Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Home office gear, compared spec by spec.

Surge Protectors and Cable Management

Best Surge Protector for High End PC (2026): 5 Compared

Five surge protectors compared for high end PCs, by joule rating, outlets, USB ports, listing and warranty.

Best Surge Protector for High End PC (2026): 5 Compared

A summer storm rolls through and the lights flicker: that is the moment the best surge protector for high end pc earns its place. A surge protector soaks up the spike before it reaches your PC, monitor and peripherals. We compared five surge protectors on what each listing states: joule rating, outlets, USB ports, cord length, safety listing and warranty.

OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

The picks

VINTAR WSS-612 12-Outlet

VINTAR WSS-612 12-Outlet

VINTAR9.7/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 12-outlet surge protector with two 4800 joule protectors, an 1875W max output and a 6 ft cord, ETL listed with a 12 month replacement.

Pros

  • Two 4800 joule surge protectors with dual protection indicators
  • 12 AC outlets with 4 widely spaced for large adapters
  • ETL listed with a 6 ft heavy duty 14 AWG cord
  • 12 month replacement with 30 day return

Cons

  • 12 outlets may be more than a single PC setup needs
  • No USB ports are stated
  • Type 3 protection level stated; check your panel for whole-home coverage
  • Black only
Detailed Review

VINTAR lists the WSS-612 as a power strip surge protector with two 4800 joule surge protectors and dual indicators, reaching protection level Type 3. The listing states 12 AC outlets with 1875W max output, 8 regular plus 4 widely spaced outlets that fit large adapters, and a 6 ft ETL approved heavy duty cord. The flat plug, lighted on/off switch with integrated circuit breaker and 2 keyhole mounting slots round out the listing, which also notes a 30 day return and 12 month replacement.

Who it's for: PC owners who want maximum joule coverage with room for every peripheral. Who should skip it: anyone who needs USB charging built in.

Its Office Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 3/5: 83 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Surge Protection2 x 4800 joules
Outlets12 AC
Output1875W max
Cord6 ft, 14 AWG

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 19 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. ETL Listed stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. 12 month replacement stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Power and heat. Use the supplied adapter, treat power delivery wattage and display support as the maker's claims for your laptop model, and give the dock room to vent.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Belkin BP11223008 12-Outlet

Belkin BP11223008 12-Outlet

Belkin9.7/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 12-outlet surge protector with 8 rotating outlets, 4,320 joules, UL/cUL listing and a 2-year warranty.

Pros

  • 4,320 joules, the highest rating here
  • 12 outlets including 8 rotating ones
  • UL/cUL listed with fire resistant material
  • 2-year warranty plus connected equipment term

Cons

  • Spec table lists 220 volts while the plug is North American Type B
  • 2.5 lb unit to mount or place
  • Phone and coax protection unused in most theaters
  • Rotating outlets add moving parts
Detailed Review

Belkin lists the BP11223008 as a 12-outlet surge protector with 8 rotating and 4 standard outlets, 4,320 joules of protection, an 8-foot cord with a flat pivot plug, and phone plus coax protection. The listing states UL/cUL listing, an 8-point safety system with LED indicators, a 2-year warranty and a connected equipment warranty. Note a listing oddity: the spec table says 220 volts while the plug type is North American Type B. The listing is otherwise consistent.

Who it's for: full home theater walls that need the most outlets and joules with a top safety listing. Who should skip it: anyone put off by the voltage oddity in the spec table.

Its Office Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 81 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Joules4,320
Outlets12, 8 rotating
Cord8 ft
Warranty2 Year

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 18 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. UL/cUL Listed with a fire resistant material and an 8-point safety system are stated., so safety scores 7 of 10. The spec table lists a 2 Year warranty, plus a connected equipment warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

POWSAV NBW-903

POWSAV NBW-903

POWSAV9.6/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

An 18-outlet surge protector with 4 USB ports, a stated 2100J rating, ETL listing, a 6 ft flat-plug cord and a 12-month warranty.

