Tax season turns the kitchen table into a paper chase, and the best file box for tax documents is the one that keeps every return, receipt and W-2 in one grab-and-go place. Some boxes here lock and carry stated flame retardant ratings, others are simple stackable file storage. We compared five file boxes by capacity, lock, stated ratings, size and warranty terms, using only what each listing publishes.
OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall ENGPOW EG086 Document Box: Locking box with UL94-V0/5VA rating, 36-liter capacity Check price on Amazon
Best for Portability JALIELL Locking Document Box: Collapsible locking box, UL94 VTM-0, 32 liters Check price on Amazon
Best Hanging Rails Bankers Box HD Plastic: Letter/legal box with hanging rails, stacks to 5 Check price on Amazon
Best Slim Pick Staples Portable File Box: Slim portable box with buckle latch and handle Check price on Amazon
Best 6-Pack Bankers Box Basic 6-Pack: 6 cardboard boxes with lids, letter and legal Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Office Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ENGPOW EG086 Document Box | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | JALIELL Locking Document Box | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | Bankers Box HD Plastic | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | Staples Portable File Box | 9.4/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | Bankers Box Basic 6-Pack | 9.4/10 | Buy on Amazon |

ENGPOW EG086 Document Box
A locking document box with a UL94-V0/5VA flame retardant rating, 36-liter capacity and water-resistant build for tax records.
Pros
- UL94-V0/5VA flame retardant rating, per the listing
- Combination lock with no keys needed
- 36-liter capacity holds letter and legal files
- Collapses flat for storage when not in use
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- 5200°F figure is the maker's claim, not an independent rating
- PP boards and fabric build, not rigid metal
- 3-pound weight before files are added
Detailed Review
ENGPOW lists the EG086 as a locking document box with a silicone-coated cotton and aluminum foil build, rated by the maker to withstand up to 5200°F, and a UL94-V0/5VA flame retardant rating. It states a 36-liter capacity, letter and legal file fit, a combination lock, a water-resistant build and PP boards that hold a minimum of 150 lbs. The box collapses flat, has an adjustable handle and two zippers, and weighs 3 pounds. No warranty term is stated.
Who it's for: someone who wants a locking box with a stated flame retardant rating for tax records and valuables. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a stated warranty term or a rigid metal safe.
Its Office Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 0/5: 82 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Capacity | 36 liters |
|---|---|
| Rating | UL94-V0/5VA, per listing |
| Lock | Combination lock |
| Weight | 3 pounds |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. UL94-V0/5VA flame retardant rating stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Anchor it. Anchor tall bookshelves and file cabinets to the wall with the supplied hardware or an anti-tip kit, load the lowest shelves and drawers first, and open one drawer at a time.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

JALIELL Locking Document Box
A collapsible locking file box with a UL94 VTM-0 rating, water-resistant zipper and 32-liter capacity.
Pros
- UL94 VTM-0 rating with SGS certification stated
- 3-digit combination lock and water-resistant zipper
- 32-liter capacity with lid and side pockets
- Collapses flat and carries one-handed or on the shoulder
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- 2000°F figure is the maker's claim
- File folders not included
- 2.2-pound weight before files
Detailed Review
JALIELL lists a locking file box with dual-layer silicone-coated fiberglass, a 2000°F maker claim with SGS certification and a UL94 VTM-0 rating, plus a full-cover waterproof zipper. It states a 32-liter capacity, letter and legal fit, a 3-digit combination lock, an anti-static exterior and a reflective strip for finding it in the dark. The box collapses flat, weighs 2.2 pounds and includes lid and side pockets. File folders are not included, and no warranty term is stated.
Who it's for: someone who wants a portable locking box with a stated rating for tax documents on the move. Who should skip it: anyone who needs folders included or a stated warranty term.
Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 0/5: 80 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Capacity | 32 liters |
|---|---|
| Rating | UL94 VTM-0, per listing |
| Lock | 3-digit combination lock |
| Weight | 2.2 pounds |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. UL94 VTM-0 rating and SGS certification stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Anchor it. Anchor tall bookshelves and file cabinets to the wall with the supplied hardware or an anti-tip kit, load the lowest shelves and drawers first, and open one drawer at a time.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Bankers Box HD Plastic
A heavy-duty plastic file box with hanging rails for letter and legal files, stacking to 5 high.
