifetime support while the spec table states 2 years warranty; we trust the title and bullets. The listing states no color temperatures or dimming range.

Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 3/5: 78 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Power24W
ReachUp to 34.2 in
CRIRA over 90
Warranty3-year warranty

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Flicker-free uniform illumination; RA over 90, so safety scores 5 of 10. 3-year warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Lamps near paper and water. Use the supplied adapter, keep the lamp head away from paper, curtains and drinks, and treat flicker-free and brightness figures as the maker's claims.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

hansang Wireless Charger Lamp

hansang Wireless Charger Lamp

hansang9.6/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A desk lamp with a 10W wireless charger, up to 1000 lumens and a 2-year term.

Pros

  • 10W wireless charger built into the base
  • Up to 1000 lumens with 3000K, 4000K and 5000K modes
  • Stepless dimming from 5% to 100% with memory function
  • 2-year warranty stated in the spec table

Cons

  • Thick phone cases may affect wireless charging per the listing
  • 30-minute night light timer is the only stated timer
  • The listing gives no CRI number beyond over 90
  • Compact design covers less desk area than the Omorepa
Detailed Review

The hansang is the convenience pick: the listing describes a 10W wireless charger built into the base, so a phone charges by being placed on it. The lamp offers 3000K warm white, 4000K natural white and 5000K daylight with stepless dimming from 5% to 100% up to 1000 lumens, plus a memory function and a 30-minute night light timer.

The spec table states anti-glare, flicker-free LED lighting with a CRI of over 90 and a 2-year warranty. The listing warns that thick phone cases may affect charging.

Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 3/5: 77 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
BrightnessUp to 1000 lumens
Color temps3000K, 4000K, 5000K
Charger10W wireless
Warranty2-year

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Anti-glare, flicker-free lighting with CRI over 90, so safety scores 5 of 10. 2-year. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Lamps near paper and water. Use the supplied adapter, keep the lamp head away from paper, curtains and drinks, and treat flicker-free and brightness figures as the maker's claims.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

hooga Tri-Color Lamp

hooga Tri-Color Lamp

hooga9.5/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A portable tri-color lamp with amber 1600K and red modes stated as blue-free, rechargeable.

Pros

  • Amber 1600K stated 99.94% free of blue spectrum light
  • Red 625nm light stated 100% blue-free
  • Rechargeable and portable for travel
  • 2 year manufacturer's warranty

Cons

  • No brightness figure is stated in the listing
  • No CRI figure is stated in the listing
  • We do not repeat the listing's sleep and melatonin claims
  • Small portable design suits bedside use more than a full desk
Detailed Review

The hooga is the low-blue pick: the listing describes three modes, amber 1600K stated as 99.94% free of blue spectrum light, red 625nm stated as 100% blue-free, and full-spectrum 4000K white light, all dimmable. The lamp is lightweight, portable and rechargeable, fitting in a bag for hotels and travel.

We do not repeat the listing's claims about melatonin, circadian rhythm and restful sleep, which are health claims. The extracted facts state a 2 year manufacturer's warranty. No brightness or CRI figures are stated.

Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 3/5: 76 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
ModesAmber 1600K, red, 4000K
Blue-free99.94% amber, 100% red
PowerRechargeable
Warranty2 year manufacturer's warranty

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Amber 1600K 99.94% blue-free; red 625nm 100% blue-free, so safety scores 5 of 10. 2 year manufacturer's warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Lamps near paper and water. Use the supplied adapter, keep the lamp head away from paper, curtains and drinks, and treat flicker-free and brightness figures as the maker's claims.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Honeywell HJ1BK

Honeywell HJ1BK

Honeywell9.5/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 1200LM architect lamp with CRI 97 or higher, flicker-free light and 4 color temperatures.

Pros

  • 1200LM with 156 Sunturalux chips
  • CRI of 97 or higher, the highest stated
  • Flicker-free, glare-free illumination
  • 4 color temperatures with memory function and 1-hour timer

Cons

  • Spec table lists the warranty as '2' with no term; we score no warranty
  • We do not repeat the listing's eye strain claims
  • Architect style needs desk space for the arm
  • The 1-hour timer is the only stated auto-off
Detailed Review

The Honeywell HJ1BK is the spec pick: the listing states 156 Sunturalux chips delivering 1200LM with a CRI of 97 or higher, flicker-free and glare-free. Four color temperatures run from 3000K warm to 5700K daylight with stepless dimming from 10% to 100%, a memory function saving the 4000K work mode, and a 1-hour auto-off timer.

