By the second video call of the morning the webcam is angled at the ceiling and the laptop is running everything off one hub, which is the usual sign the desk sits at the wrong height; the best hand crank standing desk answers that without a motor, an outlet or a control box. You turn the handle and the desktop rises on telescoping legs, so the only thing plugged in is the laptop. This guide compares five crank desks and frames by height range, stated weight capacity, top size and warranty term, using only what each listing publishes.
OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall S Stand Up Desk 48 Two-Tier: Two-tier 48 in crank desk, 154 lb capacity, BIFMA stated, lifetime warranty. Check price on Amazon
Best Rolling S Stand Up Desk 48 Rolling: 48 in walnut-top crank desk on lockable casters, 154 lb capacity, BIFMA stated. Check price on Amazon
Best Frame VIVO DESK-V101M Frame: Crank frame for 34 to 72 in tops, 132 lb capacity, 3 year warranty. Check price on Amazon
Best Compact Frame VIVO DESK-M051MW Frame: White crank frame for 37 to 77 in tops with a foldable handle. Check price on Amazon
Best L-Shaped UNICOO L-Shaped Crank Desk: Corner crank desk with a 27.5 to 45.3 in range and 175 lb capacity. Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Office Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | S Stand Up Desk 48 Two-Tier | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | S Stand Up Desk 48 Rolling | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | VIVO DESK-V101M Frame | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | VIVO DESK-M051MW Frame | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | UNICOO L-Shaped Crank Desk | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |

S Stand Up Desk 48 Two-Tier
A 48 in two-tier hand crank desk with lockable casters, cable management and a 154 lb capacity.
Pros
- Two-tier layout with a printer shelf
- Lockable casters plus built-in cable management
- BIFMA certification stated for safety and durability
- Limited lifetime warranty against defects
Cons
- Bullets and spec table disagree on the with-casters height range
- Item weight of 88 lb
- Only 48 in wide; the 60 in version sits in more picks
- Assembly required
Detailed Review
The S Stand Up Desk two-tier pairs a 48 in crank desk with a heavy-duty steel frame, lockable casters and built-in cable management. The bullets give 47 in W by 28.5 in D, a height range of 33.5 to 47.25 in with the included 3 in casters, a 154 lb weight capacity and BIFMA certification, plus a storage shelf for a printer. One wrinkle: the spec table lists 34.1 to 46.1 in for the same with-casters range, so this guide follows the bullets.
Who it's for: someone who wants a complete two-tier crank desk with casters and a lifetime warranty. Who should skip it: anyone who wants to choose their own top, which the VIVO frames allow.
Its Office Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 9/10 and warranty 4/5: 87 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Height range | 33.5 to 47.25 in, with casters |
|---|---|
| Weight capacity | 154 lbs |
| Top | 47 in W x 28.5 in D |
| Extras | Lockable casters, cable management |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. BIFMA certified for safety and durability; stated 154 lb capacity, so safety scores 9 of 10. a limited lifetime warranty against defects. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.
Moving desk, heavy load. Stay under the stated lift or weight capacity, leave slack in every cable, keep children, pets and fingers clear while the desk moves, and treat anti-collision as the maker's claim.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

S Stand Up Desk 48 Rolling
A 48 in rolling hand crank desk with a walnut top, lockable casters and a 154 lb capacity.
Pros
- Walnut top on a black steel frame
- Crank mounts on the front or either side
- BIFMA certification stated for safety and durability
- Limited lifetime warranty against defects
Cons
- Bullets and spec table disagree on the with-casters height range
- Item weight of 96.6 lb
- No second tier; the black-top model has one
- Assembly calls for 2 people
Detailed Review
The rolling 48 in S Stand Up Desk swaps the two-tier shelf for a single walnut top on a black frame, still with a hand crank, lockable casters and a 154 lb capacity. The bullets give 47.25 in W by 29.5 in D and 32.5 to 48.5 in high with the 3 in casters, plus BIFMA certification and a limited lifetime warranty. The spec table again lists 34.1 to 46.1 in for the with-casters range; this guide follows the bullets.
Who it's for: someone who wants to roll the desk between rooms and park it with the caster locks. Who should skip it: anyone who wants the two-tier shelf, which the black-top model has.