Pros
- Built-in hanging rails for letter and legal files
- Reinforced corners, stacks up to 5 high
- Snap closure with comfortable handles for transport
- No assembly required
Cons
- Not water resistant, per the spec table
- No warranty term is stated
- Single box, not a multi-pack
- 7.5-gallon capacity is smaller than the 36-liter locking boxes
Detailed Review
Bankers Box lists a heavy-duty plastic file box for letter and legal files with built-in hanging rails, reinforced corners and stacking up to 5 high. It states a 7.5-gallon capacity, a snap closure, comfortable handles and TAA compliance, with no assembly required. The box measures 17.38 by 14.19 by 10.63 inches and weighs 2.9 pounds. The spec table marks it not water resistant, and no warranty term is stated.
Who it's for: someone who wants hanging files in a stackable plastic box for tax season. Who should skip it: anyone who needs water resistance or a locking lid.
Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 71 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Capacity | 7.5 gallons |
|---|---|
| Size | 17.38 x 14.19 x 10.63 in |
| Stacking | Up to 5 high |
| Weight | 2.9 pounds |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Anchor it. Anchor tall bookshelves and file cabinets to the wall with the supplied hardware or an anti-tip kit, load the lowest shelves and drawers first, and open one drawer at a time.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Staples Portable File Box
A slim portable file box with a lift-off lid, buckle latch and easy-grip handle for letter files.
Pros
- Slim portable profile with easy-grip handle
- Lift-off lid with buckle latch
- Water repellent plastic build
- No assembly required
Cons
- Letter size only, no legal files
- No warranty term is stated
- No lock, just a buckle latch
- No stated capacity figure
Detailed Review
Staples lists a slim portable file box for letter-size documents with a lift-off lid, buckle latch and easy-grip handle. The plastic build is water repellent, and the listing names no assembly. It weighs 1.6 pounds and is styled as a portable slim unit. No capacity figure and no warranty term are stated.
Who it's for: a professional who carries letter files between home and office. Who should skip it: anyone with legal-size files or who wants a lock or a stated capacity.
Its Office Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 69 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Size | Letter |
|---|---|
| Latch | Buckle |
| Weight | 1.6 pounds |
| Material | Plastic |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Anchor it. Anchor tall bookshelves and file cabinets to the wall with the supplied hardware or an anti-tip kit, load the lowest shelves and drawers first, and open one drawer at a time.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Bankers Box Basic 6-Pack
A 6-pack of cardboard file boxes with lift-off lids for letter and legal documents.
Pros
- 6 boxes with lids in one order
- Letter and legal folders both fit
- Folds flat when not in use
- 60% recycled content, made in the USA stated
Cons
- Cardboard: not water resistant
- No warranty term is stated
- No lock or latch
- Basic-duty build for short-term storage, per the listing
Detailed Review
Bankers Box lists a 6-pack of basic-duty cardboard file boxes with lift-off lids for letter and legal folders. The boxes have reinforced handles, stack neatly and fold flat when not in use. The listing states 60% recycled content, a 15-liter capacity and a 1.1-pound weight per box, and calls them out for short-term or seasonal storage. The spec table marks them not water resistant, and no warranty term is stated.
Who it's for: someone archiving several years of tax records on shelves. Who should skip it: anyone who needs water resistance, a lock or heavy-duty build.