We do not repeat the listing's claims about reducing eye strain, which are health claims. The spec table lists the warranty description as '2' with no term, so we score no warranty.

Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 77 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Brightness1200LM
CRI97 or higher
Color temps3000K to 5700K
WarrantyNot stated as a term

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Flicker-free, glare-free illumination; CRI 97 or higher, so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Lamps near paper and water. Use the supplied adapter, keep the lamp head away from paper, curtains and drinks, and treat flicker-free and brightness figures as the maker's claims.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Caromolly Light Therapy Lamp

Caromolly Light Therapy Lamp

Caromolly9.5/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 10,000 lux UV-free therapy lamp with 3 color temperatures and touch dimming.

Pros

  • 10,000 lux UV-free light
  • 3 color temperatures: 2700K, 4000K and 6000K
  • Touch control with dimming from 10% to 100%
  • 1 year manufacturer warranty

Cons

  • A therapy lamp, not a general task lamp
  • We do not repeat the listing's winter blues and energy claims
  • Compact size covers a small area
  • Linen shade design suits some decors only
Detailed Review

The Caromolly is the therapy pick: the listing describes a 10,000 lux UV-free lamp with a linen shade for stable, non-flickering lighting, 3 color temperatures at 2700K, 4000K and 6000K, and touch control dimming from 10% to 100% across 5 brightness levels.

We do not repeat the listing's claims about winter blues, jet lag and energy, which are health claims. The extracted facts state a 1 year manufacturer warranty.

Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 27/35, build 19/25, value 20/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 2/5: 73 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Brightness10,000 lux, UV-free
Color temps2700K, 4000K, 6000K
Dimming10% to 100%, 5 levels
Warranty1 year manufacturer warranty

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Non-flickering lighting; UV-free 10,000 lux, so safety scores 5 of 10. 1 year manufacturer warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.

Lamps near paper and water. Use the supplied adapter, keep the lamp head away from paper, curtains and drinks, and treat flicker-free and brightness figures as the maker's claims.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

Compare the picks

Lamp Office Score Brightness Color temps CRI Warranty Amazon
Omorepa 4-Bar Gooseneck 9.6/10 24W Not stated RA over 90 3-year View on Amazon
hansang Wireless Charger Lamp 9.6/10 Up to 1000 lumens 3000K, 4000K, 5000K Over 90 2-year View on Amazon
hooga Tri-Color Lamp 9.5/10 Not stated 1600K, 4000K, red Not stated 2-year View on Amazon
Honeywell HJ1BK 9.5/10 1200LM 3000K to 5700K 97 or higher Not stated View on Amazon
Caromolly Light Therapy Lamp 9.5/10 10,000 lux 2700K, 4000K, 6000K Not stated 1-year View on Amazon

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 20 October 2026. Four of the five listings state a warranty term.

How we scored them

The Office Score weighs performance (stated brightness, color temperature range and CRI), build (listed materials and adjustability), value for the stated specs, safety and warranty. For desk lamps, safety means stated flicker-free and anti-glare features; all five listings name such features, so safety points were given. Four listings state a warranty term: Omorepa at 3 years, hooga at 2 years, hansang at 2 years and Caromolly at 1 year.

Product Office Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
Omorepa 4-Bar Gooseneck 9.6 29 21 20 5 3
hansang Wireless Charger Lamp 9.6 28 20 21 5 3
hooga Tri-Color Lamp 9.5 28 20 20 5 3
Honeywell HJ1BK 9.5 30 21 21 5 0
Caromolly Light Therapy Lamp 9.5 27 19 20 5 2

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best desk lamp for eye health

Brightness and color temperature

Stated brightness runs from up to 1000 lumens on the hansang to 1200LM on the Honeywell, with the Omorepa at 24W and the Caromolly at 10,000 lux. Color temperature options: the Caromolly offers 2700K, 4000K and 6000K, the Honeywell offers 4 presets from 3000K to 5700K, the hansang offers 3000K, 4000K and 5000K, and the hooga offers amber 1600K, red and full-spectrum 4000K. The Omorepa listing does not state color temperatures. Warmer settings suit evenings, cooler settings suit focused daytime work. More lighting guides are on the site.

