Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Home office gear, compared spec by spec.

Office Chairs

Best Ergonomic Office Chair for Tall (2026): 5 Picks

Five tall ergonomic drafting chairs compared by stated seat height range, weight capacity, armrest and footrest adjustments, and warranty term.

Best Ergonomic Office Chair for Tall (2026): 5 Picks

The best ergonomic office chair for tall people is a drafting-height chair whose seat height range actually reaches the desk, because a standard chair tops out before a long-legged sitter is comfortable. We compared five tall drafting chairs by stated seat height range, weight capacity, armrest and footrest adjustments, lumbar and headrest support, stated safety certifications and warranty term, using only what each listing publishes. Stated seat heights run from 22 in to 32.1 in and capacities from 280 to 400 lb. Three of the five state a warranty term.

OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • BOLISS 2818HD
    Best Overall BOLISS 2818HD: 400 lb capacity, 24.8 to 32.1 in seat range, 2-year warranty Check price on Amazon
  • OFFICE FACTOR OF-2001STBK
    Best Tuck-Away Design OFFICE FACTOR OF-2001STBK: 400 lb capacity, flip-up arms that lock, 2-year warranty Check price on Amazon
  • X XISHE 968LT
    Best Certifications X XISHE 968LT: BIFMA and SGS standards, Class-4 gas lift, 400 lb capacity Check price on Amazon
  • HYLONE HL-0011C-GM
    Best Armless HYLONE HL-0011C-GM: Armless, slides under desks, BIFMA gas lift, 12-month warranty Check price on Amazon
  • SONGMICS UOBN046B101S
    Best Adjustment Range SONGMICS UOBN046B101S: 7.9 in height range, flip-up arms, adjustable foot ring Check price on Amazon

The picks

BOLISS 2818HD

BOLISS 2818HD

BOLISS9.7/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A tall drafting chair with a 24.8 to 32.1 in seat height range, a 400 lb capacity, a 3D adjustable headrest and a 2-year warranty.

Pros

  • Seat height range of 24.8 to 32.1 in is the tallest stated here
  • 400 lb stated capacity on a heavy-duty 5-star nylon base
  • 3D adjustable headrest, adjustable lumbar cushion and 5 in molded foam seat
  • 2-year warranty on free replacement of defective parts is stated

Cons

  • Heaviest chair here at 46.2 lb
  • No gas lift class or BIFMA statement in the listing
  • Spec table recommends hard floors only
  • Largest footprint here at 27.6 by 27.3 by 52.8 in
Detailed Review

BOLISS lists the 2818HD as a tall drafting chair with a 400 lb capacity, a 24.8 to 32.1 in seat height range over a 7.3 in adjustment, a 5 in molded foam seat with a waterfall front edge, a 3D adjustable headrest, an adjustable lumbar cushion, 90-degree flip-up armrests and an oversized chrome foot ring. The spec table gives a 27.6 by 27.3 by 52.8 in footprint, a 46.2 lb item weight, a 20.1 in seat depth and a hard floor surface recommendation. The listing states a 2-year warranty on free replacement of defective parts.

Who it's for: a tall user at a drafting or standing desk who wants the widest stated seat height range and a warranty in writing. Who should skip it: anyone who needs to move the chair often, or who needs carpet-friendly casters.

Its Office Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 22/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 3/5: 86 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Seat height24.8 to 32.1 in
Weight capacity400 lb
Item weight46.2 lb
Warranty2 years

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 19 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. 400 lb weight capacity stated on a heavy-duty 5-star nylon base, so safety scores 8 of 10. 2-year warranty, free replacement of defective parts. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Fit and capacity. Check the stated seat height range against your desk height and the stated weight capacity against the heaviest user. Tighten bolts after the first week. Adjustments are comfort features, not treatment for pain; ask a clinician about any condition.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

OFFICE FACTOR OF-2001STBK

OFFICE FACTOR OF-2001STBK

OFFICE FACTOR9.6/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 400 lb drafting chair with flip-up arms that lift and lock, an adjustable foot ring, a mesh back and a 2-year warranty.

Pros

  • 400 lb stated capacity on a weighted 5-point base
  • Flip-up arms lift and lock in the raised position for tucking under a desk
  • Mesh back with air vents for airflow on long days
  • 2-year manufacturer warranty against factory defects is stated

Cons

  • Bullets call 30 in the full height while the spec table lists 51 in overall; we read the 30 in as the seat figure
  • No gas lift class or BIFMA statement in the listing
  • No headrest or lumbar adjustment is stated
  • 38 lb item weight with assembly required and no time estimate
Detailed Review

OFFICE FACTOR lists this tall drafting chair with a 400 lb capacity, an adjustable foot ring, flip-up arms that lift and lock up, and a mesh back with air vents. The bullets describe lifting to a full height of 30 in with a single-handle adjustment, but the spec table lists a 51 in overall height and a 25.5 by 26.5 in footprint with a 38 lb item weight, so we treat the 30 in as the seat height claim. The listing states a 2-year manufacturer warranty against factory defects.

