Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Home office gear, compared spec by spec.

Office Machines and Storage

Best Plastic File Box with Folders (2026): 5 Boxes Compared

Five plastic file boxes with folder rails or ledges compared by size, lid, stacking and water resistance, with folders included in only one box.

Best Plastic File Box with Folders (2026): 5 Boxes Compared

Paper piles up on the home desk by tax season, and the best plastic file box with folders turns that stack into labeled, latching order. We compared 5 plastic file boxes by folder fit, lid and latch, size, stacking and water resistance, using only what each listing states. Only one box here includes folders, so the real question is whether you want folders in the box or rails ready for folders you already own.

OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Pendaflex Portable File Box
    Best Overall Pendaflex Portable File Box: Hinged lid with double latches, rails for up to 22 folders, 3 folders included Check price on Amazon
  • IRIS USA 35 Qt File Box
    Best 4-Pack IRIS USA 35 Qt File Box: 4 letter and legal boxes with stackable lids, water resistant, 20 pound limit Check price on Amazon
  • Staples Clear File Box
    Best Clear 4-Pack Staples Clear File Box: 4 clear boxes with snap lids and rails for letter and legal files Check price on Amazon
  • Sterilite Portable File Box
    Best Portable Sterilite Portable File Box: Letter box with a handle, in-lid compartment and latch, in a 4 pack Check price on Amazon
  • IRIS Desktop File Box
    Best Desktop IRIS Desktop File Box: 6 open-top desktop boxes with side handles and a letter-size ledge Check price on Amazon

The picks

Pendaflex Portable File Box

Pendaflex Portable File Box

Pendaflex9.7/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A portable file box with a hinged lid, double latches and file rails, including 3 letter-size hanging folders.

Pros

  • Hinged lid with double latches keeps documents in place
  • File rails hold up to 22 letter-size hanging folders
  • 3 reinforced hanging folders with tabs and inserts included
  • Water resistant polypropylene exterior wipes clean

Cons

  • Only 3 folders included against rails for up to 22
  • Letter size only, no legal-size folders stated
  • Single box, not a multi-pack
  • No warranty term is stated
Detailed Review

Pendaflex lists a portable file box with a hinged lid, double latches, a built-in handle and file rails for letter-size hanging folders, plus 3 reinforced hanging folders with tabs and inserts. The exterior is water resistant polypropylene, and the box measures 14 by 11.13 by 11 inches with a 35 pound maximum weight recommendation. Dimensions agree within rounding: the bullets give 11 1/8 inches deep against 11.13 inches in the spec table.

Who it's for: someone who wants a portable box with folders included for letter-size files. Who should skip it: anyone filing legal-size folders or wanting a multi-pack.

Its Office Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety not scored (non-powered gear) and warranty 0/5: 74 of 90 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Size14 x 11.13 x 11 inches
Folders3 included, rails for 22
LidHinged, double latch
Weight2.8 pounds

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Anchor it. Anchor tall bookshelves and file cabinets to the wall with the supplied hardware or an anti-tip kit, load the lowest shelves and drawers first, and open one drawer at a time.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

IRIS USA 35 Qt File Box

IRIS USA 35 Qt File Box

IRIS USA9.6/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 4 pack of 35 quart file boxes with hanging ledges for letter and legal folders, stackable lids and opaque black sides.

Pros

  • 4 boxes with hanging ledges for letter and legal folders
  • Grooved lid and base for stable stacking
  • Water resistant with a 20 pound maximum weight recommendation
  • Opaque black sides keep contents out of sight

Cons

  • Title names a latching lid while the spec table lists a snap closure with no lock
  • No folders are included
  • No warranty term is stated
  • Only one compartment per box
Detailed Review

IRIS USA lists a 4 pack of 35 quart file boxes with built-in hanging ledges for letter and legal folders, grooved lids and bases for stacking, and opaque black polypropylene sides. Each box measures 18.13 by 14.13 by 10.75 inches with a 20 pound maximum weight recommendation. Note the closure: the title names a latching lid while the spec table lists a snap closure with no lock, so treat it as a snap lid, not a locking box.

Who it's for: teachers and home offices that want stackable letter and legal storage in a 4 pack. Who should skip it: anyone who needs folders included or a locking lid.

Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety not scored (non-powered gear) and warranty 0/5: 72 of 90 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Size18.13 x 14.13 x 10.75 inches
Capacity35 quarts
FoldersLetter and legal ledges
Weight2.1 pounds

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Anchor it. Anchor tall bookshelves and file cabinets to the wall with the supplied hardware or an anti-tip kit, load the lowest shelves and drawers first, and open one drawer at a time.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Staples Clear File Box

Staples Clear File Box

Staples9.6/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 4 pack of clear file boxes with snap lids and built-in rails for letter and legal hanging folders.

