Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Home office gear, compared spec by spec.

Surge Protectors and Cable Management

Best Surge Protector for RTX 5090 (2026): 5 Picks Compared

Five surge protectors compared by joule rating, outlet count, USB charging and stated certifications to find the right one for a busy home office desk.

Best Surge Protector for RTX 5090 (2026): 5 Picks Compared

Nine in the morning, the video call is loading, and the strip behind my desk is doing the real work: monitor, dock, chargers, all of it running off a single wall outlet. The best surge protector for rtx 5090 setups is the one that pairs a high joule rating with enough spaced outlets to fit big adapter bricks without blocking their neighbors. We compared five surge protector power strips by joule rating, outlet count and spacing, USB charging, cord length, stated safety certifications and warranty terms, using only what each Amazon listing publishes.

OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • CCCEI AN-B44-20
    Top Pick CCCEI AN-B44-20: 4800J, individual outlet switches, 2-year warranty, 12-gauge 12 ft cord Check price on Amazon
  • Alestor PS951
    Runner-Up Alestor PS951: 2700J 3-level circuit, 12 outlets plus 4 USB ports, ETL certified Check price on Amazon
  • PLUGTUL 12-Outlet Strip
    Best for Tight Spaces PLUGTUL 12-Outlet Strip: 4080J, UL 1449, 20W USB-C port, flat plug for behind furniture Check price on Amazon
  • Chiefway CWPS-16
    Most Outlets Chiefway CWPS-16: 16 outlets and 6 USB ports, 10 ft cord with a flat plug Check price on Amazon
  • Amazon Basics AS-12SX-D00
    Best Simple Pick Amazon Basics AS-12SX-D00: 4000J and 12 outlets with a 15 amp breaker, no USB ports stated Check price on Amazon

The picks

CCCEI AN-B44-20

CCCEI AN-B44-20

CCCEI9.7/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A four-outlet heavy-duty strip with 4800 joules of surge protection, an individual switch on every outlet, a master switch, and a stated 2-year manufacturer warranty.

Pros

  • 4800J surge protection is the highest joule rating in this group
  • Each of the four outlets has its own overload protection switch, plus a master overload switch
  • 12-gauge 12 ft extension cord rated for 125V/15A/1875W, stated with pure copper conductors
  • ETL certified, with an aluminum housing listed as flame-retardant

Cons

  • Only four outlets, the fewest in this group
  • No USB charging ports are stated
  • The spec table lists both a 15 A maximum current and a 20 A amperage; the bullets repeat 15 A, so we trust that figure
  • The spec table's plug type field (Type A) disagrees with its own power plug type field (Type B, 3 pin)
Detailed Review

CCCEI lists a heavy-duty strip with four outlets, each with an individual overload protection switch, plus a master overload switch, and a built-in 4800J surge protector. The 12-gauge cord runs 12 ft and is rated for 125V/15A/1875W with pure copper conductors, the housing is aluminum and listed as flame-retardant, and the listing states ETL certification, grounding protection and indicator lights with a switch indicator light. Two contradictions are worth noting: the spec table gives both a 15 A maximum current and a 20 A amperage, and the bullets repeat 15 A, so we trust the bullets; the same table also lists the plug type as Type A while the power plug type is Type B (3 pin North American). The spec table states a 2 Year Manufacturer warranty.

Who it's for: someone who wants the highest stated joule rating here, per-outlet switches, and a warranty term in writing. Who should skip it: anyone who needs more than four outlets or USB charging, which this listing does not state.

Its Office Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 9/10 and warranty 4/5: 86 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Joule rating4800
Outlets4
Cord length12 ft
Warranty2 Year Manufacturer

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. ETL certified; overload and grounding protection are stated, so safety scores 9 of 10. 2 Year Manufacturer warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.

Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Alestor PS951

Alestor PS951

Alestor9.6/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 12-outlet strip with 4 USB ports (one USB-C), a 2700-joule 3-level surge circuit and a stated 24-month warranty.

