An outlet that sits just out of reach turns into a daily annoyance, and the best extension cord under 15 bridges the gap without a tangle of adapters. We compared five extension cords on stated length, rating, outlets and safety features, so you can match the cord to the job. Every pick here stays under the keyword’s price cap, from a 6ft 2-pack to a 15ft 2-pack.
OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall Vockjour 10ft Cord: ETL listed indoor/outdoor cord, 13A 1625W Check price on Amazon
Best 2-Pack Tiffcofio 6ft Cord: 2-pack with 3 outlets and safety windows Check price on Amazon
Best Long 2-Pack Amazon Basics 15ft Cord: 15 ft 2-pack for longer indoor runs Check price on Amazon
Best White Amazon Basics 10ft Cord: 10 ft 3-prong cord for indoor use Check price on Amazon
Best 12ft Tiffcofio 12ft Cord: 12 ft with 3 outlets and safety windows Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Office Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Vockjour 10ft Cord | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | Tiffcofio 6ft Cord | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | Amazon Basics 15ft Cord | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | Amazon Basics 10ft Cord | 9.4/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | Tiffcofio 12ft Cord | 9.4/10 | Buy on Amazon |
Pros
- ETL listed for safety
- Indoor and outdoor rated
- Weatherproof, flame retardant jacket
- -58F to +158F temperature range
Cons
- Single outlet only
- No warranty term is stated
- Black only, no other colors stated
- 10 ft may be short for long runs
Detailed Review
The listing states a 10ft 16/3 SJTW extension cord rated 13A and 1625W at 125V, with a 3-prong grounded plug. It is ETL listed, with a weatherproof, flame retardant, cold resistant jacket rated from -58F to +158F. It suits offices, gardens, camping and DIY tools.
Who it's for: anyone who needs a cord for outdoor or demanding use. Who should skip it: anyone who needs multiple outlets. The -58F to +158F range covers winter and summer jobs.
Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 0/5: 81 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Length | 10 ft |
|---|---|
| Rating | 13A/1625W, 16 AWG |
| Certification | ETL listed |
| Use | Indoor and outdoor |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. ETL listed, so safety scores 8 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- 2-pack covers two spots
- 3 outlets with safety slide windows
- Hanging holes for wall mounting
- 13A/1625W, 16 AWG rating
Cons
- Only 6 ft long
- No warranty term is stated
- No safety certifications are stated
- 2-prong plug only, no grounding
Detailed Review
The listing states a 6ft indoor extension cord in a 2-pack, with a 2-prong plug and 3 polarized outlets. Each outlet has a safety slide window that blocks dust and keeps children from touching the contacts. The socket top has hanging holes for nails or hooks, and the cord is SPT-2.
Who it's for: a desk that needs three plugs from one outlet. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a grounded plug. The 2-pack means a spare for the workshop.
Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 71 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Length | 6 ft |
|---|---|
| Rating | 13A/1625W, 16 AWG |
| Outlets | 3 polarized |
| Pack | 2-pack |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No UL 1449 listing or joule rating is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- 15 ft, the longest pick
- 2-pack for two rooms
- 13 amp/125V, 16 AWG
- Accepts 2- or 3-prong plugs
Cons
- Single outlet per cord
- No warranty term is stated
- No safety certifications are stated
- Indoor use only
Detailed Review
The listing states a 15ft indoor extension cord in black, sold as a 2-pack, rated 13 amps at 125V with 16 AWG. It plugs into any standard 3-prong outlet and accepts 2- or 3-prong device plugs. It suits consumer electronics, tools and media equipment.
Who it's for: a long run to a far outlet, twice over. Who should skip it: anyone who needs multiple outlets per cord. The 15ft length reaches across most rooms.
Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 71 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Length | 15 ft |
|---|---|
| Rating | 13A/125V, 16 AWG |
| Outlets | 1 |
| Pack | 2-pack |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No UL 1449 listing or joule rating is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- 10 ft for medium runs
- 13 amp/125V, 16 AWG
- White finish blends with walls
- Accepts 2- or 3-prong plugs
Cons
- Single outlet only
- No warranty term is stated
- No safety certifications are stated
- Indoor use only
Detailed Review
The listing states a 10ft indoor extension cord in white, rated 13 amps at 125V with 16 AWG. It plugs into any standard 3-prong outlet and accepts 2- or 3-prong device plugs. It suits consumer electronics, tools and media equipment.
Who it's for: a medium run where a white cord blends in. Who should skip it: anyone who needs outdoor rating. The white finish disappears against a light wall.
Its Office Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 69 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Length | 10 ft |
|---|---|
| Rating | 13A/125V, 16 AWG |
| Outlets | 1 |
| Color | White |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No UL 1449 listing or joule rating is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- 12 ft with 3 outlets
- Safety slide windows on each outlet
- Hanging holes for wall mounting
- 13A/1625W, 16 AWG rating
Cons
- Single pack only
- No warranty term is stated
- No safety certifications are stated
- 2-prong plug only, no grounding
Detailed Review
The listing states a 12ft indoor extension cord with a 2-prong plug and 3 polarized outlets. Each outlet has a safety slide window, and the socket top has hanging holes for nails or hooks. It is rated 13A and 1625W with 16 AWG.
Who it's for: a 12ft run that needs three plugs. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a grounded plug. The 12ft length suits a run to a far wall.
