Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Home office gear, compared spec by spec.

Surge Protectors and Cable Management

Best Surge Protector for Network Equipment (2026): 5 Compared

Five surge protectors compared by outlets, surge ratings, Ethernet speed and mounting, for network racks and lightning-prone runs.

Best Surge Protector for Network Equipment (2026): 5 Compared

The best surge protector for network equipment starts with the threat: power-line surges for racks and lightning on Ethernet runs. We compared five protectors by outlets, surge ratings, speed and mounting, using only what each listing publishes.

OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

The picks

CyberPower

CyberPower

CyberPower9.6/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 120V/15A rackmount surge protector with 12 outlets, a 15 ft cord and a 3-year limited warranty.

Pros

  • 12 outlets, 6 front and 6 rear
  • 1U rackmount, vertical or horizontal
  • 15 ft power cord
  • 3-year limited warranty

Cons

  • No safety certification is stated
  • Rack use only
  • 5 pounds
  • No Ethernet protection
Detailed Review

CyberPower lists the CPS1215RMS as a 120V/15A rackmount surge protector for data centers, network closets and VoIP phone systems, with 12 NEMA 5-15R outlets (6 front, 6 rear) and a 15 ft power cord. The bullets describe network-grade plugs and outlets, an industrial-grade metal housing, a cord retention tray and a 3-year limited warranty. No safety certification is stated.

Who it's for: someone who needs rack power protection with many outlets. Who should skip it: anyone who needs Ethernet surge protection.

Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 24/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 2/5: 79 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Outlets12
Rating120V/15A
Cord15 ft
Warranty3-year limited

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 18 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. No UL, FCC or over-current protection statement is stated, so safety scores zero. 3-year limited warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.

Power and heat. Use the supplied adapter, treat power delivery wattage and display support as the maker's claims for your laptop model, and give the dock room to vent.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Awishwell

Awishwell

Awishwell9.5/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 2-pack of gigabit Ethernet surge protectors with 20KA peak, 10KV protection and PoE++ support.

Pros

  • 20KA peak, 10KV protection
  • Gigabit speeds
  • PoE++ 802.3af/at/bt
  • 2-pack with mounting flange

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • No safety certification is stated
  • Ethernet only
  • Needs grounding
Detailed Review

Awishwell lists the Ethernet surge protector as a 2-pack with gigabit speeds up to 1000 Mbps, PoE++ 802.3af/at/bt compatibility, 10KV surge protection and 20KA peak surge current at 8/20 microseconds. The bullets describe 8-wire line protection, response time of 1 ns or less, an aluminum housing and a gas discharge tube. No warranty term is stated.

Who it's for: someone who wants the highest stated surge rating on Ethernet. Who should skip it: anyone who needs power-outlet protection.

Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 22/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 75 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Surge20KA, 10KV
SpeedGigabit
PoEPoE++
WarrantyNot stated

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 18 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Power and heat. Use the supplied adapter, treat power delivery wattage and display support as the maker's claims for your laptop model, and give the dock room to vent.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

WatchfulEyE

WatchfulEyE

WatchfulEyE9.5/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 10-pack of gigabit Ethernet surge protectors with GDT plus TVS protection and PoE up to 90W.

Pros

  • 10-pack
  • Gigabit speeds
  • GDT plus TVS protection
  • PoE up to 90W

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • No safety certification is stated
  • Ethernet only
  • DIN-rail mounting only
Detailed Review

WatchfulEyE lists the WTH-SG/RJ45-S as a 10-pack of in-line Ethernet surge protectors with 100/1000Mbps data rate, IEC 61000-4-5 compliance and full GDT plus TVS surge protection. The spec table lists PoE up to 90W, DIN-rail mounting and an ABS enclosure. No warranty term is stated.

Who it's for: someone who needs many Ethernet protectors at once. Who should skip it: anyone who needs power-outlet protection.

Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 22/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 73 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Pack10
Speed100/1000Mbps
PoEUp to 90W
WarrantyNot stated

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 18 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. No UL, FCC or over-current protection statement is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Power and heat. Use the supplied adapter, treat power delivery wattage and display support as the maker's claims for your laptop model, and give the dock room to vent.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

CERRXIAN 2-Pack

CERRXIAN 2-Pack

CERRXIAN9.5/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 2-pack of RJ45 Ethernet surge protectors with 8 TVS suppressors and 100Mbps data rate.

Pros

  • 2-pack
  • 8 TVS suppressors
  • Doubles as RJ45 coupler
  • Plug and play

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • No safety certification is stated
  • 100Mbps only
  • Ethernet only
Detailed Review

CERRXIAN lists the Ethernet surge protector as a 2-pack of RJ45 female-to-female suppressors with a 100Mbps data rate and 8 built-in TVS anti-detonators against lightning and abnormal current. The bullets describe plug-and-play use with no in or out side, shielded interfaces and flame-retardant PC material. No warranty term is stated.