Pros

  • 2700J surge circuit combines TVS, MOV and GDT stages, per the listing
  • 12 AC outlets plus 4 USB ports, with 2-inch spacing on two outlets for large adapters
  • USB ports total 3.4A/17W, with 2.4A max per USB-A port and 3A max on the USB-C port
  • ETL certified, with a shell listed as flame retardant at 1382 degrees F

Cons

  • 2700J is lower than the 4000J-plus ratings of three others here
  • 6 ft cord is shorter than three of the four others here
  • Only two of the twelve outlets have the 2-inch spacing
  • The spec table lists the enclosure material as Metal Oxide, which describes the surge component rather than the housing
Detailed Review

Alestor lists 12 AC outlets and 4 USB ports (5V/3.4A, 17W total, with 2.4A max per USB-A port and 3A max on the USB-C port) on a 6 ft heavy-duty cord rated 1875W/15A. The surge circuit is a 3-level design combining TVS, MOV and GDT with a 2700J capacity, and the listing states ETL certification, an overcurrent protection switch and a flame-retardant shell rated at 1382 degrees F. Two of the outlets have 2-inch spacing for large adapters, and the stated dimensions are 11 by 3.9 inches. The What You Get note promises a 30-day return and a worry-free 24-month term, which we score as a warranty. One oddity: the spec table lists the enclosure material as Metal Oxide, which reads as the surge component rather than the housing material, so treat the housing material as not clearly stated.

Who it's for: someone who wants USB charging built into the strip and ETL certification on a compact 6 ft cord. Who should skip it: anyone who needs the highest joule rating or more than two wide-spaced outlets.

Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 79 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Joule rating2700
Outlets12
USB ports4
Cord length6 ft

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. ETL certified; 3-level surge circuit with overload protection, so safety scores 7 of 10. 24-month worry-free warranty is stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

PLUGTUL 12-Outlet Strip

PLUGTUL 12-Outlet Strip

PLUGTUL9.6/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 12-outlet strip with a 20W USB-C port, 4080 joules of 3-line surge protection and a flat plug for tight spaces.

Pros

  • 4080J surge protection across line-neutral, line-ground and neutral-ground
  • ETL listed and conforms to UL 1363 and UL 1449
  • USB-C PD port delivers 20W, alongside two USB-A ports
  • 14-gauge SJTW cord rated for 15A and 1875W, with a flat plug

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • 5 ft cord is shorter than all the others here
  • The bullets call it a 15-in-1 hub while the spec table lists 12 ports; the bullets' count of 12 AC plus 3 USB matches 15
  • The plug type fields disagree (Type A versus Type B, 3 pin), so treat the plug shape as not clearly stated
Detailed Review

PLUGTUL lists 12 AC outlets with extra-wide spacing, one USB-C port with 20W PD output and two USB-A ports, all on a 5 ft 14-gauge SJTW cord rated for 15A and 1875W. The surge protection is 4080J across three lines (line-neutral, line-ground and neutral-ground), and the listing states ETL listed status with conformance to UL 1363 and UL 1449, plus overload and short-circuit protection. The flat plug is aimed at tight spaces behind furniture. Two contradictions: the bullets call it a 15-in-1 hub while the spec table lists 12 ports, and 12 AC plus 3 USB is 15, so we trust the bullets; the spec table also lists both Type A and Type B (3 pin) plug types. No warranty term appears in the listing.

Who it's for: someone who wants a certified strip with fast USB-C charging and a flat plug behind a desk. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a longer cord than 5 ft or a warranty term in writing.

Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 9/10 and warranty 0/5: 80 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Joule rating4080
Outlets12
USB ports3
Cord length5 ft

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. ETL listed; conforms to UL 1363 and UL 1449; overload and short-circuit protection stated, so safety scores 9 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Chiefway CWPS-16

Chiefway CWPS-16

Chiefway9.5/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 16-outlet strip with 6 USB ports on a 4-sided body, 1.7-inch outlet spacing and a 10 ft flat-plug cord.

