Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Home office gear, compared spec by spec.

Desk Lamps and Light Bars

Best Desk Lamp for Macular Degeneration (2026): 5 Lamps Compared

Five desk lamps compared by brightness levels, color temperature, CRI, mount type and warranty, with the adjustment features that matter at a home desk.

Best Desk Lamp for Macular Degeneration (2026): 5 Lamps Compared

A 9 a.m. video call with a dim webcam is a bad time to discover the desk corner is too dark to read by. The best desk lamp for macular degeneration is not one magic model: it is the lamp whose brightness steps, color temperature range and positioning best match the desk it lights. We compared five lamps by stated brightness levels, color temperature, CRI, mount type, USB charging and warranty, and ranked them on the checkable specs only.

OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Honeywell HWT-H2
    Best Overall Honeywell HWT-H2: CRI94, 2700-5700K, stepless dimming, USB-A and USB-C ports Check price on Amazon
  • TROND Halo 10W
    Best Slim Base TROND Halo 10W: 0.63 in slim base, 7 brightness levels, memory function Check price on Amazon
  • Motumen MTD2401
    Best Double Head Motumen MTD2401: Dual heads, remote control, 3000-6500K, 1-year warranty Check price on Amazon
  • SKYLEO A018
    Best Clamp Swing Arm SKYLEO A018: Metal swing arm, 11 brightness levels, 45-minute timer Check price on Amazon
  • Verilux VF09WW3
    Best Floor Option Verilux VF09WW3: 64.02 in floor lamp, 5 brightness levels, 1-year warranty Check price on Amazon

The picks

Honeywell HWT-H2

Honeywell HWT-H2

Honeywell9.7/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A foldable desk lamp with the strongest stated spec sheet here: CRI94, stepless dimming and USB-A and USB-C charging ports.

Pros

  • CRI94 with a stated 550LM and 48 full spectrum beads is the most detailed light spec of the five
  • Stepless dimming from 10% to 100% across 2700K to 5700K gives the widest stated adjustment range
  • USB-A and USB-C charging ports in the base charge phones and tablets while the lamp runs
  • 2 year stated warranty is the longest term of the five

Cons

  • 24 watts is the highest stated wattage here, so it draws the most power
  • The spec table lists 240 volts while the bullets describe a standard plug-in connection; trust the bullets
  • Foldable ABS and plastic build is less sturdy on paper than the metal-arm picks
  • 11 in rectangular head needs more desk width than the slim gooseneck picks
Detailed Review

The Honeywell HWT-H2 lists 48 full spectrum beads at 550LM with CRI94, RG1 low blue light technology, 4 color modes from 2700K to 5700K and stepless 10% to 100% dimming. The 11 in rectangular head folds flat, the base carries USB-A and USB-C charging ports, and the listing adds a 30-minute auto-off timer and a memory function. The spec table states 240 volts while the bullets describe a stable plug-in power connection; the bullets win that tie. The listing states a 2 year warranty.

Who it's for: someone who wants the widest stated adjustment range, charges devices at the desk and wants a warranty term in writing. Who should skip it: anyone on a small desk who needs the slimmest footprint, or a buyer who wants a clamp mount.

Its Office Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 4/5: 83 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Color temperature2700K-5700K
Dimming10%-100% stepless
CRI94
Warranty2 year

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 19 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. RG1 low blue light technology is stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. 2 year. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.

Lamps near paper and water. Use the supplied adapter, keep the lamp head away from paper, curtains and drinks, and treat flicker-free and brightness figures as the maker's claims.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

TROND Halo 10W

TROND Halo 10W

TROND9.6/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A slim gooseneck desk lamp with 7 brightness levels, 3 color modes and a memory function on a 0.63 in low-profile base.

