Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Home office gear, compared spec by spec.

Surge Protectors and Cable Management

Best Surge Protector for Computer and Printer: 5 Compared

Five surge protectors compared: a 4800-joule heavy-duty pick, a 2-pack with lifetime warranty, an 8-outlet USB pick, a 16-outlet block and a 12-outlet Amazon Basics.

Best Surge Protector for Computer and Printer: 5 Compared

It’s 9 a.m., the computer, printer, monitor and router are all fighting for the two outlets behind your desk, and the printer’s brick-sized adapter is blocking whatever is left. The best surge protector for computer and printer is the one with enough outlets for the whole setup, a joule rating that means something, and a plug that actually fits behind the furniture. We compared five surge protectors by joule rating, outlet count and USB ports, cord length, stated safety features and warranty term, using only what each listing publishes.

OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • CCCEI AN-B44-20 Heavy Duty Surge Protector
    Best Overall CCCEI AN-B44-20 Heavy Duty Surge Protector: 4800 joules, individual outlet switches, ETL certified. Check price on Amazon
  • GE 54638 Surge Protector Power Strip (2-Pack)
    Best 2-Pack GE 54638 Surge Protector Power Strip (2-Pack): Two 6-outlet strips, lifetime replacement plan, 100,000-dollar equipment policy. Check price on Amazon
  • Nuetsa HC29U56 Surge Protector Power Strip
    Best with USB Nuetsa HC29U56 Surge Protector Power Strip: 8 outlets plus 4 USB ports, 10 ft cord, 2700 joules. Check price on Amazon
  • Chiefway CWPS-16 Surge Protector Power Strip
    Most Outlets Chiefway CWPS-16 Surge Protector Power Strip: 16 outlets and 6 USB ports with wide 1.7 in spacing. Check price on Amazon

The picks

CCCEI AN-B44-20 Heavy Duty Surge Protector

CCCEI AN-B44-20 Heavy Duty Surge Protector

CCCEI9.7/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

Heavy-duty 4-outlet surge protector with 4800 joules, individual outlet switches, a 12-gauge cord and ETL certification.

Pros

  • 4800 joules of surge protection, the highest stated here.
  • Each of the 4 outlets has its own overload switch, plus a master switch.
  • 12-gauge cord rated 125V/15A/1875W, per the listing.
  • ETL certified with an aluminum, flame-retardant housing.

Cons

  • Only 4 outlets, the fewest in this roundup.
  • No USB charging ports are stated.
  • The 6 ft cord is shorter than the Nuetsa's 10 ft.
  • No flat plug is stated; the plug shape is not detailed.
Detailed Review

Who it's for: anyone who wants maximum surge protection for a computer and printer. The listing states 4800 joules, individual switches for each of the 4 outlets, a 12-gauge cord rated 125V/15A/1875W, and ETL certification in an aluminum housing.

Who should skip it: anyone who needs USB charging or more than 4 outlets. The yellow housing and industrial design suit a workshop more than a tidy desk. Note the listing advises protective measures if used outdoors.

Its Office Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 22/25, value 19/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 3/5: 84 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Surge protection4800 joules
Outlets4, each with individual switch
Cord12-gauge, 6 ft, 125V/15A/1875W
CertificationETL certified

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 18 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. ETL certified; overload and grounding protection; flame-retardant aluminum housing, so safety scores 8 of 10. 2 Year Manufacturer. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Power and heat. Use the supplied adapter, treat power delivery wattage and display support as the maker's claims for your laptop model, and give the dock room to vent.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

GE 54638 Surge Protector Power Strip (2-Pack)

GE 54638 Surge Protector Power Strip (2-Pack)

GE9.6/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

Two 6-outlet surge protectors with 800 joules each, flat plugs, wall-mount slots and ETL listing.