Pros

  • 16 outlets is the most here, spread over the front, both sides and the bottom
  • 6 USB ports: three USB-A and three USB-C
  • 1.7-inch spacing between outlets fits bulky adapters
  • 10 ft cord with an ultra-thin 0.5-inch flat plug fits behind furniture

Cons

  • 2400J is the lowest joule rating here
  • No safety certification is stated
  • No warranty term is stated
  • No wall-mount option is stated
Detailed Review

Chiefway lists 16 widely spaced outlets (8 front, 3 on each side, 2 on the bottom) on a body measuring 8.8 by 6.7 by 2.1 inches, plus 6 USB ports split into three USB-A and three USB-C. The 10 ft cord carries an ultra-thin 0.5-inch flat plug with a 45-degree right-angle design, and the strip is rated 1875W/15A. The listing states 2400J surge protection with overload protection, short-circuit protection, grounding and fire-resistant materials, plus surge and grounding indicator lights. The USB output is stated as 5V/3.1A total for the USB-A group and 5V/3.1A total for the USB-C group. No safety certification and no warranty term appear in the listing.

Who it's for: someone with many devices who wants the most outlets and the most USB ports here on one long cord. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a stated certification, a warranty term, or the highest joule rating.

Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 19/25, value 20/25, safety 6/10 and warranty 0/5: 73 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Joule rating2400
Outlets16
USB ports6
Cord length10 ft

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Overload protection, short-circuit protection, grounding and fire-resistant materials are stated; no certification is stated, so safety scores 6 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Amazon Basics AS-12SX-D00

Amazon Basics AS-12SX-D00

Amazon Basics9.5/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A plain 12-outlet strip with 4000 joules of surge protection, an 8 ft cord and a 15 amp circuit breaker.

Pros

  • 4000J is the second-highest joule rating here
  • 12 outlets with a power on/off switch and back keyhole wall mount
  • 8 ft cord; item weight of 1.8 lb is the only weight stated here
  • 15 amp circuit breaker and flame-retardant PC material are stated

Cons

  • No safety certification is stated
  • No warranty term is stated
  • No USB ports are stated
  • No outlet spacing figure is stated
Detailed Review

Amazon Basics lists a 12-outlet strip with 4000 joules of surge protection on an 8 ft cord, rated for 125 volts with a 15 amp circuit breaker. The listing states a PC flame-retardant material, a power on/off switch and a back keyhole wall mount, and gives an item weight of 1.8 lb. The listing is short: beyond the outlet count, cord length, breaker and material, it states little else. No safety certification, no warranty term and no USB ports are stated.

Who it's for: someone who wants a plain high-joule strip with 12 outlets and no extra features. Who should skip it: anyone who needs USB charging, a stated certification or a warranty term.

Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 19/25, value 20/25, safety 4/10 and warranty 0/5: 71 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Joule rating4000
Outlets12
USB portsNot stated
Cord length8 ft

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. 15 amp circuit breaker and flame-retardant material are stated; no certification is stated, so safety scores 4 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

Compare the picks

Surge protector Office Score Joule rating Outlets USB ports Cord length Amazon
CCCEI AN-B44-20 9.7/10 4800 4 Not stated 12 ft View on Amazon
Alestor PS951 9.6/10 2700 12 4 6 ft View on Amazon
PLUGTUL 12-Outlet Strip 9.6/10 4080 12 3 5 ft View on Amazon
Chiefway CWPS-16 9.5/10 2400 16 6 10 ft View on Amazon
Amazon Basics AS-12SX-D00 9.5/10 4000 12 Not stated 8 ft View on Amazon

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 20 October 2026. Three of the five state ETL certification; two state a warranty term.

How we scored them

The Office Score weighs performance (joule rating, outlet count and spacing, USB charging), build (housing material, cord gauge and length), value for the stated specs, safety and warranty. For a surge protector, safety means a stated joule rating plus certifications like ETL or UL 1449 and stated features such as overload protection; the CCCEI, Alestor and PLUGTUL state one or more of these. Two listings state a warranty term: CCCEI at 2 years and Alestor at 24 months. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Office Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
CCCEI AN-B44-20 9.7 32 21 20 9 4
Alestor PS951 9.6 29 20 20 7 3
PLUGTUL 12-Outlet Strip 9.6 30 21 20 9 0
Chiefway CWPS-16 9.5 28 19 20 6 0
Amazon Basics AS-12SX-D00 9.5 28 19 20 4 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best surge protector for rtx 5090

Start with joule rating and certifications

Joule rating is the one number that tells you how much surge energy the strip claims to absorb. In this group the ratings run from 2400J on the Chiefway to 4800J on the CCCEI, with the Alestor at 2700J, the PLUGTUL at 4080J and the Amazon Basics at 4000J. A certification adds a second check: the CCCEI is ETL certified, the Alestor is ETL certified, and the PLUGTUL is ETL listed and states conformance to UL 1363 and UL 1449. The Chiefway and Amazon Basics state no certification at all, so on paper their protection claims stand alone.

