Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Home office gear, compared spec by spec.

Office Machines and Storage

Best Lateral File Cabinet Under $150 (2026): 5 Compared

Five lateral file cabinets compared by drawer count, load capacity, material and lock features, using only what each listing publishes.

Best Lateral File Cabinet Under $150 (2026): 5 Compared

The paperwork has outgrown the desk drawer and the printer is balanced on a stack of boxes, so the best lateral file cabinet under 150 is the one that files the paper and holds the printer in one piece of furniture. We compared five cabinets by drawer count, load capacity, material, lock and anti-tip features, using only what each listing publishes. The more picks below add five more lateral options.

OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

The picks

Letaya 2-Drawer

Letaya 2-Drawer

Letaya9.6/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A white 2-drawer steel lateral file cabinet with an interlock lock and anti-tilt mechanism.

Pros

  • 120 lb capacity with full-extension ball-bearing slides
  • Interlock system locks all drawers with two keys
  • Anti-tilt mechanism opens one drawer at a time
  • Adjustable hanging bars for letter, legal and A4 files

Cons

  • The bullets say four drawers while the title and spec table say two
  • No warranty term is stated
  • Assembly required with paper instructions
  • Weighs 105 pounds, the heaviest here
Detailed Review

The listing describes a white 2-drawer steel lateral cabinet, 27.95 by 28.35 by 15.74 in, with an interlock system and two keys, an anti-tilt mechanism, full-extension ball-bearing slides and a 120 lb capacity. It lists adjustable hanging bars for letter, legal and A4 files and a powder-coated finish. One wrinkle: the bullets say four deep drawers while the title and spec table say two; the title and spec table win.

Who it's for: a home office that wants steel security with letter, legal and A4 files. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a stated warranty or a lighter cabinet.

Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 0/5: 79 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Drawers2
Capacity120 lb
Size27.95 x 28.35 x 15.74 in
Weight105 pounds

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Anti-tilt mechanism and interlock lock stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Anchor it. Anchor tall bookshelves and file cabinets to the wall with the supplied hardware or an anti-tip kit, load the lowest shelves and drawers first, and open one drawer at a time.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

BYNSOE 2-Drawer

BYNSOE 2-Drawer

BYNSOE9.6/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A black 2-drawer steel lateral file cabinet with a 150 lb capacity and 3.5 cubic feet of storage.

Pros

  • 150 lb capacity, the highest here
  • 3.5 cubic feet of storage volume stated
  • Each drawer locks independently with two keys
  • Waterproof smooth coating, easy to clean

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • Assembly required
  • 2.36 in ground clearance limits under-cabinet cleaning
  • Recessed handles only; no protruding pulls
Detailed Review

The listing describes a black 2-drawer steel lateral cabinet, 15.75 by 28.35 by 29.06 in, with a 150 lb capacity, 3.5 cubic feet of storage and independently locking drawers with two keys. It lists full-extension ball-bearing slides, adjustable hanging rods for A4, letter and legal files, an anti-tipping feature and a waterproof smooth coating. No warranty term is stated.

Who it's for: a garage or home office that needs maximum capacity in a 2-drawer steel cabinet. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a stated warranty or a wood look.

Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 78 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Drawers2
Capacity150 lb
Storage3.5 cubic feet
Weight51 pounds

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Anti-tipping feature stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Anchor it. Anchor tall bookshelves and file cabinets to the wall with the supplied hardware or an anti-tip kit, load the lowest shelves and drawers first, and open one drawer at a time.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Halitaa Farmhouse

Halitaa Farmhouse

Halitaa9.6/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A white and brown farmhouse 2-drawer file cabinet that doubles as a printer stand.

Pros

  • Farmhouse style in white and brown engineered wood
  • 31.5 by 15.75 in top fits printers and scanners
  • Lock for letter, A4 and legal files
  • Anti-tip device for stability

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • No load capacity figure is stated
  • Assembly required with numbered parts
  • Heavier styling may not suit a modern office
Detailed Review

The listing describes a white and brown farmhouse 2-drawer cabinet, 15.75 by 31.5 by 27.56 in, in engineered wood with a lock, hanging letter, A4 and legal files, and a 31.5 by 15.75 in top for printers and scanners. It lists an anti-tip device and numbered parts with illustrated instructions. No warranty term or load capacity is stated.

Who it's for: a bedroom or living room office that wants the cabinet to look like furniture. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a stated load capacity or warranty.

Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 76 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Drawers2
MaterialEngineered wood
Top31.5 x 15.75 in
Weight52.8 pounds

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Anti-tip device stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Anchor it. Anchor tall bookshelves and file cabinets to the wall with the supplied hardware or an anti-tip kit, load the lowest shelves and drawers first, and open one drawer at a time.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

HOOBRO with Power

HOOBRO with Power

HOOBRO9.5/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A wooden lateral file cabinet with a charging station, rolling casters and open storage.

Pros

  • Charging station with 2 outlets, 1 USB and 1 Type-C port
  • Five casters, two lockable, for easy moving
  • Compartment plus 2 small drawers and a large file drawer
  • Numbered parts with an illustrated assembly guide

Cons

  • 44 lb capacity, the lowest here
  • No lock is stated for the drawers
  • No warranty term is stated
  • Casters may not suit a permanent setup
Detailed Review

The listing describes a black wooden lateral cabinet, 13.8 by 31.5 by 24.4 in, with a charging station of 2 outlets, 1 USB and 1 Type-C port, a compartment, 2 small drawers and a large file drawer with adjustable rods for A4, letter and legal files. It lists five casters with two lockable, a 44 lb capacity and numbered parts with an illustrated guide. No warranty term is stated.

Who it's for: a desk that wants power and rolling storage in one cabinet. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a lock or a higher load capacity.

Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 74 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Drawers3
Capacity44 lb
Power2 outlets, USB, Type-C
Base5 casters, 2 lockable

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Two lockable casters stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Anchor it. Anchor tall bookshelves and file cabinets to the wall with the supplied hardware or an anti-tip kit, load the lowest shelves and drawers first, and open one drawer at a time.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

HOMCOM 4-Drawer

HOMCOM 4-Drawer

HOMCOM9.5/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A black farmhouse 4-drawer file cabinet with a thick printer top and anti-tip kit.

Pros

  • Four drawers: file, letter/A4 and two supply drawers
  • 0.98 in thick top, 31.5 by 15.6 in, for printers
  • Anti-tip kit for stability
  • Silent alloy runners for quiet drawers

Cons

  • The spec table says Lockable: No, so no locking drawers
  • The spec table says 1 drawer against the title and bullets' 4
  • No warranty term is stated
  • Special features mention lockable wheels against Lockable: No
Detailed Review

The listing describes a black farmhouse 4-drawer cabinet, 15.6 by 31.5 by 30.3 in, with a 0.98 in thick top, silent alloy runners, an anti-tip kit and a 110 lb capacity. It lists one large drawer for letter, A4 and legal files, a middle drawer for letter and A4, and two small drawers. Two wrinkles: the spec table says 1 drawer against the title and bullets' 4, and it says Lockable: No while the special features mention lockable wheels; the title and bullets win on drawers, the explicit No wins on the lock.

Who it's for: a home office that wants four drawers and a printer top in a farmhouse look. Who should skip it: anyone who needs locking drawers or a stated warranty.

Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 27/35, build 20/25, value 19/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 73 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Drawers4
Capacity110 lb
Top31.5 x 15.6 in, 0.98 in thick
Weight50 pounds

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Anti-tip kit stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Anchor it. Anchor tall bookshelves and file cabinets to the wall with the supplied hardware or an anti-tip kit, load the lowest shelves and drawers first, and open one drawer at a time.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

  • FATIGOS 2-Drawer Wood CabinetFATIGOS 2-Drawer Wood CabinetWood lateral cabinet with 120 lb total capacityCheck on Amazon
  • risuoge 2-Drawer Metal Cabinetrisuoge 2-Drawer Metal CabinetAll-steel locking cabinet with anti-tip deviceCheck on Amazon
  • risuoge 2-Drawer White Cabinetrisuoge 2-Drawer White CabinetWhite steel locking cabinet with interlock systemCheck on Amazon
  • SEDETA 3-Drawer Farmhouse CabinetSEDETA 3-Drawer Farmhouse CabinetThree-drawer farmhouse cabinet with printer stand topCheck on Amazon
  • GarveeHome 3-Drawer Metal CabinetGarveeHome 3-Drawer Metal CabinetMetal 3-drawer locking cabinet, 55 lb per drawerCheck on Amazon

