Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Home office gear, compared spec by spec.

Home Office Printers

Best Printer for You (2026): 5 Portable Thermal Picks

Best printer for you compared: five portable thermal printers ranked by DPI, battery and warranty, for travel, school and home offices.

Best Printer for You (2026): 5 Portable Thermal Picks

A printer that fits in a backpack changes how you work on the road: contracts, invoices and school notes print anywhere, with no ink to dry out. The best printer for you depends on resolution, battery and paper sizes. We compared five portable thermal printers by DPI, sheets per charge and warranty, using only what each listing publishes.

OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

The picks

iDPRT MT610 Pro

iDPRT MT610 Pro

iDPRT9.7/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 300 DPI portable printer with 240 pages per charge and Energy Star.

Pros

  • 300 DPI at 4 to 6 seconds per page
  • 240 pages on a single charge
  • Energy Star, stated
  • Bluetooth and USB, wide device support

Cons

  • 10 sheet maximum capacity, stated
  • Manual duplex, stated
  • No carrying case is stated
  • 4 to 6 seconds per page, stated
Detailed Review

The iDPRT listing describes a portable thermal printer with 300 DPI, a 2000mAh battery and up to 240 pages on a single charge. It lists Bluetooth and USB, support for iOS, Android, macOS, Windows, Linux and Chrome OS. A 1 year warranty is stated.

The item weighs 1.1 lb and measures 10.5 by 2.2 by 1.6 inches. Energy Star is stated in the special features.

Who it's for: high-volume travel printing across many devices. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a paper case included.

Its Office Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 83 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
DPI300
Pages240
Weight1.1 lb
Warranty1 year

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Energy Star is stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 1 Year Manufacturer is stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Shredder and printer safety. Keep hair, ties, jewelry, children and pets away from the feed slot, use the safety lock, unplug when not in use, and give printers and adapters room to vent.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Phomemo M832 Portable

Phomemo M832 Portable

Phomemo9.6/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A portable thermal printer with 300 DPI, a carrying case and 4 rolls of paper.

Pros

  • 300 DPI clear printing
  • 5 paper sizes including US Letter and A4
  • Carrying case and 4 paper rolls included
  • 2600mAh battery, 150 sheets per charge

Cons

  • 1.5 lb, the heaviest here
  • 150 sheets, the fewest here
  • Monochrome only, stated
  • PC needs a driver download
Detailed Review

The Phomemo listing describes a portable thermal printer with 300 DPI, a 2600mAh battery and up to 150 sheets per charge. It lists 5 paper sizes from 2.08 to 8.5 by 11 inches, Bluetooth for phones and USB-C for laptops. A 1 year warranty is stated.

The package includes the printer, a carrying case, 4 rolls of thermal paper and USB cables. The item weighs 1.5 lb and measures 10.39 by 3.07 by 1.77 inches.

Who it's for: travel printing with a case and paper included. Who should skip it: anyone who wants color printing.

Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 3/5: 77 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
DPI300
Battery2600mAh
Weight1.5 lb
Warranty1 year

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. No safety lock or safety listing is stated, so safety scores zero. 1 Year is stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Shredder and printer safety. Keep hair, ties, jewelry, children and pets away from the feed slot, use the safety lock, unplug when not in use, and give printers and adapters room to vent.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

PRT MT610 Portable

PRT MT610 Portable

PRT9.5/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A portable thermal printer with 200 sheets per charge and multi-size printing.

Pros

  • 200 sheets per charge
  • Multi-size: Letter, A4, A5, B5
  • 1.2 lb, fits in briefcases
  • Bluetooth and USB-C

Cons

  • 203 DPI, not 300
  • 6 pages per minute, stated
  • 10 US Letter sheets in the package
  • No carrying case is stated
Detailed Review

The PRT listing describes a portable thermal printer with 203 DPI, a 2000mAh battery and up to 200 sheets per charge. It lists an adjustable slot for Letter, A4, A5, B5 and 4 inch paper. A 1 year warranty is stated.

The item weighs 1.2 lb and measures 10.5 by 2.2 by 1.6 inches. The package includes 10 US Letter thermal sheets.

Who it's for: multi-size printing on the go. Who should skip it: anyone who wants 300 DPI.

Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 3/5: 72 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
DPI203
Sheets200
Weight1.2 lb
Warranty1 year

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. 1 Year Manufacturer is stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Shredder and printer safety. Keep hair, ties, jewelry, children and pets away from the feed slot, use the safety lock, unplug when not in use, and give printers and adapters room to vent.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Rongta F11 Portable

Rongta F11 Portable

Rongta9.4/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A lightweight thermal printer at 8 ounces with 203 DPI.