Pros

  • 7 brightness levels with 3 color modes (3000K, 4500K, 6000K) cover working, reading and relaxing presets
  • The listing states no mercury or lead and no UV or IR radiation
  • 0.63 in slim base and 16.1 in flexible gooseneck aim the light exactly where needed
  • 18 months stated warranty with a stated 40000 hour LED lifespan

Cons

  • 10 watts is the lowest stated wattage here, so maximum brightness trails the group
  • The listing names a vision condition in its marketing; the checkable features are the dimming steps and color modes
  • No USB charging port is stated, only USB connectivity for power
  • Touch-only controls give no physical button for quick adjustments
Detailed Review

The TROND Halo 10W lists 7 brightness levels adjusted by a swipe groove, 3 color modes at 3000K, 4500K and 6000K, a memory function, touch controls and a 16.1 in flexible gooseneck on a 0.63 in slim base. The listing states a 40000 hour lifespan, which it converts to 22 years at 5 hours per day, and states 70% to 80% lower power use than incandescent. The listing states an 18 months warranty. Its marketing names a vision condition; this article scores the stated adjustment features instead.

Who it's for: someone who wants a slim base, simple presets and a long stated LED lifespan on a home desk. Who should skip it: anyone who needs USB charging from the lamp or the widest color temperature range.

Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 80 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Brightness levels7
Color modes3000K/4500K/6000K
Gooseneck16.1 in
Warranty18 months

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 19 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. No mercury or lead, and no UV or IR radiation, per the listing, so safety scores 7 of 10. 18 months warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Lamps near paper and water. Use the supplied adapter, keep the lamp head away from paper, curtains and drinks, and treat flicker-free and brightness figures as the maker's claims.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Motumen MTD2401

Motumen MTD2401

Motumen9.5/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A clamp-mounted dual-head lamp with 168 beads, a remote control and 5 color temperatures from 3000K to 6500K.

Pros

  • Dual-head design with 168 light beads gives the widest stated lighting range here
  • 5 color temperatures (3000K-6500K) and 5 brightness levels (20%-100%) make 25 stated combinations
  • Remote works up to 32.8 ft, plus on-lamp buttons and a 1-hour auto-off timer
  • Clamp mount saves desk space and the listing states a 1 year manufacturer warranty

Cons

  • No safety-relevant feature or certification is stated, so safety scores zero
  • 14 watts with two heads may be more light than a small desk needs
  • The remote is another battery-powered part to keep track of
  • Clamp-only mounting gives no freestanding option for thick desk edges
Detailed Review

The Motumen MTD2401 lists a dual-head design with 168 light beads, 5 color temperatures from 3000K to 6500K, 5 brightness levels from 20% to 100%, a memory function and a remote with a stated 32.8 ft range. The clamp mount saves desk space, the shade is aluminum, and a 1-hour timer turns the lamp off automatically. The listing states a 1 year manufacturer warranty. No safety certification is stated.

Who it's for: someone who wants maximum stated coverage, remote control from across the room and a clamp that frees the desktop. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a freestanding base or a stated safety certification.

Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 3/5: 73 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Light beads168
Color temperature3000K-6500K
ControlRemote, 32.8 ft range
Warranty1 year

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 19 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. 1 year manufacturer. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Lamps near paper and water. Use the supplied adapter, keep the lamp head away from paper, curtains and drinks, and treat flicker-free and brightness figures as the maker's claims.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

SKYLEO A018

SKYLEO A018

SKYLEO9.5/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A metal swing-arm desk lamp with 11 brightness levels, 5 color modes and a clamp mount that keeps the desktop clear.

Pros

  • 11 brightness levels is the highest stated step count here, with 5 color modes
  • Metal base and metal shade with an adjustable swing arm read sturdier than the plastic picks
  • Clamp mount with a 45-minute timer and memory function suits long study sessions
  • USB powered at 5 volts, so it works with laptops, power banks or adapters

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated, only an invitation to contact the maker with problems
  • The bullets say touch control while the spec table says push button; the control type is unclear
  • No color temperature numbers are stated, only 5 unnamed modes
  • No safety-relevant feature or certification is stated
Detailed Review

The SKYLEO A018 lists 112 light sources, 5 color modes, 11 brightness levels, a memory function and a 45-minute timer on an adjustable metal swing arm with a clamp mount. The listing says it is USB powered at 5 volts and includes a 180 cm cable, an adapter and a strong clamp. The bullets describe touch control while the spec table lists a push button switch; the listing contradicts itself there. No warranty term is stated.

Who it's for: someone who wants a clamp-mounted metal arm, the most brightness steps and USB power flexibility. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a stated warranty term or stated color temperature numbers.

Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 71 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Brightness levels11
Light sources112
MountClamp
Cable180 cm

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 19 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Lamps near paper and water. Use the supplied adapter, keep the lamp head away from paper, curtains and drinks, and treat flicker-free and brightness figures as the maker's claims.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Verilux VF09WW3

Verilux VF09WW3

Verilux9.3/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 64.02 in gooseneck floor lamp with 5 brightness levels and 3 color temperatures for readers who want light from beside the chair.

Pros

  • Floor-standing design lights a reading chair without using any desk space
  • 5 brightness levels and 3 color temperatures from warm white to daylight
  • Optix lens is stated to control glare on the gooseneck head
  • 1-Year Manufacturer's Warranty is stated, with US-based support claimed

Cons

  • It is a floor lamp, not a desk lamp, so it does not belong on the desk at all
  • The spec table lists 2.6 lbs in one place and an 11 lb item weight in another
  • 14 watts with one light source is the simplest stated build here
  • No safety-relevant feature or certification is stated
Detailed Review

The Verilux VF09WW3 lists a full spectrum LED floor lamp with 5 brightness levels, 3 color temperatures from warm white to daylight, a flexible gooseneck and an Optix lens for glare control. The item dimensions state 8 x 10.51 x 64.02 in, but the spec table lists 2.6 lbs in the product dimensions against an 11 lb item weight; the listing contradicts itself on weight. The listing states a 1-Year Manufacturer's Warranty. It is the only floor lamp in a desk lamp list.

Who it's for: someone who reads in a chair beside the desk and wants floor-standing light. Who should skip it: anyone shopping for a lamp that sits on the desk.

Its Office Score of 9.3/10 comes from performance 24/35, build 19/25, value 18/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 3/5: 64 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Height64.02 in
Brightness levels5
Color temperatures3
Warranty1 year

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 19 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. 1-Year Manufacturer's Warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Lamps near paper and water. Use the supplied adapter, keep the lamp head away from paper, curtains and drinks, and treat flicker-free and brightness figures as the maker's claims.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

Compare the picks

Lamp Office Score Brightness Color temperature Mount Warranty Amazon
Honeywell HWT-H2 9.7/10 Stepless, 10-100% 2700-5700K, CRI94 Desktop 2 year View on Amazon
TROND Halo 10W 9.6/10 7 levels 3000K, 4500K, 6000K Desktop 18 months View on Amazon
Motumen MTD2401 9.5/10 5 levels, 20-100% 3000-6500K Clamp 1 year View on Amazon
SKYLEO A018 9.5/10 11 levels 5 modes, not numbered Clamp Not stated View on Amazon
Verilux VF09WW3 9.3/10 5 levels 3 temps Floor 1 year View on Amazon

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 19 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Office Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For desk lamps, safety means stated electrical and material safety features, such as no mercury or lead and no UV or IR radiation. Four of the five state a warranty term, from 1 year to 2 years. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Office Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
Honeywell HWT-H2 9.7 32 21 21 5 4
TROND Halo 10W 9.6 29 20 21 7 3
Motumen MTD2401 9.5 30 20 20 0 3
SKYLEO A018 9.5 30 21 20 0 0
Verilux VF09WW3 9.3 24 19 18 0 3

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

Buying guide: the best desk lamp for macular degeneration

Brightness steps and dimming

Stated brightness control runs from 5 levels (Motumen, Verilux floor) to 7 (TROND) to 11 (SKYLEO), with the Honeywell stating stepless dimming from 10% to 100%. More steps mean finer control over glare on paper, and the memory function on the TROND, SKYLEO, Motumen and Honeywell restores the last setting so the dialing is done once. The Motumen adds a remote with a stated 32.8 ft range and a 1-hour timer; the SKYLEO adds a 45-minute timer; the Honeywell adds a 30-minute timer. Pick the step count that matches how often the light changes during the day.

Color temperature and CRI

Two listings state a full range: the Honeywell at 2700K to 5700K and the Motumen at 3000K to 6500K. The TROND states 3 modes at 3000K, 4500K and 6000K, the SKYLEO states 5 modes with no numbers, and the Verilux floor states 3 temperatures from warm white to daylight. CRI is stated twice: CRI94 on the Honeywell and a CRI over 80 on the CHARYJOD in the more options below. Where both are stated, the Honeywell pairs the widest useful range with the highest stated CRI. For more on stepped brightness, see our desk lamp with adjustable brightness roundup.

