Writing by hand needs steady, glare-free light on the page, and the best desk lamp for writing aims the light where your pen is, not at your eyes. We compared five lamps by performance, build, value, safety and warranty, using only what each listing publishes.
OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best overall EJIAXIN gooseneck: 5000K, gooseneck, 3-year warranty Check price on Amazon
Runner-up Newhouse Oxford: Gooseneck, 5-year warranty Check price on Amazon
Style pick TORCHSTAR bankers: Bankers style, 350-degree shade Check price on Amazon
Decor pick EDISHINE tripod: Wooden tripod, linen shade Check price on Amazon
Portable pick IdeaWorks set of 2: Battery powered, set of 2 Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Office Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | EJIAXIN gooseneck | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | Newhouse Oxford | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | TORCHSTAR bankers | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | EDISHINE tripod | 9.4/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | IdeaWorks set of 2 | 9.4/10 | Buy on Amazon |

EJIAXIN gooseneck
A 19.7-inch gooseneck LED lamp with stated 5000K non-flickering light and a 3-year warranty, suited to long writing sessions.
Pros
- 5000K non-flickering light stated
- Flexible gooseneck in any direction
- 3.5-watt LED, eye-care stated
- 3-year warranty stated
Cons
- 5000K cool white is not for everyone
- 3.5 watts is modest
- Touch switch on the base
- 19.7 inches is the tallest here
Detailed Review
Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 5/5: 78 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. 3-year warranty stated, so warranty scores 5 of 5. See How We Pick.
Lamps near paper and water. Use the supplied adapter, keep the lamp head away from paper, curtains and drinks, and treat flicker-free and brightness figures as the maker's claims.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Newhouse Oxford
A 13-inch metal gooseneck lamp with a stated 5-year warranty, suited to a desk or dorm.
Pros
- 5 year manufacturer warranty stated
- Flexible gooseneck neck
- Takes E26 A19 bulbs
- Energy-efficient LED use stated
Cons
- Bulb not included
- 4-watt LED limit
- In-line switch, not on the base
- White only in this listing
Detailed Review
Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 5/5: 76 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. 5 year manufacturer warranty stated, so warranty scores 5 of 5. See How We Pick.
Lamps near paper and water. Use the supplied adapter, keep the lamp head away from paper, curtains and drinks, and treat flicker-free and brightness figures as the maker's claims.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

TORCHSTAR bankers
An amber glass bankers lamp with a 350-degree rotatable shade and UL-listed cord, suited to a study.
Pros
- 350-degree rotatable shade
- Amber glass, glare-free stated
- UL-listed power cord
- Pull chain switch
Cons
- Bulb not included
- 60-watt limit
- Pull chain only
- Amber glass is a fixed look
Detailed Review
Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 77 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. UL-listed cord stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Lamps near paper and water. Use the supplied adapter, keep the lamp head away from paper, curtains and drinks, and treat flicker-free and brightness figures as the maker's claims.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

EDISHINE tripod
A 14.2-inch wooden tripod table lamp with a linen shade, suited to a bedside or small desk.
Pros
- Wooden tripod, stable stated
- Linen shade, warm light stated
- No glare or flickering stated
- Compact 14.2 inch height
Cons
- Bulb not included
- Fixed tripod, no aiming
- 14.2 inches is short for writing light
- No warranty term stated
Detailed Review
Its Office Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 68 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Lamps near paper and water. Use the supplied adapter, keep the lamp head away from paper, curtains and drinks, and treat flicker-free and brightness figures as the maker's claims.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