Pros

  • Two 6-outlet strips in the box, covering two workstations.
  • Flat plug fits behind furniture without blocking the second outlet.
  • Twist-to-close safety covers protect unused outlets.
  • Limited lifetime replacement plan plus a 100,000-dollar connected equipment policy, per the listing.

Cons

  • 800 joules is the lowest surge rating here.
  • No USB charging ports are stated.
  • The 6 ft cord is shorter than the Nuetsa's 10 ft.
  • White only; no color option is stated.
Detailed Review

Who it's for: anyone outfitting two desks or a desk plus a printer station. The listing includes two 6-outlet strips, each with 800 joules, a flat plug, keyhole mounting slots and twist-to-close safety covers, all ETL listed.

Who should skip it: anyone who wants the highest joule rating; 800 is the lowest here. The standout is the backing: a limited lifetime replacement plan and a 100,000-dollar connected equipment policy, the strongest warranty terms in the roundup.

Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 5/5: 80 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Outlets6 per strip, 2-pack
Surge protection800 joules
Cord6 ft, flat plug
Rating125VAC/15A/1875W, 500V protection rating

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 18 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. ETL safety listed; twist-to-close safety covers; integrated circuit breaker, so safety scores 8 of 10. Limited-Lifetime, so warranty scores 5 of 5. See How We Pick.

Power and heat. Use the supplied adapter, treat power delivery wattage and display support as the maker's claims for your laptop model, and give the dock room to vent.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Nuetsa HC29U56 Surge Protector Power Strip

Nuetsa HC29U56 Surge Protector Power Strip

Nuetsa9.6/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

8-outlet surge protector with 4 USB ports (one USB-C), a 10 ft cord, 2700 joules and ETL listing.

Pros

  • 8 AC outlets plus 4 USB ports including one USB-C.
  • 2700 joules with overload protection, ETL listed.
  • 10 ft cord, the longest here, with reusable cable ties.
  • Mounting holes for wall or desk installation.

Cons

  • 13A maximum current is lower than the 15A stated on others.
  • The USB-C port does not support 9 to 22V charging, per the listing's note.
  • 24-month warranty is shorter than the GE's lifetime term.
  • No individual outlet switches are stated.
Detailed Review

Who it's for: desk setups with phones and tablets to charge alongside the computer and printer. The listing states 8 outlets, 4 USB ports with one USB-C, 2700 joules, a 10 ft cord and ETL listing.

Who should skip it: anyone who needs 15A capacity; this one is rated 13A. Note the USB-C port's 9 to 22V limitation in the listing. The 24-month warranty is solid but trails the GE's lifetime term.

Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 80 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Outlets8 AC + 4 USB (1 USB-C)
Surge protection2700 joules
Cord10 ft, flat plug
Current13A maximum

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 18 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. ETL listed; overload protection, so safety scores 7 of 10. 2 year. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Power and heat. Use the supplied adapter, treat power delivery wattage and display support as the maker's claims for your laptop model, and give the dock room to vent.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Chiefway CWPS-16 Surge Protector Power Strip

Chiefway CWPS-16 Surge Protector Power Strip

Chiefway9.6/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

16-outlet surge protector with 6 USB ports (3 USB-A and 3 USB-C), 1.7-inch outlet spacing and 2400 joules.

Pros

  • 16 AC outlets, the most here, with 1.7-inch spacing for bulky plugs.
  • 6 USB ports: 3 USB-A and 3 USB-C.
  • 2400 joules with overload and short-circuit protection, per the listing.
  • Flat 45-degree plug fits behind furniture.

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated.
  • No ETL or UL certification is stated.
  • The 4-sided design measures 8.8 x 6.7 x 2.1 in, a large footprint.
  • 2400 joules trails the CCCEI and Amazon Basics ratings.
Detailed Review

Who it's for: anyone plugging in a full desk plus peripherals. The listing states 16 outlets with wide spacing, 6 USB ports, 2400 joules with overload and short-circuit protection, and a flat plug.

