The 9 a.m. call starts and the laptop is running everything off one hub, the charger brick fighting a phone charger for the last outlet on a bare power strip. The best surge protector for laptop computer setups is the one with enough joules, enough outlets and a cord that actually reaches the wall. We compared five surge protectors by joule rating, outlet and USB count, cord length, stated certifications and warranty terms, using only what each listing publishes.
OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall CyberPower CSB6012: 1200J, UL listed, 12 ft cord, lifetime warranty stated Check price on Amazon
Best 15-Device Tower TAGZILO 15-in-1 Tower: 12 AC plus 3 USB, 1800J, 2-year warranty Check price on Amazon
Best 8-Outlet Cube YISHU AHR-803: 8 AC plus 4 USB, ETL certified, 900J, 1-year warranty Check price on Amazon
Best 16-Device Tower KZNXCVI 16-in-1 Tower: 12 AC plus 4 USB, auto-shutoff, 2-year warranty Check price on Amazon
Best Slim Plug HOPOW QV560-CU: 0.33 in thin plug, 1700J, 5 AC plus 3 USB Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Office Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | CyberPower CSB6012 | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | TAGZILO 15-in-1 Tower | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | YISHU AHR-803 | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | KZNXCVI 16-in-1 Tower | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | HOPOW QV560-CU | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |

CyberPower CSB6012
A 6-outlet surge protector with 1200 joules, a 12 ft cord, UL listing and a limited lifetime warranty.
Pros
- UL listed with UL1363, UL1449 3rd Edition and cUL stated
- Limited lifetime warranty plus a connected equipment guarantee
- 12 ft cord, the longest here
- EMI/RFI noise filtration is stated
Cons
- No USB ports in the title and bullets, despite the spec table
- 6 outlets is the smallest AC count here
- Straight plug, not a flat one
- 1.5 lb is the heaviest stated weight here
Detailed Review
CyberPower lists the CSB6012 as a 6-outlet surge protector with 1200 joules, a 12 ft cord, a lighted circuit breaker switch and keyhole slots for mounting. The listing states UL listing with UL1363, UL1449 3rd Edition and cUL, EMI/RFI noise filtration and an impact-resistant casing. One oddity: the spec table lists 6 USB ports, but the title and bullets describe 6 NEMA outlets with no USB at all, so we trust the title and bullets. The listing states a limited lifetime warranty and a connected equipment guarantee.
Who it's for: someone who wants the strongest certification and warranty lines here and does not need USB charging. Who should skip it: anyone who needs USB ports or a flat plug.
Its Office Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 21/25, value 19/25, safety 9/10 and warranty 5/5: 82 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Joules | 1200J |
|---|---|
| Outlets | 6 |
| Cord | 12 ft |
| Current | 15 A |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 18 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. UL listed: UL1363, UL1449 3rd Edition and cUL, per the listing, so safety scores 9 of 10. Lifetime warranty, so warranty scores 5 of 5. See How We Pick.
Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

TAGZILO 15-in-1 Tower
A 15-device tower with 12 AC outlets, 3 USB ports including PD 20W USB-C, and 1800 joules.
Pros
- 1800 joules, the highest stated rating here
- 12 AC outlets plus 3 USB ports for up to 15 devices
- PD 20W USB-C port is stated
- 10 ft cord with a flat 45-degree plug
Cons
- No certification is stated, only protection features
- Tower shape needs desk space rather than wall mounting
- ABS casing rather than polycarbonate
- 2-year warranty is shorter than the CyberPower lifetime term
Detailed Review
TAGZILO lists a 15-in-1 power strip tower with 12 AC outlets and 3 USB ports, including a PD 20W USB-C port, and a stated 1800-joule surge rating. The listing states overload, short-circuit and over-current protection, a 10 ft cord with a flat 45-degree plug and an ABS enclosure. A 2-year manufacturer warranty is stated. No certification body is named in the listing.
Who it's for: a desk with many devices that wants the highest stated joule rating and the most outlets. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a stated UL or ETL certification.
Its Office Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 33/35, build 20/25, value 22/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 4/5: 86 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Joules | 1800J |
|---|---|
| AC + USB | 12 + 3 |
| Cord | 10 ft |
| USB-C | PD 20W |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 18 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. overload, short-circuit and over-current protection are stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 2 Year Manufacturer. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.
Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- ETL certified with five stated protection types
- 8 AC outlets plus 4 USB ports for up to 12 devices
- 1.8 in outlet spacing fits bulky plugs
- Mounting holes for wall or under-desk placement
Cons
- 900 joules is the lowest stated rating here
- 6 ft cord is shorter than the CyberPower and TAGZILO
- Plastic cube casing
- 1-year warranty is the lowest term here
Detailed Review
YISHU lists the AHR-803 as a 3-side cube power strip with 8 AC outlets and 4 USB ports, each USB-A at 5V/2.4A max and the USB-C at 5V/3A max, for up to 12 devices. The listing states ETL certification with overload, short-circuit, over-current, over-voltage and overheating protection, a 900-joule rating, 1.8 in outlet spacing, a 6 ft cord with a flat 45-degree plug and two mounting holes. A 1-year warranty is stated.