Who it's for: someone who wants a simple 400 lb drafting chair with locking flip-up arms and a written warranty. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a stated seat height range or lumbar support.

Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 80 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Seat height30 in, stated as full height
Weight capacity400 lb
Item weight38 lb
Warranty2 years

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 19 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. 400 lb weight capacity stated on a weighted 5-point base, so safety scores 7 of 10. 2-year manufacturer warranty against factory defects. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Fit and capacity. Check the stated seat height range against your desk height and the stated weight capacity against the heaviest user. Tighten bolts after the first week. Adjustments are comfort features, not treatment for pain; ask a clinician about any condition.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

X XISHE 968LT

X XISHE 968LT

X XISHE9.6/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 400 lb drafting chair with BIFMA and SGS standards stated, a Class-4 gas lift, a 22.05 to 29.33 in seat height and a 4.92 in adjustable footrest.

Pros

  • 22.05 to 29.33 in seat height range with a Class-4 gas lift
  • BIFMA and SGS standards are stated, plus a 400 lb capacity
  • Footrest adjusts 4.92 in up or down and armrests flip up 90 degrees
  • Assembly takes 15 to 20 minutes with included tools and a video guide

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • Spec table lists a Pillow-Top arm style while the title and bullets say flip-up; we trust the title and bullets
  • Seat surface is PU leather, which the listing does not describe as breathable
  • 37.1 lb item weight with no headrest stated
Detailed Review

X XISHE lists the 968LT as a 400 lb drafting chair that meets BIFMA and SGS standards, with a Class-4 gas lift, a 22.05 to 29.33 in seat height range, a 1.2 in height-adjustable lumbar pad on an S-shaped back, a 3.15 in seat cushion with a PU leather surface and a breathable mesh backrest. The footrest adjusts 4.92 in up or down, the armrests flip up 90 degrees, the chair swivels 360 degrees on nylon casters, and the listing says assembly takes 15 to 20 minutes. One contradiction: the spec table lists the arm style as Pillow-Top while the title and bullets say flip-up; we trust the title and bullets. No warranty term is stated.

Who it's for: a tall user who wants the strongest stated safety credentials here and a wide seat height range. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a warranty term or a breathable seat surface.

Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 33/35, build 22/25, value 21/25, safety 9/10 and warranty 0/5: 85 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Seat height22.05 to 29.33 in
Weight capacity400 lb
Footrest4.92 in adjustment
Item weight37.1 lb

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 19 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. BIFMA and SGS standards, Class-4 gas lift and 400 lb capacity are stated, so safety scores 9 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Fit and capacity. Check the stated seat height range against your desk height and the stated weight capacity against the heaviest user. Tighten bolts after the first week. Adjustments are comfort features, not treatment for pain; ask a clinician about any condition.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

HYLONE HL-0011C-GM

HYLONE HL-0011C-GM

HYLONE9.6/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

An armless drafting chair with a BIFMA-certified gas lift, an adjustable foot ring, a 280 lb capacity and a 12-month warranty.

Pros

  • BIFMA-certified gas lift is stated
  • Armless design slides fully under a desk and keeps the body close to the work
  • Adjustable foot ring, 360-degree swivel and seat tension adjustment
  • 12-month warranty is stated

Cons

  • 280 lb capacity is the lowest here
  • Only one seat height figure, 22 in, is stated
  • No headrest or lumbar adjustment is stated
  • Armless design means no arm support for long sessions
Detailed Review

HYLONE lists the HL-0011C-GM as an armless tall drafting chair with a BIFMA-certified gas lift, an adjustable foot ring, a 360-degree swivel, seat tension adjustment and a breathable mesh back over an FSC-certified wood seat board with a sponge cushion. The spec table gives a 17.9 by 18.7 by 46.46 in footprint, a 25.6 lb item weight, a 22 in seat height, an 18.7 in seat depth and a 280 lb capacity. The listing states a 12-month warranty.

Who it's for: someone in a small space who wants an armless chair that disappears under a desk, with a BIFMA-claimed gas lift. Who should skip it: taller users who need a seat above 22 in, or anyone who wants arm support.

Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 27/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 2/5: 77 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Seat height22 in
Weight capacity280 lb
ArmrestsArmless
Warranty12 months

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 19 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. BIFMA-certified gas lift and 280 lb capacity are stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. 12-month warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.

Fit and capacity. Check the stated seat height range against your desk height and the stated weight capacity against the heaviest user. Tighten bolts after the first week. Adjustments are comfort features, not treatment for pain; ask a clinician about any condition.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

SONGMICS UOBN046B101S

SONGMICS UOBN046B101S

SONGMICS9.6/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A drafting chair with a 7.9 in height adjustment range, flip-up armrests, an adjustable foot ring, a lumbar pad and a 330 lb capacity.

Pros

  • 7.9 in height adjustment range with a 360-degree swivel
  • 90-degree flip-up armrests and an adjustable circular foot ring
  • Curved mesh back with a height-adjustable lumbar pad and waterfall seat edge
  • Assembly takes 15 to 20 minutes per the listing, with an illustrated manual

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • No gas lift class or BIFMA statement in the listing
  • No single seat height figure is stated, only the adjustment range
  • 330 lb capacity is lower than the three 400 lb chairs
Detailed Review

SONGMICS lists the UOBN046B101S as a tall drafting chair with a 330 lb capacity, a 7.9 in height adjustment range, a curved mesh back with a height-adjustable sponge lumbar pad, a waterfall seat edge over a 3.5 in sponge cushion, 90-degree flip-up armrests and an adjustable circular foot ring. The spec table gives a 25.2 by 25.2 by 49.2 in footprint, a 27.1 lb item weight and a metal base with a thickened plate. The listing says most users finish assembly in 15 to 20 minutes. No warranty term is stated.

Who it's for: a user who wants a mid-capacity drafting chair with lumbar adjustment and flip-up arms at a simpler spec sheet. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a warranty term or a stated single seat height figure.

Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 78 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Height adjustment7.9 in range
Weight capacity330 lb
Seat cushion3.5 in sponge
Item weight27.1 lb

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 19 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. 330 lb weight capacity is stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Fit and capacity. Check the stated seat height range against your desk height and the stated weight capacity against the heaviest user. Tighten bolts after the first week. Adjustments are comfort features, not treatment for pain; ask a clinician about any condition.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

Compare the picks

Chair Office Score Seat height Weight capacity Armrests Footrest Warranty Amazon
BOLISS 2818HD 9.7/10 24.8 to 32.1 in 400 lb Flip-up Chrome foot ring 2 years View on Amazon
OFFICE FACTOR OF-2001STBK 9.6/10 30 in, stated as full height 400 lb Flip-up, lock-up Adjustable foot ring 2 years View on Amazon
X XISHE 968LT 9.6/10 22.05 to 29.33 in 400 lb Flip-up Adjusts 4.92 in Not stated View on Amazon
HYLONE HL-0011C-GM 9.6/10 22 in 280 lb Armless Adjustable foot ring 12 months View on Amazon
SONGMICS UOBN046B101S 9.6/10 7.9 in range, base not stated 330 lb Flip-up Adjustable circular foot ring Not stated View on Amazon

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 19 October 2026. Three of the five state a warranty term; two state a BIFMA claim.

How we scored them

The Office Score weighs performance (seat height range, lumbar, headrest and armrest adjustments, footrest and stated capacity), build (base, frame, gas lift, materials and item weight), value for the stated specs, safety and warranty. For a chair, safety means a stated BIFMA claim, gas lift class or weight capacity; all five state at least one, and the X XISHE names both BIFMA and SGS standards with a Class-4 gas lift. Three listings state a warranty term: the BOLISS and the OFFICE FACTOR at 2 years and the HYLONE at 12 months.

Product Office Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
BOLISS 2818HD 9.7 32 21 22 8 3
OFFICE FACTOR OF-2001STBK 9.6 29 20 21 7 3
X XISHE 968LT 9.6 33 22 21 9 0
HYLONE HL-0011C-GM 9.6 27 20 20 8 2
SONGMICS UOBN046B101S 9.6 29 21 21 7 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best ergonomic office chair for tall

Start with seat height, not chair height

Drafting chairs exist because a tall desk or a standing desk used seated puts a normal chair out of range. The BOLISS states 24.8 to 32.1 in, the X XISHE 22.05 to 29.33 in, and the OFFICE FACTOR lists a 30 in full height that we read as the seat figure (its spec table claims 51 in overall, which contradicts the bullet). The HYLONE states a single 22 in seat height, and the SONGMICS states only a 7.9 in adjustment range with no base figure. Measure from the floor to the underside of your desk before ordering, then choose a chair whose stated range keeps your forearms level with the worktop and your feet on the foot ring. If you pair the chair with a height-adjustable desk, the longer ranges here give you room on both settings; see our standing desks for what the desk side of that equation looks like.

