Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Home office gear, compared spec by spec.

Office Chairs

Best Office Chair for Wide Hips (2026): 5 Chairs Compared

Five office chairs compared by stated seat width, backrest width, seat depth, weight capacity and warranty to fit wider hips.

Best Office Chair for Wide Hips (2026): 5 Chairs Compared

The 9 a.m. call starts in five minutes and the chair is the part of the setup you cannot adjust around: a seat that pinches at the hips is a seat you stop sitting in by noon. The best office chair for wide hips is the one whose stated seat width, seat depth and weight capacity all clear the person sitting in it, because those three numbers decide whether the rest of the adjustments ever matter. We compared five office chairs by stated seat and backrest widths, seat depth, weight capacity, gas lift details and warranty term, using only what each listing publishes.

OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • SUNNOW 921
    Top Pick SUNNOW 921: 400 lb capacity, SGS and BIFMA certified, W-shape memory foam, 2-year warranty Check price on Amazon
  • Hayelf Mesh Chair
    Runner-Up Hayelf Mesh Chair: 300 lb capacity, 4-inch Class-3 gas lift, 120-degree tilt, 5-year warranty Check price on Amazon
  • TRALT YQ005-2
    Best Wide Seat TRALT YQ005-2: 300 lb wide seat per the title, class-3 gas lift, breathable mesh back Check price on Amazon
  • Ylzyxal Chair
    Best Flip-Up Arms Ylzyxal Chair: 400 lb capacity, 90-degree flip-up arms, 90 to 115 degree recline Check price on Amazon
  • Amazon Basics 51208
    Simplest Pick Amazon Basics 51208: 275 lb capacity, padded mid-back, 19.5 in seat width Check price on Amazon

The picks

SUNNOW 921

SUNNOW 921

SUNNOW9.7/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A memory foam chair with a 400 lb stated capacity, flip-up arms and SGS and BIFMA certification, suited to anyone who wants the sturdiest stated build here.

Pros

  • 400 lb maximum weight recommendation is the joint highest here
  • SGS and BIFMA certified, per the listing
  • W-shape cushion filled with high-density memory foam, with height-adjustable flip-up arms
  • 2 years warranty is stated, with assembly listed at 15 minutes

Cons

  • No seat width figure is stated
  • The seat material line lists memory foam, stainless steel, wood and nylon together, which reads like the full bill of materials rather than the seat
  • The listing promises a higher or shorter gas rod on request, so the stated 21.7 in seat height may not be final
  • 21.6 in seat depth is the longest here, which may not suit shorter legs
Detailed Review

SUNNOW lists an ergonomic chair with a 400 lb maximum weight recommendation, a W-shape cushion filled with high-density memory foam, height-adjustable arms that flip up 90 degrees, adjustable lumbar support and a tilt function. The spec table gives a 28 by 28 by 38 in footprint, a 21.7 in seat height, a 21.6 in seat depth, a 19.1 in backrest width and a 31 lb item weight. The listing states SGS and BIFMA certification, a 15-minute assembly and a 2 years warranty. One quirk: the seat material field names four materials at once, so read it as the whole chair's materials rather than the seat alone.

Who it's for: someone who wants the highest stated capacity here plus a certification and a warranty term in writing. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a stated seat width, or shorter users for whom a 21.6 in seat depth may be too long.

Its Office Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 4/5: 83 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Weight capacity400 lb
Seat depth21.6 in
Backrest width19.1 in
Warranty2 years

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. SGS and BIFMA certified, per the listing, so safety scores 8 of 10. 2 years warranty is stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.

Fit and capacity. Check the stated seat height range against your desk height and the stated weight capacity against the heaviest user. Tighten bolts after the first week. Adjustments are comfort features, not treatment for pain; ask a clinician about any condition.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Hayelf Mesh Chair

Hayelf Mesh Chair

Hayelf9.6/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A mesh-back chair with a 2.8-inch foam cushion, 120-degree tilt and a stated 5-year manufacturer warranty, suited to long days at the desk.

