Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Home office gear, compared spec by spec.

Keyboards and Keyboard Trays

Best Keyboard for Financial Modeling (2026): 5 Compared

Five keyboards with number pads for financial modeling compared by layout, connectivity, battery life, build and warranty term.

Best Keyboard for Financial Modeling (2026): 5 Compared

The model balances at 3 a.m. and the only key missing is the minus sign on the number pad, because the laptop keyboard never had one. The best keyboard for financial modeling puts a full number pad under your right hand with quiet keys for late-night work. We compared five keyboards with number pads by layout, connectivity, battery, build and warranty term, using only what each listing publishes. Number pads matter because modeling means thousands of digit entries a day, and reaching for the top row slows every formula. A full-size board with a dedicated pad keeps the right hand in one place.

OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

The picks

ProtoArc XK01 Foldable

ProtoArc XK01 Foldable

ProtoArc9.5/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A foldable full-size keyboard with 105 keys, a number pad and Bluetooth 5.1 switching between 3 devices.

Pros

  • True full-size layout with number pad
  • Folds to 8.46 by 4.68 by 0.78 in
  • Bluetooth 5.1 with 3-device switching
  • 2-year warranty is stated

Cons

  • Folding design adds moving parts
  • 297 g before cable and manual
  • Scissor switches, not mechanical
Detailed Review

ProtoArc lists the XK01 as a true full-size foldable keyboard with 105 keys, a number pad, function row and navigation keys, folding to 8.46 by 4.68 by 0.78 in for travel. Bluetooth 5.1 switches between 3 devices, and USB-C charging feeds an auto-sleep standby of up to 150 days. One contradiction: the spec table lists the switch type as Clicky while the bullets describe quiet scissor switches. We trust the bullets. The listing states a 2-year warranty.

Who it's for: modelers who work across laptop, tablet and phone and need a numpad on the road. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a fixed desk keyboard that never folds. The aluminum hinges are stated as rated for 10,000+ folds.

Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 3/5: 72 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Keys105
ConnectivityBluetooth 5.1
Battery150-day standby
Warranty2 years

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 17 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. No FCC or other safety listing is stated, so safety scores zero. 2-year warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Fit the desk first. Check the stated size against your desk depth and keyboard tray, and charge or pair as the manual describes. No keyboard, mouse or wrist rest prevents or treats injury.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Logitech K250 Compact

Logitech K250 Compact

Logitech9.5/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A compact Bluetooth keyboard with a full number pad, deep-profile keys and a spill-resistant design.

Pros

  • Compact layout with full number pad
  • Deep-profile keys with tilt legs
  • Spill-resistant design
  • 12 months on 2 included AAA batteries

Cons

  • 99 keys, fewest stated here
  • Bluetooth only, no USB receiver
  • No backlighting stated
Detailed Review

Logitech lists the K250 as a compact Bluetooth keyboard with a full number pad, deep-profile keys and a spill-resistant design, in graphite. It connects over Bluetooth only with no USB receiver, runs 12 months on 2 included AAA batteries, and uses a minimum of 64% recycled plastic in its parts. One contradiction: the spec table lists 99 keys against the full-size description. We trust the spec table's 99 keys. The listing states a 1-year limited hardware warranty.

Who it's for: someone who wants a compact desk keyboard with a numpad and spill resistance. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a USB receiver instead of Bluetooth. Note the 99-key count if you rely on a full function row.

Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 27/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 3/5: 71 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Keys99
ConnectivityBluetooth
Battery12 months
Warranty1-year limited hardware

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 17 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. No FCC or other safety listing is stated, so safety scores zero. 1-year limited hardware warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Fit the desk first. Check the stated size against your desk depth and keyboard tray, and charge or pair as the manual describes. No keyboard, mouse or wrist rest prevents or treats injury.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Lenovo 305 Wired

Lenovo 305 Wired

Lenovo9.4/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A full-size wired USB-C keyboard with a numeric keypad, 104 keys and dedicated function and AI keys.

