Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Home office gear, compared spec by spec.

Surge Protectors and Cable Management

Best Surge Protector for Ungrounded Outlet (2026): 4 Compared

4 surge protectors for ungrounded outlets compared by outlet count, joule rating, USB ports, safety certifications and warranty.

Best Surge Protector for Ungrounded Outlet (2026): 4 Compared

Older houses often have two-prong outlets with no ground, and most surge protectors need a grounded socket. The best surge protector for ungrounded outlet use is a two-prong adapter strip that adds extra outlets, surge protection and USB charging without rewiring the wall. We compared the listings on outlet count, joule rating, USB ports, safety certifications, cord design and stated warranty, using only what each listing publishes.

OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

The picks

LENCENT 1700J

LENCENT 1700J

LENCENT9.7/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A two-prong surge protector strip with 1700J, 10 AC outlets and 4 USB ports, ETL listed.

Pros

  • 1700J surge protection with a 15A breaker
  • 10 AC outlets plus 4 USB ports
  • ETL listed and FCC certified
  • 2 Year Manufacturer warranty is stated

Cons

  • 466 g, the heaviest of the group
  • 11.81 by 8.5 in, the largest footprint
  • Black only
  • No USB-C power delivery figure is stated
Detailed Review

LENCENT lists the 2 Prong Surge Protector Power Strip at 1700J with 10 AC outlets rated 1875W/15A max, 2 USB-A at 5V/2.4A and 2 USB-C at 5V/3A, on a 6 ft cord with a 0.33 in flat plug. It states a 15A integrated circuit breaker, FCC certification, ETL listed status and a fire resistant PC shell, with 2 keyholes for wall mounting and 8 rubber feet. It measures 11.81 by 8.5 in at 466 g in black. The warranty description states 2 Year Manufacturer.

Who it's for: an older house with two-prong outlets that needs many protected outlets and USB charging in one strip. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a smaller strip, a stated USB-C power delivery figure, or a 3-prong grounded installation.

Its Office Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 4/5: 85 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
AC Outlets10, 1875W/15A max
USB2 USB-A 5V/2.4A, 2 USB-C 5V/3A
Joules1700
CertificationsETL listed, FCC

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 18 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. ETL listed, FCC certification, fire resistant PC shell, so safety scores 7 of 10. 2 Year Manufacturer. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.

Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

LENCENT 1050J

LENCENT 1050J

LENCENT9.6/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A two-prong surge protector strip with 1050J, 6 AC outlets and 4 USB ports on a braided cord.

Pros

  • 1050J surge protection with a breaker
  • 6 AC outlets plus 4 USB ports
  • 6 ft braided cord with a 0.36 in flat plug
  • 2 Year Manufacturer warranty is stated

Cons

  • 1050J is lower than the 1700J model
  • 1625W max is lower than the 1700J model
  • No ETL listing is stated
  • No USB-C power delivery figure is stated
Detailed Review

LENCENT lists the 2 Prong Surge Protector Power Strip at 1050J with 6 AC outlets rated 1625W max, 2 USB-A at 5V/2.4A and 2 USB-C at 5V/3A, on a 6 ft braided cord with a 0.36 in flat plug. It states an integrated circuit breaker, FCC certification and a fire resistant PC shell, with 4 keyholes for wall mounting and 4 rubber feet. It measures 6.3 by 3.9 in at 390 g in white. The warranty description states 2 Year Manufacturer.

Who it's for: a smaller desk that needs two-prong surge protection with USB charging on a braided cord. Who should skip it: anyone who needs 10 AC outlets, the higher 1700J rating, or an ETL listing.

Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 4/5: 79 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
AC Outlets6, 1625W max
USB2 USB-A 5V/2.4A, 2 USB-C 5V/3A
Joules1050
CertificationsFCC

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 18 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. FCC certification, fire resistant PC shell, so safety scores 5 of 10. 2 Year Manufacturer. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.

Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Belkin SRA009 12-Outlet

Belkin SRA009 12-Outlet

Belkin9.6/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 12-outlet UL-listed surge protector with 3,780 joules per the title, an 8ft flat plug and a 2-year warranty.