Pros

  • 5-year manufacture warranty is stated, the longest term here
  • 2.8-inch high-density foam cushion with adjustable lumbar support
  • 120-degree tilt with adjustable tension and a 4-inch Class-3 gas lift
  • Armrests fold up 90 degrees so the chair stores under a desk

Cons

  • 300 lb capacity is lower than the two 400 lb chairs
  • No seat width figure is stated
  • The frame material is listed as wood, which the rest of the listing does not explain
  • The base movement is listed as glide rather than swivel
Detailed Review

Hayelf lists a mesh-back chair with a 2.8-inch high-density foam cushion, adjustable lumbar support with up to 2 inches of vertical movement, a 120-degree tilt with adjustable tension and a 4-inch Class-3 gas lift. The spec table gives a 25.2 by 25.6 by 52.4 in footprint, a 22 in seat height, an 18 in seat depth, a 19.5 in backrest width, a 20 lb item weight and a 300 lb maximum weight recommendation. The table states a 5-year manufacture warranty. One oddity: the frame material is listed as wood, which the bullets never mention, so treat the frame material as not clearly stated.

Who it's for: someone who wants a stated 5-year warranty, a deep recline and flip-up armrests on a lighter chair. Who should skip it: anyone who needs more than 300 lb capacity or a stated seat width.

Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 4/5: 79 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Weight capacity300 lb
Seat depth18 in
Backrest width19.5 in
Warranty5-year manufacture

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. 4-inch Class-3 gas lift and 300 lb capacity are stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 5-year manufacture warranty is stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.

Fit and capacity. Check the stated seat height range against your desk height and the stated weight capacity against the heaviest user. Tighten bolts after the first week. Adjustments are comfort features, not treatment for pain; ask a clinician about any condition.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

TRALT YQ005-2

TRALT YQ005-2

TRALT9.6/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A mesh-back chair with a 300 lb wide seat per the title, adaptive lumbar support and a class-3 gas lift, suited to anyone who wants a wide sitting surface.

Pros

  • The title calls out a 300 lb wide seat, and the table gives a 19.7 in seat depth
  • Class-3 gas lift supports smooth height adjustments
  • High-density resilient foam cushion under a single-layer mesh back
  • Item weight of 20 lb is the lowest stated after the Amazon Basics

Cons

  • The spec table lists a 330 lb maximum while the title says 300 lb; we trust the title
  • No backrest width figure is stated
  • The bullets promise a long-term warranty without naming a term, so warranty scores zero
  • The item highlight is cut off mid-word, which suggests a sloppy listing
Detailed Review

TRALT lists an ergonomic chair with a 300 lb wide seat, adaptive lumbar support, a single-layer mesh backrest and a high-density foam cushion. The spec table gives a 23 by 25 by 50 in footprint, a 19.7 in seat depth, a 20 lb item weight and a class-3 gas lift. The title and item highlight say 300 lb while the spec table says 330 lb; per our rule the title wins, so we score 300 lb. The bullets promise a long-term warranty but name no term, so warranty scores zero.

Who it's for: someone who wants a wide seat and a mesh back at a light 20 lb item weight. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a stated backrest width or a warranty term in writing.

Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 76 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Weight capacity300 lb
Seat depth19.7 in
Item weight20 lb
BackMesh, single layer

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Class-3 gas lift and 300 lb wide seat are stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Fit and capacity. Check the stated seat height range against your desk height and the stated weight capacity against the heaviest user. Tighten bolts after the first week. Adjustments are comfort features, not treatment for pain; ask a clinician about any condition.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Ylzyxal Chair

Ylzyxal Chair

Ylzyxal9.5/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 400 lb capacity chair with 90-degree flip-up armrests and an inflatable lumbar system, suited to compact rooms where the chair must tuck under the desk.

