A dim screen, a stack of notes and a home desk that stays busy after dark make the best desk lamp for nursing students a practical question rather than a decoration choice. This article compares four desk lamps by light output, power source, gooseneck reach, base size and stated features, using only what each listing publishes.
OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall GyroVu Gooseneck Lamp: 250 lumens at 5000K, 16.5 in gooseneck, 59 in cord Check price on Amazon
Best Cordless MAGICKK Flower Lamp: 1200mAh battery, 6-12 hours, 3 color modes Check price on Amazon
Wireless Charger Lamp Sailstar Charger Lamp: Title names 800 lumen light and a 10W wireless charger Check price on Amazon
Dimmable Lamp TROND Dimmable Lamp: Title names a dimmable LED lamp with a memory function Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Office Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | GyroVu Gooseneck Lamp | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | Sailstar 10W Charger Lamp | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | TROND Halo 10W | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | MAGICKK Flower Lamp | 9.4/10 | Buy on Amazon |

GyroVu Gooseneck Lamp
A corded gooseneck lamp with 250 lumens at 5000K, a 59 in cord and a 5.12 in base for small desks.
Pros
- 250 lumens at 5000K stated for reading and desk work
- 16.5 in flexible gooseneck bends to aim the light where needed
- 59 in cord reaches a distant outlet
- 5.12 in base fits small desks, nightstands and bookshelves
Cons
- No warranty term stated
- No color modes stated, only a single 5000K figure
- Spec table lists a white shade color beside a blue listing color
- Corded only, no battery option stated
Detailed Review
The listing states a 3.5 watts LED chip giving 250 lumens at 5000K, a 16.5 in flexible gooseneck, a 59 in cord and a 5.12 in base, with flicker-free light stated and a push button switch on the lamp head. One mismatch inside the listing: the spec table lists a white shade color while the listing color is blue, so trust the bullets for the light figures and note the color mismatch. The build is premium ABS, and the listing describes the lamp as lightweight yet sturdy for daily use.
Who it's for: someone with a small desk who wants a corded lamp with a long cord and a stated lumen figure. Who should skip it: anyone who needs cordless use, color modes or a stated warranty term.
Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 0/5: 80 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Light output | 250 lumens |
|---|---|
| Color temperature | 5000K |
| Gooseneck | 16.5 in |
| Power cord | 59 in |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 24 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Flicker-free light stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Lamps near paper and water. Use the supplied adapter, keep the lamp head away from paper, curtains and drinks, and treat flicker-free and brightness figures as the maker's claims.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Sailstar 10W Charger Lamp
A 10W wireless charging lamp with 800 lumens, stepless dimming, a pen holder and a stated 2-year warranty.
Pros
- 2-year warranty stated, the longest here
- 10W wireless charging and 800 lumens stated
- Stepless dimming from 5 to 100 percent with 3 color modes
- Pen holder and 360 degree flexible arm stated
Cons
- Title states CRI 95 while bullets state an 85+ CRI rate
- No USB charging port is stated
- Plastic base and shade stated
- 1.3 lb item weight is light, so a bump can move it
Detailed Review
Sailstar lists an LED desk lamp with a 10W wireless charger, a pen holder and a 360 degree flexible arm. The lamp states 8W lighting at 800 lumens, stepless dimming from 5 to 100 percent across 3 color modes, touch control and a 5V/3A adapter included. A 2-year warranty is stated. One contradiction to note: the title states CRI 95 while the bullets state an 85+ CRI rate; we trust the title but treat the figure as approximate.
Who it's for: someone who wants the longest stated warranty here with 10W charging and a pen holder. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a USB port or a clock on the lamp.
Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 4/5: 75 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Wireless charging | 10W |
|---|---|
| Brightness | 800 lm, stepless |
| Warranty | 2-year |
| Extras | Pen holder |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 19 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No UL or ETL listing is stated, so safety scores zero. 2-year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.
Lamps near paper and water. Use the supplied adapter, keep the lamp head away from paper, curtains and drinks, and treat flicker-free and brightness figures as the maker's claims.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

TROND Halo 10W
A slim gooseneck desk lamp with 7 brightness levels, 3 color modes and a memory function on a 0.63 in low-profile base.