Its Office Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 9/10 and warranty 4/5: 85 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Height range | 32.5 to 48.5 in, with casters |
|---|---|
| Weight capacity | 154 lbs |
| Top | 47.25 in W x 29.5 in D, walnut |
| Casters | Lockable, 3 in |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. BIFMA certified for safety and durability; stated 154 lb capacity, so safety scores 9 of 10. a limited lifetime warranty against defects. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.
Moving desk, heavy load. Stay under the stated lift or weight capacity, leave slack in every cable, keep children, pets and fingers clear while the desk moves, and treat anti-collision as the maker's claim.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

VIVO DESK-V101M Frame
A hand crank desk frame for 34 to 72 in tops with a 132 lb capacity and a 3 year warranty.
Pros
- Fits tops from 34 to 72 in long
- All-steel frame with a 132 lb capacity
- 3 year warranty
- Telescopic 2-piece legs
Cons
- Frame only; no top included
- Assembly calls for 2 people
- No casters or cable management stated
- Crank handle does not fold
Detailed Review
The VIVO DESK-V101M is a frame only: all-steel legs with a hand crank, no top included. It fits tabletops 34 to 72 in long and 23 to 43 in wide at 3/4 in thick or more, adjusts from 27.8 to 46.5 in, and holds up to 132 lbs. The spec table names a 3 year warranty, and assembly calls for 2 people.
Who it's for: a buyer who already has a top or wants to pick one. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a complete desk out of the box.
Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 3/5: 78 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Height range | 27.8 to 46.5 in |
|---|---|
| Weight capacity | 132 lbs |
| Fits tops | 34 to 72 in L, 23 to 43 in W |
| Assembly | 2 people |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Stated 132 lb capacity; all-steel 2-part column, so safety scores 5 of 10. 3 year warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Moving desk, heavy load. Stay under the stated lift or weight capacity, leave slack in every cable, keep children, pets and fingers clear while the desk moves, and treat anti-collision as the maker's claim.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

VIVO DESK-M051MW Frame
A white hand crank desk frame for 37 to 77 in tops with a foldable handle and a 110 lb capacity.
Pros
- Foldable crank handle saves space
- Leveling feet for uneven floors
- Fits tops from 37 to 77 in long
- 3 year warranty
Cons
- 110 lb capacity is the lowest stated here
- Bullets and spec table disagree slightly on height range
- Frame only; no top included
- No casters or cable management stated
Detailed Review
The white DESK-M051MW is the compact VIVO crank frame, with a foldable handle and leveling feet. It fits tops 37 to 77 in long and 20 to 40 in wide, adjusts from 27.5 to 45.7 in per the bullets, and holds 110 lbs. The spec table disagrees slightly at 27.7 to 47 in, so this guide follows the bullets; it also names a 3 year warranty.
Who it's for: a home office that wants a white frame with a handle that folds away. Who should skip it: anyone who needs more than 110 lbs of stated capacity.
Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 19/25, value 20/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 3/5: 75 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Height range | 27.5 to 45.7 in, per bullets |
|---|---|
| Weight capacity | 110 lbs |
| Fits tops | 37 to 77 in L, 20 to 40 in W |
| Handle | Foldable |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Stated 110 lb capacity; leveling feet, so safety scores 5 of 10. 3 year warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Moving desk, heavy load. Stay under the stated lift or weight capacity, leave slack in every cable, keep children, pets and fingers clear while the desk moves, and treat anti-collision as the maker's claim.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

UNICOO L-Shaped Crank Desk
An L-shaped hand crank corner desk with a 27.5 to 45.3 in range and a 175 lb capacity.
Pros
- L-shaped top gives two work zones
- 175 lb capacity is the highest stated here
- Foldaway crank handle
- Double-beam steel frame with adjustable feet
Cons
- No warranty term stated
- Item weight of 170 lb
- 63 by 63 in footprint needs a corner
- Assembly calls for 2 people
Detailed Review
The UNICOO is the only L-shaped pick: a corner crank desk with a 27.5 to 45.3 in height range, a foldaway crank handle and a double-beam steel frame. The top is a 63 by 63 in laminate MDF surface, 1 in thick, with adjustable feet for uneven floors. It states the highest capacity here at 175 lbs, but no warranty term, so warranty scores nothing.
