The standup is over, the IDE is open, and the only light in the room is the monitor glow. The best desk lamp for programmers is the one that lights the keyboard and the desk without washing out the screen. We compared five desk lamps by stated brightness, coverage, color temperature, controls and warranty terms. Every figure below comes from the Amazon listings, not from our own measurements.
OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall BenQ e-Reading Desk Lamp: 35.4 x 26.7 in coverage, 500 lux, CRI 95+, 1-year warranty Check price on Amazon
Best Bright Wide Omorepa 36W Architect Lamp: 36W 3000LM, 47.4 in wide, remote, 3-year warranty Check price on Amazon
Best Clamp TROND 24W Clamp Desk Lamp: 24W 1500LM, CRI 97+, remote, 18-month warranty Check price on Amazon
Best Dual-Head Tuedp Dual-Head Clamp Lamp: 36W 3600LM dual-head, CRI 95+, remote, clamp Check price on Amazon
Best Gooseneck SUPERDANNY 12W Gooseneck Lamp: 12W gooseneck, 3 colors, USB powered, 1-year warranty Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Office Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | BenQ e-Reading Desk Lamp | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | Omorepa 36W Architect Lamp | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | TROND 24W Clamp Desk Lamp | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | Tuedp Dual-Head Clamp Lamp | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | SUPERDANNY 12W Gooseneck Lamp | 9.4/10 | Buy on Amazon |

BenQ e-Reading Desk Lamp
An ultrawide e-reading lamp with 500 lux coverage, dual smart modes and a 1-year warranty.
Pros
- 35.4 by 26.7 inch coverage at 500 lux minimum
- Flicker-free certification under IEEE 1789
- RG0 blue-light rating with CRI over 95
- 13 color temperature levels and 23 brightness levels
Cons
- 18 watts, the lowest stated wattage here
- No remote control
- Only 13 color temperature levels are preset
- Corded electric power only
Detailed Review
The BenQ e-Reading lamp lists an ultrawide 35.4 by 26.7 inch illuminated area with a minimum of 500 lux, two smart modes including a screen mode designed to reduce screen glare, and a rotary knob for 13 color temperatures from 2700K to 5700K and 23 brightness levels. It lists flicker-free certification under IEEE 1789, an RG0 blue-light rating and CRI over 95. One caveat from the listing: the spec table gives a 56.6-inch shade height against item dimensions of 24.38 inches tall, so treat the dimensions as approximate.
Who it's for: programmers who read as much as they type and want eye-care certifications. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a remote control or the brightest raw lumen figure.
Its Office Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 83 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Coverage | 35.4 x 26.7 in |
|---|---|
| Brightness | 500 lux min |
| Color temp | 2700-5700K |
| Warranty | 1 year |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Flicker-free IEEE 1789; RG0 blue-light rating, so safety scores 7 of 10. 1 year manufacturer's warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Lamps near paper and water. Use the supplied adapter, keep the lamp head away from paper, curtains and drinks, and treat flicker-free and brightness figures as the maker's claims.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- 36W with 3000LM stated brightness
- 47.4-inch light bar with 180-degree rotating head
- Ambient light sensor adjusts brightness automatically
- Wireless remote included
Cons
- No color temperature range is stated
- No flicker-free or blue-light certification is stated
- 47.4 inches wide needs a large desk
- Bullets and spec table disagree on warranty; bullets state 3 years
Detailed Review
The Omorepa lists 36 watts, 3000LM, a 47.4-inch adjustable three-section light bar on a 38.2-inch-tall body, an ambient light sensor and a wireless remote. One caveat from the listing: the bullets state a 3-year warranty while the spec table says 2 years, so this article follows the bullets. It lists RA over 90 but no color temperature range and no flicker-free or blue-light certification.
Who it's for: programmers with a large desk who want the widest coverage and remote control. Who should skip it: anyone on a small desk or anyone who wants stated eye-care certifications.
Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 4/5: 78 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Width | 47.4 in |
|---|---|
| Brightness | 3000LM |
| Power | 36W |
| Warranty | 3 years (bullets) |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No UL or ETL listing is stated, so safety scores zero. 3-year warranty per bullets. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.