Who it's for: someone who wants a certified cube with USB charging for a laptop and phone. Who should skip it: anyone who wants the highest joule rating here.
Its Office Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 9/10 and warranty 3/5: 83 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Joules | 900J |
|---|---|
| AC + USB | 8 + 4 |
| Cord | 6 ft |
| Certification | ETL |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 18 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. ETL certified with overload, short-circuit, over-current, over-voltage and overheating protection, per the listing, so safety scores 9 of 10. 1 year. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

KZNXCVI 16-in-1 Tower
A 16-device tower with 12 AC outlets, 4 USB ports and an auto-shutoff switch, with a 2-year warranty.
Pros
- 12 AC outlets plus 4 USB ports for up to 16 devices
- On-off switch with auto-shutoff is stated
- 10A overload protection is stated
- 2-year warranty is stated
Cons
- No joule rating is stated
- No certification is stated
- 6 ft cord is shorter than the CyberPower and TAGZILO
- Tower shape needs desk space
Detailed Review
KZNXCVI lists a 16-in-1 power strip tower with 12 AC outlets and 4 USB ports, including 2 USB-C, for up to 16 devices. The listing states 10A overload protection, an on-off switch that auto-shuts off, a 6 ft flat plug cord and a compact 3.2 by 3.2 by 5.8 in tower with non-slip rubber feet. A 2-year warranty is stated. No joule rating and no certification appear in the listing.
Who it's for: a crowded desk that needs the most device slots here. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a stated joule rating or certification.
Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 19/25, value 21/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 4/5: 79 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| AC + USB | 12 + 4 |
|---|---|
| Cord | 6 ft |
| Size | 3.2 x 3.2 x 5.8 in |
| Protection | 10A overload, auto-shutoff |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 18 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. 10A overload protection and an auto-shutoff switch are stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. 2 Years. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.
Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

HOPOW QV560-CU
A slim power strip with 5 AC outlets, 3 USB ports, 1700 joules and an ultra-thin flat plug.
Pros
- 1700 joules, the second-highest stated rating here
- 0.33 in ultra-thin plug with a 45-degree angle
- 5 AC outlets plus 3 USB ports with 2 USB-C
- Mounting holes for wall placement
Cons
- No certification is stated
- 5 AC outlets is the smallest count here
- 6 ft cord is shorter than the CyberPower and TAGZILO
- Spec table lists 16 A while the title lists 1250W
Detailed Review
HOPOW lists the QV560-CU as a slim power strip with 5 AC outlets and 3 USB ports, including 2 USB-C, a stated 1700-joule rating and a 6 ft flat cord. The plug is 0.33 in thin with a 45-degree angle, the strip is 9.65 by 1.7 in with 1.57 in outlet spacing, and two mounting holes are stated. One oddity: the spec table lists 16 A while the title lists 1250W; we report both as stated. A 1-year manufacturer warranty is stated, and no certification appears.
Who it's for: someone who needs a strip that hides behind furniture with a slim plug. Who should skip it: anyone who needs more than 5 AC outlets.
Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 79 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Joules | 1700J |
|---|---|
| AC + USB | 5 + 3 |
| Cord | 6 ft |
| Plug | 0.33 in, 45-degree |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 18 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. 1700-joule surge rating is stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 1 year manufacturer. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Compare the picks
| Surge protector | Office Score | Joules | Outlets + USB | Cord | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CyberPower CSB6012 | 9.7/10 | 1200J | 6 + 0 | 12 ft | Lifetime | View on Amazon |
| TAGZILO 15-in-1 Tower | 9.7/10 | 1800J | 12 + 3 | 10 ft | 2 years | View on Amazon |
| YISHU AHR-803 | 9.7/10 | 900J | 8 + 4 | 6 ft | 1 year | View on Amazon |
| KZNXCVI 16-in-1 Tower | 9.6/10 | Not stated | 12 + 4 | 6 ft | 2 years | View on Amazon |
| HOPOW QV560-CU | 9.6/10 | 1700J | 5 + 3 | 6 ft | 1 year | View on Amazon |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 18 October 2026. Two of the five state a certification; all five state a warranty term.