Pros

  • 8 ounces, very light
  • 203 DPI thermal printing
  • Bluetooth and USB
  • 1 year warranty, stated

Cons

  • Sparse listing, few details
  • No sheet count is stated
  • No battery capacity is stated
  • White only, stated
Detailed Review

The Rongta listing describes a Bluetooth thermal portable printer with 203 DPI for 8.5 by 11 inch thermal paper. It lists Bluetooth for phones and USB for PCs, with a Rongta app. A 1 year warranty is stated.

The item weighs 8 ounces. The listing is sparse, with no stated battery capacity or sheet count.

Who it's for: the lightest option for basic printing. Who should skip it: anyone who wants detailed specs.

Its Office Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 18/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 3/5: 67 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
DPI203
Weight8 oz
Paper8.5x11 in
Warranty1 year

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. 1 Year Manufacturer is stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Shredder and printer safety. Keep hair, ties, jewelry, children and pets away from the feed slot, use the safety lock, unplug when not in use, and give printers and adapters room to vent.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Arrvel A8 Portable

Arrvel A8 Portable

Arrvel9.4/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A portable thermal printer with a 3000mAh battery and a graphite translucent design.

Pros

  • 3000mAh battery, 200 sheets
  • 2.13 to 8.5 inch paper widths
  • Graphite translucent design
  • Bluetooth and USB-C

Cons

  • No warranty is stated
  • 203 DPI, not 300
  • 1.4 lb, heavier than most
  • Charging adapter not included
Detailed Review

The Arrvel listing describes a portable thermal printer with 203 DPI, a 3000mAh battery and up to 200 sheets per charge. It lists paper widths from 2.13 to 8.5 inches and a graphite translucent top cover. No warranty is stated.

The item weighs 1.4 lb and measures 11.36 by 2.54 by 2 inches. A velvet travel bag is included.

Who it's for: long battery life with a distinctive design. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a stated warranty.

Its Office Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 68 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
DPI203
Battery3000mAh
Weight1.4 lb
WarrantyNot stated

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. No safety lock or safety listing is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Shredder and printer safety. Keep hair, ties, jewelry, children and pets away from the feed slot, use the safety lock, unplug when not in use, and give printers and adapters room to vent.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Compare the picks

Printer Office Score DPI Sheets per charge Weight Warranty Amazon
Phomemo M832 Portable 9.6/10 300 150 1.5 lb 1 year View on Amazon
iDPRT MT610 Pro 9.7/10 300 240 1.1 lb 1 year View on Amazon
PRT MT610 Portable 9.5/10 203 200 1.2 lb 1 year View on Amazon
Rongta F11 Portable 9.4/10 203 Not stated 8 oz 1 year View on Amazon
Arrvel A8 Portable 9.4/10 203 200 1.4 lb Not stated View on Amazon

22 October 2026

How we scored them

The Office Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For portable printers, performance means DPI, sheets per charge and paper sizes. Four of the five state a 1 year warranty. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Office Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
iDPRT MT610 Pro 9.7 32 20 21 7 3
Phomemo M832 Portable 9.6 32 21 21 0 3
PRT MT610 Portable 9.5 28 20 21 0 3
Rongta F11 Portable 9.4 26 18 20 0 3
Arrvel A8 Portable 9.4 28 20 20 0 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best printer for you

Resolution

The Phomemo M832 and the iDPRT MT610 Pro print at 300 DPI; the PRT, Rongta and Arrvel print at 203 DPI. For fine text, the 300 DPI pair leads.

Battery and sheets

The iDPRT prints up to 240 pages on a charge, the PRT and Arrvel up to 200 sheets, and the Phomemo up to 150 sheets. The Arrvel has the largest battery at 3000mAh.

Paper sizes

All five support 8.5 by 11 inch US Letter. The Phomemo supports 5 sizes including A4, and the Arrvel supports widths from 2.13 to 8.5 inches. For more office gear, see our printers guide.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do these printers need ink?

No. All five use thermal technology with no ink, toner or ribbons. Only thermal paper is supported.

Can I print from my phone?

Yes. All five connect via Bluetooth to phones through an app. For laptops, use a USB cable.

Which prints the most pages per charge?

The iDPRT MT610 Pro prints up to 240 pages on a single charge, stated.

Do any state a warranty?

The Phomemo, PRT, Rongta and iDPRT state a 1 year warranty. The Arrvel states no warranty.

iDPRT MT610 Pro
Still deciding? Our top pickiDPRT MT610 Pro
Check price on Amazon

See every Printers guide and all Office Guides guides.

More picks: browse office storage.