Gooseneck, swing arm or clamp

Positioning decides whether the light lands on the page or in the eyes. The TROND states a 16.1 in flexible gooseneck on a slim 0.63 in base; the Motumen states an adjustable goose-neck on a clamp; the SKYLEO states a metal swing arm on a clamp; the Honeywell folds flat on a desktop base; the Verilux stands 64.02 in tall on the floor. Clamp mounts suit crowded desks and leave the surface clear, while a heavy base suits a desk that moves between rooms. Measure the desk edge before ordering a clamp model.

USB charging and power

All five are corded electric, but only some share power. The Honeywell states USB-A and USB-C charging ports in the base for phones and tablets. The TROND lists USB connectivity for its own power at 12 volts. The SKYLEO runs on 5 volt USB and states it works with laptops, power banks or adapters, with a 180 cm cable included. The Motumen and Verilux floor run on their included adapters only. If the desk has one free outlet, a USB-sharing lamp cuts a charger from the strip.

Lamp Brightness Color temperature Mount Warranty
Honeywell HWT-H2 Stepless, 10-100% 2700-5700K, CRI94 Desktop 2 year
TROND Halo 10W 7 levels 3000K, 4500K, 6000K Desktop 18 months
Motumen MTD2401 5 levels, 20-100% 3000-6500K Clamp 1 year
SKYLEO A018 11 levels 5 modes, not numbered Clamp Not stated
Verilux VF09WW3 5 levels 3 temps Floor 1 year

Setup Notes

  • Measure the footprint: the TROND base is 7.48 in across and 0.63 in thick; the Honeywell head is 11 in wide.
  • Clamp check: the SKYLEO and Motumen are clamp-mounted, so check the desk edge thickness before ordering.
  • Power planning: all five are corded electric; the SKYLEO runs on 5V USB and works with power banks, and its cable is 180 cm.
  • Floor placement: the Verilux floor lamp stands 64.02 in tall and the item weight is stated at 11 lb; keep it where it will not tip.
  • Cable slack: the SKYLEO includes a 180 cm cable, so plan the route to the outlet or power bank before mounting the clamp.

Frequently Asked Questions

How many brightness levels do these lamps state?

The SKYLEO states 11, the TROND 7, the Motumen 5 and the Verilux floor lamp 5; the Honeywell states stepless dimming from 10% to 100% instead of steps.

Which lamps state a color temperature range?

The Honeywell states 2700K to 5700K and the Motumen states 3000K to 6500K. The TROND states three modes at 3000K, 4500K and 6000K.

Which of these can charge a phone?

The Honeywell states USB-A and USB-C charging ports in the base. The TROND lists USB connectivity for its own power, and the SKYLEO runs on 5V USB.

Which lamps state a warranty term?

The Honeywell states 2 years, the TROND 18 months, the Motumen 1 year and the Verilux floor lamp 1 year. The SKYLEO states no term.

Do any of these clamp to the desk?

Yes: the SKYLEO and the Motumen are clamp-mounted. The TROND and Honeywell sit on a desktop base, and the Verilux is a floor lamp.

More desk lamps to consider

Five more listings from the same search did not make the ranked picks. The ZAPLIT states 15 watts, 3 color temperatures, 5 brightness levels, 4 timers and dual USB ports on a flexible gooseneck. The Verilux VD46 desk lamp states 18 watts, 8 brightness levels, 3 color temperatures, a USB charging port and a 1-year warranty. The CHARYJOD states 76 beads with CRI over 80, 10 brightness levels, 5 color temperatures from 3000K to 6500K, a 15.55 to 22.83 in extension range and a 24-month warranty. The shinelife states 500LM, 5 brightness levels, 5 color modes from 3000K to 6000K, a 5V/1A USB port and a 20000 hour lifespan. The LitONES states an edge-lit design with 30 modes, memory and timer, 84 beads with a 100000 hour lifespan and a 36-month warranty.

Related: every desk lamp and light bar guide, plus our desk lamp with adjustable brightness roundup.

Honeywell HWT-H2
Still deciding? Our top pickHoneywell HWT-H2
Check price on Amazon