How we scored them
The Office Score weighs performance (joule rating, outlet and USB count, cord length), build (casing and plug), value for the stated specs, safety and warranty. For a surge protector, safety means a stated certification such as UL or ETL, or stated protection features; the CyberPower is UL listed, the YISHU is ETL certified, and the other three state protection features. Two listings state a 2-year warranty, two state a 1-year warranty, and the CyberPower states a limited lifetime warranty with a connected equipment guarantee. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Office Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CyberPower CSB6012 | 9.7 | 28 | 21 | 19 | 9 | 5 |
| TAGZILO 15-in-1 Tower | 9.7 | 33 | 20 | 22 | 7 | 4 |
| YISHU AHR-803 | 9.7 | 30 | 20 | 21 | 9 | 3 |
| KZNXCVI 16-in-1 Tower | 9.6 | 30 | 19 | 21 | 5 | 4 |
| HOPOW QV560-CU | 9.6 | 29 | 20 | 20 | 7 | 3 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best surge protector for laptop computer
Start with the joule rating
The joule rating is the headline number on a surge protector, and every figure here is the maker’s stated claim. The TAGZILO states 1800 joules, the HOPOW 1700 joules, the CyberPower 1200 joules and the YISHU 900 joules. The KZNXCVI states surge and overload protection but no joule figure, so there is nothing to compare on that line. Treat each rating as the maker’s claim and pick the highest stated number your setup needs.
Count outlets and USB ports
Add up what plugs in: laptop charger, monitor, phone, lamp, and anything else on the desk. The TAGZILO tower offers 12 AC outlets plus 3 USB ports, and the KZNXCVI tower offers 12 AC plus 4 USB. The YISHU cube offers 8 AC plus 4 USB, the HOPOW 5 AC plus 3 USB, and the CyberPower 6 AC outlets with no USB ports in its title and bullets. Note the oddity: the CyberPower spec table lists 6 USB ports, but the title and bullets describe 6 outlets and no USB, so we trust the title and bullets.
Check the cord and the plug
Cord length decides where the strip can live. The CyberPower gives 12 ft, the TAGZILO 10 ft, and the YISHU, HOPOW and KZNXCVI each give 6 ft. Four of the five use a flat 45-degree plug that sits close to the wall and leaves the second outlet of a duplex receptacle free; the CyberPower uses a straight plug. If the outlet hides behind a sofa or a desk, a flat plug and a longer cord earn their keep. Our surge protector for sensitive electronics guide covers more long-cord picks.
Read the certifications
Two listings state a certification. The CyberPower is UL listed with UL1363, UL1449 3rd Edition and cUL stated, and the YISHU states ETL certification. The HOPOW, TAGZILO and KZNXCVI state protection features such as overload, short-circuit and over-current protection without naming a certification body. A stated certification is the strongest safety line on a listing; protection features without one are still the maker’s claim. See also our surge protector for expensive electronics picks.
| Surge protector | Joules | AC + USB | Cord | Certification stated |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CyberPower CSB6012 | 1200J | 6 + 0 | 12 ft | UL listed |
| TAGZILO 15-in-1 Tower | 1800J | 12 + 3 | 10 ft | None |
| YISHU AHR-803 | 900J | 8 + 4 | 6 ft | ETL certified |
| KZNXCVI 16-in-1 Tower | Not stated | 12 + 4 | 6 ft | None |
| HOPOW QV560-CU | 1700J | 5 + 3 | 6 ft | None |
Figures as stated in each listing. The CyberPower USB count follows the title and bullets, not the spec table.
Read the warranty line
All five state a warranty term. The CyberPower states a limited lifetime warranty plus a connected equipment guarantee, the strongest line here. The TAGZILO and KZNXCVI each state 2 years, and the YISHU and HOPOW each state 1 year. An equipment guarantee is a separate promise from the warranty: it covers what is plugged in, not just the strip.
Setup Notes
- Measure the outlet distance first: cords here run 6, 10 and 12 ft, so pick the length that reaches without an extension.
- The YISHU and HOPOW have mounting holes and the CyberPower has keyhole slots for wall or under-desk mounting.
- Flat 45-degree plugs on four of the five sit close to the wall; the CyberPower uses a straight plug.
- No assembly is needed; plug the strip in and switch it on.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which has the highest stated joule rating?
The TAGZILO at 1800 joules, followed by the HOPOW at 1700 joules and the CyberPower at 1200 joules. The YISHU states 900 joules, and the KZNXCVI states no joule figure.
Which of these are certified?
The CyberPower is UL listed with UL1363, UL1449 3rd Edition and cUL stated, and the YISHU states ETL certification. The other three state protection features without naming a certification body.
Which have USB-C ports?
The TAGZILO lists a PD 20W USB-C port, the KZNXCVI lists 2 USB-C ports, the HOPOW lists 2 USB-C ports and the YISHU lists 1 USB-C port. The CyberPower lists no USB ports in its title and bullets.
Which has the longest cord?
The CyberPower at 12 ft, followed by the TAGZILO at 10 ft. The YISHU, HOPOW and KZNXCVI each state a 6 ft cord.
Do any cover connected equipment?
Yes, the CyberPower: its listing states a connected equipment guarantee alongside a limited lifetime warranty. The other four state a warranty on the strip only.
Can these be wall mounted?
The YISHU and HOPOW list mounting holes, and the CyberPower lists keyhole slots for wall or under-desk placement. The two towers are made to sit on a desk.
Related guides
See every surge protectors and cable management guide and all audio, power and connectivity guides. Also see our best surge protector for washing machine. Also see our best surge protector for large appliances.
More picks: docking stations and USB hubs, cable management for a standing desk.