Who it's for: a corner setup that needs two work zones on one crank desk. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a stated warranty or a straight rectangular top.
Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 6/10 and warranty 0/5: 76 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Height range | 27.5 to 45.3 in |
|---|---|
| Weight capacity | 175 lbs |
| Top | 63 x 63 in L-shape |
| Item weight | 170 pounds |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Stated 175 lb capacity; double-beam steel frame; adjustable feet, so safety scores 6 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Moving desk, heavy load. Stay under the stated lift or weight capacity, leave slack in every cable, keep children, pets and fingers clear while the desk moves, and treat anti-collision as the maker's claim.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
S Stand Up Desk 60 Two-TierFor buyers who want the two-tier crank desk in a 60 in width.Check on Amazon
VIVO DESK-KIT-MB5B DeskFor buyers who want a complete 48 x 30 in crank desk.Check on Amazon
Tangkula Crank Frame BlackFor buyers who want a 110 lb crank frame with a cable tray.Check on Amazon
Tangkula Crank Frame WhiteFor buyers who want the Tangkula crank frame in white.Check on Amazon
Tangkula Crank Frame GreyFor buyers who want the Tangkula crank frame in grey.Check on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Desk | Office Score | Height range | Weight capacity | Top | Casters | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| S Stand Up Desk 48 Two-Tier | 9.7/10 | 33.5 to 47.25 in | 154 lbs | 47 x 28.5 in | Lockable | Limited lifetime | View on Amazon |
| S Stand Up Desk 48 Rolling | 9.7/10 | 32.5 to 48.5 in | 154 lbs | 47.25 x 29.5 in | Lockable | Limited lifetime | View on Amazon |
| VIVO DESK-V101M Frame | 9.6/10 | 27.8 to 46.5 in | 132 lbs | 34 to 72 in, your top | Not stated | 3 years | View on Amazon |
| VIVO DESK-M051MW Frame | 9.5/10 | 27.5 to 45.7 in | 110 lbs | 37 to 77 in, your top | Not stated | 3 years | View on Amazon |
| UNICOO L-Shaped Crank Desk | 9.5/10 | 27.5 to 45.3 in | 175 lbs | 63 x 63 in | Not stated | Not stated | View on Amazon |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 23 October 2026. Four of the five state a warranty term; two state a BIFMA certification.
How we scored them
The Office Score weighs performance (height range, crank design and stated capacity), build (frame steel, top material and item weight), value for the stated specs, safety and warranty. For a standing desk, safety means a stated BIFMA certification, a stated weight capacity, or stability features such as leveling feet and a double-beam frame; the two S Stand Up Desk listings state BIFMA certification. Four listings state a warranty term: limited lifetime on the two S Stand Up Desk picks and 3 years on the two VIVO frames, while the UNICOO states none. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Office Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| S Stand Up Desk 48 Two-Tier | 9.7 | 32 | 21 | 21 | 9 | 4 |
| S Stand Up Desk 48 Rolling | 9.7 | 30 | 21 | 21 | 9 | 4 |
| VIVO DESK-V101M Frame | 9.6 | 29 | 20 | 21 | 5 | 3 |
| VIVO DESK-M051MW Frame | 9.5 | 28 | 19 | 20 | 5 | 3 |
| UNICOO L-Shaped Crank Desk | 9.5 | 30 | 20 | 20 | 6 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best hand crank standing desk
Start with the height range
The ranges here split into two groups. The complete crank desks start higher: 33.5 to 47.25 in on the two-tier and 32.5 to 48.5 in on the rolling model, both measured with the 3 in casters on. The frames start lower: 27.8 to 46.5 in on the DESK-V101M, 27.5 to 45.7 in on the DESK-M051MW and 27.5 to 45.3 in on the UNICOO. If you are tall or plan to raise the desk often, the S Stand Up Desk models give the most standing room; if you sit low, a frame-based build gets the desktop closer to the floor. For more corner options, see the L-shaped standing desk guide.
