Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Home office gear, compared spec by spec.

Bookshelves and File Cabinets

Best File Cabinet for Office (2026): 5 Compared

Five file cabinets for offices compared by stated capacity, drawers, locks, safety features and warranty terms, from steel lockers to fabric printer stands.

Best File Cabinet for Office (2026): 5 Compared

Paper still lives in most offices, and the best file cabinet for office use keeps it organized, locked and out of the way. We compared five file cabinets by stated capacity, drawers, locks, safety features and warranty terms. Every figure below comes from the Amazon listings, not from our own measurements.

OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Mount-It! 3-Drawer File Cabinet
    Best Overall Mount-It! 3-Drawer File Cabinet: 3 drawers, lock, anti-tip wheel, lifetime warranty Check price on Amazon
  • Letaya 2-Drawer Lateral Cabinet
    Best Lateral Letaya 2-Drawer Lateral Cabinet: 2 drawers, lock, anti-tilt, 120 lb capacity Check price on Amazon
  • Letaya 3-Drawer Mobile Cabinet
    Best Mobile Letaya 3-Drawer Mobile Cabinet: 3 drawers, lock, 5 wheels, fully assembled Check price on Amazon
  • DEVAISE 2-Drawer Mobile Cabinet
    Best Fabric DEVAISE 2-Drawer Mobile Cabinet: 2 fabric drawers, printer top, 4 wheels Check price on Amazon
  • VASAGLE 3-Drawer Rolling Cabinet
    Best Rolling VASAGLE 3-Drawer Rolling Cabinet: 3 fabric drawers, printer top, side bag Check price on Amazon

The picks

Mount-It! 3-Drawer File Cabinet

Mount-It! 3-Drawer File Cabinet

Mount-It!9.7/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 3-drawer steel cabinet with lock, anti-tip wheel and lifetime warranty.

Pros

  • Single key lock secures all 3 drawers
  • Center anti-tip caster wheel
  • Fully assembled on arrival
  • Lifetime warranty with US-based specialists

Cons

  • 15.3 inches wide, a fixed size
  • No printer stand surface is listed
  • 81 liters with no per-drawer breakdown
  • Heavier than the fabric models
Detailed Review

The Mount-It! lists heavy-duty steel construction, 3 drawers with the deep bottom drawer fitting legal, letter and A4 hanging files, a single-key lock, 5 caster wheels with two front locks and a center anti-tip wheel, and 81 liters of storage volume in a 15.3 by 19.75 by 24.5 inch body. It arrives fully assembled and states a lifetime warranty with US-based product specialists. One caveat from the listing: no printer stand surface or per-drawer capacity breakdown is given.

Who it's for: offices that want a lockable, tip-safe cabinet with the strongest warranty here. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a printer stand surface or the widest lateral drawers.

Its Office Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 5/5: 83 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Drawers3
Storage volume81 liters
Size15.3 x 19.75 x 24.5 in
WarrantyLifetime

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Center anti-tip caster wheel, so safety scores 5 of 10. Lifetime warranty, so warranty scores 5 of 5. See How We Pick.

Anchor it. Anchor tall bookshelves and file cabinets to the wall with the supplied hardware or an anti-tip kit, load the lowest shelves and drawers first, and open one drawer at a time.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Letaya 2-Drawer Lateral Cabinet

Letaya 2-Drawer Lateral Cabinet

Letaya9.5/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 2-drawer lateral steel cabinet with lock, anti-tilt and 120 lb capacity.

Pros

  • Interlock system with two keys
  • Anti-tilt mechanism, one drawer at a time
  • Ball-bearing full-extension slides
  • 120-pound weight capacity

Cons

  • Bullets claim four drawers against the 2-drawer title and spec
  • 105-pound item weight
  • No casters
  • No warranty term is stated
Detailed Review

The Letaya 2-drawer lateral cabinet lists reinforced cold-rolled steel, a single lock with an interlock system and two keys, an anti-tilt mechanism that allows only one drawer open at a time, ball-bearing full-extension slides and a 120-pound weight capacity in a 15.74 by 28.35 by 27.95 inch body. One caveat from the listing: the bullets claim four deep drawers while the title and spec table both say 2 drawers, so this article follows the title and spec.

Who it's for: offices that want wide lateral drawers with strong security. Who should skip it: anyone who needs mobility or a stated warranty.

Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 19/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 73 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Drawers2
Capacity120 pounds
Size15.74 x 28.35 x 27.95 in
LockKey

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Anti-tilt mechanism, one drawer at a time, so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Anchor it. Anchor tall bookshelves and file cabinets to the wall with the supplied hardware or an anti-tip kit, load the lowest shelves and drawers first, and open one drawer at a time.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Letaya 3-Drawer Mobile Cabinet

Letaya 3-Drawer Mobile Cabinet

Letaya9.5/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 3-drawer mobile steel cabinet with lock, 5 wheels and 120 lb capacity.

Pros

  • Single lock secures all 3 drawers
  • 5 wheels with 360-degree rotation
  • Fully assembled except wheels
  • 120-pound weight capacity

Cons

  • 0.8mm steel is thinner than the lateral model
  • No warranty term is stated
  • No printer stand surface is listed
  • 17.32 inches deep, check desk clearance
Detailed Review

The Letaya 3-drawer mobile cabinet lists 0.8mm steel, a single lock with two keys, 5 wheels with 360-degree rotation and lockable front casters, a design that prevents tipping, and a 120-pound weight capacity in a 17.32 by 14.57 by 24.4 inch body that fits under a desk. It needs no assembly except the wheels. One caveat from the listing: no warranty term is stated.

Who it's for: home offices that want a lockable cabinet that rolls under the desk. Who should skip it: anyone who wants stated anti-tip certification or a warranty term.

Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 19/25, safety 4/10 and warranty 0/5: 72 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Drawers3
Capacity120 pounds
Size17.32 x 14.57 x 24.4 in
LockKey

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Caster design prevents tipping, so safety scores 4 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Anchor it. Anchor tall bookshelves and file cabinets to the wall with the supplied hardware or an anti-tip kit, load the lowest shelves and drawers first, and open one drawer at a time.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

DEVAISE 2-Drawer Mobile Cabinet

DEVAISE 2-Drawer Mobile Cabinet

DEVAISE9.4/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 2-drawer fabric cabinet with printer stand top and 4 rolling wheels.

Pros

  • Wooden top doubles as a printer stand
  • 4 wheels with brakes on the front two
  • FSC-certified wood top
  • Only 22 lbs, light to move

Cons

  • No lock is stated
  • No warranty term is stated
  • 66-pound capacity, lower than the steel models
  • Fabric drawers hold less than steel
Detailed Review

The DEVAISE lists 2 fabric file drawers for A4 or letter hanging folders, a wooden top that doubles as a printer stand, a steel frame, 4 wheels with brakes on the front two casters and a 66-pound weight capacity in a 15.7 by 15.4 by 26.8 inch body that weighs 22 lbs. The top is FSC-certified wood. One caveat from the listing: no lock and no warranty term are stated.

Who it's for: home offices that want a light, good-looking cabinet that holds a printer. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a lock or the highest capacity.

Its Office Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 27/35, build 19/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 67 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Drawers2
Capacity66 pounds
Size15.7 x 15.4 x 26.8 in
Weight22 lbs

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Anchor it. Anchor tall bookshelves and file cabinets to the wall with the supplied hardware or an anti-tip kit, load the lowest shelves and drawers first, and open one drawer at a time.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

VASAGLE 3-Drawer Rolling Cabinet

VASAGLE 3-Drawer Rolling Cabinet

VASAGLE9.4/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 3-drawer fabric rolling cabinet with printer stand top and side bag.

Pros

  • 23.6 by 15.7 inch top fits a large printer
  • Side bag for supplies
  • 4 casters with two locks
  • Adjustable feet for steady use

Cons

  • No lock is stated
  • No warranty term is stated
  • 55-pound capacity, the lowest here
  • No anti-tip feature is stated
Detailed Review

The VASAGLE lists 3 fabric drawers for A4 or letter folders, a 23.6 by 15.7 inch top that fits a large printer, a side bag for supplies, 4 casters with two locks, adjustable feet and a 55-pound weight capacity in a 23.6 by 15.7 by 26.8 inch body that weighs 15 pounds. One caveat from the listing: no lock, no anti-tip feature and no warranty term are stated.

Who it's for: home offices that want a printer stand with filing below and a side bag for extras. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a lock, tip protection or the highest capacity.

