Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Home office gear, compared spec by spec.

Label Makers and Shredders

Best Label Maker for Plants (2026): 6 Compared

Six label makers for plants compared by printing technology, label types, app features, power and warranty, with 2-year warranty picks ranked first.

Best Label Maker for Plants (2026): 6 Compared

The best label maker for plants is the one that survives the windowsill: a paper tag fades, a marker smears, and by August you cannot tell the seedlings apart. A small Bluetooth label printer that makes water resistant tags solves that in an afternoon. We compared six label makers on printing technology, label types, app features, power and warranty, using only what each listing publishes.

OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Phomemo P12 Label Maker
    Best Overall Phomemo P12 Label Maker: Thermal and thermal transfer, 4 tapes included, 2-year warranty Check price on Amazon
  • NADAIIN N12 Label Maker
    Best App Features NADAIIN N12 Label Maker: Barcodes, QR codes, Excel imports, OCR, voice recognition Check price on Amazon
  • NIIMBOT D110 Mini
    Best Auto Rewind NIIMBOT D110 Label Maker: 203 DPI and auto rewind, per the title Check price on Amazon
  • ORGSTA S001 Label Maker
    Simplest Bluetooth Pick ORGSTA S001 Label Maker: Portable Bluetooth label maker with tape Check price on Amazon
  • Brother P-Touch PT-N10
    Best Handheld Brother PT-N10 Label Maker: Personal handheld label maker Check price on Amazon

The picks

Phomemo P12 Label Maker

Phomemo P12 Label Maker

Phomemo9.6/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A Bluetooth label maker with thermal and thermal transfer printing, 4 tapes included and dual USB-C or AAA battery power, suited to plant tagging indoors and out.

Pros

  • Thermal and thermal transfer printing with 4 tapes included
  • Print Master app with 1000+ symbols, 500+ borders and 100+ fonts
  • Labels stated as water resistant, oil-proof and sun-resistant
  • USB-C cord or 6 AAA batteries; 2-year warranty stated

Cons

  • "Unlimited length" printing claim sits next to a 12mm by 4m tape size
  • Bullets claim palm size while the spec table lists 8 by 6 by 10 inches
  • Monochrome output only
  • Green is the only color stated
Detailed Review

Phomemo lists the P12 as a Bluetooth label maker using thermal and thermal transfer printing, with 4 tapes in the box: two black on white, one transparent on white and one white on black. The Print Master app offers a large template library with 1000+ symbols, 500+ borders and 100+ fonts, plus OCR and speech recognition, and the listing claims continuous printing with unlimited length. Labels are described as water resistant, oil-proof, sun-resistant and PBA-free, with a manual cutter and no ink or toner. Power comes from an included USB-C cord or 6 AAA batteries. Two contradictions to note: the bullets call it palm-sized and pocketable while the spec table lists 8 by 6 by 10 inches, and the unlimited-length claim sits next to a 12mm by 4m tape size. The spec table states a 2-year warranty and an item weight of 6.24 ounces.

Who it's for: someone who wants the most included tapes, dual power and the longest stated warranty for plant tags. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a truly pocket-sized printer or color output.

Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 3/5: 76 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
PrintingThermal and thermal transfer
Tapes4 included, 12mm
Item weight6.24 ounces
Warranty2 years

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. No safety lock or safety listing is stated, so safety scores zero. 2-year warranty stated in the spec table. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Shredder and printer safety. Keep hair, ties, jewelry, children and pets away from the feed slot, use the safety lock, unplug when not in use, and give printers and adapters room to vent.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

NIIMBOT D110 Mini

NIIMBOT D110 Mini

NIIMBOT9.6/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

For long days of labeling, with the longest stated warranty and a 4-hour continuous print battery.

Pros

  • 2 years warranty is stated, the longest here
  • 1500mAh battery prints 4 hours continuously after a full charge
  • Automatic paper rewind calibrates the first label and avoids offset
  • 149 g pocket-size body with RFID label identification

Cons

  • Print width is limited to 15mm
  • No built-in cutter is stated
  • Phone app required; no on-device keyboard or display is stated
  • Label sensor chip must not be torn or print quality suffers
Detailed Review

The NIIMBOT D110 is a mini Bluetooth label maker weighing a stated 149 g, printing at 203 dpi with BPA-free direct thermal technology from iOS and Android phones. It lists automatic paper rewind that calibrates the first label when switched on, RFID label identification, label widths up to 15mm including 12x40mm and 14x30mm tapes, and a 1500mAh battery stated to print 4 hours continuously. The listing states a 2 years warranty.

Who it's for: an organizer who wants the longest warranty and hours of cordless printing. Who should skip it: anyone who needs wide labels or a built-in cutter.

Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 80 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Print resolution203 dpi
Print widthUp to 15mm
Battery1500mAh, 4 hr continuous
Warranty2 years

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 17 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. BPA-free direct thermal technology is stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 2 years warranty is stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Shredder and printer safety. Keep hair, ties, jewelry, children and pets away from the feed slot, use the safety lock, unplug when not in use, and give printers and adapters room to vent.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

NADAIIN N12 Label Maker

NADAIIN N12 Label Maker

NADAIIN9.5/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A pocket-sized Bluetooth thermal label maker with a deep app feature set and rechargeable Type-C battery, suited to detailed plant tags with barcodes or QR codes.

Pros

  • Pocket-sized at 4.29 by 3.03 by 1.25 inches and 0.13 kg
  • App with barcodes, QR codes, Excel imports, OCR and voice recognition
  • Rechargeable battery with Type-C fast charging
  • Labels stated as water resistant, oil-resistant and abrasion-resistant; 1-year warranty

Cons

  • Spec table lists both 50 and 60 pages per minute
  • Prints black text only
  • Max label width of 0.59 inch is stated
  • No label tapes are listed as included
Detailed Review

NADAIIN lists the N12 as a pocket-sized Bluetooth label maker that connects through the NADA Print app on iOS and Android. The app supports icons, text, tables, symbols, logos, barcodes, QR codes, images, timestamps, Excel imports, scanning, OCR and voice recognition. Printing is thermal with no ink or toner, black text only, at 203 dpi, on fixed-length tapes of 14 by 26, 30, 40, 50 and 60mm or 15mm continuous paper. Labels are described as water resistant, oil-resistant and abrasion-resistant, and the battery is rechargeable with Type-C fast charging. One contradiction: the spec table lists maximum copy speed as 50 pages per minute in one field and 60 in another. The table also states 0.13 kg, 4.29 by 3.03 by 1.25 inches and a 1-year warranty.

Who it's for: someone who wants the richest app feature set for detailed plant tags. Who should skip it: anyone who needs stated speed figures they can trust or color printing.

Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 3/5: 73 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Resolution203 dpi
Label widthsmax label width 0.59 inch
Item weight0.13 kg
Warranty1 year

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. No safety lock or safety listing is stated, so safety scores zero. 1-year warranty stated in the spec table. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Shredder and printer safety. Keep hair, ties, jewelry, children and pets away from the feed slot, use the safety lock, unplug when not in use, and give printers and adapters room to vent.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

ORGSTA S001 Label Maker

ORGSTA S001 Label Maker

ORGSTA9.6/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

Pocket portable Bluetooth label maker: 203 DPI thermal, laminated waterproof, oil-proof, scratch-resistant labels.

Pros

  • Laminated labels: waterproof, oil-proof
  • 203 DPI thermal printing
  • Pocket portable with metal ring
  • No ink or toner needed

Cons

  • No label width is stated
  • Limited 1-year warranty stated
  • No weight is stated
  • Battery life is not stated
Detailed Review

The ORGSTA S001 is the oil-proof pick: direct thermal printing at 203 DPI with laminated labels that are waterproof, oil-proof and scratch-resistant, in a pocket-size body with a metal ring for bags.

Who it's for: oil bottles that get handled with damp hands. Who should skip it: anyone who needs the label width stated.

Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 25/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 2/5: 77 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
DPI203
LabelsLaminated, oil-proof
PrintingThermal, inkless
DesignPocket, metal ring

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 17 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. 1 Year. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.

Shredder and printer safety. Keep hair, ties, jewelry, children and pets away from the feed slot, use the safety lock, unplug when not in use, and give printers and adapters room to vent.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Brother P-Touch PT-N10

Brother P-Touch PT-N10

Brother9.4/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

Battery-operated handheld label maker: 12mm Btag tapes, 13.1 ft long, 17 color options, 3 fonts.

Pros

  • 17 colorful Btag tape options
  • 12mm tapes for small bottles
  • Battery operated, portable
  • Split easy-peel backings

Cons

  • No Bluetooth is stated
  • Limited 1-year warranty stated
  • Tapes 13.1 ft, short rolls
  • No print DPI is stated
Detailed Review

The Brother P-Touch PT-N10 is the small-label pick: a battery-operated handheld that prints on 12mm Btag tapes, 13.1 ft long, in 17 color options with split easy-peel backings and damage-free removal.

Who it's for: tiny bottle caps and colorful labels. Who should skip it: anyone who wants Bluetooth printing.

Its Office Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 20/25, value 18/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 2/5: 66 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Tape width12mm
Tape length13.1 ft
Colors17 options
PowerBattery

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 17 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. No safety lock or safety listing is stated, so safety scores zero. 1 Year Limited. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.

Shredder and printer safety. Keep hair, ties, jewelry, children and pets away from the feed slot, use the safety lock, unplug when not in use, and give printers and adapters room to vent.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Compare the picks

Label maker Office Score Printing Connectivity Labels Weight Warranty Amazon
Phomemo P12 Label Maker 9.6/10 Thermal and thermal transfer Bluetooth, app 4 tapes included 6.24 ounces 2 years View on Amazon
NADAIIN N12 Label Maker 9.5/10 Thermal, black only Bluetooth, app Fixed-length and 15mm continuous 0.13 kg 1 year View on Amazon
NIIMBOT D110 Label Maker 9.6/10 Not stated Bluetooth Not stated Not stated Not stated
ORGSTA S001 Label Maker 9.5/10 Not stated Bluetooth Tape included Not stated Not stated View on Amazon
Brother PT-N10 Label Maker 9.3/10 Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 21 October 2026. Three of the six state a warranty term.