Who should skip it: anyone who wants a stated warranty or certification; neither is listed. The 4-sided block is the bulkiest here at 8.8 x 6.7 x 2.1 in, so measure your space.

Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 19/25, value 21/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 75 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Outlets16 AC + 6 USB (3A + 3C)
Surge protection2400 joules
Spacing1.7 in between outlets
Size8.8 x 6.7 x 2.1 in

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 18 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Overload protection, short-circuit protection and fire-resistant materials (maker's stated features; no certification listed), so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Power and heat. Use the supplied adapter, treat power delivery wattage and display support as the maker's claims for your laptop model, and give the dock room to vent.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Amazon Basics 12-Outlet Surge Protector

Amazon Basics 12-Outlet Surge Protector

Amazon Basics9.5/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

12-outlet surge protector with 4000 joules, an 8 ft cord, safety shutters and a 15 amp circuit breaker.

Pros

  • 12 outlets with 4000 joules of surge protection.
  • 8 ft extension cord.
  • Safety shutters on the outlets, per the listing.
  • 15 amp circuit breaker and PC flame-retardant material stated.

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated.
  • No ETL or UL certification is stated.
  • No USB charging ports are stated.
  • No flat plug is stated; the plug shape is not detailed.
Detailed Review

Who it's for: anyone who wants many outlets and a high joule rating without USB. The listing states 12 outlets, 4000 joules, an 8 ft cord, safety shutters and a 15 amp circuit breaker.

Who should skip it: anyone who wants a stated warranty or certification; neither is listed. There are no USB ports stated, so plan for a flat desk placement with a keyhole wall mount as the hanging option.

Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 19/25, value 21/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 74 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Outlets12
Surge protection4000 joules
Cord8 ft
Safety15A circuit breaker, safety shutters

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 18 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. 15 amp circuit breaker, PC flame-retardant material and safety shutters (maker's stated features; no certification listed), so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Power and heat. Use the supplied adapter, treat power delivery wattage and display support as the maker's claims for your laptop model, and give the dock room to vent.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

Compare the picks

Surge protector Office Score Outlets Joules Cord Warranty Amazon
CCCEI AN-B44-20 Heavy Duty Surge Protector 9.7/10 4 4800 6 ft 2 years View on Amazon
GE 54638 Surge Protector Power Strip (2-Pack) 9.6/10 6 per strip 800 6 ft Limited lifetime View on Amazon
Nuetsa HC29U56 Surge Protector Power Strip 9.6/10 8 + 4 USB 2700 10 ft 2 years View on Amazon
Chiefway CWPS-16 Surge Protector Power Strip 9.6/10 16 + 6 USB 2400 6 ft Not stated View on Amazon
Amazon Basics 12-Outlet Surge Protector 9.5/10 12 4000 8 ft Not stated View on Amazon

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 18 October 2026. Three of the five state an ETL certification; three state a warranty term. Joule ratings run from 800 to 4800.

How we scored them

The Office Score weighs performance (joule rating, outlet and USB count, cord length), build (housing material and stated construction), value for the stated specs, safety and warranty. For a surge protector, safety means stated certifications and protective features; the CCCEI, GE and Nuetsa state ETL certification, while the Chiefway and Amazon Basics state protective features without a certification. Three listings state a warranty term: GE with a limited lifetime plan, CCCEI and Nuetsa at 2 years.

Product Office Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
CCCEI AN-B44-20 Heavy Duty Surge Protector 9.7 32 22 19 8 3
GE 54638 Surge Protector Power Strip (2-Pack) 9.6 26 20 21 8 5
Nuetsa HC29U56 Surge Protector Power Strip 9.6 30 20 20 7 3
Chiefway CWPS-16 Surge Protector Power Strip 9.6 30 19 21 5 0
Amazon Basics 12-Outlet Surge Protector 9.5 29 19 21 5 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best surge protector for computer and printer

Count your plugs first

A computer and printer setup usually needs outlets for the PC, monitor, printer, router and a charger or two, and printer adapters are often bulky. Outlet counts here run from 4 on the CCCEI to 16 on the Chiefway, with the GE giving 6 per strip across two strips, the Nuetsa 8 plus 4 USB, and the Amazon Basics 12. The Chiefway’s 1.7-inch outlet spacing is stated to fit bulky plugs without blocking neighbors. Count everything that stays plugged in before you pick a size.