Pros

  • 400 lb maximum weight recommendation is the joint highest here
  • Armrests flip up 90 degrees, shrinking the chair width for storage under a desk
  • Recline runs from 90 to 115 degrees with adjustable rocking amplitude
  • Inflatable lumbar system adjusts with an air pump for a custom fit

Cons

  • The spec table lists the seat material as wood while the bullets describe fabric and foam; we trust the bullets
  • No warranty term is stated, only a promise to respond to questions
  • The frame material is listed as polyurethane, which the listing does not explain
  • The stated fit range is 4 ft 11 in to 6 ft 2 in, which leaves out shorter and taller users
Detailed Review

Ylzyxal lists a chair with a 400 lb maximum weight recommendation, a 29.9 by 25.9 by 47.3 in footprint, an 18.89 in seat depth, a 20.08 in backrest width and a 30 lb item weight. The armrests flip up 90 degrees, the backrest reclines from 90 to 115 degrees with adjustable rocking, and the lumbar is an inflatable air system. Two contradictions: the spec table lists the seat material as wood while the bullets describe fabric and foam, and the frame material is listed as polyurethane. We trust the title and bullets, and treat the frame material as not clearly stated. No warranty term appears in the listing.

Who it's for: someone who wants 400 lb capacity with flip-up arms in a compact room. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a warranty term, or a listing without internal contradictions.

Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 75 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Weight capacity400 lb
Seat depth18.89 in
Backrest width20.08 in
Recline90 to 115 degrees

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. 400 lb maximum weight recommendation is stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Fit and capacity. Check the stated seat height range against your desk height and the stated weight capacity against the heaviest user. Tighten bolts after the first week. Adjustments are comfort features, not treatment for pain; ask a clinician about any condition.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Amazon Basics 51208

Amazon Basics 51208

Amazon Basics9.5/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A padded mid-back chair with a 19.5-inch seat width and a 275 lb capacity, suited to anyone who wants a simple upholstered chair.

Pros

  • 19.5 in seat width and 17.75 in seat depth are both stated
  • 275 lb capacity on a sturdy KD metal base
  • Soft PU upholstery with a contoured padded seat, backrest and armrests
  • Item weight of 12.8 kg is the lowest stated here

Cons

  • The bullets describe black upholstery while the title and color field say cream; we trust the title
  • 275 lb capacity is the lowest here
  • No warranty term is stated
  • No gas lift class or certification is stated
Detailed Review

Amazon Basics lists a padded mid-back chair with adjustable seat height, seat angle and tilt control on a sturdy KD metal base. The bullets give a 23.75 by 26 by 38.25 to 42 in footprint, a 19.5 in seat width, a 17.75 in seat depth, a 19.3 in backrest width and a 275 lb capacity. The item weight is stated as 12.8 kg. The main contradiction is color: the bullets say black while the title and the color field say cream, so we trust the title. No warranty term and no gas lift class are stated.

Who it's for: someone who wants a simple padded chair with stated seat dimensions at the lowest stated weight here. Who should skip it: anyone who needs more than 275 lb capacity or a warranty term.

Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 6/10 and warranty 0/5: 72 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Weight capacity275 lb
Seat width19.5 in
Seat depth17.75 in
Backrest width19.3 in

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. 275 lb maximum weight recommendation and metal KD base are stated, so safety scores 6 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Fit and capacity. Check the stated seat height range against your desk height and the stated weight capacity against the heaviest user. Tighten bolts after the first week. Adjustments are comfort features, not treatment for pain; ask a clinician about any condition.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

Compare the picks

Chair Office Score Weight capacity Seat width Seat depth Backrest width Amazon
SUNNOW 921 9.7/10 400 lb Not stated 21.6 in 19.1 in View on Amazon
Hayelf Mesh Chair 9.6/10 300 lb Not stated 18 in 19.5 in View on Amazon
TRALT YQ005-2 9.6/10 300 lb Not stated 19.7 in Not stated View on Amazon
Ylzyxal Chair 9.5/10 400 lb Not stated 18.89 in 20.08 in View on Amazon
Amazon Basics 51208 9.5/10 275 lb 19.5 in 17.75 in 19.3 in View on Amazon

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 20 October 2026. Two of the five state a warranty term; three state a gas lift class or certification.