Its Office Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 27/35, build 19/25, value 22/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 68 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Pack | 6 boxes |
|---|---|
| Capacity | 15 liters |
| Weight | 1.1 pounds each |
| Material | Cardboard |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Anchor it. Anchor tall bookshelves and file cabinets to the wall with the supplied hardware or an anti-tip kit, load the lowest shelves and drawers first, and open one drawer at a time.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Compare the picks
| File Box | Office Score | Capacity | Lock | Fire Rating | Size | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ENGPOW EG086 Document Box | 9.7/10 | 36 liters | Combination lock | UL94-V0/5VA, per listing | 15.6 x 12.5 x 10.5 in | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| JALIELL Locking Document Box | 9.6/10 | 32 liters | 3-digit combination lock | UL94 VTM-0, per listing | 15.55 x 12 x 10.43 in | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| Bankers Box HD Plastic | 9.5/10 | 7.5 gallons | Snap closure | Not stated | 17.38 x 14.19 x 10.63 in | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| Staples Portable File Box | 9.4/10 | Not stated | Buckle latch | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| Bankers Box Basic 6-Pack | 9.4/10 | 15 liters | Lift-off lid | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | View on Amazon |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 23 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Office Score weighs performance (capacity, lock and stated ratings), build (materials and water resistance), value for the stated specs, safety and warranty. For a file box, safety means a stated flame retardant rating; the ENGPOW and the JALIELL state UL94 marks, and the other three state none. No listing states a warranty term. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Office Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ENGPOW EG086 Document Box | 9.7 | 32 | 21 | 21 | 8 | 0 |
| JALIELL Locking Document Box | 9.6 | 30 | 21 | 21 | 8 | 0 |
| Bankers Box HD Plastic | 9.5 | 29 | 21 | 21 | 0 | 0 |
| Staples Portable File Box | 9.4 | 28 | 20 | 21 | 0 | 0 |
| Bankers Box Basic 6-Pack | 9.4 | 27 | 19 | 22 | 0 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best file box for tax documents
Decide how much protection the papers need
Tax records are irreplaceable, so the rating is the first thing to read. The ENGPOW states a UL94-V0/5VA flame retardant rating, and the JALIELL states a UL94 VTM-0 rating with SGS certification. Both add a combination lock and water resistance. The other three state no rating: they organize, they do not protect against fire. For more budget options, our file box under $30 guide compares simpler picks.
Letter, legal or both
Four of the five fit both letter and legal folders: the ENGPOW, the JALIELL and both Bankers Box units. The Staples box is letter size only, so check your folder size before buying. Capacity runs from 15 liters in the Bankers Box 6-pack to 32 liters in the JALIELL and 36 liters in the ENGPOW. A document holder for desk handles the active files while the box archives the rest.
| File Box | Capacity | Lock | Stated Rating | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ENGPOW EG086 Document Box | 36 liters | Combination lock | UL94-V0/5VA, per listing | Not stated |
| JALIELL Locking Document Box | 32 liters | 3-digit combination lock | UL94 VTM-0, per listing | Not stated |
| Bankers Box HD Plastic | 7.5 gallons | Snap closure | Not stated | Not stated |
| Staples Portable File Box | Not stated | Buckle latch | Not stated | Not stated |
| Bankers Box Basic 6-Pack | 15 liters | Lift-off lid | Not stated | Not stated |
Portable or shelf storage
The two locking boxes collapse flat and carry by handle for trips to the accountant. The Bankers Box plastic unit has comfortable handles and stacks up to 5 high on a shelf. The Staples box is a slim grab-and-go unit for letter files. The Bankers Box 6-pack is pure archive: cardboard boxes that fold flat when empty and stack for multi-year storage.
Read the warranty line, not the headline
None of the five listings states a warranty term, so read each listing’s support note before you count on one. The after-sales promises in the two locking-box listings are service notes, not stated terms. A stated term matters most on the box holding the only copy of a return.
Setup Notes
- Measure the shelf before buying: the ENGPOW is 15.6 by 12.5 by 10.5 inches and the JALIELL is 15.55 by 12 by 10.43 inches.
- The Bankers Box plastic unit stacks up to 5 high; the cardboard 6-pack folds flat when empty.
- Both locking boxes collapse flat for off-season storage.
- Legal folders fit the ENGPOW, the JALIELL and both Bankers Box units, not the Staples.
- Unfold the ENGPOW and insert the base plate before loading files.
Frequently Asked Questions
What size file box do I need for tax documents?
The ENGPOW, the JALIELL and both Bankers Box units fit letter and legal folders. The Staples box is letter size only. Capacity runs from 15 liters to 36 liters across the five.
Do any of these file boxes lock?
The ENGPOW has a combination lock and the JALIELL has a 3-digit combination lock. The Bankers Box plastic unit has a snap closure and the Staples has a buckle latch; the cardboard 6-pack has lift-off lids only.
Are any of these fire resistant?
The ENGPOW states a UL94-V0/5VA flame retardant rating, and the JALIELL states a UL94 VTM-0 rating with SGS certification. Both are maker-stated marks; the other three state no rating.
Can these boxes get wet?
The ENGPOW states a water-resistant build, the JALIELL states a water-resistant zipper, and the Staples is water repellent. Both Bankers Box units are marked not water resistant.
Which file boxes have a warranty?
None of the five listings states a warranty term. Read each listing’s support note before you count on one.
Related guides
See every bookshelves and file cabinets guide and all office machines and storage guides.
More picks: browse file boxes under $30, document holders under $20 and document holders for desks.




