A pinball machine is a cabinet full of delicate electronics: driver boards, displays, coils and lamps that all share one wall outlet. One bad surge and the game goes dark. Boards and displays are the expensive parts to replace, so protection is cheap insurance against a dead cabinet. The best surge protector for pinball machine owners is the one whose outlets, joule rating, clamping voltage and safety listing match the machine it guards, so we compared five protectors using only what each listing publishes.
OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall Monoprice 12-Outlet Rotating: 12 outlets, 4320J, 330V clamping, UL rated Check price on Amazon
Best 2-Pack Cable Matters 2-Pack: Two single outlets, 1350J, ETL listed Check price on Amazon
Best with Delay Ortis Double Outlet: 3-minute delay, live voltage display Check price on Amazon
Best Simple 12-Outlet Belkin BP11223008: 12-outlet strip Check price on Amazon
Best 8-Outlet ECHOGEAR ShockBlocker: 8-outlet ShockBlocker Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Office Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Belkin BP11223008 12-Outlet | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | Monoprice 12-Outlet Rotating | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | Cable Matters 2-Pack | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | Ortis Double Outlet | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | ECHOGEAR ShockBlocker 8-Outlet | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |

Belkin BP11223008 12-Outlet
A 12-outlet surge protector with 8 rotating outlets, 4,320 joules, UL/cUL listing and a 2-year warranty.
Pros
- 4,320 joules, the highest rating here
- 12 outlets including 8 rotating ones
- UL/cUL listed with fire resistant material
- 2-year warranty plus connected equipment term
Cons
- Spec table lists 220 volts while the plug is North American Type B
- 2.5 lb unit to mount or place
- Phone and coax protection unused in most theaters
- Rotating outlets add moving parts
Detailed Review
Belkin lists the BP11223008 as a 12-outlet surge protector with 8 rotating and 4 standard outlets, 4,320 joules of protection, an 8-foot cord with a flat pivot plug, and phone plus coax protection. The listing states UL/cUL listing, an 8-point safety system with LED indicators, a 2-year warranty and a connected equipment warranty. Note a listing oddity: the spec table says 220 volts while the plug type is North American Type B. The listing is otherwise consistent.
Who it's for: full home theater walls that need the most outlets and joules with a top safety listing. Who should skip it: anyone put off by the voltage oddity in the spec table.
Its Office Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 81 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Joules | 4,320 |
|---|---|
| Outlets | 12, 8 rotating |
| Cord | 8 ft |
| Warranty | 2 Year |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 18 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. UL/cUL Listed with a fire resistant material and an 8-point safety system are stated., so safety scores 7 of 10. The spec table lists a 2 Year warranty, plus a connected equipment warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Monoprice 12-Outlet Rotating
A 12-outlet rotating surge protector with a heavy-duty cord for a full game room.
Pros
- 12 rotating outlets fit bulky plugs
- 4320J with 330V clamping voltage
- UL rated with a protected-light indicator
- Heavy-duty cord reaches past the machine
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- Title and spec table disagree on outlet count
- Title and spec table disagree on cord length
- A big block for one machine
Detailed Review
Monoprice lists this as a 12-outlet rotating surge protector block with 4320 joules, 330V clamping voltage, a UL rating and a 10-foot heavy-duty cord. The spec table disagrees twice: it lists 8 outlets and a 6 ft cord length, and the extracted joule figures include both 4320 and 3420. Per the brief we trust the title and bullets, so the card reports 12 outlets, a 10-foot cord and 4320 joules.
The conflict is a concrete reason to read the listing yourself before buying, but on stated specs alone this is the strongest pick here: the highest joule rating, the lowest clamping voltage and the only UL rating in the group.
Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 9/10 and warranty 0/5: 82 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Outlets | 12 rotating |
|---|---|
| Joule rating | 4320 |
| Clamping voltage | 330V |
| Certification | UL rated |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 18 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. UL rated with 330V clamping voltage and a protected-light indicator, so safety scores 9 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- Two protectors in the pack
- 1350J, 500V clamping, ETL listed
- LED shows protection status
- Plugs straight into the wall, no cord
Cons
- One outlet per unit
- No cord means it must sit at the outlet
- No warranty term is stated
- Wall-plug format only
Detailed Review
Cable Matters lists a 2-pack of single-outlet surge protectors with 1350 joules, a 500V clamping voltage, 15A and 1875W, ETL listed, with an LED that shows protection status. The wall-plug format removes the need for a cord or strip.
