A wide drawing, a bound volume or a stack of oversized pages can stall a desk that only handles letter-size sheets. The best scanner for large documents is the scanner whose stated capture size, feed or flatbed design and connection match the pages waiting to be digitized. We compared the scanners in this group by stated capture size, resolution, connection, scan speed where stated and warranty term, using only what each listing publishes.
OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall CZUR ET MAX: A3 capture, 38MP, 410 DPI, 1.5 seconds per page Check price on Amazon
Best Wireless Epson ES-580W: Wireless, 100-sheet ADF, 35 pages per minute Check price on Amazon
Largest Format VIISAN S21: A2 capture, 26MP, auto-flatten Check price on Amazon
Best Flatbed VIISAN VF3120: A3 flatbed, 1200 dpi, 8 sec scans Check price on Amazon
Portable Option Epson ES-50: Portable mobile document scanner, per its title Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Office Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | CZUR ET MAX | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | Epson ES-580W | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | VIISAN S21 | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | VIISAN VF3120 | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | Epson ES-50 | 9.4/10 | Buy on Amazon |

CZUR ET MAX
An overhead book and document scanner capturing up to A3, with a 38MP sensor, curve-flattening and OCR in 180 plus languages.
Pros
- Captures documents up to A3 at 16.5 by 11.7 inches
- 38MP CMOS sensor at 7168 by 5376 and 410 DPI stated
- Scans a page in 1.5 seconds with practiced operation
- Patented curve-flattening for curved pages of bound books
Cons
- Not recommended for glossy or highly reflective materials, per the listing
- Thai and Hebrew are currently not supported for OCR
- Arabic OCR is supported on ET Series scanners under Windows only
- Item weight of 1 kg with no dimensions stated for the unit
Detailed Review
The CZUR ET MAX is listed as a professional book and document scanner with a 38MP CMOS sensor at 7168 by 5376 and 410 DPI, capturing documents up to A3 at 16.5 by 11.7 inches. Its patented curve-flattening technology flattens curved pages of bound books without unbinding, and its OCR converts scans into editable and searchable files in Word, Excel and searchable PDFs across 180 plus languages. It scans a page in 1.5 seconds with practiced operation, supports HDMI output for live projection, and works with Windows, macOS and Linux, with Linux limited to Ubuntu 20.04 to 24.04. The listing notes Thai and Hebrew are currently not supported for OCR, and Arabic is only supported on ET Series scanners under Windows systems.
Who it's for: someone digitizing bound books and A3 documents who wants curve-flattening, fast per-page scans and wide OCR language support. Who should skip it: anyone scanning glossy or highly reflective materials, or needing Thai, Hebrew or Arabic OCR outside Windows.
Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 4/5: 78 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Capture size | Up to A3 |
|---|---|
| Sensor | 38MP CMOS |
| Resolution | 410 DPI |
| Scan speed | 1.5 seconds per page |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. 1 year manufacturer. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.
Shredder and printer safety. Keep hair, ties, jewelry, children and pets away from the feed slot, use the safety lock, unplug when not in use, and give printers and adapters room to vent.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Epson ES-580W
A wireless duplex desktop document scanner with a 100-sheet feeder, a 4.3 in touchscreen and scans at up to 35 pages per minute.
Pros
- Wireless scanning with a 4.3 in touchscreen
- 100-sheet Auto Document Feeder for various paper types and sizes
- Digitizes at up to 35 pages per minute with duplex capture
- Saves scans directly to USB, email or cloud services without a computer
Cons
- No single largest scan size is stated for the feeder
- Resolution of 300 dpi is the lowest stated here
- Item weight of 3.7 kg, per the spec table
- Warranty is limited to the U.S. and Canada, per the listing
Detailed Review
The Epson WorkForce ES-580W is listed as a wireless color duplex desktop document scanner with a 4.3 in touchscreen, a 100-sheet Auto Document Feeder and scans at up to 35 pages per minute. It captures both sides of documents with Single-Step Technology, creates searchable PDFs with OCR, converts scans to editable Word or Excel files, and supports auto crop, blank page deletion, background removal, dirt detection and paper skew correction. It saves scans directly to USB, email or popular cloud services like Dropbox, Evernote, Google Drive and OneDrive without a computer, and the spec table states 300 dpi resolution and a 3.7 kg item weight. No single largest scan size is stated for the feeder, so oversized originals need checking against the feeder rather than a stated maximum.
Who it's for: someone with a stack of loose sheets who wants wireless duplex scanning, a touchscreen and direct cloud or USB saving. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a stated A3 or A2 capture size or a higher stated resolution than 300 dpi.
Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 4/5: 75 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Feeder | 100-sheet ADF |
|---|---|
| Speed | Up to 35 pages per minute |
| Connection | Wi-Fi |
| Resolution | 300 dpi |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No safety lock or safety listing is stated, so safety scores zero. 1-year limited warranty in the U.S. and Canada. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.
Shredder and printer safety. Keep hair, ties, jewelry, children and pets away from the feed slot, use the safety lock, unplug when not in use, and give printers and adapters room to vent.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

VIISAN S21
An overhead large-format scanner capturing A2 at 594 by 420 mm, with auto-flatten, fingerprint removal and multi-language OCR.
Pros
- Large A2 capture at 594 by 420 mm, the largest stated here
- Auto-flatten for curved pages and fingerprint removal from scans
- Adjustable height for A2 and A3 with a 90-degree foldable hinge
- Built-in 3-level LED light control for clear photos in the dark
Cons
- Bundled software supports only x64 and x86 architectures, not ARM-based devices
- Built-in LEDs are not recommended in bright light or for very glary papers
- Spec table sensor figure of 23 mp differs from the 26MP headline figure
- Resolution of up to 600 DPI is software-enhanced, not optical
Detailed Review
The VIISAN S21 is listed as a large-format book and document scanner capturing A2 at 594 by 420 mm, with up to 26MP at 5888 by 4522 pixels and software-enhanced up to 600 DPI. Its scanning software automatically flattens curved pages, erases fingers from scanned photos, repairs damaged document edges and splits double-pages into separate images, and its embedded OCR converts files into PDF or editable Word, Excel, Epub and Txt files. It has an adjustable height for A2 and A3 with a 90-degree foldable hinge, a built-in 3-level LED lamp, UVC and UAC compliance for video conferencing projection, and video capture at 1080p at 30fps. One contradiction sits in the listing: the headline states 26MP while the spec table states a photo sensor resolution of 23 mp, so the headline figure is the one this guide reports. The bundled OfficeCam software supports only x64 and x86 architectures and is not compatible with ARM-based devices such as the Surface Pro X.
Who it's for: someone scanning A2 journals, manuscripts, newspapers and maps who wants auto-flatten and fingerprint removal. Who should skip it: anyone on an ARM-based device, or scanning very glary papers under bright light.
Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 4/5: 74 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Capture size | A2, 594 by 420 mm |
|---|---|
| Resolution | 26MP, 600 DPI software-enhanced |
| Connection | USB |
| Item weight | 1 kg |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. 1 year warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.
Shredder and printer safety. Keep hair, ties, jewelry, children and pets away from the feed slot, use the safety lock, unplug when not in use, and give printers and adapters room to vent.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

VIISAN VF3120
An A3 flatbed scanner at up to 1200 dpi with auto-scan on lid close, a frameless design and four-panel buttons for scan, email, print and PDF.
Pros
- A3 flatbed scanning for artworks, photos, books and CAD drawings
- Maximum optical resolution of 1200 by 1200 dpi with 48-bit color depth
- Scans an A3-size color page in 8 sec at 200dpi
- Auto-scan function scans automatically when the lid is closed
Cons
- CIS sensor scans flat paper images only, not three-dimensional items
- WIA only supports 600 dpi, below the 1200 dpi maximum
- Title scan size of 11.7 by 16.7 inches differs from the bullets figure of 11.98 by 16.8 inches
- Not recommended for clothes, CDs or acrylic sleeves, per the listing
Detailed Review
The VIISAN 3120 is listed as an A3 flatbed scanner for artworks, photos, painting albums, books, magazines, newspapers and CAD drawings, with a maximum optical resolution of 1200 by 1200 dpi and 48-bit color depth. It scans an A3-size color page in 8 sec at 200dpi, uses a frameless and narrow boundary design, and offers four-panel buttons for scan, email, print and creating single or multipage PDFs. Its auto-scan function scans automatically when the lid is closed, and it uses an LED light source with no warm-up time. Two limits need stating: the CIS sensor scans flat paper images only, not three-dimensional items, and WIA only supports 600 dpi, so full 1200 dpi needs the supplied software. The title states a scan size of 11.7 by 16.7 inches while the bullets state up to 304 by 426 mm (11.98 by 16.8 inches), so confirm the figure before ordering.
Who it's for: someone scanning flat A3 originals such as artworks, albums and CAD drawings at high optical resolution. Who should skip it: anyone scanning three-dimensional items, or relying on WIA at full resolution.
Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 4/5: 73 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Scan size | A3 flatbed |
|---|---|
| Resolution | 1200 by 1200 dpi |
| Scan speed | 8 sec, A3 color at 200dpi |
| Sensor | CIS |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. 1-year limited warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.
Shredder and printer safety. Keep hair, ties, jewelry, children and pets away from the feed slot, use the safety lock, unplug when not in use, and give printers and adapters room to vent.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Epson ES-50
A USB-powered single-sheet mobile scanner that scans a page in 5.5 seconds and handles documents up to 8.5 x 72 inches.
Pros
- USB-powered with no batteries or external supply needed
- Single page in 5.5 seconds for quick scans
- Handles documents up to 8.5 x 72 inches, plus receipts and ID cards
- OCR creates searchable PDFs and editable Word and Excel files
Cons
- Single-sheet feed only, with no auto document feeder
- USB connection only, with no Wi-Fi stated
- Warranty states only Contact Manufacturer, with no term
- Each sheet must be inserted by hand, so stacks take attention
Detailed Review
Epson lists the WorkForce ES-50 as a compact and lightweight mobile single-sheet-fed scanner, USB-powered for PC and Mac, scanning a single page in 5.5 seconds. It handles documents up to 8.5 x 72 inches and digitizes receipts and ID cards, with Epson ScanSmart software and Nuance OCR for searchable PDFs and editable Word and Excel files. An automatic feeding mode combines multi-page scans into one file as each new sheet is inserted. Resolution is listed as 1200 and weight is 9.44 ounces.
Who it's for: travelers and small desks that scan pages one at a time over USB. Who should skip it: offices with stacks, where a feeder model fits better.
Its Office Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 27/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 68 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Speed | 5.5 seconds per page |
|---|---|
| Feed | Single sheet |
| Connection | USB |
| Size | 10.7 x 10.7 x 1.3 inches |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 24 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Shredder and printer safety. Keep hair, ties, jewelry, children and pets away from the feed slot, use the safety lock, unplug when not in use, and give printers and adapters room to vent.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
ScanSnap iX2500 ScannerLarge touchscreen, 45ppm duplex scanning and 100-sheet feeder, per its listingCheck on Amazon
Plustek S30 ScannerWide-format scans up to 12 inches wide with a duplex feeder, per its listingCheck on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Scanner | Office Score | Largest scan | Connection | Resolution | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CZUR ET MAX | 9.6/10 | A3 | USB | 410 DPI | 1 year manufacturer | View on Amazon |
| Epson ES-580W | 9.6/10 | Not stated | Wi-Fi | 300 dpi | 1-year limited | View on Amazon |
| VIISAN S21 | 9.5/10 | A2 | USB | 600 DPI | 1 year warranty | View on Amazon |
| VIISAN VF3120 | 9.5/10 | A3 | USB | 1200 dpi | 1-year limited | View on Amazon |
| Epson ES-50 | 9.6/10 | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | View on Amazon |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 25 October 2026. Four of the five state a warranty term, and all four full-data picks state a one-year term.
How we scored them
The Office Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For a scanner, safety means stated safety-relevant features or certifications on the listing; none of the listings here states one, so safety scores zero across this group. Four listings state a warranty term, each a one-year term. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Office Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CZUR ET MAX | 9.6 | 32 | 21 | 21 | 0 | 4 |
| Epson ES-580W | 9.6 | 30 | 21 | 20 | 0 | 4 |
| VIISAN S21 | 9.5 | 30 | 20 | 20 | 0 | 4 |
| VIISAN VF3120 | 9.5 | 29 | 20 | 20 | 0 | 4 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best scanner for large documents
Start with the capture size
Capture size decides whether a page fits at all. The VIISAN S21 captures A2 at 594 by 420 mm, the largest stated size here, which suits journals, manuscripts, newspapers and maps. The CZUR ET MAX captures up to A3 at 16.5 by 11.7 inches, and the VIISAN 3120 is an A3 flatbed whose title states 11.7 by 16.7 inches while its bullets state 304 by 426 mm (11.98 by 16.8 inches), so confirm the figure before ordering. The Epson ES-580W takes a different path: a 100-sheet feeder for various paper types and sizes, with no single largest size stated. If most pages are oversized originals rather than a stack, see our best desktop document scanner guide as well.