Pros

  • Full-size layout with numeric keypad
  • USB-C wired, no batteries to manage
  • Dedicated function and AI keys
  • 1-year manufacturer warranty

Cons

  • Wired only, no wireless option
  • 0.75 kg, heaviest here
  • No battery or backlighting stated
Detailed Review

Lenovo lists the 305 as a full-size wired keyboard with a numeric keypad, 104 keys and USB-C connectivity, in a slim black design. It includes dedicated function keys and AI keys with multimedia controls, and the low-profile keys suit minimalist workspaces. The listing states a 1-year manufacturer warranty.

Who it's for: someone who wants a wired keyboard with no batteries to manage. Who should skip it: anyone who needs wireless connectivity.

Its Office Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 19/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 3/5: 68 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Keys104
ConnectivityUSB-C wired
PowerUSB powered
Warranty1-year manufacturer

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 17 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. 1-year manufacturer warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Fit the desk first. Check the stated size against your desk depth and keyboard tray, and charge or pair as the manual describes. No keyboard, mouse or wrist rest prevents or treats injury.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Keychron B6 Pro

Keychron B6 Pro

Keychron9.4/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

An ultra-slim full-size wireless keyboard with a numeric keypad, tri-mode connectivity and ZMK remapping.

Pros

  • 2.4 GHz, Bluetooth 5.2 and USB-C wired
  • ZMK remapping via web app
  • Up to 1200 hours of battery life
  • 1000 Hz polling on 2.4 GHz

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • 109 vs 104 keys across spec fields
  • No spill resistance stated
Detailed Review

Keychron lists the B6 Pro as an ultra-slim full-size wireless keyboard with a numeric keypad, tactile scissor switches and RGB backlighting, in space gray. It connects over 2.4 GHz, Bluetooth 5.2 or USB-C wired, with ZMK remapping through the Keychron Launcher web app and up to 1200 hours of battery life. One contradiction: the spec table lists 109 keys in one field and 104 in another. We use 104. No warranty term is stated.

Who it's for: someone who wants to remap keys and macros for modeling shortcuts. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a warranty term in writing.

Its Office Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 74 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Keys104
Connectivity2.4GHz / BT 5.2 / USB-C
BatteryUp to 1200 hours
WarrantyNot stated

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 17 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. No FCC or other safety listing is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Fit the desk first. Check the stated size against your desk depth and keyboard tray, and charge or pair as the manual describes. No keyboard, mouse or wrist rest prevents or treats injury.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Apple Magic Keyboard

Apple Magic Keyboard

Apple9.4/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A wireless Bluetooth keyboard with a numeric keypad that the listing calls ideal for spreadsheets and finance.

Pros

  • Numeric keypad for spreadsheets and finance
  • Rechargeable internal battery
  • About a month between charges
  • Pairs with Mac, iPad or iPhone

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • White only in this listing
  • 1 lb before cable
Detailed Review

Apple lists the Magic Keyboard with Numeric Keypad as a wireless Bluetooth keyboard with a rechargeable internal battery, in white. The listing calls the numeric keypad ideal for spreadsheets and finance applications, and battery life is stated at about a month or more between charges. One contradiction: the bullets say it comes with a Lightning to USB cable while the spec table lists the port type as USB-C. We trust the bullets. No warranty term is stated.

Who it's for: Mac users who want the native Apple layout with a numpad. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a stated warranty or Windows-first key legends.

Its Office Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 21/25, value 18/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 67 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Size16.48 by 4.52 in
ConnectivityBluetooth
BatteryAbout a month
WarrantyNot stated

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 17 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. No FCC or other safety listing is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Fit the desk first. Check the stated size against your desk depth and keyboard tray, and charge or pair as the manual describes. No keyboard, mouse or wrist rest prevents or treats injury.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

Compare the picks

Keyboard Office Score Keys Numpad Connectivity Battery Warranty Amazon
ProtoArc XK01 Foldable 9.5/10 105 Yes Bluetooth 5.1 150-day standby 2 years View on Amazon
Logitech K250 Compact 9.5/10 99 Yes Bluetooth 12 months 1 year View on Amazon
Lenovo 305 Wired 9.4/10 104 Yes USB-C wired USB powered 1 year View on Amazon
Keychron B6 Pro 9.4/10 104 Yes 2.4GHz / BT 5.2 / USB-C 1200 hours Not stated View on Amazon
Apple Magic Keyboard 9.4/10 Not stated Yes Bluetooth About a month Not stated View on Amazon

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 17 October 2026. Three of the five state a warranty term.