Pros

  • 18 AC outlets is the most in this group, plus 4 USB ports
  • 2100J surge protection with overload protection stated
  • ETL safety certified with a protected indicator light
  • 6 ft flat-plug cord with reusable cable ties included

Cons

  • 2100J is lower than the 3480J and 4000J picks here
  • 12-month warranty is the shortest term in this group
  • 125V and 15A maximum; no per-port USB amperage is stated
  • 11.7 by 4.9 in footprint needs a wide spot behind the stand
Detailed Review

POWSAV lists an 18-outlet surge protector with 4 USB ports on a 6 ft flat-plug cord, rated 125V and 15A. The listing states 2100J of surge protection with overload protection, ETL safety certification, and a protected indicator light that shows when devices are protected. The over-current protection switch limits working current so the strip will not get hot in use, per the listing. The spec table lists an 11.7 by 4.9 in size and a 1-year warranty, matching the 12-month warranty in the bullets. One oddity: the spec table lists the enclosure material as Metal Oxide, which describes the surge protection component rather than the shell; the bullets describe a flame-retardant shell rated at 1382 F.

Who it's for: someone with a big entertainment center who needs the most AC outlets in one strip. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a higher joule rating or a longer warranty.

Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 22/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 81 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Joule rating2100J
Outlets18 AC + 4 USB
Cord6 ft, flat plug
Warranty12 months

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 18 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. ETL safety certified; overload protection switch stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 12-month warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

JUNNUJ 6-Outlet Metal

JUNNUJ 6-Outlet Metal

JUNNUJ9.6/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 6-outlet metal strip with 4,800 joules, EMI/RFI filter banks and ETL listing.

Pros

  • 4,800 joules stated
  • 3 EMI/RFI noise isolated banks
  • ETL listing stated
  • 1-year warranty stated

Cons

  • 1-year warranty is short
  • 6 outlets only
  • Yellow color only listed
  • No connected equipment policy stated
Detailed Review

JUNNUJ lists this 6-outlet metal power strip with a 4,800 joule rating, 3 EMI/RFI noise isolated filter banks, a 15A self-tripping breaker, and a 6ft 45-degree flat plug cord. The listing states ETL listing, status LEDs, wall-mount holes, and a 1-year warranty with a 30-day return policy.

Who it's for: anyone wanting the highest joule rating with noise isolation. Who should skip it: anyone wanting a long warranty term.

Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 3/5: 76 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Outlets6
Joules4800
CertificationETL stated
Warranty1 year

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 18 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. The listing states ETL listing., so safety scores 5 of 10. The listing states a 1-year warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Power and heat. Use the supplied adapter, treat power delivery wattage and display support as the maker's claims for your laptop model, and give the dock room to vent.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Monster Power Vertex

Monster Power Vertex

Monster9.5/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A surge protector with 3000 joules, 6 AC outlets and a detachable USB hub with 20W Power Delivery, on a 6 ft nylon-braided cord.

Pros

  • 3000 joule rating with LED protection indicator
  • Detachable USB hub with 2 USB-A and 1 USB-C ports
  • 20W Power Delivery on the USB-C port
  • 6 ft nylon-braided cord with flat plug

Cons

  • No safety listing such as ETL or UL is stated
  • No warranty term is stated
  • 6 outlets is the fewest among the full-size strips
  • The USB hub needs a 3M adhesive sticker to mount
Detailed Review

Monster lists the Power Vertex as a surge protector with 3000 joules, 6 AC outlets and a detachable USB power strip with 2 USB-A and 1 USB-C ports. The listing states a 20W Power Delivery output on the USB-C port, a 6 ft nylon-braided extension cord with a flat plug, and an LED indicator for protection and grounding. The USB hub detaches and mounts with a 3M adhesive sticker.

Who it's for: desk setups that need USB charging alongside surge protection. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a stated safety listing or warranty.

Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 73 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Surge3000 joules
Outlets6 AC
USB2 USB-A, 1 USB-C, 20W PD
Cord6 ft, nylon-braided

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 19 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. 3000 joule rating with LED protection indicator stated; no third-party safety listing is stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Power and heat. Use the supplied adapter, treat power delivery wattage and display support as the maker's claims for your laptop model, and give the dock room to vent.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

Compare the picks

Protector Office Score Joules Outlets Cord Listing Warranty Amazon
VINTAR WSS-612 12-Outlet 9.7/10 2 x 4800 12 6 ft ETL 12 month replacement View on Amazon
POWSAV 18-Outlet 9.6/10 2100 18 6 ft ETL Not stated
Monster Power Vertex 9.5/10 3000 6 6 ft Not stated Not stated View on Amazon
JUNNUJ 6-Outlet Metal 9.6/10 Not stated 6 Not stated Not stated Not stated View on Amazon
Belkin BP11223008 9.7/10 Not stated 12 Not stated Not stated Not stated

Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 19 October 2026. The VINTAR and POWSAV are the only two to state an ETL listing, and the VINTAR is the only one to state a warranty term.