Who it's for: someone who wants a simple 2-pack for 100Mbps runs. Who should skip it: anyone who needs gigabit speeds.

Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 70 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Pack2
Speed100Mbps
Protection8 TVS
WarrantyNot stated

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 18 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Power and heat. Use the supplied adapter, treat power delivery wattage and display support as the maker's claims for your laptop model, and give the dock room to vent.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

CERRXIAN

CERRXIAN

CERRXIAN9.4/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A single-line RJ45 Ethernet surge protector for 10/100M BASET equipment with multi-level protection.

Pros

  • Single data line protection
  • Multi-level protection circuit
  • Low capacitance design
  • Plug and play

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • No safety certification is stated
  • 10/100M only
  • Single unit
Detailed Review

CERRXIAN lists the surge protector as a single-data-line suppressor for Ethernet 10/100M BASET equipment such as switches, hubs and routers. The bullets describe a multi-level protection circuit, low capacitance design, fast response, low residual voltage and identical RJ45 interfaces on both sides. No warranty term is stated.

Who it's for: someone who needs one line protected on 10/100M gear. Who should skip it: anyone who needs gigabit or a multi-pack.

Its Office Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 69 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Lines1
Speed10/100M
InterfaceRJ45
WarrantyNot stated

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 18 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Power and heat. Use the supplied adapter, treat power delivery wattage and display support as the maker's claims for your laptop model, and give the dock room to vent.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

Compare the picks

Protector Office Score Type Protection Outlets/Pack Amazon
CyberPower 9.6/10 Rackmount PDU Surge 12 outlets View on Amazon
Awishwell 9.5/10 Ethernet 20KA, 10KV 2-pack View on Amazon
WatchfulEyE 9.5/10 Ethernet GDT+TVS 10-pack View on Amazon
CERRXIAN 2-Pack 9.5/10 Ethernet 8 TVS 2-pack View on Amazon
CERRXIAN 9.4/10 Ethernet Multi-level 1 View on Amazon

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 18 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Office Score weighs performance (outlets, surge ratings and speed), build (housing and mounting), value for the stated specs, safety and warranty. Only the CyberPower states a warranty term, so most of the score rests on protection specs. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Office Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
CyberPower 9.6 32 24 21 0 2
Awishwell 9.5 32 22 21 0 0
WatchfulEyE 9.5 30 22 21 0 0
CERRXIAN 2-Pack 9.5 28 21 21 0 0
CERRXIAN 9.4 28 20 21 0 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best surge protector for network equipment

Pick power or Ethernet protection

The CyberPower is a 120V/15A rackmount unit with 12 outlets for data centers and network closets. The other four are in-line Ethernet protectors: the Awishwell and WatchfulEyE support gigabit speeds, while the two CERRXIAN models list 100Mbps and 10/100M. Protect the power feed and the data lines separately. For computer gear, see our best surge protector for computer equipment.

Check the surge ratings

The Awishwell lists 20KA peak surge current and 10KV surge protection with a response time of 1 ns or less. The WatchfulEyE lists full GDT plus TVS protection with IEC 61000-4-5 compliance. The CERRXIAN 2-pack lists 8 TVS anti-detonators. Higher ratings suit lightning-prone runs. For expensive electronics, see our best surge protector for expensive electronics.

Match the speed and PoE

The Awishwell and WatchfulEyE support gigabit Ethernet; the WatchfulEyE lists PoE up to 90W and the Awishwell lists PoE++ 802.3af/at/bt. The CERRXIAN models list 100Mbps and 10/100M BASET. Match the protector to your switch and camera speeds.

Look at mounting and pack size

The CyberPower mounts vertically or horizontally in a 1U rack with a 15 ft cord. The WatchfulEyE is a 10-pack with DIN-rail mounting. The Awishwell and CERRXIAN 2-pack come as 2-packs with mounting flanges. The single CERRXIAN protects one data line. For printer setups, see our best surge protector for computer and printer.

Setup Notes

  • Mount the CyberPower vertically or horizontally in the rack.
  • Insert the Ethernet protector in-line on the network cable (CERRXIAN, Awishwell).
  • Ground the protector as the listing directs (CERRXIAN).
  • Check PoE compatibility before protecting camera runs (WatchfulEyE, Awishwell).

Frequently Asked Questions

Which is a rackmount unit?

The CyberPower, a 1U rackmount with 12 outlets and a 15 ft cord.

Which has the highest surge rating?

The Awishwell at 20KA peak and 10KV, with a 1 ns or less response time.

Which support gigabit?

The Awishwell and the WatchfulEyE both list gigabit speeds.

Which states a warranty?

The CyberPower lists a 3-year limited warranty. The others state none.

CyberPower
Still deciding? Our top pickCyberPower
Check price on Amazon

See every surge protectors and cable management guide and all connectivity guides. Also see our best surge protector for computer equipment. Also see our best surge protector for expensive electronics.

More picks: protectors for computer and printer, connectivity, protectors for entertainment center.