IdeaWorks set of 2
A set of 2 battery LED lamps with pivoting heads and 12 LEDs each, suited to portable reading.
Pros
- Set of 2 lamps
- 12 LED bulbs per lamp stated
- Up to 100,000 hours stated
- Pivoting heads and handled necks
Cons
- No warranty term stated
- 3 AA batteries per lamp, not included
- 4.5 inches is very short
- Plastic build
Detailed Review
Its Office Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 27/35, build 19/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 67 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No UL or ETL listing is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Lamps near paper and water. Use the supplied adapter, keep the lamp head away from paper, curtains and drinks, and treat flicker-free and brightness figures as the maker's claims.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
EJIAXIN Table Lamps Set of 2-13.5" SmallCheck on Amazon
Energetic LED Desk Lamp with Phone HolderCheck on Amazon
OttLite Beam ClearSun LED Metal Desk LampCheck on Amazon
Voncerus LED Desk Lamp for Home OfficeCheck on Amazon
Xicyole Desk lampCheck on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Lamp | Lighting Score | Style | Height | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EJIAXIN gooseneck | 9.6/10 | Gooseneck LED | 19.7 in | 3 years stated | View on Amazon |
| Newhouse Oxford | 9.6/10 | Gooseneck | 13 in | 5 years stated | View on Amazon |
| TORCHSTAR bankers | 9.6/10 | Bankers, 350-degree shade | 14.41 in | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| EDISHINE tripod | 9.4/10 | Tripod table lamp | 14.2 in | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| IdeaWorks set of 2 | 9.4/10 | Battery LED, pivoting | 4.5 in | Not stated | View on Amazon |
Figures are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 21 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Lighting Score weighs writing-task performance, build quality, value, safety features and warranty. Dimensions and wattages are manufacturer stated. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Office Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EJIAXIN gooseneck | 9.6 | 32 | 21 | 20 | 0 | 5 |
| Newhouse Oxford | 9.6 | 30 | 21 | 20 | 0 | 5 |
| TORCHSTAR bankers | 9.6 | 29 | 21 | 20 | 7 | 0 |
| EDISHINE tripod | 9.4 | 28 | 20 | 20 | 0 | 0 |
| IdeaWorks set of 2 | 9.4 | 27 | 19 | 21 | 0 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best desk lamp for writing
Light color and flicker
The EJIAXIN states a 5000K cool white, non-flickering 3.5-watt LED designed for long reading and writing sessions. The Newhouse states LED use up to 4 watts or incandescent up to 40 watts. The EDISHINE and TORCHSTAR take standard E26 bulbs up to 60 watts, bulbs not included, so you choose the color temperature. The IdeaWorks set runs 12 LED bulbs per lamp on 3 AA batteries with up to 100,000 hours stated. Pick non-flickering light for long writing sessions.
Aim and adjustability
The EJIAXIN and Newhouse have flexible goosenecks that bend in any direction. The TORCHSTAR bankers lamp has a 350-degree rotatable amber glass shade with a pull chain. The IdeaWorks lamps have pivoting heads and handled necks. The EDISHINE is a fixed tripod table lamp. For handwriting, an adjustable head beats a fixed shade.
Size and footprint
The Newhouse is 5.7 by 5.7 inches at the base and 13 inches tall. The EJIAXIN is 4.1 by 4.1 inches and 19.7 inches tall. The EDISHINE is 14.2 inches tall with a 6.5 by 7.85 inch tripod base. The TORCHSTAR is 14.41 inches tall. The IdeaWorks lamps are 4.5 inches tall. A writing desk needs the lamp out of the elbow’s path.
Warranty
The Newhouse states a 5 year manufacturer warranty, and the EJIAXIN states 3 years. The TORCHSTAR states professional after-sales service with no term, and the EDISHINE and IdeaWorks state no warranty term.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which state a 5-year warranty?
The Newhouse Oxford states a 5 year manufacturer warranty. The EJIAXIN states 3 years; the others state no term.
Which take standard E26 bulbs?
The EDISHINE, TORCHSTAR and Newhouse all take E26 bulbs up to 60 watts, 60 watts and 4 watts LED or 40 watts incandescent respectively, bulbs not included.
Which are gooseneck?
The EJIAXIN and the Newhouse Oxford both have flexible goosenecks. The TORCHSTAR has a rotatable shade, and the IdeaWorks set has pivoting heads.
Which are battery powered?
The IdeaWorks set of 2 runs on 3 AA batteries per lamp. The other four are corded electric.
Related guides
See our best desk lamp for reading and writing list and every desk lamp and light bar guide.
More guides: desk lamp for light sensitivity and desk lamp for studying.