How we scored them

The Office Score weighs performance (joule rating, outlets, USB), build, value, safety and warranty. Safety points go to stated listings and protection features: the VINTAR and POWSAV state ETL, and the Monster states its joule rating with an indicator. The VINTAR is the only one to state a warranty term. See How We Pick for the weights.

Product Office Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
VINTAR WSS-612 12-Outlet 9.7 30 21 21 8 3
Monster Power Vertex 9.5 28 20 20 5 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best surge protector for high end pc

Joules: how much protection is enough

Joules measure how much surge energy the protector can absorb, and this lineup spans 2100 to two 4800 joule protectors. The VINTAR lists two 4800 joule surge protectors with dual indicators, the Monster lists 3000 joules and the POWSAV lists 2100J. The JUNNUJ and Belkin listings state no joule rating at all. For a high end PC, more joules means a longer protective life before the components wear out, so the VINTAR leads on paper and the two with no rating trail it.

Outlets and USB ports

Count what you plug in: PC, monitor, speakers, printer, charger and more. The POWSAV lists 18 outlets, the most here, plus 4 USB ports. The VINTAR and Belkin list 12 outlets each, and the Monster and JUNNUJ list 6. The Monster adds a detachable USB hub with 2 USB-A and 1 USB-C ports and 20W Power Delivery on the USB-C port, handy for phones and tablets. The VINTAR notes 4 of its 12 outlets are widely spaced for large adapters. Match the outlet count to your desk, and treat USB ports as a bonus, not a requirement.

Cord length, plug and mounting

The VINTAR, POWSAV and Monster each list a 6 ft cord, so plan your desk around the nearest outlet. The VINTAR and Monster list flat plugs that fit behind furniture, and the VINTAR adds 2 keyhole mounting slots for wall mounting. The Monster cord is nylon-braided for wear resistance. The JUNNUJ and Belkin listings state no cord length, which is itself information: check before you buy if the outlet is far from the desk.

Listings, warranty and what is missing

Only the VINTAR and POWSAV state an ETL listing. Only the VINTAR states a warranty term, a 12 month replacement with a 30 day return. The Monster, JUNNUJ and Belkin listings state no safety listing and no warranty term. The VINTAR also lists a lighted on/off switch with an integrated circuit breaker for overload protection. When a listing is silent on joules, listing or warranty, as with the JUNNUJ and Belkin here, the price is the only argument left, and we do not publish prices.

Frequently Asked Questions

How many joules does a high end PC need?

The VINTAR lists two 4800 joule protectors, the Monster lists 3000 joules and the POWSAV lists 2100J. Higher joules mean more absorbed energy over the protector’s life, so more is better for expensive gear.

Do I need USB ports on a surge protector?

Not for the PC itself. The POWSAV lists 4 USB ports and the Monster a detachable hub with 20W Power Delivery, which are handy for phones and tablets on the same desk.

What does ETL listed mean?

ETL is a safety listing mark. The VINTAR and POWSAV listings state it; we report both as the maker’s claim. The other three listings state no safety listing.

Is a power strip the same as a surge protector?

No. A surge protector lists a joule rating for absorbing spikes. The JUNNUJ and Belkin listings state no joule rating, so they read as basic strips here.

Where should the protector sit?

Somewhere reachable: the VINTAR lists 2 keyhole mounting slots for the wall and a lighted on/off switch. Keep it off the floor and away from dust, and check the cord reaches your outlet.

VINTAR WSS-612 12-Outlet
Still deciding? Our top pickVINTAR WSS-612 12-Outlet
Check price on Amazon

See the surge protectors and cable management hub and our audio, power and connectivity guides.

More picks: docking stations and USB hubs, computer desks.