Lamps near paper and water. Use the supplied adapter, keep the lamp head away from paper, curtains and drinks, and treat flicker-free and brightness figures as the maker's claims.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- 108 LEDs with CRI over 97
- Flicker-free, glare-free light with reduced blue light
- 5 color temperatures from 3200K to 6500K
- Wireless remote with 45-minute timer
Cons
- 1500LM is modest for a 24W lamp
- 5 preset color temperatures only
- No lumen figure per LED is stated
- Clamp mount needs a suitable desk edge
Detailed Review
The TROND lists 24 watts, 1500LM from 108 LEDs with CRI over 97, 5 color temperatures from 3200K to 6500K, 5 brightness levels, a wireless remote with a 45-minute auto-off timer and a clamp mount with a non-slip pad. It states flicker-free, glare-free light with reduced blue light and an 18-month warranty. One caveat from the listing: the title calls it a 24W model while one spec row lists a 12V/2A adapter, so treat the electrical details as stated.
Who it's for: programmers who want a clamp lamp with high color rendering and a remote. Who should skip it: anyone who needs the brightest lumen figure or a freestanding base.
Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 4/10 and warranty 3/5: 75 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Width | 29.55 in |
|---|---|
| Brightness | 1500LM |
| Color temp | 3200-6500K |
| Warranty | 18 months |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Flicker-free LEDs with reduced blue light, so safety scores 4 of 10. 18-month product warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Lamps near paper and water. Use the supplied adapter, keep the lamp head away from paper, curtains and drinks, and treat flicker-free and brightness figures as the maker's claims.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- 3600LM from 448 LEDs across dual panels
- 2700K to 6500K with stepless dimming
- Wireless remote plus touch panel
- 0.5-hour and 1-hour timers
Cons
- No flicker-free or blue-light certification is stated
- Clamp mount needs a suitable desk edge
- 4 preset modes only beyond manual dimming
- No lux figure is stated
Detailed Review
The Tuedp lists 36 watts, 3600LM from 448 LEDs across independently controlled dual heads, 2700K to 6500K color temperature, 10 brightness levels with stepless dimming, a wireless remote with 10-foot range, 4 preset modes and 0.5-hour and 1-hour timers. It uses a clamp mount that keeps the desktop clear. One caveat from the listing: it states no flicker-free or blue-light certification, so programmers sensitive to glare should weigh that against the brightness.
Who it's for: programmers with dual monitors who want the brightest lamp here. Who should skip it: anyone who wants stated eye-care certifications or a freestanding base.
Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 3/5: 77 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Brightness | 3600LM |
|---|---|
| Color temp | 2700-6500K |
| Mount | Clamp |
| Warranty | 1 year |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No UL or ETL listing is stated, so safety scores zero. 1 year manufacturer. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Lamps near paper and water. Use the supplied adapter, keep the lamp head away from paper, curtains and drinks, and treat flicker-free and brightness figures as the maker's claims.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

SUPERDANNY 12W Gooseneck Lamp
A 12W gooseneck lamp with 3 color temperatures, USB power and a 1-year warranty.
Pros
- 360-degree flexible gooseneck up to 28 inches high
- 3 color temperatures: 3000K, 4000K and 6000K
- Touch controls with memory function
- USB powered with included adapter
Cons
- 12W with no lumen figure stated
- 3 color temperatures only
- No flicker-free or blue-light certification is stated
- 28-inch height may not clear tall monitors
Detailed Review
The SUPERDANNY lists 12 watts, 60 LEDs, 3 color temperatures at 3000K, 4000K and 6000K with smooth dimming from 10% to 100%, a 360-degree flexible gooseneck up to 28 inches high, touch controls with a memory function and a 5 by 5 inch metal base. It can be powered from the included USB adapter or a computer USB port. One caveat from the listing: it states no lumen figure and no flicker-free or blue-light certification.
Who it's for: programmers who want a simple, flexible lamp for a laptop desk. Who should skip it: anyone who needs the brightest light or a wide illuminated area.