Its Office Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 27/35, build 19/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 66 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Drawers3
Capacity55 pounds
Size23.6 x 15.7 x 26.8 in
Weight15 lbs

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Anchor it. Anchor tall bookshelves and file cabinets to the wall with the supplied hardware or an anti-tip kit, load the lowest shelves and drawers first, and open one drawer at a time.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

Compare the picks

Cabinet Office Score Drawers Capacity Lock Warranty Amazon
Mount-It! 3-Drawer File Cabinet 9.7/10 3 81 liters Yes Lifetime View on Amazon
Letaya 2-Drawer Lateral Cabinet 9.5/10 2 120 pounds Yes Not stated View on Amazon
Letaya 3-Drawer Mobile Cabinet 9.5/10 3 120 pounds Yes Not stated View on Amazon
DEVAISE 2-Drawer Mobile Cabinet 9.4/10 2 66 pounds Not stated Not stated View on Amazon
VASAGLE 3-Drawer Rolling Cabinet 9.4/10 3 55 pounds Not stated Not stated View on Amazon

Specifications as published on each listing, collected 20 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Office Score weighs performance (stated capacity, drawers and locks), build, value, safety and warranty. For file cabinets, safety means stated anti-tip features: the Mount-It! lists a center anti-tip caster wheel, and both Letaya cabinets state anti-tilt or tip-prevention designs, so those three earned safety points. Only the Mount-It! states a warranty term, a lifetime warranty. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Office Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
Mount-It! 3-Drawer File Cabinet 9.7 32 21 20 5 5
Letaya 2-Drawer Lateral Cabinet 9.5 29 20 19 5 0
Letaya 3-Drawer Mobile Cabinet 9.5 29 20 19 4 0
DEVAISE 2-Drawer Mobile Cabinet 9.4 27 19 21 0 0
VASAGLE 3-Drawer Rolling Cabinet 9.4 27 19 20 0 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best file cabinet for office use

Steel or fabric drawers

The Mount-It! and both Letaya cabinets are steel: the Mount-It! lists heavy-duty steel with 81 liters of storage volume, and both Letaya cabinets list a 120-pound weight capacity. The DEVAISE and VASAGLE use fabric drawers with wood or particleboard tops that double as printer stands, with 66-pound and 55-pound capacities. Steel wins on security and durability; fabric wins on weight and looks. For home setups, see our file cabinets for home use.

Locks and anti-tip features

Three of the five have locks: the Mount-It! and both Letaya cabinets each use a single key lock that secures all drawers. For tip-over protection, the Mount-It! lists a center anti-tip caster wheel, the 2-drawer Letaya lists an anti-tilt mechanism that allows only one drawer open at a time, and the 3-drawer Letaya states its caster design prevents tipping. For tight offices, see our file cabinets for small spaces.

Under-desk fit and mobility

The Mount-It! measures 15.3 by 19.75 by 24.5 inches and states it fits neatly under most standard desks. The DEVAISE is 15.7 by 15.4 by 26.8 inches, the VASAGLE 23.6 by 15.7 by 26.8 inches, and the 3-drawer Letaya 17.32 by 14.57 by 24.4 inches. All except the lateral Letaya roll on casters; the Mount-It! and both Letaya models have locking casters.

Warranty terms

The Mount-It! states a lifetime warranty with US-based product specialists. The other four listings state no warranty term.

Setup Notes

  • The Mount-It! arrives fully assembled; the 3-drawer Letaya needs only its wheels attached.
  • Check the stated dimensions against your desk clearance before buying.
  • Engage the caster locks once the cabinet is in position.
  • The fabric-drawer models double as printer stands if you need the surface.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which file cabinet has a lock?

The Mount-It! and both Letaya cabinets each have a single key lock securing all drawers. The DEVAISE and VASAGLE state no lock.

Which file cabinet is best for under a desk?

The Mount-It! at 15.3 by 19.75 by 24.5 inches states it fits neatly under most standard desks.

Which file cabinet holds the most?

The Mount-It! lists 81 liters of storage volume. The two Letaya cabinets each list a 120-pound weight capacity.

Do any of these come with a warranty?

The Mount-It! states a lifetime warranty. The other four listings state no warranty term.

Mount-It! 3-Drawer File Cabinet
Still deciding? Our top pickMount-It! 3-Drawer File Cabinet
Check price on Amazon

See every bookshelves and file cabinets guide and all office storage guides.

More guides: file cabinets for home use, file cabinets for small spaces and 2 drawer file cabinets for home.