How we scored them

The Office Score weighs performance (printing technology, label options and app features), build (stated size, weight and construction), value for the stated specs, safety and warranty. For a label maker, safety means stated safety-relevant features or certifications; none of the six listings states any, so none earns safety points. Three listings state a warranty term: the Phomemo P12 and the SUPVAN E10 at 2 years, and the NADAIIN N12 at 1 year. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Office Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
Phomemo P12 Label Maker 9.6 32 20 21 0 3
NADAIIN N12 Label Maker 9.5 30 20 20 0 3

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best label maker for plants

Pick the label type first

For plants, the label matters more than the printer. The Phomemo P12 ships with 4 tapes (two black on white, one transparent on white, one white on black) and prints on 12mm tape. The NADAIIN N12 supports fixed-length tapes in 14 by 26, 30, 40, 50 and 60mm plus 15mm continuous paper. The SUPVAN E10 works with continuous and die-cut labels. Die-cut labels suit batch printing a whole tray of seedlings; continuous tape suits custom lengths. All three new listings describe water resistant, oil-proof labels, which is what keeps a plant tag readable. Our label makers and shredders hub has more label printer comparisons.

Power and portability

Plant labeling happens wherever the plants are. The Phomemo P12 offers two power options: a USB-C cord for indoor use and 6 AAA batteries for outdoors. The NADAIIN N12 has a rechargeable battery with Type-C fast charging and a pocket-sized 4.29 by 3.03 by 1.25 inch body. The SUPVAN E10 has a rechargeable battery the listing says lasts a full month on a single charge. If you label at the greenhouse bench, the battery options matter more than the cord. See our best desk organizers for work picks for keeping the printer and tapes together.

App features and print quality

All three new picks print over Bluetooth from a phone app. The Phomemo uses the Print Master app with 1000+ symbols, 500+ borders and 100+ fonts, plus OCR and speech recognition. The NADAIIN uses the NADA Print app with icons, tables, barcodes, QR codes, images, timestamps, Excel imports, scanning, OCR and voice recognition. The SUPVAN app offers 40 fonts, 30 frames and 450+ icons. The NADAIIN and SUPVAN both state 203 dpi; the Phomemo states high-definition printing without a dpi figure. For plant tags, a QR code that links to care notes is the feature worth having.

Label maker Label widths stated Resolution stated
Phomemo P12 Label Maker 12mm tape, 4 tapes included Not stated as dpi
NADAIIN N12 Label Maker max label width 0.59 inch 203 dpi
NIIMBOT D110 Label Maker Not stated 203 DPI
ORGSTA S001 Label Maker Tape included Not stated
Brother PT-N10 Label Maker Not stated Not stated

Figures as stated in each listing. Width options decide what you can print; resolution decides how small you can print it.

Read the warranty line

Three listings state a warranty term. The Phomemo P12 states 2 years and the SUPVAN E10 states 2 years, while the NADAIIN N12 states 1 year. The three reused picks state no warranty term. A label maker has few moving parts besides the cutter, so the warranty is mostly about the battery and the print head. For more jar and pantry labeling ideas, see our best label maker for canning jars picks.

Frequently Asked Questions

Will these labels survive watering?

The Phomemo, NADAIIN and SUPVAN listings all describe water resistant, oil-proof labels, and the SUPVAN adds anti-scratch and heat resistance. None of the three reused picks states label durability, so check with the seller.

Do these label makers need ink or toner?

No. All three new listings describe thermal printing with no ink or toner required. The NADAIIN prints black text only, and the SUPVAN is described as inkless.

Which label makers connect to a phone?

The Phomemo P12, NADAIIN N12 and SUPVAN E10 all print over Bluetooth from a phone app. The ORGSTA S001 title states Bluetooth; the NIIMBOT D110 title states Bluetooth as well. The Brother PT-N10 is a handheld with no connectivity stated.

Which label makers state a warranty?

The Phomemo P12 states 2 years and the SUPVAN E10 states 2 years. The NADAIIN N12 states 1 year. The three reused picks state no warranty term.

Can I print long or custom-length labels?

The Phomemo claims continuous printing with unlimited length on 12mm by 4m tape. The NADAIIN supports 15mm continuous paper, and the SUPVAN works with continuous tape for custom lengths.

Phomemo P12 Label Maker
Still deciding? Our top pickPhomemo P12 Label Maker
Check price on Amazon

See every label makers and shredders guide and all office machines and storage guides.

More picks: label makers for canning jars, label makers for addresses, desk organizers for work.