How we scored them

The Office Score weighs performance (seat width, seat depth, backrest width, recline and armrest adjustments and stated capacity), build (frame, base, upholstery and item weight), value for the stated specs, safety and warranty. For a chair, safety means a stated certification, gas lift class or weight capacity on the listing; the SUNNOW, Hayelf, TRALT and Ylzyxal state one, the Amazon Basics states only its capacity. Two listings state a warranty term: SUNNOW at 2 years and Hayelf at 5 years. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Office Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
SUNNOW 921 9.7 30 21 20 8 4
Hayelf Mesh Chair 9.6 28 20 20 7 4
TRALT YQ005-2 9.6 29 20 20 7 0
Ylzyxal Chair 9.5 28 20 20 7 0
Amazon Basics 51208 9.5 26 20 20 6 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best office chair for wide hips

Start with seat width and capacity

Seat width is the number that matters most for this keyword, and few listings state it. The Amazon Basics is the only one here that does: 19.5 in. Everyone else publishes backrest width instead, from 19.1 in on the SUNNOW to 20.08 in on the Ylzyxal. Capacity is better documented: the SUNNOW and Ylzyxal state 400 lb, the TRALT states 300 lb in its title, the Hayelf states 300 lb and the Amazon Basics states 275 lb. Treat the capacity as the maker’s claim and leave a margin rather than buying at the limit.

Check the armrests and the seat depth

Fixed arms can be the first thing that pinches. The SUNNOW, Hayelf and Ylzyxal arms flip up 90 degrees so the chair slides under the desk; the TRALT lists plastic arms and the Amazon Basics padded arms, neither of which flips. Seat depth runs from 17.75 in on the Amazon Basics to 21.6 in on the SUNNOW, with the Ylzyxal at 18.89 in, the Hayelf at 18 in and the TRALT at 19.7 in. If you share the desk, a standing desk with a taller range makes one chair work for more than one person, and our different sitting positions guide covers seats that flex with posture.

Chair Capacity Backrest width Seat depth Item weight
SUNNOW 921 400 lb 19.1 in 21.6 in 31 lb
Hayelf Mesh Chair 300 lb 19.5 in 18 in 20 lb
TRALT YQ005-2 300 lb Not stated 19.7 in 20 lb
Ylzyxal Chair 400 lb 20.08 in 18.89 in 30 lb
Amazon Basics 51208 275 lb 19.3 in 17.75 in 12.8 kg

Figures as stated in each listing’s spec table. On a hard floor, a chair mat protects the surface under any of them.

Read the warranty line, not the headline

Only two listings state a warranty term. The Hayelf states a 5-year manufacture warranty and the SUNNOW states 2 years. The TRALT promises a long-term warranty without naming a term, and the Ylzyxal and Amazon Basics state none. A gas lift and casters are the parts that usually fail first, so a term in writing is worth more than a vague promise.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which chair has the highest stated weight capacity?

The SUNNOW and the Ylzyxal each state 400 lb. The TRALT states 300 lb in its title, the Hayelf states 300 lb, and the Amazon Basics states 275 lb.

Which of these chairs has flip-up armrests?

The SUNNOW, the Hayelf and the Ylzyxal all list armrests that flip up 90 degrees. The TRALT lists plastic arms and the Amazon Basics lists padded arms, neither of which flips.

Which listings state a warranty term?

The Hayelf states a 5-year manufacture warranty and the SUNNOW states 2 years. The TRALT promises a long-term warranty without a term, and the Ylzyxal and Amazon Basics state none.

What seat depths are stated?

The SUNNOW states 21.6 in, the TRALT 19.7 in, the Ylzyxal 18.89 in, the Hayelf 18 in and the Amazon Basics 17.75 in.

Do any state a gas lift class?

The TRALT lists a class-3 gas lift and the Hayelf lists a 4-inch Class-3 gas lift cylinder. The other three state no gas lift class.

SUNNOW 921
Still deciding? Our top pickSUNNOW 921
Check price on Amazon

See every office chair guide and all office chairs and seating guides. Also see our best ergonomic office chair for plus size women. Also see our gaming chairs category.

More picks: chairs for different sitting positions, chair mats and casters, standing desks.