Pros

  • 3,780 joules per the title
  • 12 widely spaced AC outlets
  • UL safety certification stated
  • 2-year limited warranty plus connected equipment term

Cons

  • Title says 3,780 joules while bullets say 3,940
  • 2.4M cord on a US plug listing is unusual
  • No USB charging ports
  • Gray color only
Detailed Review

Belkin lists the SRA009 as a 12-outlet surge protector with 3,780 joules in the title, an 8ft flat plug, a safety indicator light, and wall-mountable design. The listing states UL safety certification, a 2-year limited warranty and a connected equipment warranty. Note a listing conflict: the bullets say 3,940 joules while the title says 3,780. The housing uses a minimum of 72% PCR material per the listing.

Who it's for: buyers who want the Belkin safety story in a simpler 12-outlet strip. Who should skip it: anyone who needs USB ports, where the TROND fits better.

Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 6/10 and warranty 3/5: 77 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Joules3,780 (title)
Outlets12
Cord8 ft flat plug
Warranty2 Year

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 18 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. UL safety certification is stated., so safety scores 6 of 10. The spec table lists a 2 year limited warranty, plus a connected equipment warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Fosmon 3-Outlet 2-Pack

Fosmon 3-Outlet 2-Pack

Fosmon9.6/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 2-pack of 3-outlet appliance surge adapters with 1200J, ETL listing and a limited lifetime warranty.

Pros

  • Conforms to UL498A and UL1449 stated
  • ETL listed, 1875W at 125V 15A
  • 1200J with ground and protected LED indicators
  • Limited lifetime warranty stated, 2-pack

Cons

  • Only 3 outlets per adapter
  • 1200J trails the higher-rated strips
  • 2-pack means two wall warts, not one strip
  • No USB charging ports
Detailed Review

Fosmon lists a 2-pack of 3-outlet appliance surge protector adapters with 1200J, 1875W at 125V 15A, and a 3-prong grounded plug. The listing states ETL listing, conformance to UL498A and UL1449, ground and protected LED indicators, and a limited lifetime warranty with US-based customer service. The listing is consistent.

Who it's for: renters who want appliance-grade protection without a power strip. Who should skip it: anyone needing more than 3 outlets per adapter.

Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 4/5: 77 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Joules1,200
Outlets3 per adapter
Rating1875W, 125V, 15A
WarrantyLimited lifetime

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 18 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. ETL listed and conforming to UL498A and UL1449 safety standards is stated., so safety scores 7 of 10. The spec table lists a Limited Lifetime Warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.

Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Compare the picks

Surge Protector Office Score Outlets Joules USB Warranty Amazon
LENCENT 1700J 9.7/10 10 AC 1700 4 2 Year Manufacturer View on Amazon
LENCENT 1050J 9.6/10 6 AC 1050 4 2 Year Manufacturer View on Amazon
Belkin 12-Outlet 9.6/10 12 Not stated Not stated Not stated
Fosmon 3-Outlet 9.6/10 3 Not stated Not stated Not stated

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 18 October 2026. Two of the 4 state a warranty term.

How we scored them

The Office Score weighs performance (outlets, joules and USB), build (materials and cord), value for the stated specs, safety and warranty. Safety scores the stated certifications and protective features: the 1700J LENCENT states ETL listed, FCC certification and a fire resistant shell with a 15A breaker; the 1050J LENCENT states FCC certification and a fire resistant shell. The two short listings state no certifications, so safety scores zero for them. Two of the 4 state a warranty term: 2 Year Manufacturer on both LENCENT models. How we pick explains the weights.

Two-prong to 3-prong adapters explained

A two-prong to 3-prong adapter lets 3-prong plugs fit a two-prong outlet, but it does not create a ground. Both LENCENT models are built for this job: they convert a polarized two-prong outlet to 3-prong outlets with a switch, add surge protection and USB charging, and keep the other wall outlet free with a 45-degree flat plug. The listings call them ideal for the non-grounded outlets in older houses. If the house wiring has a ground wire in the box, an electrician can swap the outlet itself; these strips are for the far more common case where it does not.