Pros
- 7 brightness levels with 3 color modes (3000K, 4500K, 6000K) cover working, reading and relaxing presets
- The listing states no mercury or lead and no UV or IR radiation
- 0.63 in slim base and 16.1 in flexible gooseneck aim the light exactly where needed
- 18 months stated warranty with a stated 40000 hour LED lifespan
Cons
- 10 watts is the lowest stated wattage here, so maximum brightness trails the group
- The listing names a vision condition in its marketing; the checkable features are the dimming steps and color modes
- No USB charging port is stated, only USB connectivity for power
- Touch-only controls give no physical button for quick adjustments
Detailed Review
The TROND Halo 10W lists 7 brightness levels adjusted by a swipe groove, 3 color modes at 3000K, 4500K and 6000K, a memory function, touch controls and a 16.1 in flexible gooseneck on a 0.63 in slim base. The listing states a 40000 hour lifespan, which it converts to 22 years at 5 hours per day, and states 70% to 80% lower power use than incandescent. The listing states an 18 months warranty. Its marketing names a vision condition; this article scores the stated adjustment features instead.
Who it's for: someone who wants a slim base, simple presets and a long stated LED lifespan on a home desk. Who should skip it: anyone who needs USB charging from the lamp or the widest color temperature range.
Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 80 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Brightness levels | 7 |
|---|---|
| Color modes | 3000K/4500K/6000K |
| Gooseneck | 16.1 in |
| Warranty | 18 months |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 19 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No mercury or lead, and no UV or IR radiation, per the listing, so safety scores 7 of 10. 18 months warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Lamps near paper and water. Use the supplied adapter, keep the lamp head away from paper, curtains and drinks, and treat flicker-free and brightness figures as the maker's claims.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

MAGICKK Flower Lamp
A cordless flower-shaped lamp with 3 color modes, touch dimming and a base that holds a phone.
Pros
- Cordless use on a 1200mAh battery for 6-12 hours
- 3 color modes with touch dimming stated
- Base doubles as a phone holder
- Metal build with a flower head for bedroom desks
Cons
- No lumen figure stated
- No warranty term stated
- Spec table lists a shade height of 39 centimeters beside a 7.95 in height
- Spec table lists an E27 bulb base for an LED desk lamp
Detailed Review
The listing states a cordless flower-shaped LED desk lamp with 3 color modes, touch control, a 1200mAh battery giving 6-12 hours of use after 2-4 hours of charging, 6 watts, and a metal base that holds a phone. Two mismatches sit inside the spec table: it lists a shade height of 39 centimeters beside a height of 7.95 in, and it lists an E27 bulb base with a G40 bulb shape for an LED desk lamp, so trust the bullets over the spec table for the lamp type and size.
Who it's for: someone who wants a cordless lamp to move between rooms without an outlet nearby. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a stated lumen figure or a stated warranty term.
Its Office Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 69 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Battery | 1200mAh |
|---|---|
| Run time | 6-12 hours |
| Wattage | 6 watts |
| Dimensions | 5.31 x 5.51 x 7.95 in |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 24 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No UL or ETL listing is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Lamps near paper and water. Use the supplied adapter, keep the lamp head away from paper, curtains and drinks, and treat flicker-free and brightness figures as the maker's claims.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
Voncerus Double Head LampDual-head clamp lamp with memory function for small desksCheck on Amazon
TonyEst Tall Gooseneck LampTall gooseneck lamp with charging ports for study desksCheck on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Lamp | Office Score | Light | Power | Height | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| GyroVu Gooseneck Lamp | 9.6/10 | 250 lumens | Corded electric | 16.5 in | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| MAGICKK Flower Lamp | 9.4/10 | 3 color modes | Battery powered | 7.95 in | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| Sailstar Charger Lamp | 9.6/10 | 800 lumen | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | |
| TROND Dimmable Lamp | 9.6/10 | Dimmable | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 24 October 2026. Two listings give full specs, and two give a title only, so the comparison leans on stated figures where they exist and names the gaps where they do not.