Its Office Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 27/35, build 19/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 3/5: 69 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Power | 12W |
|---|---|
| Color temp | 3000K, 4000K, 6000K |
| Gooseneck | Up to 28 in |
| Warranty | 1 year |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No UL or ETL listing is stated, so safety scores zero. 1 year. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Lamps near paper and water. Use the supplied adapter, keep the lamp head away from paper, curtains and drinks, and treat flicker-free and brightness figures as the maker's claims.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
Omorepa 4 Light Bar Design Goose-NeckCheck on Amazon
Galnolt LED Desk Lamp for Home OfficeCheck on Amazon
SIBRILLE LED Desk LampCheck on Amazon
JACKYLED LED Desk Lamps for Home OfficeCheck on Amazon
Voncerus LED Desk Lamp for Home OfficeCheck on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Lamp | Office Score | Watts | Brightness | Color Temp | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BenQ e-Reading Desk Lamp | 9.7/10 | 18 | 500 lux | 2700-5700K | 1 year | View on Amazon |
| Omorepa 36W Architect Lamp | 9.6/10 | 36 | 3000LM | Not stated | 3 years | View on Amazon |
| TROND 24W Clamp Desk Lamp | 9.5/10 | 24 | 1500LM | 3200-6500K | 18 months | View on Amazon |
| Tuedp Dual-Head Clamp Lamp | 9.5/10 | 36 | 3600LM | 2700-6500K | 1 year | View on Amazon |
| SUPERDANNY 12W Gooseneck Lamp | 9.4/10 | 12 | Not stated | 3000K, 4000K, 6000K | 1 year | View on Amazon |
Specifications as published on each listing, collected 20 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Office Score weighs performance (stated brightness, coverage and color control), build, value, safety and warranty. For desk lamps, safety means stated flicker-free or low blue-light certifications: BenQ states flicker-free certification under IEEE 1789 and an RG0 blue-light rating, and TROND states flicker-free LEDs with reduced blue light, so those two earned safety points. All five listings state a warranty term: Omorepa 3 years, TROND 18 months, and BenQ, Tuedp and SUPERDANNY 1 year each. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Office Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BenQ e-Reading Desk Lamp | 9.7 | 32 | 21 | 20 | 7 | 3 |
| Omorepa 36W Architect Lamp | 9.6 | 32 | 21 | 21 | 0 | 4 |
| TROND 24W Clamp Desk Lamp | 9.5 | 28 | 20 | 20 | 4 | 3 |
| Tuedp Dual-Head Clamp Lamp | 9.5 | 32 | 21 | 21 | 0 | 3 |
| SUPERDANNY 12W Gooseneck Lamp | 9.4 | 27 | 19 | 20 | 0 | 3 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best desk lamp for programmers
Brightness and coverage for a code desk
Programmers need light on the keyboard and the desk, not on the screen. The Tuedp lists 3600LM from 448 LEDs across two panels, the Omorepa lists 3000LM, the TROND 1500LM, and the BenQ lists a 35.4 by 26.7 inch area at a minimum of 500 lux. The SUPERDANNY lists no lumen figure. If your desk holds dual monitors, see our desk lamps for dual monitors.
Color temperature for day and night
Cooler light suits daytime focus, warmer light suits late sessions. The Tuedp covers 2700K to 6500K, the TROND 3200K to 6500K, the BenQ 2700K to 5700K with 13 levels, the SUPERDANNY offers 3000K, 4000K and 6000K, and the Omorepa lists no color temperature range. For light that mimics the sun, see our desk lamps for natural light.
Controls: remote, touch and timers
The Omorepa, Tuedp and TROND each include a wireless remote; the Tuedp adds 0.5-hour and 1-hour timers and the TROND a 45-minute timer. The BenQ uses a rotary knob with touch modes and the SUPERDANNY uses touch controls on the light bar. For lamps that lift your output, see our desk lamps for productivity.
Warranty terms
The Omorepa bullets state a 3-year warranty, the longest here. The TROND bullets state an 18-month warranty. BenQ, Tuedp and SUPERDANNY each state a 1-year warranty.
Setup Notes
- The Omorepa, Tuedp and TROND include a remote in the box; the other two do not.
- The Tuedp and TROND mount with a clamp, so check your desk edge thickness first.
- The SUPERDANNY can be powered from a computer USB port.
- Confirm the stated coverage before buying; lamp width ranges from 28 to 47.4 inches.
Frequently Asked Questions
How bright should a desk lamp be for programming?
The listings here range from 1500LM to 3600LM. The BenQ instead lists a minimum of 500 lux across a 35.4 by 26.7 inch area.
What color temperature is best for coding?
These lamps cover 2700K to 6500K between them. Cooler temperatures suit daytime focus; warmer ones suit late sessions.
Do any of these have a remote control?
Yes. The Omorepa, Tuedp and TROND each include a wireless remote. The BenQ uses a rotary knob and the SUPERDANNY uses touch controls.
Do these lamps come with a warranty?
The Omorepa bullets state a 3-year warranty, TROND an 18-month warranty, and BenQ, Tuedp and SUPERDANNY each state a 1-year warranty.
Related guides
See every desk lamps and light bars guide and all desks and desk lighting guides.
More guides: desk lamps for dual monitors, desk lamps for natural light, desk lamps for productivity and desk lamps for sensitive eyes.