Match capacity and base to the load

Three chairs state 400 lb: the BOLISS, the OFFICE FACTOR and the X XISHE. The SONGMICS states 330 lb and the HYLONE 280 lb. Treat each figure as the maker’s claim and leave a margin rather than buying at the limit, because the gas lift is the part that sinks first when a chair is loaded past its rating. Bases differ: the BOLISS uses a heavy-duty 5-star nylon base, the OFFICE FACTOR a weighted 5-point base, the X XISHE a strong metal base, and the SONGMICS a thickened plate on a 5-star metal base. A wider, heavier base stays steadier at full height, which is exactly where a tall chair gets tippy.

Chair Seat height Capacity Armrests Warranty
BOLISS 2818HD 24.8 to 32.1 in 400 lb Flip-up 2 years
OFFICE FACTOR OF-2001STBK 30 in, stated as full height 400 lb Flip-up, lock-up 2 years
X XISHE 968LT 22.05 to 29.33 in 400 lb Flip-up Not stated
HYLONE HL-0011C-GM 22 in 280 lb Armless 12 months
SONGMICS UOBN046B101S 7.9 in range, base not stated 330 lb Flip-up Not stated

Figures as stated in each listing. The OFFICE FACTOR’s 30 in figure comes from its bullets; its spec table lists 51 in overall, which we do not treat as a seat height.

Armrests and footrests decide the daily fit

Four of the five have flip-up armrests: the BOLISS, OFFICE FACTOR, X XISHE and SONGMICS all fold to 90 degrees, and the OFFICE FACTOR’s lift and lock in the raised position, so the chair slides under a desk in a small room. The HYLONE skips arms entirely, which keeps your body closer to the work and lets the chair slip under any table, at the cost of no arm support on long days. Every chair here has a footrest: a chrome ring on the BOLISS, an adjustable ring on the OFFICE FACTOR, HYLONE and SONGMICS, and a ring on the X XISHE that adjusts 4.92 in up or down. A foot ring gives your feet somewhere to rest, which matters more the higher you sit.

Lumbar, headrest and the warranty line

For long sessions the support stack matters as much as the height. The BOLISS pairs a 3D adjustable headrest with an adjustable lumbar cushion, a 5 in molded foam seat and a waterfall front edge. The SONGMICS lists a height-adjustable sponge lumbar pad, a curved back and a waterfall edge on a 3.5 in sponge cushion. The X XISHE offers a 1.2 in height-adjustable lumbar pad on an S-shaped back. The OFFICE FACTOR and HYLONE state no lumbar or headrest adjustment; if your back needs one, our seat cushions and lumbar pillows cover add-on options. Then read the warranty line: the BOLISS states 2 years with free replacement of defective parts, the OFFICE FACTOR 2 years against factory defects, and the HYLONE 12 months. The SONGMICS and X XISHE state no warranty term, so their scores end there.

Frequently Asked Questions

What seat height does a tall desk need?

Match the chair to the desk, not the other way. The BOLISS states 24.8 to 32.1 in, the X XISHE 22.05 to 29.33 in, and the OFFICE FACTOR lists a 30 in height figure; measure the floor-to-desk distance and pick a range that keeps your forearms level with the worktop.

Which of these chairs state a 400 lb capacity?

The BOLISS, the OFFICE FACTOR and the X XISHE all state 400 lb. The SONGMICS states 330 lb and the HYLONE 280 lb.

Can these chairs tuck under a desk?

Yes, four of the five have flip-up armrests that fold to 90 degrees: the BOLISS, OFFICE FACTOR, X XISHE and SONGMICS. The HYLONE is armless, so it slides under any table without folding anything.

Which listings state a warranty term?

The BOLISS states 2 years with free replacement of defective parts, the OFFICE FACTOR states 2 years against factory defects, and the HYLONE states 12 months. The SONGMICS and X XISHE state no warranty term.

What does a BIFMA statement mean on these chairs?

BIFMA is an industry standard for commercial seating, reported here as the maker’s claim. The HYLONE states a BIFMA-certified gas lift and the X XISHE states that it meets BIFMA and SGS standards; the other three listings state no BIFMA claim.

BOLISS 2818HD
Still deciding? Our top pickBOLISS 2818HD
Check price on Amazon

See every office chair guide and all office chairs and seating guides.

More picks: standing desks, gaming chairs, seat cushions and lumbar pillows.