Pros

  • 4 clear boxes with snap-tight lids
  • Built-in rails for letter and legal folders
  • Clear sides show contents without opening
  • Stackable storage for home and office files

Cons

  • Not water resistant, unlike the water resistant picks here
  • No folders are included
  • No weight is stated
  • No warranty term is stated
Detailed Review

Staples lists a 4 pack of clear plastic file boxes with snap-tight lids and built-in rails for letter and legal hanging folders, each measuring 18.1 by 14.1 by 10.7 inches. The clear sides show contents without opening, and the boxes stack. The spec table marks the boxes not water resistant, so they suit dry indoor storage.

Who it's for: someone who wants clear, stackable letter and legal storage in a 4 pack. Who should skip it: anyone who needs folders included or water resistant protection.

Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety not scored (non-powered gear) and warranty 0/5: 70 of 90 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Size18.1 x 14.1 x 10.7 inches
FoldersLetter and legal rails
LidSnap
Pack4 boxes

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Anchor it. Anchor tall bookshelves and file cabinets to the wall with the supplied hardware or an anti-tip kit, load the lowest shelves and drawers first, and open one drawer at a time.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Sterilite Portable File Box

Sterilite Portable File Box

Sterilite9.5/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A letter-size portable file box with a handle, an in-lid compartment and latches, in a 4 pack.

Pros

  • Sturdy handle with a comfortable grip for carrying
  • In-lid compartment for frequently used items
  • Latch keeps the lid firmly in place, with padlock or zip tie option
  • BPA and phthalate free, per the listing

Cons

  • Bullets give 10 7/8 by 11 1/2 inches while the spec table gives 11.5 by 10.88 inches
  • Spec table claims titanium in material features for a plastic box
  • Letter size only, no legal-size folders stated
  • No warranty term is stated
Detailed Review

Sterilite lists a portable letter-size file box with a sturdy handle, an in-lid compartment and a latch, plus the option of a small padlock or zip tie for added security. The listing is messy on figures: the bullets give 10 7/8 by 11 1/2 inches while the spec table gives 11.5 by 10.88 inches, the material features claim titanium for a plastic box, and the spec table lists 1 item against the 4 pack title and unit count. This article uses the title and bullets for the pack count.

Who it's for: someone who wants a portable letter box with a handle and an in-lid compartment. Who should skip it: anyone filing legal-size folders or wanting clean, consistent specs.

Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 19/25, value 20/25, safety not scored (non-powered gear) and warranty 0/5: 67 of 90 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Size15 x 11.5 x 10.88 inches
FoldersLetter size
LidLatch
Weight2.8 pounds

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Anchor it. Anchor tall bookshelves and file cabinets to the wall with the supplied hardware or an anti-tip kit, load the lowest shelves and drawers first, and open one drawer at a time.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

IRIS Desktop File Box

IRIS Desktop File Box

IRIS USA9.5/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 6 pack of open-top desktop file boxes with side handles and a hanging ledge for letter-size files.

Pros

  • 6 open-top boxes for desk and shelf access
  • Built-in side handles for carrying between rooms
  • Hanging ledge for letter-size files
  • Compact 13.38 inch length for teacher desks and shelves

Cons

  • Does not include folders, stated twice in the listing
  • Open top gives no lid, dust cover or privacy
  • Spec table lists 7.9 inches wide in one field against 5.9 inches elsewhere
  • Size field says 4 Pack while the title and unit count say 6 Pack
Detailed Review

IRIS USA lists a 6 pack of medium desktop file boxes with open tops, built-in side handles and a hanging ledge for letter-size files, each measuring 13.38 by 5.94 by 9.8 inches. The listing states twice that folders are not included. Note two conflicts: one spec field lists 7.9 inches wide against 5.9 inches in the bullets and item dimensions, and the size field says 4 Pack against the 6 pack title and unit count, so this article uses 5.94 inches and 6 boxes.

Who it's for: teachers and desk workers who want open desktop access for letter-size files. Who should skip it: anyone who needs folders included, a lid, or legal-size storage.

Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 19/25, value 20/25, safety not scored (non-powered gear) and warranty 0/5: 65 of 90 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Size13.38 x 5.94 x 9.8 inches
FoldersLetter-size ledge, folders not included
LidOpen, no lid
Pack6 boxes

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Anchor it. Anchor tall bookshelves and file cabinets to the wall with the supplied hardware or an anti-tip kit, load the lowest shelves and drawers first, and open one drawer at a time.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

  • Staples Frost Gray File BoxStaples Frost Gray File BoxSuits letter and legal files with a snap lid and frosted privacy.Check on Amazon
  • IRIS WeatherPro 19 Qt BoxIRIS WeatherPro 19 Qt BoxSuits letter and legal files with water resistant protection and a buckle lid.Check on Amazon
  • Sterilite 8-Pack File ToteSterilite 8-Pack File ToteSuits home and office files with a clear base and snap-on lids.Check on Amazon
  • IRIS 8-Pack 35 Qt BoxIRIS 8-Pack 35 Qt BoxSuits letter and legal files with clear boxes and snap-on lids.Check on Amazon