CRI and flicker-free claims

The Honeywell states a CRI of 97 or higher with 156 Sunturalux chips, the Omorepa states RA over 90, and the hansang states a CRI of over 90 with anti-glare, flicker-free LED lighting. The Caromolly describes stable, non-flickering lighting through a linen shade. Higher CRI means colors render more accurately under the lamp, which matters for design and craft work.

Adjustability and reach

The Omorepa extends up to 34.2 in with a 360-degree gooseneck, side heads swinging 297 degrees up and down plus 270 degrees left and right, and a center bracket at 90 degrees, with 4 separately controlled light bars. The Honeywell is an architect-style lamp with flexible positioning. The hooga is lightweight and portable for travel. The hansang and Caromolly are compact desk lamps.

Dimming, memory and timers

Dimming ranges: the Caromolly dims from 10% to 100% with 5 brightness levels, the Honeywell dims steplessly from 10% to 100%, and the hansang dims from 5% to 100%. The Honeywell and hansang both have memory functions that save the last settings, and the hooga is dimmable with a rechargeable battery. The Honeywell includes a 1-hour auto-off timer and the hansang a 30-minute night light timer.

Lamp Brightness Color temps Dimming
Omorepa 4-Bar Gooseneck 24W Not stated Not stated
hansang with Wireless Charger Up to 1000 lumens 3000K, 4000K, 5000K 5% to 100%
hooga Tri-Color Not stated 1600K, 4000K, red Dimmable
Honeywell HJ1BK 1200LM 3000K to 5700K 10% to 100%
Caromolly Light Therapy 10,000 lux 2700K, 4000K, 6000K 10% to 100%

Figures are the maker’s claims. The Omorepa listing does not state color temperatures or a dimming range.

Extras: charging, portability and therapy modes

The hansang builds in a 10W wireless charger in the base. The hooga is rechargeable and portable for travel. The Caromolly is a 10,000 lux UV-free light therapy lamp with 3 color temperatures; we report the stated specs and do not repeat the listing’s claims about winter blues or energy.

Setup Notes

  • Position the lamp to the side of the monitor to avoid glare on the screen; the Omorepa’s 34.2 in reach covers wide desks.
  • Use warmer color temperatures in the evening: 2700K to 3000K on the Caromolly, Honeywell and hansang.
  • Save preferred settings with the memory function on the Honeywell and hansang.
  • Charge the hooga before travel; it is rechargeable and portable per the listing.
  • Check the wireless charger note on the hansang: thick phone cases may affect charging.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which lamp has the highest stated CRI?

The Honeywell states a CRI of 97 or higher. The Omorepa states RA over 90 and the hansang states a CRI of over 90. The Caromolly and hooga listings state no CRI figure.

Which lamps are flicker-free?

The Honeywell, Omorepa and hansang listings state flicker-free lighting, and the Caromolly describes stable, non-flickering lighting. The hooga listing does not state flicker-free.

Which lamp has a wireless charger?

The hansang has a 10W wireless charger built into the base. None of the other four listings states wireless charging.

Which picks state a warranty?

The Omorepa bullets state a 3-year warranty, the hooga states a 2 year manufacturer’s warranty, the hansang states 2-year, and the Caromolly states a 1 year manufacturer warranty. The Honeywell spec table lists the warranty as “2” with no term, so we score no warranty for it.

What is the hooga amber mode?

The hooga offers amber 1600K light stated as 99.94% free of blue spectrum light, red 625nm light stated as 100% blue-free, and full-spectrum 4000K white light, all dimmable.

Omorepa 4-Bar Gooseneck
Still deciding? Our top pickOmorepa 4-Bar Gooseneck
Check price on Amazon

See every desk lamps and light bars guide and all desks and desk lighting guides.

More picks: browse desks, desk lamps and computer desks.