How we scored them
The Office Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For a desk lamp, safety means a stated flicker-free light feature; the GyroVu states flicker-free light, and none of the four states a warranty term. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Office Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| GyroVu Gooseneck Lamp | 9.6 | 30 | 21 | 21 | 8 | 0 |
| MAGICKK Flower Lamp | 9.4 | 29 | 20 | 20 | 0 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best desk lamp for nursing students
Start with light output and color temperature
Light output is the first figure to compare, and the listings state it in different ways. The GyroVu states 250 lumens at 5000K, the Sailstar title names 800 lumen light, the MAGICKK states 3 color modes without a lumen figure, and the TROND title names dimming without a lumen figure. A single color temperature suits a fixed desk routine, while color modes suit a lamp that moves between reading and relaxing. If the lamp sits on a computer desk, check the lumen figure before the shape of the lamp, since the shape does not tell you how much light reaches the page.
Corded or cordless changes where the lamp can sit
Power source decides whether the lamp stays put or moves around the room. The GyroVu is corded electric with a 59 in cord that reaches a distant outlet, while the MAGICKK runs on a 1200mAh battery for 6-12 hours after 2-4 hours of charging. A corded lamp suits a desk that never moves, and a cordless lamp suits a reader who moves between a desk, a bedside table and a kitchen table. The two title-only listings state no power source, so do not assume either one plugs in or runs on a battery.
Measure the base and the reach
Base size and gooseneck reach decide whether the lamp fits the desk you already own. The GyroVu base is 5.12 in across with a 16.5 in gooseneck, and the MAGICKK measures 5.31 x 5.51 x 7.95 in. Measure the free desk area, then check that the base leaves room for notes and a laptop. If the desk is a standing desk, a longer gooseneck gives more room to aim the light down at the page when the desk is raised.
| Lamp | Height | Power source | Cord or battery |
|---|---|---|---|
| GyroVu Gooseneck Lamp | 16.5 in | Corded electric | 59 in cord |
| MAGICKK Flower Lamp | 7.95 in | Battery powered | 6-12 hours run time |
| Sailstar Charger Lamp | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| TROND Dimmable Lamp | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Figures as stated in each listing. Height for the GyroVu is the gooseneck length stated in the listing, and height for the MAGICKK is the height figure in its dimensions.
Read the title-only listings with care
Two picks come with a title and nothing else, and they need a different kind of reading. The Sailstar title names 800 lumen light, a 10W wireless charger and a pen holder, while the TROND title names a dimmable LED desk lamp with a memory function. Neither listing states dimensions, a power source or a warranty term, so both rank below the two listings that publish full specs. A title-only pick can still suit a buyer who only needs the named features, but it should not win on a figure it never states.
Setup Notes
- Measure the base space: the GyroVu base is 5.12 in across, and the MAGICKK measures 5.31 x 5.51 x 7.95 in, so check the free desk area before ordering.
- Check the outlet distance: the GyroVu cord is 59 in long, while the MAGICKK runs on a 1200mAh battery for 6-12 hours after 2-4 hours of charging.
- Check the reach: the GyroVu gooseneck is 16.5 in long, so confirm it can bend to the reading area without moving the base.
- Plan for the title-only picks: the TROND and Sailstar listings state no dimensions, so leave extra desk room until the maker publishes them.
- Assembly is not stated for any of the four, so do not assume tools or time.
Frequently Asked Questions
What light output do these lamps state?
The GyroVu states 250 lumens, and the Sailstar title names 800 lumen light. The MAGICKK and the TROND state no lumen figure, so their brightness cannot be compared on lumens.
Which lamp works without an outlet?
The MAGICKK runs on a 1200mAh battery for 6-12 hours after 2-4 hours of charging. The GyroVu is corded electric, and the two title-only listings state no power source.
Which lamp fits a small desk?
The GyroVu base is 5.12 in across, which fits a small desk, a nightstand or a bookshelf. The MAGICKK listing describes the lamp as small, foldable and portable, and its dimensions are 5.31 x 5.51 x 7.95 in.
Do any of these lamps state a warranty?
None of the four states a warranty term. The two full-spec listings give no warranty figure, and the two title-only listings give no warranty detail either.
What does the memory function do on the TROND lamp?
The TROND title names a memory function but gives no detail, so the listing does not state what setting it remembers. Treat it as a named feature only, not as a stated behavior.
Related guides
See every desk lamp and light bar guide and all desks and desk lighting guides.
More picks: simple desk lamp, white desk lamp, touch desk lamp.