Joules, USB and cord length

Joule ratings run from 800 on the GE to 4800 on the CCCEI, with the Nuetsa at 2700, the Chiefway at 2400 and the Amazon Basics at 4000. For USB charging, the Nuetsa states 4 USB ports with one USB-C and the Chiefway states 6 with three USB-C; the other three list no USB ports. Cord length runs from 6 ft on the GE, CCCEI and Chiefway to 8 ft on the Amazon Basics and 10 ft on the Nuetsa. Measure from your wall outlet to the desk, and remember the printer usually sits farthest from the wall.

Surge protector Joules AC outlets USB ports
CCCEI AN-B44-20 Heavy Duty Surge Protector 4800 4 Not stated
GE 54638 Surge Protector Power Strip (2-Pack) 800 6 per strip Not stated
Nuetsa HC29U56 Surge Protector Power Strip 2700 8 4 (1 USB-C)
Chiefway CWPS-16 Surge Protector Power Strip 2400 16 6 (3 USB-C)
Amazon Basics 12-Outlet Surge Protector 4000 12 Not stated

Figures as stated in each listing.

Safety features and warranty

The CCCEI, GE and Nuetsa state ETL certification; the Chiefway states overload and short-circuit protection with fire-resistant materials, and the Amazon Basics states a 15 amp circuit breaker, flame-retardant material and safety shutters, both without a certification. The GE backs its strip with a limited lifetime replacement plan and a 100,000-dollar connected equipment policy, the strongest warranty terms here. The CCCEI and Nuetsa state 2-year terms, while the Chiefway and Amazon Basics state no warranty term. See all surge protectors and cable management picks.

Setup Notes

  • Count every device that stays plugged in, including the printer’s adapter, before choosing an outlet count.
  • Measure from the wall outlet to the desk; stated cords run 6 ft to 10 ft, and the printer usually sits farthest.
  • Check plug clearance behind furniture; the GE, Nuetsa and Chiefway state flat plugs.
  • Note the warranty term and any connected equipment policy before you rely on one strip for everything.

Frequently Asked Questions

How many joules do I need for a computer and printer?

Listings here range from 800 to 4800 joules. The CCCEI states 4800, the Amazon Basics 4000, the Nuetsa 2700, the Chiefway 2400 and the GE 800. Higher joules mean a higher stated surge capacity; match the rating to the value of what you plug in.

Which of these has USB charging ports?

The Nuetsa states 4 USB ports with one USB-C, and the Chiefway states 6 USB ports with three USB-C. The CCCEI, GE and Amazon Basics state no USB ports.

Can I mount these under a desk?

The GE lists keyhole slots for wall or desk mounting, the Nuetsa lists two mounting holes on the back, and the CCCEI is described as wall-mountable. The Chiefway and Amazon Basics state no mounting hardware; the Amazon Basics does list a keyhole wall mount.

Which listings state a warranty?

GE states a limited lifetime replacement plan plus a 100,000-dollar connected equipment policy. CCCEI states a 2-year manufacturer term and Nuetsa states 2 years. The Chiefway and Amazon Basics state no warranty term.

CCCEI AN-B44-20 Heavy Duty Surge Protector
Still deciding? Our top pickCCCEI AN-B44-20 Heavy Duty Surge Protector
Check price on Amazon

See every audio, power and connectivity guide.

More picks: computer speakers, docking stations and USB hubs, headsets.