Compare the picks

File Box Office Score Pack Size Folders Lid Water resistant Warranty Amazon
Pendaflex Portable File Box 9.7/10 1 14 x 11.13 x 11 inches 3 included, rails for 22 Hinged, double latch Water Resistant Not stated View on Amazon
IRIS USA 35 Qt File Box 9.6/10 4 18.13 x 14.13 x 10.75 inches Not included, ledges fit letter/legal Snap, no lock Water Resistant Not stated View on Amazon
Staples Clear File Box 9.6/10 4 18.1 x 14.1 x 10.7 inches Not included, rails included Snap Not Water Resistant Not stated View on Amazon
Sterilite Portable File Box 9.5/10 4 15 x 11.5 x 10.88 inches Not included Latch Not Water Resistant Not stated View on Amazon
IRIS Desktop File Box 9.5/10 6 13.38 x 5.94 x 9.8 inches Not included Open, no lid Not stated Not stated View on Amazon

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 25 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Office Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. Performance covers folder fit, capacity and lid closure; build covers stated material and construction; value covers pack count against stated features. For file boxes, safety would mean a stated lock, and none of the 5 boxes lists a lock, so no safety points were given. None of the 5 boxes states a warranty term. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Office Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
Pendaflex Portable File Box 9.7 32 21 21 n/a 0
IRIS USA 35 Qt File Box 9.6 30 21 21 n/a 0
Staples Clear File Box 9.6 29 20 21 n/a 0
Sterilite Portable File Box 9.5 28 19 20 n/a 0
IRIS Desktop File Box 9.5 26 19 20 n/a 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Safety counts only for powered gear or where the listing states safety features; where it does not apply, the score is taken over the remaining 90 points.

How to choose the best plastic file box with folders

Folders included or not

Only the Pendaflex box includes folders, 3 letter-size hanging folders with tabs and inserts, while its rails hold up to 22. The other 4 boxes need folders bought separately, and the IRIS desktop box states twice that it does not include folders. If you already own folders, any box with rails or ledges works; if not, start with the box that includes them.

Letter, legal, or both

Letter and legal folders fit the IRIS 35 quart box and the Staples clear box, both with rails or ledges for both sizes. The Pendaflex, Sterilite and IRIS desktop boxes are letter-size: Pendaflex rails hold letter-size folders, Sterilite is a letter box, and the IRIS desktop ledge is for letter-size files. Check your folder size before ordering, since a legal folder will not fit a letter-size box.

Lids, latches and stacking

Lids range from snap lids to a hinged double latch to an open top with no lid at all. The IRIS 35 quart box stacks on grooved lids and bases, and the Staples and Sterilite boxes state stacking too. Water resistance splits the group: the IRIS 35 quart box and the Pendaflex box state water resistant, while the Staples and Sterilite boxes state not water resistant. For locking storage, the lockable drawer for office list covers lockable options.

File box Folders included Lid Water resistant
Pendaflex Portable File Box 3 included Hinged, double latch Water Resistant
IRIS USA 35 Qt File Box Not included Snap, no lock Water Resistant
Staples Clear File Box Not included Snap Not Water Resistant
Sterilite Portable File Box Not included Latch Not Water Resistant
IRIS Desktop File Box Not included Open, no lid Not stated

Size and where it sits

Full-size boxes measure about 18 inches long, while the Sterilite box measures 15 inches and the IRIS desktop box measures 13.38 inches for a desk or shelf. The IRIS desktop box is the narrowest here at 5.94 inches wide, and the Pendaflex box carries by a built-in handle between rooms. For classroom storage, the file box for classroom list covers teacher use, and the desk organizer for binders list covers desk storage.

Setup Notes

  • Measure shelf and desk space against the box size: full-size boxes run about 18 inches long, while the desktop box runs 13.38 inches.
  • Check folder size first: letter and legal fit the IRIS 35 quart and Staples boxes, while the other 3 boxes are letter-size.
  • Buy folders for the 4 boxes that exclude them; only the Pendaflex box includes 3.
  • Stack only the boxes that state stacking: the IRIS 35 quart, Staples and Sterilite boxes.
  • Keep the open-top desktop box for desk access, not for long storage without a lid.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do these file boxes come with folders?

Only the Pendaflex box includes folders, 3 letter-size hanging folders with tabs and inserts. The other 4 boxes need folders bought separately, and the IRIS desktop box states that it does not include folders.

Do these boxes fit legal-size folders?

The IRIS 35 quart box and the Staples clear box fit letter and legal folders. The Pendaflex, Sterilite and IRIS desktop boxes are letter-size.

Can these file boxes stack?

The IRIS 35 quart box stacks on grooved lids and bases, and the Staples and Sterilite boxes state stacking. The Pendaflex and IRIS desktop boxes do not state stacking.

Are these file boxes water resistant?

The IRIS 35 quart box and the Pendaflex box state water resistant. The Staples and Sterilite boxes state not water resistant, and the IRIS desktop box states nothing on water resistance.

How many folders does the Pendaflex box hold?

Its rails hold up to 22 letter-size folders, and 3 folders are included.

Pendaflex Portable File Box
Still deciding? Our top pickPendaflex Portable File Box
Check price on Amazon

See every office storage guide.

More picks: receipt organizer for home office, storage shelves for small spaces and desk organizer for small apartment.