How we scored them

The Office Score weighs performance (full-size layout with number pad, connectivity and key feel), build, value, safety and warranty. For keyboards, safety would mean a stated safety certification, and none of the five listings names one, so no safety points were given. Three listings state a warranty term: 2 years on the ProtoArc, and 1 year on the Logitech K250 and Lenovo 305. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Office Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
ProtoArc XK01 Foldable 9.5 29 20 20 0 3
Logitech K250 Compact 9.5 27 20 21 0 3
Lenovo 305 Wired 9.4 26 19 20 0 3
Keychron B6 Pro 9.4 32 21 21 0 0
Apple Magic Keyboard 9.4 28 21 18 0 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

Performance here means the layout and key feel a modeler touches all day: every pick has a number pad, and we weighed connectivity, switch description and extra keys like the Lenovo AI keys or the Keychron macros. Build covers the stated materials and switch type; value weighs the feature set against the category.

How to choose the best keyboard for financial modeling

Number pad first

All five picks include a number pad, which is the non-negotiable feature for modeling. Key counts run from 99 to 105. The Apple listing explicitly calls its numeric keypad ideal for spreadsheets and finance applications. If you also want a clicky feel, see our mechanical keyboard with numpad guide.

Wired, Bluetooth or tri-mode

The Lenovo 305 is wired over USB-C with no batteries to manage. The Logitech K250 is Bluetooth only with no USB receiver. The ProtoArc uses Bluetooth 5.1 with 3-device switching, the Apple uses Bluetooth, and the Keychron B6 Pro offers 2.4 GHz, Bluetooth 5.2 and USB-C wired in one board.

Battery and portability

The ProtoArc folds to 8.46 by 4.68 by 0.78 in, weighs 297 g and stands by for up to 150 days, making it the travel pick. The K250 runs 12 months on 2 included AAA batteries. The Apple recharges over about a month between charges, and the Keychron states up to 1200 hours. The Lenovo draws power over USB-C.

Key feel and noise

The ProtoArc and Keychron use scissor switches, with the ProtoArc described as quiet for shared rooms. The K250 uses deep-profile membrane-style keys, the Lenovo uses low-profile keys, and the Apple uses its own low-profile mechanism. None of the five states a noise rating in decibels, so pick by the stated switch description and your tolerance for key travel.

Setup Notes

  • Pair the ProtoArc with up to 3 devices and switch with one button between laptop, tablet and phone.
  • The K250 has no USB receiver; make sure your machine has Bluetooth before buying.
  • Remap the Keychron B6 Pro through the Keychron Launcher web app with a cable connected.
  • The Apple pairs with Mac, iPad or iPhone; check OS requirements in the listing.
  • Three listings state a warranty term (1 or 2 years); the Keychron and Apple state none.
  • Charge the ProtoArc over USB-C before travel; its 150-day standby only helps if the battery starts full.
  • Wipe keys with a dry cloth; only the K250 states a spill-resistant design.
  • Try the number pad in your spreadsheet app on day one; check that the minus, plus and Enter keys register as expected.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which keyboards have a number pad?

All five. The Apple listing explicitly calls its numeric keypad ideal for spreadsheets and finance applications.

Which keyboard is best for travel?

The ProtoArc XK01 folds to 8.46 by 4.68 by 0.78 in and weighs 297 g.

Which keyboard lets me remap keys?

The Keychron B6 Pro, with ZMK remapping through the Keychron Launcher web app.

Which keyboard has the longest battery life?

The Keychron states up to 1200 hours, roughly 8 months at 5 hours of daily use. The K250 states 12 months on 2 AAA batteries, and the ProtoArc states up to 150 days of standby.

ProtoArc XK01 Foldable
Still deciding? Our top pickProtoArc XK01 Foldable
Check price on Amazon

See every keyboards guide and all monitor mounts, keyboards and mice guides.