Product Office Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
LENCENT 1700J 9.7 32 21 21 7 4
LENCENT 1050J 9.6 30 20 20 5 4

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best surge protector for ungrounded outlet

Outlets, joules and USB ports

The 1700J LENCENT offers 10 AC outlets rated 1875W/15A max with 2 USB-A at 5V/2.4A and 2 USB-C at 5V/3A, charging up to 14 devices at once. The 1050J LENCENT offers 6 AC outlets rated 1625W max with the same 4 USB ports, charging up to 10 devices. A higher joule rating means more surge energy absorbed; more outlets mean fewer adapters and less daisy-chaining, which matters for a desk with a monitor, laptop, printer and phone chargers. The USB ports detect devices and deliver the optimal charging current, per the listings. For more power lists, see every surge protectors and cable management guide.

Two-prong fit and cord design

Both LENCENT models convert a polarized two-prong outlet to 3-prong outlets with a switch, on a 6 ft cord with an ultra-thin flat plug (0.33 in and 0.36 in) that sits nearly flush against the wall. The 1700J model measures 11.81 by 8.5 in at 466 g with 2 keyholes for wall mounting and 8 rubber feet; the 1050J model measures 6.3 by 3.9 in at 390 g with 4 keyholes and 4 rubber feet. Widely spaced outlets (1.7 in and 2.2 in apart on the 1700J model, 1.77 in on the 1050J model) fit bulky adapters without blocking neighbors. The 1050J cord is braided; both use a 45-degree right angle plug that keeps the other wall outlet free. The best docking station for small desk list covers desk power setups.

Surge Protector AC Outlets Joules USB Ports
LENCENT 1700J 10 1700 4
LENCENT 1050J 6 1050 4
Belkin 12-Outlet 12 Not stated Not stated
Fosmon 3-Outlet 3 Not stated Not stated

Figures as stated on each listing. The table leaves out the score column on purpose; the compare table above carries the Office Score.

Safety certifications and warranty

The 1700J LENCENT states ETL listed, FCC certification and a fire resistant PC shell with a 15A integrated circuit breaker that trips on overvoltage, overcurrent and short circuits. The polarized plug aligns appliance polarity with the house wiring for an added measure of safety, per the listing. The 1050J LENCENT states FCC certification and a fire resistant PC shell with an integrated breaker. Both state a 2 Year Manufacturer warranty. The two REUSED listings state no certifications or warranty terms. A listed certification and a written warranty matter for a device that guards the whole desk, since a surge protector is the last line of defense for every plugged-in device.

Outlet spacing and desk placement

Widely spaced outlets are the difference between using every socket and wasting half of them. The 1700J model spaces outlets 1.7 in and 2.2 in apart and states it fits 14 bulky plugs at once; the 1050J model spaces them 1.77 in apart for 6 bulky adapters. Both are wall mountable with keyholes on the back and rubber feet for desk use. The compact design suits a home, dorm, office or kitchen, per the listings. Place the strip where the cord reaches without stretching: 6 ft covers most desk-to-wall runs.

Setup Notes

  • Confirm the outlet: these two-prong adapters fit polarized two-prong outlets in older houses.
  • Wall mount if wanted: the 1700J model has 2 keyholes, the 1050J model has 4.
  • Watch the max: 1875W/15A on the 1700J model, 1625W on the 1050J model.
  • Use the USB ports for phones and tablets; the ports detect devices and set the current.
  • Do not daisy-chain strips; one strip per wall outlet is the safe setup.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do these work without a ground wire?

Yes, both LENCENT models are two-prong to 3-prong adapters made for non-grounded outlets in older houses, per the listings.

What does the joule rating mean?

The 1700J and 1050J ratings state how much surge energy each unit absorbs. Higher is better for the same price.

How many devices can they charge?

The 1700J model charges up to 14 devices at once, the 1050J model up to 10, per the listings.

Do any of these have a warranty?

Both LENCENT models state a 2 Year Manufacturer warranty. The other two state no term.

Are they wall mountable?

Yes. The 1700J model has 2 keyholes and the 1050J model has 4, per the listings.

Can I plug in a space heater or air conditioner?

Watch the max ratings: 1875W/15A on the 1700J model and 1625W on the 1050J model, per the listings. The 1700J listing names air conditioners among compatible devices; stay under the stated max either way.

LENCENT 1700J
Still deciding? Our top pickLENCENT 1700J
Check price on Amazon

See every surge protectors and cable management guide and all connectivity guides.

More picks: best docking station for small desk, best USB hub for MacBook Air and best docking station for Dell laptop.