It suits a machine parked near an outlet but not one across the room, since there is no cord to reach. As a 2-pack it covers the machine and one more appliance, which earns it the runner-up spot.
Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 0/5: 76 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Outlets | 1 per unit, 2-pack |
|---|---|
| Joule rating | 1350 |
| Clamping voltage | 500V |
| Rating | 15A, 1875W |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 18 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. ETL listed with 500V clamping voltage and an LED protection indicator, so safety scores 8 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- 3-minute delay after power returns
- Live voltage, current and power display
- Two outlets for machine plus accessories
- Manual bypass for any voltage
Cons
- No joule rating is stated
- No clamping voltage is stated
- No certification is stated
- No warranty term is stated
Detailed Review
Ortis lists a double-outlet protector that guards against high and low voltage, spikes, brownouts and power failure, with a 3-minute time delay after voltage returns to normal and a real-time display of voltage, current and accumulated power. Indicators cover normal, high voltage at 135VAC, low voltage at 90VAC and the time delay.
It is the only pick here with a delay function, which is a real advantage on unstable power. But the listing states no joule rating, no clamping voltage and no certification, so it scores below the two certified picks on protection specs.
Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 27/35, build 19/25, value 19/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 72 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Outlets | 2 |
|---|---|
| Delay | 3 minutes |
| Indicators | 135VAC high, 90VAC low |
| Display | Voltage, current and power |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 18 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Indicators for high voltage (135VAC), low voltage (90VAC) and time delay, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

ECHOGEAR ShockBlocker 8-Outlet
An 8-outlet UL-certified surge protector with 3,420 joules, fire-resistant MOVs and a slim wall-mountable design.
Pros
- 3,420 joules of surge protection
- UL certified with fire-resistant MOVs
- Slim 1.25-inch profile, wall mountable
- 5-year connected equipment warranty stated
Cons
- Only 8 outlets, the fewest here
- 5-year term covers equipment, not the unit itself
- 1.25-inch profile limits plug clearance behind TVs
- Paper listed as enclosure material is unusual
Detailed Review
ECHOGEAR lists the ShockBlocker as an 8-outlet surge protector with 3,420 joules, 2 USB-A ports, a slim 1.25-inch profile and wall mounting. The listing states UL certification, fire-resistant MOVs, safety outlet covers, and a 5-year connected equipment warranty. Note the warranty covers connected equipment rather than the unit itself. The listing is consistent.
Who it's for: TV and gaming setups that want a slim UL-certified strip with equipment coverage. Who should skip it: full theater walls needing 12 outlets.
Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 27/35, build 19/25, value 20/25, safety 6/10 and warranty 3/5: 75 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Joules | 3,420 |
|---|---|
| Outlets | 8 + 2 USB-A |
| Profile | 1.25 in slim |
| Warranty | 5-yr equipment |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 18 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. UL certified with fire-resistant MOVs stated., so safety scores 6 of 10. The listing states a 5-year connected equipment warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
BSEED Voltage ProtectorCheck on Amazon
Fosmon Refrigerator Surge ProtectorCheck on Amazon
CCCEI 3 Outlets Heavy Duty Surge ProtectorCheck on Amazon
CyberPower CSP6WSUC Surge ProtectorCheck on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Product | Office Score | Outlets | Joule rating | Clamping voltage | Certification | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Monoprice 12-Outlet Rotating | 9.6/10 | 12 | 4320 | 330V | UL rated | View on Amazon |
| Cable Matters 2-Pack | 9.6/10 | 1 per unit | 1350 | 500V | ETL listed | View on Amazon |
| Ortis Double Outlet | 9.5/10 | 2 | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| Belkin BP11223008 | 9.7/10 | 12 | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | |
| ECHOGEAR ShockBlocker | 9.5/10 | 8 | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 18 October 2026. Two of the five state a safety certification; none of the five states a warranty term.
How we scored them
The Office Score weighs performance (outlets, joule rating, clamping voltage and extra functions), build (cord, enclosure and plug type), value for the stated specs, safety and warranty. For a surge protector, safety means a stated certification or listed protection features; the Monoprice is UL rated and the Cable Matters is ETL listed, while the Ortis, Belkin and ECHOGEAR state no certification. No listing here states a warranty term. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Office Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Monoprice 12-Outlet Rotating | 9.6 | 32 | 21 | 20 | 9 | 0 |
| Cable Matters 2-Pack | 9.6 | 28 | 20 | 20 | 8 | 0 |
| Ortis Double Outlet | 9.5 | 27 | 19 | 19 | 7 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best surge protector for pinball machine
Start with the joule rating
The joule rating is the headline number on a surge protector: the Monoprice states 4320 and the Cable Matters states 1350, while the Ortis, Belkin and ECHOGEAR listings state no joule rating at all. A higher stated rating absorbs more energy before the protector is spent, so if the listing does not state one, you are buying blind. Our best surge protector for desktop computer guide walks through the same rating for office gear.