Frame or complete desk
The two VIVO picks are frames only: you supply the top, anywhere from 34 to 72 in long on the DESK-V101M or 37 to 77 in on the DESK-M051MW, at least 3/4 in thick. That suits anyone with a butcher-block top or a desktop worth keeping. The S Stand Up Desk and UNICOO picks arrive as complete desks, which suits a first setup with no spare top. The VIVO DESK-KIT-MB5B in more picks is a complete 48 by 30 in crank desk for buyers who want the middle ground. See the standing desk hand crank category for the full set of guides.
| Desk | Height range | Capacity | Top |
|---|---|---|---|
| S Stand Up Desk 48 Two-Tier | 33.5 to 47.25 in | 154 lbs | 47 x 28.5 in |
| S Stand Up Desk 48 Rolling | 32.5 to 48.5 in | 154 lbs | 47.25 x 29.5 in |
| VIVO DESK-V101M Frame | 27.8 to 46.5 in | 132 lbs | 34 to 72 in, your top |
| VIVO DESK-M051MW Frame | 27.5 to 45.7 in | 110 lbs | 37 to 77 in, your top |
| UNICOO L-Shaped Crank Desk | 27.5 to 45.3 in | 175 lbs | 63 x 63 in |
Ranges follow the bullets where a listing disagrees with its own spec table. “Your top” means the frame ships without a desktop.
Capacity, casters and the crank itself
Stated capacity runs from 110 lbs on the compact VIVO frame to 175 lbs on the UNICOO, with both S Stand Up Desk models at 154 lbs and the larger VIVO frame at 132 lbs. A dual-monitor arm, a printer shelf and a desktop computer add up, so leave margin rather than buying at the limit. The two S Stand Up Desk models are the standing desk with wheels here, rolling on lockable 3 in casters for anyone who rearranges the room; the frames sit on feet, with leveling feet on the white VIVO and adjustable feet on the UNICOO. Crank placement matters too: the S Stand Up Desk crank mounts on either side, the DESK-M051MW and UNICOO handles fold away, and the Tangkula frames in more picks fold under the desk. If you never plan to adjust it, a fixed-height standing desk skips the crank entirely.
Read the warranty line
Two listings state a limited lifetime warranty against defects, both from S Stand Up Desk Store. The two VIVO frames state 3 years. The UNICOO states no warranty term at all, which is why it scores nothing for warranty despite the highest stated capacity. A crank mechanism is the part you will touch every day, so a written term matters more here than on a fixed desk.
Setup Notes
- Measure the top first: the VIVO frames fit tops 34 to 72 in or 37 to 77 in long, at least 3/4 in thick.
- Check the height range against your setup: the crank desks start at 32.5 to 33.5 in, the frames at 27.5 to 27.8 in.
- Plan cables before assembly: the S Stand Up Desk models include built-in cable management, and the Tangkula frames in more picks include a cable tray.
- Assembly takes 1 person on the compact VIVO frame and 2 people on the larger VIVO frame, the UNICOO and the rolling S Stand Up Desk; tools and instructions are included.
Frequently Asked Questions
How tall does a standing desk need to be?
Tall enough for your standing elbow height and low enough for your sitting height. The crank desks here adjust from 32.5 to 48.5 in at the extremes, and the frames from 27.5 to 46.5 in; match the range to your own measurements before you buy.
How do you lower a hand crank standing desk?
Turn the crank in the opposite direction; the telescoping legs move the desktop down through the same range. The foldable handles on the VIVO DESK-M051MW and the UNICOO tuck away when you are done, unlike a fixed-height standing desk which does not move at all.
Do hand crank desks need power?
No. Unlike a standing desk electric model, a crank desk has no motor, no control box and no outlet to reach. The handle drives the lift mechanically, so the desk works anywhere it fits.
Why alternate between sitting and standing?
The listings describe crank desks as a way to switch between seated and standing tasks through the day. A hand crank makes the switch deliberate: you turn the handle when you want the change, and the desk stays where you leave it.
Related guides
See every standing desk guide and all desks and desk lighting guides.
More picks: L-shaped standing desks, standing desks for home gyms, standing desks for living rooms and standing desks for bedrooms.