Count outlets, spacing and USB ports

Twelve outlets is the common layout here (Alestor, PLUGTUL, Amazon Basics), the Chiefway stretches to 16 across four sides, and the CCCEI offers four with individual switches. Wide spacing matters when adapter bricks eat two sockets: the Alestor gives 2 inches on two outlets and the Chiefway gives 1.7 inches across the board, while the PLUGTUL just calls its spacing extra-wide. USB charging splits the group too: the Chiefway has six ports, the Alestor four and the PLUGTUL three, and the CCCEI and Amazon Basics state none. If most of your charging runs through a dock or a docking station, the no-USB picks stay in play; if the strip is the charger, the USB counts decide.

Surge protector Joule rating Outlets USB ports Cord length
CCCEI AN-B44-20 4800 4 Not stated 12 ft
Alestor PS951 2700 12 4 6 ft
PLUGTUL 12-Outlet Strip 4080 12 3 5 ft
Chiefway CWPS-16 2400 16 6 10 ft
Amazon Basics AS-12SX-D00 4000 12 Not stated 8 ft

Figures as stated in each listing. A strip with USB-C ports can replace one or two wall chargers on the desk.

Mind the cord and the plug

Cord length decides where the strip can live. The CCCEI runs 12 ft and the Chiefway 10 ft, both long enough to reach a far wall outlet; the Amazon Basics gives 8 ft, the Alestor 6 ft, and the PLUGTUL 5 ft, which suits a desk sitting close to the wall. Behind-furniture placement favors the flat plugs on the PLUGTUL and the Chiefway, the latter an ultra-thin 0.5-inch plug. If the cord will run across the room or under the desk, pair it with a cable management box rather than coiling the slack. All five are rated for 125 volts and 15 amps, so keep the total draw of the connected devices within the stated rating.

Read the warranty line, not the headline

Only two listings state a warranty term. The CCCEI states a 2 Year Manufacturer warranty and the Alestor states a 24-month worry-free term; the PLUGTUL, Chiefway and Amazon Basics state none. A warranty term matters on a product whose job is to sacrifice itself during a surge, because it is the only stated promise about what happens after one.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does the joule rating on a surge protector mean?

The joule rating is the amount of surge energy the strip claims it can absorb, as stated by the maker. In this group the ratings run from 2400J on the Chiefway to 4800J on the CCCEI, with the Alestor at 2700J, the PLUGTUL at 4080J and the Amazon Basics at 4000J.

Which of these surge protectors has the most outlets?

The Chiefway CWPS-16 lists 16 outlets. The Alestor, PLUGTUL and Amazon Basics each list 12, and the CCCEI lists 4.

Which picks have USB charging?

The Chiefway lists 6 USB ports (three USB-A and three USB-C), the Alestor lists 4 (one USB-C, with 3.4A/17W total), and the PLUGTUL lists 3 with a 20W USB-C PD port. The CCCEI and Amazon Basics state no USB ports.

How long are the power cords?

The CCCEI cord is 12 ft, the Chiefway 10 ft, the Amazon Basics 8 ft, the Alestor 6 ft and the PLUGTUL 5 ft. Match the cord to the distance between your desk and the wall outlet.

Which listings state a warranty term?

The CCCEI states a 2 Year Manufacturer warranty and the Alestor states a 24-month worry-free term. The PLUGTUL, Chiefway and Amazon Basics listings state no warranty term.

CCCEI AN-B44-20
Still deciding? Our top pickCCCEI AN-B44-20
Check price on Amazon

See every surge protectors and cable management guide and all audio, power and connectivity guides. Also see our best surge protector with auto shut off. Also see our best surge protector for lightning strikes.

More picks: long cord surge protectors, under-desk cable trays, surge protectors for Wi-Fi routers.