Its Office Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 69 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Length | 12 ft |
|---|---|
| Rating | 13A/1625W, 16 AWG |
| Outlets | 3 polarized |
| Pack | 1-pack |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No UL 1449 listing or joule rating is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
Amazon Basics Extension CordCheck on Amazon
Tiffcofio Indoor Outdoor Extension CordCheck on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Cord | Office Score | Length | Rating | Outlets | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Vockjour 10ft Cord | 9.6/10 | 10 ft | 13A/1625W, ETL | 1 | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| Tiffcofio 6ft Cord | 9.5/10 | 6 ft | 13A/1625W | 3 | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| Amazon Basics 15ft Cord | 9.5/10 | 15 ft | 13A/125V | 1 | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| Amazon Basics 10ft Cord | 9.4/10 | 10 ft | 13A/125V | 1 | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| Tiffcofio 12ft Cord | 9.4/10 | 12 ft | 13A/1625W | 3 | Not stated | View on Amazon |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 22 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Office Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For extension cords, performance means the stated length, rating and outlet count, build means the stated gauge and jacket, and value means what the listing delivers at this price point. The Vockjour led on safety with its ETL listing; the Tiffcofio 6ft led on outlets with its 3-outlet 2-pack. Safety means stated listings and certifications; only the Vockjour states one. None of the five picks states a warranty term. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Office Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Vockjour 10ft Cord | 9.6 | 32 | 21 | 20 | 8 | 0 |
| Tiffcofio 6ft Cord | 9.5 | 30 | 20 | 21 | 0 | 0 |
| Amazon Basics 15ft Cord | 9.5 | 30 | 20 | 21 | 0 | 0 |
| Amazon Basics 10ft Cord | 9.4 | 29 | 20 | 20 | 0 | 0 |
| Tiffcofio 12ft Cord | 9.4 | 29 | 20 | 20 | 0 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best extension cord under 15
Match the length to the run
The Amazon Basics 15ft covers the longest indoor runs; the Tiffcofio 12ft and the Vockjour and Amazon Basics 10ft cords cover medium runs; the Tiffcofio 6ft suits a short hop to a nearby outlet. Measure the run first and buy the length that reaches in one cord, since daisy-chaining cords is not advised. A cord that is too long leaves coils on the floor that collect dust and trip feet; a cord that is too short gets tugged out of the outlet. For the full power setup, see best power strip with USB.
Count the outlets you need
The Tiffcofio 6ft and 12ft cords each offer 3 polarized outlets with safety slide windows, so one cord can feed three devices. The Amazon Basics and Vockjour cords have a single outlet each. If the desk needs more than one plug, the 3-outlet picks win; if it needs one long reach, the 15ft 2-pack wins. The safety slide windows block dust and keep small fingers away from the contacts, which matters in a family home office with curious kids. Keep the runs tidy with best cable management for small desk once the cord is in place.
Check indoor versus outdoor and the listing
Only the Vockjour states indoor and outdoor use, with a weatherproof jacket, flame retardant build and ETL listing. The other four state indoor use. All five state 13A and 16 AWG; the Vockjour and Tiffcofio cords state 1625W. The ETL listing means an independent lab checked the cord against safety standards, which is the strongest safety statement of the five picks. For outdoor jobs, the Vockjour is the only stated choice of the five.
Decide if the 2-pack matters
The Tiffcofio 6ft and Amazon Basics 15ft come as 2-packs, which covers two rooms or a spare. The Vockjour, Amazon Basics 10ft and Tiffcofio 12ft are single cords. A 2-pack suits a home office plus a workshop; a single cord suits one desk. At this price point, the 2-pack is the better value if you have two runs to cover, and the spare lives in a drawer until needed.
Read the plug type
The Amazon Basics and Vockjour cords use 3-prong grounded plugs; the Tiffcofio cords use 2-prong plugs. A grounded plug suits tools and larger electronics that need the extra safety; a 2-prong plug suits lamps and small devices. Match the plug to the device and the outlet before you buy.
Setup Notes
- Match the cord rating to the device: all five state 13A and 16 AWG, so check the device label.
- Run one cord per outlet and do not daisy-chain extension cords together.
- Keep cords away from heat sources and never run them under rugs or carpets.
- Use the hanging holes on the Tiffcofio cords to mount the outlet end on a wall or bench.
- For outdoor use, only the Vockjour states a weatherproof jacket.
- Uncoil the cord fully before use so heat does not build up inside the coil.
- Check the plug prongs for damage before each use, since none of the five listings states a warranty term.
Frequently Asked Questions
What gauge are these cords?
All five state 16 AWG, which suits the 13A rating. The Vockjour states 16/3 SJTW with a heavier jacket.
Which cords work outdoors?
Only the Vockjour states indoor and outdoor use, with a weatherproof jacket and ETL listing. The other four state indoor use only, so keep them inside.
Which have multiple outlets?
The Tiffcofio 6ft and 12ft cords each have 3 polarized outlets with safety slide windows. The other three have a single outlet each, so plan for a power strip if you need more.
Which are 2-packs?
The Tiffcofio 6ft and the Amazon Basics 15ft come as 2-packs. The other three are single cords, so buy two if you need a pair.
What is the longest cord?
The Amazon Basics 15ft is the longest. The Tiffcofio 12ft is next, then the 10ft cords, then the 6ft.
Are these cords grounded?
The Amazon Basics and Vockjour cords use 3-prong grounded plugs. The Tiffcofio cords use 2-prong plugs.
Related guides
See every Surge Protectors and Cable Management guide and all Audio, Power and Connectivity guides.
More picks: power strip with USB and cable management for small desk.