Check the clamping voltage
Only two listings state a clamping voltage: the Monoprice at 330V and the Cable Matters at 500V. The other three state none. A lower stated clamping voltage means the protector reacts earlier, which is what you want guarding boards and displays. When a listing states neither a joule rating nor a clamping voltage, compare it on outlets and build alone, as we did with the Belkin and ECHOGEAR picks. See our best surge protector for cable management for more on reading these specs.
Count outlets and mind the cord
A pinball machine needs one plug, but a game room usually grows: a topper, a shaker motor, a streaming camera, a stool lamp. The Monoprice and Belkin each state 12 outlets, the ECHOGEAR states 8, the Ortis states 2, and the Cable Matters gives 1 outlet per unit in a 2-pack. The Monoprice also lists a heavy-duty cord, while the Cable Matters and Ortis plug straight into the wall with no cord to route. Measure from the machine to the nearest outlet before you pick a side.
| Protector | Outlets | Joule rating | Clamping voltage | Certification |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Monoprice 12-Outlet Rotating | 12 | 4320 | 330V | UL rated |
| Cable Matters 2-Pack | 1 per unit | 1350 | 500V | ETL listed |
| Ortis Double Outlet | 2 | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Belkin BP11223008 | 12 | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| ECHOGEAR ShockBlocker | 8 | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Figures as stated in each listing. The Monoprice title and spec table disagree on outlet count and cord length; we report the title’s figures in the card and note the conflict in the review.
Delay and monitoring for sensitive gear
The Ortis is the only pick with a delay function: after voltage returns to normal, it waits 3 minutes to confirm the line is stable before reconnecting, which stops the machine switching on and off during flickers. It also shows live voltage, current and accumulated power, with indicators for high voltage at 135VAC and low voltage at 90VAC, plus a manual bypass. If your games sit in a garage or an older house with wobbly power, that delay is worth more than extra outlets. Power in those rooms flickers more often, and a machine that loses power mid-game can wear its boards or drop its settings. The Ortis is the only pick here that waits out the flicker instead of passing it straight to the machine.
Read the safety line, not the headline
Two listings state a certification. The Monoprice is UL rated and lists a protected-light indicator; the Cable Matters is ETL listed with an LED that shows protection status. The Ortis, Belkin and ECHOGEAR state no certification, so their protection claims rest on the maker’s word alone. We report each as stated and score safety accordingly.
Setup Notes
- Measure from the machine’s back box to the nearest outlet; the Monoprice lists a heavy-duty cord, the Cable Matters and Ortis plug in with no cord.
- Count every plug the machine room will hold: machine, accessories and lighting, then match the outlet count.
- Keep the protector where its indicator is visible; the Monoprice, Cable Matters and Ortis each state a protection or status light.
- Plug the machine into a grounded outlet; all three plug-in listings state a 3-prong grounded plug.
Frequently Asked Questions
How many outlets does a pinball machine need?
One for the machine itself. The Monoprice and Belkin state 12 outlets and the ECHOGEAR states 8 for accessories, while the Ortis states 2 and the Cable Matters gives 1 outlet per unit in its 2-pack.
What does the 3-minute delay do?
On the Ortis, after voltage returns to normal, the protector waits 3 minutes to confirm the line is stable before reconnecting the machine, so it does not switch on and off during fluctuations.
Which lists the highest joule rating?
The Monoprice states 4320J and the Cable Matters states 1350J. The Ortis, Belkin and ECHOGEAR listings state no joule rating.
Are any of these certified?
The Monoprice is UL rated and the Cable Matters is ETL listed. The Ortis, Belkin and ECHOGEAR listings state no certification.
Which lists a clamping voltage?
The Monoprice states 330V and the Cable Matters states 500V. The other three listings state no clamping voltage.
Related guides
See every surge protector and cable management guide and all connectivity guides. Also see our best surge protector for dorm room.
More picks: power strip for desk, surge protector for appliances, more surge protectors.