Compare the picks

File Cabinet Office Score Drawers Capacity Material Lock Amazon
Letaya 2-Drawer 9.6/10 2 120 lb Steel Yes View on Amazon
BYNSOE 2-Drawer 9.6/10 2 150 lb Steel Yes View on Amazon
Halitaa Farmhouse 9.6/10 2 Not stated Engineered wood Yes View on Amazon
HOOBRO with Power 9.5/10 3 44 lb Engineered wood Not stated View on Amazon
HOMCOM 4-Drawer 9.5/10 4 110 lb Engineered wood No View on Amazon

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 22 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Office Score weighs performance (drawer count, capacity and file sizes), build, value, safety and warranty. For file cabinets, safety means stated anti-tip or anti-tilt features and locking drawers. Four of the five state an anti-tip or anti-tilt feature, and none states a warranty term. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Office Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
Letaya 2-Drawer 9.6 30 21 20 8 0
BYNSOE 2-Drawer 9.6 29 21 21 7 0
Halitaa Farmhouse 9.6 28 21 20 7 0
HOOBRO with Power 9.5 28 20 21 5 0
HOMCOM 4-Drawer 9.5 27 20 19 7 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best lateral file cabinet under 150

Two drawers or four

The Letaya, BYNSOE and Halitaa each list two drawers; the HOOBRO lists three drawers and the HOMCOM lists four. More drawers mean more sorted files but a taller cabinet. If four drawers is the goal, the best 4 drawer file cabinet for home guide compares more of them.

Cabinet Drawers Capacity Material
Letaya 2-Drawer 2 120 lb Steel
BYNSOE 2-Drawer 2 150 lb Steel
Halitaa Farmhouse 2 Not stated Engineered wood
HOOBRO with Power 3 44 lb Engineered wood
HOMCOM 4-Drawer 4 110 lb Engineered wood

Steel or wood

The Letaya and BYNSOE are steel with powder-coated finishes; the Halitaa, HOOBRO and HOMCOM are engineered wood. Steel suits a garage or utility room, while the farmhouse wood looks suit a living room or bedroom office. For an all-wood shortlist, see the best wood lateral file cabinet guide.

Locks and anti-tip

The Letaya lists an interlock system with two keys and an anti-tilt mechanism; the BYNSOE and Halitaa list anti-tipping or anti-tip devices. The HOMCOM lists an anti-tip kit but no lock. If the cabinet will hold anything sensitive, pick one with a stated lock and check that only one drawer opens at a time.

Printer stand tops

The Halitaa lists a 31.5 by 15.75 in top for printers and scanners, and the HOMCOM lists a 31.5 by 15.6 in top with a 0.98 in thick board. The HOOBRO adds a charging station with 2 outlets, 1 USB and 1 Type-C port. For cabinets built around the printer, the best file cabinet with printer stand guide compares more.

Setup Notes

  • Measure the floor space: 28.35 in wide on the Letaya and BYNSOE, 31.5 in wide on the Halitaa, HOOBRO and HOMCOM.
  • Check the capacity against the load: 150 lb on the BYNSOE, 120 lb on the Letaya, 110 lb on the HOMCOM, 44 lb on the HOOBRO.
  • Anchor tall cabinets if the room has kids or pets; the HOMCOM includes an anti-tip kit.
  • Note the warranty: no concrete term is stated on any of the five.

Frequently Asked Questions

How many drawers does a lateral file cabinet need?

The picks here range from two to four drawers: two on the Letaya, BYNSOE and Halitaa, three on the HOOBRO and four on the HOMCOM.

What size files do these cabinets hold?

All five list letter, legal and A4 hanging files; the Letaya and BYNSOE name all three sizes with adjustable hanging bars or rods.

Do lateral file cabinets lock?

The Letaya, BYNSOE and Halitaa list a lock; the HOMCOM explicitly does not. The Letaya uses an interlock system with two keys.

Do they need assembly?

The Letaya requires assembly with paper instructions, and the other listings describe similar assembly. The HOOBRO lists numbered parts with an illustrated guide.

What is the weight capacity?

Stated capacities run from 44 lb on the HOOBRO to 150 lb on the BYNSOE, with 120 lb on the Letaya and 110 lb on the HOMCOM.

Letaya 2-Drawer
Still deciding? Our top pickLetaya 2-Drawer
Check price on Amazon

See every office machines and storage guide and all office guides. Also see our best 4 drawer file cabinet for home. Also see our best file cabinet with printer stand.

More picks: browse bookshelves and file cabinets, desk organizers and office storage.