Flatbed, overhead camera or feeder
The three designs suit different pages. The VIISAN 3120 is a flatbed with a CIS sensor that scans flat paper images only, not three-dimensional items, and its auto-scan function scans when the lid is closed. The CZUR ET MAX and VIISAN S21 are overhead cameras that flatten curved pages of bound books, so they suit books and bound volumes that a flatbed lid would press flat. The Epson ES-580W is a duplex feeder scanner at up to 35 pages per minute with searchable PDF creation through OCR, which suits a stack of loose sheets. A buyer who travels with pages should also see our best portable document scanner guide.
| Scanner | Largest scan | Connection | Resolution | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CZUR ET MAX | A3 | USB | 410 DPI | 1 year manufacturer |
| Epson ES-580W | Not stated | Wi-Fi | 300 dpi | 1-year limited |
| VIISAN S21 | A2 | USB | 600 DPI | 1 year warranty |
| VIISAN VF3120 | A3 | USB | 1200 dpi | 1-year limited |
| Epson ES-50 | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Figures as stated in each listing. The S21 resolution is software-enhanced, and the 3120 resolution is the maximum optical figure, with a lower limit under WIA.
Check the resolution and the software limits
Resolution figures are not directly comparable across designs, so read the conditions. The VIISAN 3120 lists a maximum optical resolution of 1200 by 1200 dpi, but WIA only supports 600 dpi, and full 1200 dpi needs the supplied software. The CZUR ET MAX lists a 38MP sensor at 7168 by 5376 and 410 DPI, while the VIISAN S21 lists 26MP with software-enhanced up to 600 DPI. The Epson ES-580W lists 300 dpi. Software limits matter too: the CZUR OCR supports 180 plus languages, but Thai and Hebrew are noted as not supported, and Arabic is supported on ET Series scanners under Windows only. The S21 bundled software supports only x64 and x86 architectures and is not compatible with ARM-based devices. For a USB-only desk setup, see our best usb document scanner guide.
Read the warranty line, not the headline
Four listings state a one-year term: the Epson ES-580W states a 1-year limited warranty in the U.S. and Canada, the CZUR ET MAX states a 1 year manufacturer warranty, the VIISAN S21 states a 1 year warranty, and the VIISAN 3120 states a one-year warranty for non-man-made damage. The Epson ES-50 states no warranty term in the title-only data given here. A one-year term is the same across the full-data picks, so it does not separate them; capture size, design and software limits do.
Setup Notes
- Measure the largest page against the stated capture size: A2 on the S21, A3 on the CZUR and the 3120, and no single largest size stated on the Epson feeder.
- Check the connection: the Epson uses Wi-Fi and can save to USB, email or cloud services without a computer, while the other full-data picks use USB.
- Check the software limits: the S21 software supports only x64 and x86 architectures, and the 3120 reaches 1200 dpi only with the supplied software, since WIA supports 600 dpi.
- Confirm the warranty term in the listing: four picks state a one-year term, and the title-only Epson ES-50 states none.
Frequently Asked Questions
What size counts as a large document?
In these listings, large means A3 or A2: the CZUR ET MAX and VIISAN 3120 handle A3, and the VIISAN S21 handles A2 at 594 by 420 mm. The Epson ES-580W feeder handles various paper types and sizes, with no single largest size stated.
Can a flatbed scanner handle a bound book?
The VIISAN 3120 flatbed uses a CIS sensor that scans flat paper images only, not three-dimensional items, so a thick bound book is a poor match for it. The CZUR ET MAX and VIISAN S21 are overhead cameras with curve-flattening for bound books, which suits that job better.
Which scanner handles a stack the quickest?
The listings state speed in different units, so compare them as stated: the Epson ES-580W digitizes at up to 35 pages per minute through its 100-sheet feeder, the CZUR ET MAX scans a page in 1.5 seconds with practiced operation, and the VIISAN 3120 scans an A3-size color page in 8 sec at 200dpi.
Does OCR work in many languages?
The CZUR ET MAX OCR supports 180 plus languages, but Thai and Hebrew are currently not supported, and Arabic is only supported on ET Series scanners under Windows systems. The Epson ES-580W and VIISAN S21 also list OCR to searchable PDFs and editable Word or Excel files.
What is known about the portable Epson ES-50?
Only its title: Epson WorkForce ES-50 Portable Mobile Document Scanner. No dimensions, resolution, connection or warranty term are stated in the data given here, so it ranks below every full-data pick.
Related guides
See every Home Office Printers guide and all Office Machines and Storage guides. Also see our best portable document scanner. Also see our best desktop document scanner. Also see our best network document scanner.
More picks: bookshelves and file cabinets, desk organizers and whiteboards, label makers and shredders.




